BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Genie Pools

Phone: (305) 260-9555Fax: (305) 260-9777

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

48 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues5
Guarantee / Warranty Issues4
Problems with Product / Service38
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Total Closed Complaints48

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (48)
11/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a pool on 12/28/2012. After 8 months finally done with issues. More than 6 weeks for pavers to be corrected and repaired. still pending.
I purchased a pool package back in 12-28-2012. Sales rep told me it would take 6 to 7 weeks to build. It took 8 months! Many issues along the way. Currently still have broken pavers as well as misaligned pavver. Slope angles going toward house and flooding. More than 6 weeks and serveral meetings with father and son owner to solve the problem and still not resolved. Electricity was not connected as instructed. Engineer stating lack of equipment made them install it a different way. Very unorganized company. Left several messages since last week. Still awaiting to get an answer.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting a refund on my pavers. $6900.00 They have many defects and several of them are cracked. Most of it is improperly installed. I gave the company more than ample time to correct the problem. Almost 2 months. Delays are causing the rest of landscape to be put on hold. After 8 months, Enough is enough. There are many more details that I will not mention to describe the lack of communication and faulty workmanship that went on this build.

Business Response
Our company is in complete disagreement with the claims made by Mr. ****** as they do not conform to the truth nor the contract that was signed by both parties.

If Mr. ****** believes that we have violated our contractual agreement as a whole or in part, please allow him to indicate which article or section he believes has been violated. In addition, please provide photographs and documentation regarding this matter. Once this has been done, we may proceed to elicit a response and find a solution for the problem if one exists.

We cannot provide a response to this complaint without the information previously requested as Mr. ******'s comments are subjective and do not speak to the terms of our executed contract.

Sincerely,
Genie Pools Florida Inc

******* ** *******
President

10/01/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I contracted genie pools to remodel my existing pool. To build a new jacuzzy and to remodel my existing pool and to change the pavers.
The contract was signed April 22 of 2013. It was supposed to be a 5 week job as per ****** the salesperson. Now it is September 3 and they haven't finish. They removed the existing pavers and the back yard is a constant mess because of the sandy filling material left on the ground. There has been new filling material in front of the house garage for several months. They haven't pass the electrical inspection 4x and today their electrician stated that there were some already existing electrical connections that were a code violation and that I needed to pay for the their removal. $275. They already had some new electrical connections made to "the existing ones" that is why they did not pass inspection. and they need to remove them. Since the beginning of the project it is extremely difficult to communicate with them, They are never available on the telephone and answer the text messages whenever they feel like. I had gone to the office several times and they have a miriad of excuses.for eample: The rain, not enough workers, they even blame their own workers for not doing a good job. In summary I contacted them to do some work and they haven't finish.

Desired Settlement
I want them to finish the job as requested.

Business Response
Unfortunately, there have been several unforeseen factors that have delayed the construction of Mr. *********'s large scale pool and deck renovation. However, the installation of the travertine decking is currently underway and we intend (weather permitting) to have this project completed within the next 2-3 weeks. We apologize for this delay, and look forward to the completion of this project.

GENIE POOLS
XXX-XXX-XXXX

08/13/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bad warranty service
This company (Genie Pools) finished my pool in mid April. In June I called them because the pavers around the pool were sunken in. Just about the entire periphery of the pool have deeply sunken pavers. Since June, no one has called me or contacted me. It's been over a month and they haven't honored their warranty service agreement.

Desired Settlement
I want them to fix/repair the sunken pavers.

Business' Initial Response
July 11th, 2013
Mr. ****** ***** XXXXX ** ** **** ****** ** XXXXX
REF: BBB Complaint " Case # XXXXXXXX
Dear Mr. *****,
Regarding your complaint placed with the Better Business Bureau on July 8, 2013, we wish to inform you that all of the work Genie Pools was contracted to do with regards to your swimming pool and deck were done with maximum quality, compliance with building codes, county inspections, and quality control inspections by our civil and concrete engineers.
The sinking of the pavers is not due to a poor paver installation or an error on Genie Pools's part; it is a result of the fact that you did not wish to follow installation recommendations from the manufacturer in order to save a couple hundred dollars. The manufacturer's recommendations were and are as follows:
1. You purchased 348 SF of travertine paver deck. With an amount this small, the manufacturer recommends that you do a cement overlay of a minimum of 2" as a base to install this material.
2. The manufacturer recommends using HP Polymeric Jointing Sand to seal the small spaces between each piece of paver.
3. As a way to prevent water from entering between the pavers and to prevent the erosion of compacted sand and limerock from erosion, it is recommended to use a sealer for the entire deck.
You did not pay for any of the items detailed above, and this is why your pavers have sunk. Additionally, the patio area on your property is extremely small for the large volume of water that falls from your roof and your neighbor's roof when it rains. This creates a huge current of water in the sub-base of the deck causing the pavers to sink.
Our company has completed 100% of the scope of work that you contracted, and therefore, your claim is not valid. In case you would like to re-do or repair the pavers, this will have an additional cost of $950.00 that would include labor, materials, and equipment. We hope that we have responded to your complaint and are available for any further concerns you may have.
Si cerely,
GE E POOLS
******* ** ******
President

