BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/25/2009

Swimming Pools of Florida, Inc.

Phone: (305) 597-3950Fax: (305) 591-69096914 NW 50th Street, MiamiFL 33166

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/25/2009

BBB has determined that Swimming Pools of Florida, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Swimming Pools of Florida, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Swimming Pools of Florida, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
12/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
SPOFL cashed our check payable only to local building dept intended for permit application and kept the money. They never submitted permit application
SPOFL delayed their work and permit expired. On 9/25/2015 I sent them the application for new permit and $1242.00 check to pay permit fees. They were supposed to finish completing the permit application and submit it to the building dept along with my check. SPOFL cashed the check on 9/28/2015 even though it was payable only to Miami Shores Village. As of 12/10/2015, Miami Shores Building Dept has not received permit application nor my check. SPOFL has made no progress finishing this job over the past 10 weeks. They only inform me "they will work on it next week", but nothing ever gets done. They only need to repair a few sunken pavers and have final inspection.

Desired Settlement
We want SPOFL to immediately submit the permit application, pay the permit fees, repair the sunken pavers, call for final inspection and close the permit.

Final Consumer Response
l wish to withdraw my complaint. Swimming Pools of Florida has now corrected the deficiencies.

Thank you,
Jim ****

08/20/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We have been calling the company since May 22, 2014 to resolve a warranty issue and the company does not call us back.
Our pool man (recommended by them and we have been using for the past 10 months) first noticed a line in the surface of the pool and reported it the company to send someone to review and resolve back in May 2014. Every week we would discuss if anyone had come back. When they had not, we began to call them since 6/12/2014, almost daily and speaking with ********* the front desk clerk. Finally we contacted the Salesperson who stated that only the owner could help. We call and no one has responded and the line is now more evident and worrisome. They are not responding to our calls It is extremely frustrating and unprofessional of this company.

Desired Settlement
The DIAMOND BRITE has a 10 year warranty according to our terms. Additionally, we are within the 1 year of the final inspections of the pool which covers also a ton of things under the warranty. I feel the company is avoiding the resolution to go over the 1 year and then say they cannot repair. We want this repaired.

Business Response
We inspected the pool, the line was the Diamond Brite plaster that already have been fixed. The client has an additional 1 year warranty on the pool plaster from the date we visited the job. In addition, after the summer is over, we offered to re-plaster on the same spot that it has been re-touched by SPOF. Our client is very happy with the results and will contact BBB to express her satisfaction with the way we handle her concerns.

07/15/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Defect swimming pump Jet under warranty
I hired the Swimming pool of Florida to build a new pool on February of 2013 and the job was done in December of 2013, and I paid U$ 5,000.00 extra for them to supply and install a new Swimming Pump jet to make strong streams of water that I can swim against it, so they did and it was working fine until two months ago, the pump start to leak, so I called them to fix the leak, it took them about three weeks to show up, they tried to fix it at my house four times, after that they took the pump way and never called me back, I had to call them several times to be able to understand what was going on and they did not know, they said that the pump was sent to the manufacturer to be fixed,again I waited for about 10 days and nothing happened, then I called the Manufacturer and they said that they knew about the problem and they were waiting to receive the pump to take care of the problem, and them I called Swimming Pool of Florida and they did not know anything about it.About two has gone with out a solution, on june 23 they came to install the pump back and again the pump is not working and to make things worse they sent me a old pump dented and scratched that is not working.
I am a disabled person and the only reason I spent the money to have that type of equipment in my pool is because I really need it and I have to use at least three times a week as a therapy.
Find below the information that I was able to get from the pump.
Manufactore: Speck Pumps
Model number:21-80/33GS
Model: 60HZ
Serial number: can not be read, missing piece.

This pump was sold and installed by:

Swimming pool of Florida
**** ** ** *** ****** ** XXXXX
(XXX) XXX-XXXX

I do not want to have a old pump once I paid for a new one.

I really appreciate if you could help me solve this asap once I really need to have this as a part of my treatment.

Thank you very much

Desired Settlement
To get the pump I paid for.

