BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/18/2013

Blue Fin Builders, Inc.

Phone: (561) 736-7615Fax: (561) 736-76158128 Rodeo Dr, Lake WorthFL 33467-1167 Send email to Blue Fin Builders, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/18/2013

BBB has determined that Blue Fin Builders, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Blue Fin Builders, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Blue Fin Builders, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
04/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to repair damage to Church parking lot.
Blue Fin Builders' sub contractor used church property without permission to deliver concrete to a job site where Blue Fin was building a swimming pool. On exiting the Church driveway, which has a small upward slope, a large amount of concrete exited the shute and was left in a pile some several feet long and 8-12 inches high in the driveway. This is causing a considerable hazard on entering and exiting the driveway. **** *****, the Builder was called, came to the church, assured us this matter would be taken care of immediately and despite repeated phone calls and a follow-up letter NOTHING has been done. We are planning on taking legal action against Blue Fin unless this matter is taken care of in the manner Mr. ***** promised.

Desired Settlement
Repair driveway and return it to the condition prior to the unauthorized usage and concrete spill.

Business Response
I spoke with Mrs. ********* regarding the concrete on the church driveway and told her that I would go over to the lot to see it for myself. I also told her that if it was Blue Fin's mess, then I would clean it up. I went to the church parking lot and saw the pile of concrete she was referring to right next to a another pile of concrete that appeared to have been there for quite some time. I then traveled (walked) to the back of the parking lot, walked along the back of the fence, (counting down 24 houses) to the back of the house where we are building a pool. I was also looking for evidence of concrete debris from the entrance to the back of the house and I also looked for evidence of any disturbance of the grassy area behind the homeowners fence and in between the church parking lot. Other than the pile of concrete at the entrance of the parking lot, there was no other evidence of a cement truck working on the church property. I then spoke with the supervisor in charge of the job the day of the installation and was told that the cement truck came through the homeowners front/side yard.
If Mrs. ********* can provide proof that our truck was on the church's property, via date and approximate time and the name of the cement company, (which is clearly written on the side of their truck), I will go through my records and pull the invoice from the concrete company which will have the date they did the installation.
The one thing that I will admit to was that I should've contacted her to let her know that I do not believe the concrete debris was left by my company nor the cement company we used on the job. I will be sending a certified letter regarding this matter, disputing the accusations against myself and **** *** ********* **** Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This "rendition" of what occurred is only partially correct. I informed the business owner that the cement was dumped on our entrance/exit driveway after I left the office at 12:30 pm. When I returned at 8:30 am the following morning a considerable amount of concrete had been deposited on the driveway incline to exit our south parking lot.

When I left the previous afternoon no concrete had been poured into the pool area. as they had just finished preparing for the pour. When I returned to the office the next day the concrete pour had been completed. As this project took place directly opposite our Church Office I, and many volunteers, had followed the progress of the build and were aware at all times as to what was taking place on site.

Blue Fin Builders owner's request for the name of the company etc. is bogus as he had already been told at his initial visit to the Church office we did not have details of the cement company etc. Blue Fin's owner despite his assurance that he would contact me after speaking with the cement company, ignored 4 phone messages and a letter from our Church. The owner finally responded, over two months later, to a registered letter.

This church does not make false statements nor fabricate stories regarding damage to its property.


Final Business Response
Let me begin by once again apologizing for not immediately following up with Mrs. *********. We do admit to receiving 2 phone messages after the initial contact, not 4 messages and we did not receive any correspondence by mail other than the certified letter that was received at the end of February.

In our previous response we asked for the name of the concrete company, the date the damage occurred and the approximate time of day the damage occurred.

You have stated that you do not know the name of the company and that you did not see any concrete work being done before leaving at 12:30. You have not however, given a date on which the damage occurred. Please provide this date.

In the meantime, we have asked the concrete company for their information that they keep on file regarding this jobsite.

We'd like to reiterate that there would've been no reason for our trucks to utilize the church's parking lot because there was easy access to our homeowner's backyard. Therefore I still believe that Blue Fin Builders, Inc. is not at fault for the concrete debris.

Again, please provide the date the damage occurred. By then we should have all the information from the concrete company and will be able to compare their record to your accusations.

Thank you.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Contractors and Installation, Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair, Roofing Contractors, Contractors - General

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/01/2005Business started: 01/10/2001
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Palm Beach Tax Collector
PO Box 3715 301 N. Oliver Ave, 3rd Flr
West Palm Beach, FL 33402-3715
(561) 355-2264
http://www.co.palm-beach.fl.us

Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
https://www.myfloridalicense.com/wl11.asp?mode=0&SID=

BBB records show a license number of 200111210 for this company, issued by Palm Beach Tax Collector. Their web address is http://www.co.palm-beach.fl.us.

Check License Status: http://taxcollectorpbc.manatron.com/Tabs/BusinessTax/AccountDetail/TaxDetail.aspx?p=200111210&a=1634083&b=B40128066&y=2014&t=15963364

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of CPC1457009 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is https://www.myfloridalicense.com/wl11.asp?mode=0&SID=. The expiration date of this license is 08/31/2016.

Check License Status: https://www.myfloridalicense.com/LicenseDetail.asp?SID=&id=700E58F75FF89B0DA851DE752C86750D

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of CCC1329946 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is https://www.myfloridalicense.com/wl11.asp?mode=0&SID=. The expiration date of this license is 08/31/2016. Certified Roofing Contractor.

Check License Status: https://www.myfloridalicense.com/LicenseDetail.asp?SID=&id=1B0CA393153C960AF720A09E4721E032

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of CGC062035 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is https://www.myfloridalicense.com/wl11.asp?mode=0&SID=. The expiration date of this license is 08/31/2016.

Check License Status: https://www.myfloridalicense.com/LicenseDetail.asp?SID=&id=71D6376F69AF1E65F59FAFFB9A70753D

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 2000, FL

Business Management
Principal: Mr. John Adams (President)
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs Shelley Adams (Office Manager)
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors and Installation, Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair, Roofing Contractors, Contractors - General

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Blue Fin Builders, Inc.

8128 Rodeo Dr

Lake Worth, FL 33467-1167

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 8128 Rodeo Dr 

    Lake Worth, FL 33467-1167(561) 736-7615
    Fax: (561) 736-7615

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Blue Fin Builders, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Contractors and Installation

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.