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
After Genie Pools replied to my complaint to the BBB, I spoke to Mr. ******* of Genie Pools last week. As far as the pool contract and or work performed, they are the professionals who advised me and my family of how the work will be done. I never attempted to nickel and dime this company nor did I, nor my wife, ever suggested for less quality material, labor or costs'. Our end of the contract was successfully met with out limitations. They (genie pools) deviated from the original contract for the plumbing and electrical due to structural conflict. I never questioned it nor did I ever oppose it. I just questioned the unexpected limitations and charges they were experiencing. I simply paid the professionals to accomplish their job. For the pavers, such options were never available. They never suggested the detailed work outline in their reply. They specifically assured us their work was guaranteed. Had they explained in detail the paving process as outlined in their response, I would have simply paid for it just like I did when they charged me extra for the plumbing and electrical. After all, I would never have invested in this project expecting suboptimal work. Upon completion of the pool in early April, shortly thereafter in may, I notified Genie Pools regarding loose pavers. Considering I have a years warranty on the pool, Genie pools dispatched their paver contractor and quickly fixed the loose and sunken pavers. In June I contacted them regarding additional sunken pavers. Due to heavy rains in Dade County Fl, most of the pavers surrounding the pools are sunken to almost 6 inches deep. In light of this complain to the BBB and Genie Pools reply to my complaint, I contacted Genie Pools, ******* ******* personally, and we are currently in the process of working the issue out. Mr. ******* personally assured me he would send a crew to fix the problems. As of today July 22, 2013 no work has been done. I will follow up with Mr. *******.

Business' Final Response
Although we still stand behind our position in our letter from July 11, 2013, we proceeded to furnish the paver deck repair for Mr. ****** ***** free of charge. This was completed as of Monday, August 5, 2013. We continue to suggest that Mr. ***** take additional measures (as previously recommended) in order to prevent this situation from occurring again.

Genie Pools
XXX-XXX-XXXX

04/01/2013Problems with Product / Service
12/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Damaged, defective, unfinished and very lengthy pool renovation. No warranties, no permits, no city/county/state inspections. Offensive, disrespectful
The original contract # 16BXX-XX-XX was signed on June 11th, 2013. All we wanted done was fixing a leak, the replacement of the deck (from cement to pavers), replacements of the lights and pump and the resurfacing of the pool and spa with Diamond Brite. The total price on the estimate was $11,635.00. The Construction Manager ******* ******* and his father, the owner, ******* ******* came to our property for the first time, on July 15th, 2013, to reevaluate the work. After some explanation on their part, and based on their suggestions, we agreed to also replace the waterline tile and the coping, plus adding an extra 300 SF of pavers (this was our desition) for a new grand total of $16,785.00. This is where the nightmare begins! On July 25th the demolition started, there went our two patio keystone columns, patio walls, our sprinkler system, our gate, our internet, phone and cable lines; all damaged or completely destroyed by their crew. Color selection was done on July 27th, at that time **** ********* did not have the form necessary to pick the pattern for the installation of the pavers, everything else was our selection and was propertly documented. On July 30th, Yoly sent us an email with the pattern form, we immidially replied with the T-pattern. By this point, we had already paid 65% of the total revised contract. Tue. July 30th, the crew came to add the fill, to start the pavers installation, this would have put another 25% of the total price in their pockets; they forgot one minor detail, the plumbing had not been touched, the leak was not repaired. I had to send a text to ******* to remind him, them he called his crew and they all left, returning after the plumbing was completed. On August 14th, we sent Mr. ******* ******* a text asking him to check the emails we had send on August 12th and 13th in reference to our concerns on the reconstruction of the spa, it was all out of shape and very uneven, with one side of the water cascade wider than the other, by about an inch, the walls very bumpy (I have pictures if you need them). ******* and ******* claimed their server was down and they had not received my previous emails. August 16th, we sent a message to ******* asking him to replace the patio columns that they destroyed during the demolition, the answer was "NO". August 20th at 01:13 PM, a text was sent to ******* leting him know my dissapointment, the pavers were being installed on a running bond pattern; he claimed it was not specified at the time of the color selection. The pavers crew also did the cleaning of the pool and added a coat of cement. They also managed to damage some of the coping and pavers, with acid cement or by chipping or braking them with the heavy equipment. September 4th at 8:33 AM, ******* sent a message indicating his crew was going to fix the waterfall damage to finish with the Diamond Brite fill the pool for the weekend. We replied the same day at 6:27 PM, with our concerns of the damaged coping and pavers and the fact that the LED lights (at a price of $1,575.00, already paid for) were not installed yet, the electricity and plumbing was not hooked up, permits and inspections were not provided; also, we had received Certified Warning Lien letters from a couple of their suppliers, we were very worried about them. his answer was: "I will provide later". Numerous letters were sent via email specifying the pending items, by September 19th, they could not find the LED lights, so they had to reorder them, the electrical was hooked up on September 20th, partial plumbing and restoration of damaged coping and pavers were done. The Diamond Brite was damaged in several places with what looks like acid. The ******* family insists they have completed the work. Here are the pending items, as emailed to them:
PAVER: around the spa jet vent on the north side.
DIAMOND BRITE: spa steps have what looks like acid stains.
JETS: Two north end jets are not properly working.
LIEN WAIVER: Final lien waiver.