New pump

10/28/2013Problems with Product / Service
03/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company is installing a pool next door to me. They've been at it for 6 months and have repeatedly trespassed *** damaged my property.
August 2014: Began installing the pool. Signficant damage to my fence with their backhoe.
September 2014: Tangled my the cable wire and I was required to get it reinstalled by Comcast.
September 2014: Covered my pool drain pipe with their debris and gravel. Removed it at my request.
October 2014: Continued creating additional damage to my fence. I am now up to about $2000 in damages.
December 2014: Dumped an entire dump truck of fill on the edge of my property.

Essentially, there is no responsible management of this project whatsoever. When I talked to one apparent member of the company about my fence, his response was a defiant "How do I know it's your fence?" Disrespectful and rude.

Desired Settlement
I would like financial compensation for my fence. I do NOT want this company to do the replacement, as their techniques are far too shoddy for me.

Business Response
Good afternoon,
***** ********* is not a customer of Swimming Pools of Florida (SPOFL), therefore, based on BBB rules, no third party can post a complaint. With that said, our client warned us about his neighbor before the project started. SPOFL took every precaution on protecting our customer's neighbors private property. Although Mrs. ********* claims its her fence, our client is not sure it is. No of the items referred on Mrs. ********* complaint are correct, no cable wiring or pool piping could have been damage since we never brought down the fence, which means that no work was performed on Mrs. *********'s adjacent property. As the pictures will prove, the fence that divides the properties was lining to once side do to trees Mrs. ********* are planted almost on the fence forcing it to lean to the east. As a courtesy, SPOFL straightened the fence, as seen on attached pictures, and replaced a peace of wood that had a gap. No fill materials were or will be dumped in front of our client's neighbor. Please review pictures showing a construction fence separating the two lots and gravel to reduce mud from sliding to Mrs. ********* property.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The fence is leaning because when they brought the backhoe in the bent the lip of the fence and loosened all the fence posts.

Their backhoe is what damaged the cable-up near the tree tops.

My presence predates my neighbor. I know whose fence it is.

Final Business Response
It is obvious that the neighbor of a client of Swimming Pools of Florida has nothing better to do than complain about a company who is doing work at the adjacent neighbors home. I will not do this dancing again, anyone interested to know what happen can see the pictures that proves the fact that in no time we entered the neighbors property, therefore, no damage was done. The sod that needed to be replaced, of course, our client was building a swimming pool, are you serious? she is calling us bad people because we damaged our clients sod to build a swimming pool? what do you suggest us to do? by air? our client and many others understand they have to replace the sod that gets damage by the construction of a swimming pool. Eight months for construction? she does not know what to type....how sad. Our client is very happy for the construction of his pool....too bad he has a neighbor like this...bored out of her mind, can't find anything else to do but to complain about a company that never damaged anything to her property, we never touched her side of the lot, not to mentioned her neighbor (our client) warned us about her. This is why we took extra care as shown on pictures sent to the BBB. Please lady, live us alone....

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It is clear that this is turning into an episode of the Jerry Springer show and so it is indeed time to end the conversation.

Before we do, I must strenuously object to this person's characterization of me as having "nothing better to do." In fact, I have many things better to do...I'm actually an internationally known analyst and author (I write for Forbes as part of my work). Feel free to do an internet search on my name. I have more than enough to do without this grief.

The trespassing actions and resulting damages created by this pool company created enough trouble that I took my valuable time to warn future buyers. In the end, I paid the $842 to repair the fence myself, and am still waiting to replace the sod they destroyed. If I'd had more time, perhaps I would have sought compensation from my neighbor. I opted to pay myself, and create this warning instead.

Anyone can feel free to contact the fence company I used, Henry's Fence, for an accurate assessment of the fence situation, or contact my landscape provider, LaBella, for an accurate assessment of damage to my sod and yard.

I have done what I set out to do. Any potential buyer can see from this person's responses just what kind of company this is. Good luck.

Also, with regard to his client "warning him about me," this would be hard to imagine, given we haven't said more than 15 sentences to each other in the 18 months he has lived here, and half of those were to recommend a reputable roofer to him, who he used and reported satisfaction with.