Desired Settlement
We are just looking for the completion of the project. The remaining paver needs to be installed around the vent of the spa jets. We have found that the top sand was not added to the pavers, it needs to be done. Also live sprinkler plumbing is under our patio terrace, their crew left it there without capping it. All the sand bubbles up when we were testing it to get an estimate to repair the sprinkler system. The spa is leaking, that needs to be fixed. We signed a waver, therefore we can't claim the damages for the columns, the patio walls, fence, sprinklers and cable services; it would be nice if we could. We need our permit and inspections. We need the final waiver for the Lien letter from TREMRON

Business Response
Our company is in complete disagreement with the claims made by Ms. ****** as they do not conform to the truth nor the contract that was signed by both parties.

If Ms. ****** believes that we have violated our contractual agreement as a whole or in part, please allow her to indicate which article or section she believes has been violated. In addition, please provide photographs and documentation regarding this matter. Once this has been done, we may proceed to elicit a response and find a solution for the problem if one exists.

We cannot provide a response to this complaint without the information previously requested as Ms. ******'s comments are subjective and do not speak to the terms of our executed contract.

Sincerely,
Genie Pools Florida Inc

******* A. *******
President

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The complaint is based on the fact that the project is not finished, specifically, the paver around the north side vent for the spa jets. One of those jets is not working propertly either. We also have damage to the Diamond Brite, looks like an acid or grease stain on one of the steps in the spa. This occurred during the installation of the LED lights, electric connections and the repair of the damaged coping and pavers, all done after the pool was full and the final chemical balance and cleaning had been completed; I personally requested via numerous emails and text messages, this work to be performed prior to doing the Diamond Brite, to avoid any damage to it. Mr. ******* ******* declined my request. To my insistence, at least, they connected the plumbing and fixed a leak from the filter equipment prior to doing the plaster.


All these details and the order on which they should take place are not specified in the contract that we signed. Only details that benefit the company, like the amount of money or payment schedule is listed. We did receive a "Construction Steps" card on the day we signed the contract. This helped me to keep track of the events, and raise my concerns to Mr. *******, when necessary. I will be happy to provide you with a copy of it, together with any pictures or paperwork (emails, text message records) needed to justify our complaint.


Our biggest concerns when we started the project was to fix a pool leak, to replace the collapsed and cracked cement deck. It looks like we still have a leak in the spa, the new pavers deck is uneven and already sinking in places, including the middle of the patio, by one of the columns, where they left an uncapped broken sprinkler line. The pavers' border is very unfinished (no frames or steel reinforcement), weak and already crumbling in places.


Mr ******* has received previous emails with all this information including the pictures, he can refer to my emails from September 30, October 9, 14 and 21st of 2013. We also have their reply to these requests that he emailed to my husband and also sent the original in the mail, claiming that I can not be satisfied. Would anyone be satisfied if after paying thousands of dollars they receive an unfinished, damaged product? Is this type of work up to BBB standards?

12/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Holes in the pool diamond bright surface. *** manufacturer determined problems in the application. Genie pool does not respond emails or calls.
I contracted Genie Pools (paid in full)on 2006 to make a pool in my home although there were many inconveniences during the construction and after the pool was finished, on October 2012 the diamond bright covering has holes one is 12" by 7". An inspector from ***, ********(SGM offers warranty of 10 years) the manufacturer reported after analysis that the product was good but the application was the problem. Not enough material was applied.
Mr. Scott forwarded his report the Genie Pools and I have sent emails and spoke to the president Mr ******* ******* with no positive result. he advised to come and do an inspection but after many call it has never happened.
I need the diamond bright replaced and applied the correct thickness.

Desired Settlement
Because of Genie Pools poor handcraft ship and contracting, my pool has holes in the diamond bright. I expect them to come and inspect the problem they caused and replace the diamond bright on my pool. there are too many areas with holes and others where the material is so thin that soon there will be a hole.

Business Response
Our company is in complete disagreement with the claims made by Mr. ********** as they do not conform to the truth nor the contract that was signed by both parties.

If Mr. ********** believes that we have violated our contractual agreement as a whole or in part, please allow him to indicate which article or section he believes has been violated. In addition, please provide photographs and documentation regarding this matter. Once this has been done, we may proceed to elicit a response and find a solution for the problem if one exists.

We cannot provide a response to this complaint without the information previously requested as Mr. **********'s comments are subjective and do not speak to the terms of our executed contract.

Sincerely,
Genie Pools Florida Inc

******* A. *******
President

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response of Mr. ******* is unacceptable because it is again the same kind of evasive maneuver that I have experienced with him and his company. The truth is that I have send his assistant Mrs ***************** two emails (confirmed by phone with Mrs. Rodriguez(on 04/05/13 and 04/16/13) with photographs of the problem together with the inspection report from SGM inspector Scott Kneabel (inspection done by SGM 12/12/12). In his report Mr Scott explains that the product does not have problems that the problem is the application. Further more I requested SGM an explanation letter to state clearly what was the problem and they explained that specifically the lack of product.

I quote their letter "Having inspected the above reference project and analyzing several factors including but not limited to a visual inspection and chemical readings we have come to the conclusion that this project has area(s) of delamination or blistering. Delamination is the separation of bond between two surfaces. Blistering is the separating between two surfaces that have not lifted or broken apart.
Delamination failures are generally attributed to one or more of the following factors: surface carbonation
of the substrate increasing the density of the substrate, efflorescence on the substrate, overly smooth substrate, overly dry or wet substrate, too thin or too thick of a finish coat, contaminated substrate surface (dirt, oil, acid or loose debris) or improper surface preparation, misuse or lack of use of bonding system such as Bond Kote.". This letter also attahed on 4/16/13 email to Mrs ******************

After many calls to their office finally I personally spoke (on May this year) with ********** explaining the situation and referring to the emails send with the pictures he is now requesting and the report. Then he advised, he was busy but in time he would visit the site (my home) to inspect the pool personally. This visit never happened and Mrs. Yolanda Rodriguez always advices that Mr. ******* y not available or away.

Finally I would like to conclude this answer by stating that thanks to Genie Pools bad work in laying the diamond bright too thin (the SGM inspector measured a chip of diamond bright from the largest hole less than 1/8" thick) the 10m year warranty on the product is unusable. This leaves me with the holes (since 2012), a few dark patches and 4 years of an unusable warranty. I ask now to Mr. *******, what part of the contract protects you from leaving a customer with an unusable *** warranty. Now instead of trying to help the customer visiting the pool site and try to resolve the issue Genie Pools is evasive, does not answer any emails or calls back and the only and first respond I get s this. UNACCEPTABLE. I will email again all the previous emails to Mr. ******* and also mail a copy to his office in case they have miss placed all my communications.

Sincerely
******** **********

05/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Even though knowing that the company has about more than 20 negatives comments, I went ahead and contracted this company for the building of a pool in my home.The sells person explained to me that that was only misunderstanding of a few customer, but none of them are real problems or nothing that the company was unable to resolved. I signed the contract on 3/13/2014 I gave a deposit of $ 4155 for the licensing process and permission to open the hole for the pool. They told me that after I signed the contract that they will send me an itinerary of the starting of the construction. Today is 4/9/14 I have not received nothing from the company.
I have called the the Dept. of licensing and there have been no license requested under my property file for the last few weeks. I called the company, and all they tell me is that they have not received my deposit, when I have proof and I had sent them the proof to the company of making the transferred to the company's bank account.

Desired Settlement
I want to cancelled the contract, and I want my 4155 refunded.

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern,
With regards to the claim made by Mr. *****, we assure you that it is in Genie Pools' best interest to complete Mr. *****'s project as quickly as possible while still maintaining a high quality of work.
With that said, the completion time for the construction of a new swimming pool includes the design, engineering, and drawing of plans. Once this is completed, the plans must be approved by the local authorities through fourteen different departments, ending in the pulling of a construction permit allowing construction work to begin. The third phase of this process includes the actual construction of the swimming pool. Normally, this would take anywhere between six to nine months to complete in full depending on several factors that are outside of the contractor's control.
If Mr. ***** is still interested in cancelling our contract executed on March 15, 2014, it is his right to do so. However, the process for this is clearly stipulated in our signed contract and we ask that Mr. ***** move forward as delineated in Article XIX - Dispute Resolution and Article XVI - Deposits, Owner Contract Canellation, & Lien Rights of Contractor.