09/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
****** *******, Sales & Design Engineer sold me and my family an incredible pool construction experience but It ended up being the worst nightmare.
Worst customer service ever, they use 3rd party contractors and expect their customers to follow up on the step of the construction...I requested several times for the owner, ****** to come on site in order to witness the disaster but no one ever showed up and the only option I was given was to communicate via email/picture with ********* their coordinator. Several parts of my property were damaged including gutters, walls and my kid swing set. It took 5 times to re-do the deck and I had to get involved myself with their contractor in order to get results, the deck is currently unusable and breaking into several location creating danger to the children. Diamonbrite was not applied evenly, coping and several tiles ended up being broken after construction.I am at the stage that after several attempts to contact them to have the issues taking of, I am in the obligation to hire an attorney. We wanted to build up the pool of our dream and It became our worst nightmare... After 5 months, the product is unfinished and unsatisfactory but they don't care. Don't use them for anything in the world! My kids are now banded from the backyard as the pool is a real danger... Terrible company, lack of professionalism, thief!

Desired Settlement
I expect the deck to be re-done up to expectation and to be reimburse for the repair of the house damages, kids swing, the coping, the baby fence, mosaics improperly placed and others.
It has created harm to my family and a huge inconvenience!... 5 months later and we are still dealing with their mediocrity!

Business Response
It really is a shame the way this client intent to trash a swimming pool company that has built thousands of pools and always stayed behind its product. Not only we built this pool at cost, but we have provided excellent customer service and craftsmanship. Attached you will find pictures of the swimming pool and deck that Mr. ****** claims that represents a danger to his kids. The contract that Mr. ****** singed and agree, states that SPOFL is not responsible for access and damage to surrounding items, such as a playhouse that was supposed to be removed from the area of construction. We need to have clear and unobstructed access at all times. Mr. ****** demanded for SPOFL employees to perform work on his presence. Mr. ****** went on vacations for weeks; He restricted access to his home. With that said, even a customer with this type of attitude towards a company that completed all of his demands, Mr. ****** decided to stain our good name by writing to the BBB. SPOFL has never thankfully dealt with this type of personality through our years in business.

08/12/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Haven't received warranty info nor have they fixed an area of pavers! Second complaint
I have called these people several times. Final inspection past about a month ago (after waiting 8 months for a 3 month project). I still have a tile that has not been cut and placed in the deck. I haven't received the release of lien either. These people are constantly lying. I only know final inspection passed because 3 days after they told me it passed an inspector came knocking on my door to pass the final. They never even provided first chemicals.

Desired Settlement
For the paver to be fixed. To receive the release of Lein and for them to give me all the warranty and inspection info that they came into my yard and took.

Business' Initial Response
The client has all the warranties as per contract, we attended her home twice to show how the equipment gets operated and chemicals were introduced to the pool. About the "ONE" paver that needed be fixed, it is not that it was incorrectly installed, what happened was that an electrical conduit had to be ran in the middle of the paver and a hole on it had to be made. There is a pending balance, as per contract, once all payments are met, a release of lien will be issued. This is another case of people using the power of the internet to make baseless complaints.

03/04/2016Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Contractors and Installation, Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/25/2009Business started: 11/01/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
https://www.myfloridalicense.com/wl11.asp?mode=0&SID=

Miami-Dade Tax Collector
140 W Flagler Street, 1st Flr
Miami, FL 33130
(305) 375-5452
http://www.miamidade.gov

BBB records show a license number of CPC1457532 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is https://www.myfloridalicense.com/wl11.asp?mode=0&SID=. The expiration date of this license is 08/31/2016.

Check License Status: https://www.myfloridalicense.com/LicenseDetail.asp?SID=&id=C282EB34E83130446F59197E583138DF

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 6350383 for this company, issued by Miami-Dade Tax Collector. Their web address is http://www.miamidade.gov.

Check License Status: https://www.miamidade.county-taxes.com/public/business tax/accounts/6087779

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Manuel Hernandez (President)Customer Contact: Mr Javier Astrada (General Manager)Mr Axel Alvarez (Vice President)
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors and Installation, Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Swimming Pools of Florida, Inc.

6914 NW 50th Street

Miami, FL 33166

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6914 NW 50th Street 

    Miami, FL 33166(305) 597-3950

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Swimming Pools of Florida, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Contractors and Installation

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.