Sincerely,
GENIE POOLS FLORIDA INC
******* ** *******
President

12/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Work was not completed to a satisfactory "new construction" condition. Contractor is unresponsive in repairing and replacing unsatisfactory work.
I signed a contract with Genie Pools to install a new pool in my backyard. There are multiple issues with the installation of the pavers and water fall that have not been fixed by the contractor. I have sent numerous emails, text messages, and phone calls and the situation has not been resolved over the course of four months. Issue one is that the water fall was finished in two stages. During the second stage a completely different grout was used (grey instead of tan) on the pavers. This clashed badly with the existing grout lines and resulted in an unsightly appearance and badly stained pavers. I had told the contractor I wanted the pavers that were stained replaced since it is impossible to get grout out of porous pavers. I paid for new pavers and don't want dirty, stained pavers on my waterfall. When the contractor finally came out they ignored my request and simply replaced the grout lines and a couple pavers with a few pavers they had laying around their lot but did not replace the majority of the stained pavers. The pavers they replaced with were not even the same as the original but random pavers they found that looked similar. This has been confirmed by the paver representative ******** pavers) that the pavers are not the same product as the original as they do not have the same combination of colors. The current condition is a waterfall with dirty grout stained pavers with some random pavers that don't match thrown in. Issue two is that one of the corner coping pavers was busted during construction. The contractor replaced this with the same random pavers that they used on the waterfall. Issue three is that apparently while laying the pavers initially the contractor ran out of a specific size at the end and decided to install anything they could find instead of ordering more. The result is a completely different paver mixed in with the ones I ordered. Issue four is that the slope of the pavers was not finished correctly at one end of a trough that forms between the pool and the terrace behind the house. The result is that the terrace floods every time it rains because water is trapped and has to slowly drain underneath the pavers instead of flowing over the top and down the slope as it should.

Desired Settlement
All I want from Genie Pools is for them to do what I have already paid them for. I want the pavers on the waterfall that their guys stained and ruined replaced. I want the random pavers they have installed as repairs and during initial installation that do not match replaced with the same make and manufacturer paver that I originally ordered. I want the slope issue described in the complaint detail fixed so that my terrace does not flood every time it rains.

Business Response
Our company is in complete disagreement with the claims made by *** **** as they do not conform to the truth nor the contract that was signed by both parties.

If *** **** believes that we have violated our contractual agreement as a whole or in part, please allow him to indicate which article or section he believes has been violated. In addition, please provide photographs and documentation regarding this matter. Once this has been done, we may proceed to elicit a response and find a solution for the problem if one exists.

We cannot provide a response to this complaint without the information previously requested as *** ****'s comments are subjective and do not speak to the terms of our executed contract.

Sincerely,
Genie Pools Florida Inc

******* ** *******
President

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I can't imagine what my motivation in making this stuff up would be but I have extensive text message and email backup to show that Genie Pools has been well informed of the issues. On 9/20/2013 the construction manager ******* ******* texted me that I have to contact the office manager *** ******* to rectify the issues because she is now handling the customer service. I had been trying unsuccessfully to get ******* to fix the problems for weeks and in some cases months and he was now passing me off to ***. On 9/20/2013 I sent the first email to *** detailing what the problems were. On 9/27/2013 *** sent me an email claiming they have done no wrong and requesting pictures of the issues. On 9/27/2013 I responded to this email restating the issues, requesting that someone come out so that I can show them the issues, and letting her know I would be sending pictures. 9/27 was a friday so I could not send pictures till 9/30 monday. On 9/30/2013 *** replied to my email saying they are busy and don't think there is a problem and are awaiting my pictures. On 9/30/2013 I sent four emails as replies to the 9/30 email I had received from *** with pictures and explanations of the issues. The first three emails had pictures embedded in them and the fourth email had a pdf of all the pictures in case their email browser had an issue with the embedded pictures. All of the pictures sent on 9/30/2013 were sent as replies to ***'s email so she had to have received them. On 10/02/2013 I forwarded an email to *** from the Dade County representative for the paver company that I had bought the pool pavers from whom I had also forwarded the pictures to in which he confirmed that the pavers that Genie Pools used as replacements were not the correct pavers. I never received another email, phone call, or text message from Genie Pools after that. All of my conversations with Genie Pools are well documented since I rarely was able to communicate with them by phone (they don't answer or return your phone calls unless they need money from you). I believe that Genie Pools has violated the contract because they have badly stained my existing pavers and subsequently replaced some with pavers that are of a different make and manufacturer. I purchased through them a lot of new pavers and any damaged pavers needs to be replacemented in kind. Also, the construction plans clearly show a slope away from the pool that is not correct in one location that they refuse to fix or even look at. If Genie Pools wants me to resend the pictures and other documentation they can provide an email address for me to do so and I will resend but they already have this information since I was very careful in only sending pictures to them as replies to their emails in the first place.

11/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They never work, and when they do is after we call and complaint. The owner never answers the phone and cannot commit to the job or to a schedule.
My wife and I contracted Ginie Pools to construct a pool in our backyard and to installed travertine in the whole backyard and driveway. We signed the contract in July 07, 2013 and until today they show up maybe once every week to do some work. The sale-men promised us that we were going to have priority because we paid the job in full but instead we have been immerse in a nightmare. We call almost everyday to talk to the owner but he is never available. We have showed up to the office and asked to talk to someone that can provided us with answers and after waiting for almost two hours the receptionist said they will call back to confirmed an appointment to talk to the owner but they never did. We called and we asked for details and they said they don't have information. We requested a project schedule and a break down of the estimate and we are still waiting for a response.
We have been waiting for some commitment from this company to finished our pool and backyard. We want them to performed the job as they promised. Our kids have spent all the summer indoors because they couldn't work fast enough. Our backyard is destroy and for more than a month the access to our house was obstructed so we had to used the garage door to go in and out of our home. The only way this company shows up for work is when you complaint for a week and that only gets you half a day of work done. They told us some of the delays were do to unforeseen conditions, it doesn't rain every day in Miami. The lack of man power was also an excuse at some point.

Desired Settlement
We want this company to commit to finished the job they started. We want them to provide us with an acceptable project schedule and details of the process. We are tire of waiting for someone to gives us an answer, if they cant performed the job because they are too busy we want a refund so we can hire someone to finished what they are incapable of doing in a reasonable time-frame. We will like to enjoy the beautiful pool they promised before the summer is over.

Business Response
As always, thank you for providing us with the opportunity to respond to this complaint as follows:

1)It is accurate that the contract with the ****** family was signed on July 7th, 2013. However, the building permit was not obtained until July 25th, 2013 which means that their swimming pool project has only been in construction for a month and half - a completely reasonable timeframe for a large scale construction project. This time frame does not take into account the fact that we are in the middle of the rainy season and have sometimes lost entire weeks as a result. The ****** swimming pool contract does not stipulate a completion date, and although it is our intention to complete the project as quickly as possible, we also have 96 other projects in construction and cannot account for weather delays. With all due respect, if the ****** family did not want "their kids to spent all summer indoors", they should have planned to build their swimming pool before summer started (not in the middle of it, on July 7th).

2)The Construction Manager and Owner are almost always out on the field supervising projects, meeting with inspectors, customers, etc and therefore cannot always attend to the daily multiple phone calls from the ******'s. However, the indication that neither have responded to them is also untrue as both the Owner and the Construction Manager personally met with Mr. ****** at his home for over an hour at around 7PM (outside of our work hours), just to be able to accommodate his schedule.

3)It is the intention of Genie Pools to complete this project as soon as possible, as in construction, time is money.

Regards,
GENIE POOLS
XXX-XXX-XXXX


Consumer Response
The owner of the Company and his son showed in my property to discuss the matters explained in the previous complaints. We discuss the extra travertine needed to complete the drive way that was not included in the contract measurements. We decided to pay for the extra work and let them know of our decision in writing. More than a month later our pool looks the same, nobody shows up to work and all the promises made were no more than lies. Today we called to inquire about the work and they owner told us that until we dont pay the 1200 dollars they were not going to work. We already paid for the pool and more than 90% of the travertine and he hasnt deliver the job paid for. We want them to commit to the project and finish our pool. Very unprofessional owners that cant deliver what they are pay for. We also want the priject schedule that we requested months ago. We want them to commit or refund all the money with no penalties for the job they are not performing.


Business Response
Our company is in complete disagreement with the claims made by Mr. ****** as they do not conform to the truth nor the contract that was signed by both parties.

If Mr. ****** believes that we have violated our contractual agreement as a whole or in part, please allow him to indicate which article or section he believes has been violated. In addition, please provide photographs and documentation regarding this matter. Once this has been done, we may proceed to elicit a response and find a solution for the problem if one exists.

We cannot provide a response to this complaint without the information previously requested as Mr. ******'s comments are subjective and do not speak to the terms of our executed contract.

Sincerely,
Genie Pools Florida Inc

******* ** *******
President

11/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Genie Pools have not meet their promise of finishing the construction of pool and have created a safety issue around my house.
I am a very unsatisfied customer of Genie Pools. Incredibly this project has been taking to long to reach it' s completion. We signed our contract at the beginning of May 2013, and to this day the pool has not been finished. We have receive many, but many promises, but not actual real follow up to to the promises, again more than two weeks have passed by with no work on the pool. We are at the stage of the installation of the pavers and many times we had been promised either a Tuesday or next day or any other false promise, yes to keep us calm, but with no actual action behind the promise. We signed with Genie Pools, because we though we were dealing with a responsible company, I have done all my parts of our agreement, but I cannot say the same from Genie Pools. Up to this day we yes have a huge dangerous open hole of 15 by 30, in our yard filed with concrete, which is uncovered, unprotected, with not even a safety mesh around (same was removed by Genie Pools employees or subcontractors and was never replaced) and construction materials laying around. My household includes three small children and a beloved dog service dog ( I happen to be in a wheelchair). I place all the responsibility on Genie Pool and its owners of any injury or damage suffered to any of my household members, service dog or visitors, if something happens to any of them as consequence of the dangerous situation created by Genie Pool in my yard. By email and in verbal communication, I am have requested a final date or of completion of the project to no avail.

Desired Settlement
I formally request that the pool should be finished in no more than two weeks or I my full return off all the monies paid by me to Genie Pools and the removal of all the material placed on my yard and the return of the yard to its original nature.

Business Response
Our company is in complete disagreement with the claims made by Mr. ****** as they do not conform to the truth nor the contract that was signed by both parties.

If Mr. ****** believes that we have violated our contractual agreement as a whole or in part, please allow him to indicate which article or section he believes has been violated. In addition, please provide photographs and documentation regarding this matter. Once this has been done, we may proceed to elicit a response and find a solution for the problem if one exists.

We cannot provide a response to this complaint without the information previously requested as Mr. ******'s comments are subjective and do not speak to the terms of our executed contract.

Sincerely,
Genie Pools Florida Inc

******* ** *******
President

10/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I sing my contract on march 2013, And they told me this project is going to take only 12 week; I still waiting for Genie pools to delivery and install
I sing my contract on march 2013, And they told me this project is going to take only 12 week; I still waiting for Genie pools to delivery and install 174 sf of paver is missing , I pay for 764 sf but I only get 588 sf , I already pay the full job 2 Mons ago total $27,900
And I still waiting for get done this problem ,I call 4 to 5 time by day and I do not get this fix jet; They do a poor installation on my pool deck and they say that is going to be fix, But I still waiting for that to Please this have more than 6 Mons ,Please get this company to fixed my problem
REP. *************** *******
I made all payments by check

Desired Settlement
please I want to they finish ASAP

Business Response
The additional pavers that this customer requested were to be installed AFTER the swimming pool construction was completed, as per homeowner's request. Please be advised that since the date of this complaint, the additional pavers have been installed.

Thank you,

GENIE POOLS
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Page 1 of 4
08/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am one more very unsatisfied customer of ***********
Even though knowing that the company has about more than 45 negatives comments, I went ahead and contracted this company for the building of a pool in my home. The sells person explained to me that that was only misunderstanding of a few customers, but none of them are real problems or nothing that the company was unable to resolve. I signed the contract on 11/19/2013 I gave a deposit of $ 5815.00 for the licensing process and permission to open the hole for the pool. Today is XX-XX-XXXX and *********** have not met their promise of finishing the construction of pool and have created a safety issue around my house, pool is full of mosquito larva and frog larva, we already paid for the pool 90% and project is 75 %. He hasn't delivered the job paid for. Concrete decks, electricity, filter system and finish plaster are not done. It is more that 6 months, I don't think that a pool take that long. I decided signed a contract past November, thinking that the pool will be ready by summer.

Desired Settlement
I just want my pool finished. I worked hard for my money. I do not want cheap excuses, like they do to everybody. The really truth is that when they collect the majority of the money, they do not care and start doing others projects. I WANT MY POOL FINISHED.

08/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We are victims of Bleach of contract, false advertisement, , acting of bad faith, fraud,scam and expose to hazard.
Contract on 4/22 along with first payment of $4200.00 for a Roman swimming pool 15x30 to be finished by 8/22/14, The excavation executed on 5/13/14(more than 7 days as agree by contract) along with second payment for $5250.00 for a total of $9450.00.Plans submitted to Building Department on 5/29/14 and approved on 6/9/14,processing # CXXXXXXXXXX no open permits so far. Phone calls, emails to Geniepool's president ******* ******* and Engineer Jose Arana was made without respond. Building Dpt. Enforcement office told me that their license is in hold and that Geniepools was aware of it before we sing the contract, they cannot open permits at all. The barrier installed for protection around the excavation was very bad elaborated and fallen on the ground the very next day, the hole is a mosquito nets, back yard infected with pest due to inaccessibility ; this is a hazard to our health, in the property we have a minor, elderly and a I'm pregnant. We are victims of Bleach of contract , false advertisement on the magazines, , acting of bad faith because they sign a contract even that they knew they had a hold in their license, fraud because second payment was for excavation and building materials that we never received and scam. Pictures and evidence upon request.

Desired Settlement
We want a Reimbursement of $9450.00, money that we paid to geniepools, plus $5000.00 in compensations to repair a fence they broken, fix the back yard including pest exterminator company and replaice the soil that they took away on the excavation. Total of $ 14450.00

08/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On January 2013 I signed a contract with ***********. After I finished paying the $17,000 they never came back to finish the pool.
The sales rep that helped me was *************. I signed the contract on January 2013. The contract was for $17,000 and all payments were made in check form. once i had paid $15,300 they stopped coming and answering phone calls. And after couple months of waiting i decided to go ahead and finish it with another company, which came out to be way more expensive.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund for at least the extra amount that i had to pay to the other company.

08/14/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to deliver the product promised and then not paying the supplier of pavers leading to a lien on our home though we paid ***** Pools in full.
On 3/18/14, we gave *********** a $10,000 credit card deposit on a job to install pavers at our home. We picked the pavers and pattern and were promised by Ms. **************** that once the job began, it would take a maximum of 2 weeks to be completed. In the beginning of April, I received a call from the project supervisor named, ****, stating that they had not received payment from my credit card company. I found that strange because the deduction had already appeared on my credit card statement. When I called my credit cared company, they stated that the payment had indeed been made yet when I told **** and his father, *******, the President of the company, they insisted that they had not received the payment and that their credit card "processor" was withholding payment to them as a way for the processor to make more money. Though it didn't seem right, I wrote a $10,000 check to ***** and then proceeded to dispute the transaction with my credit card company. This took several weeks and I had to insist that ***** provide me with a letter declining payment which they delayed several times. It is now apparent to me that they did indeed receive the payment and were using the money to help bridge their debts. This should have been a major red flag but I accepted it as they have been in business for 22 years in Miami and had actually displayed the BBB logo (though I now realize fraudulently). Once ***** received my $10,000 check, they proceeded with the demolition of the driveway and the existing backyard patio which was done quickly. It was after the demolition that the problems began. Though promises were made over and over that crews would arrive on a certain day to complete the job, those promises were consistently broken with a myriad of excuses. A job that was supposed to take a maximum of 2 weeks had now stretched to over a month. I sent many communications to **** asking when a crew would return to finish the job and **** would respond with the promise of a certain day and time and repeatedly, no one showed up. My wife and I would take days off of work to meet with these promised crews and end up losing the time from work for nothing. After a great deal of "no shows," a small crew finally arrived and finished the majority of the job - several weeks after the original scheduled completion date. One of the issues that I found interesting was that the amount of pavers that arrived for our job appeared to be way beyond what was needed. When I mentioned it to the installer, he also agreed that there were way too many for the amount that was needed to complete the job. Sure enough, when the job was almost completed, representatives from ***** showed up and loaded up several full pallets of extra pavers that were not needed for our job. When I mentioned to **** that I wanted to be sure that I was not charged for those extra pavers, he assured me I wasn't and that it was a mistake on *****'s end. I confirmed this with the billing on my invoice and assumed that ***** would deal with *******, the paver manufacturer, and get a refund for what they must have overpaid - as long as it wasn't me paying for it. With the majority of the job completed, **** said that he needed the final payment though there were still approximately 40 capstones that had to be installed but he said that ******* did not have them in stock locally and he would get them from another outlet. He kept saying he would get back to me about the status and though I contacted him several times asking what it was, when he did respond, there was always some excuse as to why he would have to get back to me again. Today, I received a certified letter form ******* stating that a lien has been put on my property for $8,557.65 for non-payment of the pavers used on my job though I have paid for them in full to *****! I have notified ***** of my intent to pursue action against them and am awaiting a response. Their word is not to be trusted!

Desired Settlement
***** needs to pay ******* the outstanding $8,557.65 owed to them which I have already paid in full to ***** and have the lien removed from our home. They also need to complete the installation of the missing capstones as promised when they received my final payment.

07/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I contracted ***** pools in November 2013 and gave my initial 20% deposit. On January 21st they dog a hole iand as of today not much has been done.
I contracted ***** pools in November 2013 and was told that my pool will be completed in 3 to 4 months. On January 21st they came and dog a hole in my backyard and it wasn't until May 21st they came back for the second time to start the framing/steel of the pool. So far, they have failed every inspections and the hole is filled with dirty water that presents a health hazard to my self and my neighbors. The city of Miramar will not come back to conduct any more inspections because the permit fee of $750 that ***** pools gave them had bounced. Meanwhile they have over $10.000 of my money for a pool that was supposed to cost $22.000 and all I'm left is a big hole filled

Desired Settlement
Please pay the appropriate fees to the county for the bounced check and finish the project as promised. Otherwise refund me my money so I can pay another company to finish it.

Page 1 of 5

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Contractors and Installation, Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.