BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/31/2010

Chief Pool & Pump Service, Inc.

Phone: (561) 640-7217Fax: (561) 697-0063201 South H Street, Lake WorthFL 33460

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/31/2010

BBB has determined that Chief Pool & Pump Service, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Chief Pool & Pump Service, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Chief Pool & Pump Service, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
04/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Chief Pool & Pump advised an acid wash of my pool to eliminate sand and concrete dust that had adhered to the pool finish.
Lennar Homes sold us a home with a pool. We paid a sum of $6,900 to upgrade the pool finish to a stone and glass finish. Lennar has a year end of November 30th so they push their contractors for homes near that date to close as many as possible so that they are included in their year end. When we did our walk through prior to closing, they were applying the pool finish. Unfortunately, they did not have the deck completed so as soon as the pool was finished, the pool company nor Lennar covered the pool. As a result of not covering the pool when the paving company cut their pavers next to the pool and finishing the deck sand and concrete dust was blown into the pool and stuck the pool finish. This resulted in a compromised pool finish covered in sand and concrete dust. Champion pools suggested an acid wash on the pool stating that it would remove the concrete dust and sand. Both my husband and I revealed our concerns regarding the fact that the stone and glass would not have anything to keep it in tact if they removed some of the surface. This would have been the perfect opportunity for Champion and/or Lennar Homes to disclose that some of the surface stones and glass would be expected to come off of the pool, however they did not. Otherwise we would not have agreed to the acid wash and would have demanded replacement of the pool finish at that time. However, Chief Pool & Pump proceeded with the acid wash and after the acid wash that very thing began to occur and is still occurring. When discussed with ***** from Champion Pool Company she then stated that some of the stones and glass coming off is normal, yet this was never disclosed at time of purchase of the upgraded finish or at the time of agreement of the acid wash. Everytime the pool is brushed and vacuumed there is a gross amount of stone and glass being removed from the pool. This completely unacceptable. As previously stated, when we were sold the upgraded finish there was no disclosure regarding the loss of stone and glass being normal, nor was it disclosed prior to the acid wash. I have contacted Luis Quintero giving him the opportunity to meet with me to review the loss of stone and glass on our pool and he has been unresponsive. We seek to have the pool finish redone so that we may have an uncompromised finish as paid for.

Desired Settlement
Chief Pool & Pump as a subcontractor of Champion Pools decided to perform the acid wash on our pool against the obvious outcome and I feel it was in poor judgement. We seek to have Chief Pool & Pump redo the finish on our pool as paid for to Champion Pool Company

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********@bellsouth.net
Chief Pool and Pump Service, Inc. was contracted by the customer's pool company, Champion Pools, to plaster her pool using the Jewelscapes product. We plastered the pool on 11/12/2014. The material was applied according to manufacturer specifications and the result was a beautiful pool finish.

Following the Jewelscapes application, work was completed to install the deck around the pool. The construction of the deck caused concrete dust to land on the surface of the pool leaving a light film of concrete on the finish. The manufacturer of the Jewelscapes recommended a light acid wash to remove the dust. Chief was contacted on 1/6/2015 by Champion Pools. They requested that we complete a light acid wash to remove the film. We completed the acid wash, as requested, with no damage to the finish.

Although the Jewelscapes products are known to lose glass beads over time, the loss of stones does not affect the integrity of the product finish.

All work by Chief Pool and Pump was completed through contract with Champion Pool and at the recommendation of the manufacturer of the Jewelscapes product. It is our firm belief that there is no product flaw and that Chief Pool and Pump holds no liability in this matter.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First and foremost, Chief Pools completed our jewelscape finish on 11/22/2014 and we have date stamped pictures to prove it. When the deck was completed around the pool we also have pictures that show much more than a little concrete dust. Luis from Chief Pool and Pump even had a discussion with me to the degree of damage to the surface caused by the sand and dust blown onto the surface. Neither Chief Pool and Pump who installed the jewelscape finish or Champion Pools informed us of any possible or normal shedding of product. If they had done so we would have not have chosen this finish. The pool was not shedding any aggregate or glass prior to the acid wash. The acid wash performed on the 1/22/2o15 was anything but a light acid wash. It was necessary to do an aggressive acid wash to eliminate the amount of sand and concrete dust that was imbedded into the finish. The liability to Chief Pool and Pump lies in the cause of the shedding and lack of disclosure of expected shedding. Luis of Chief Pool and Pump showed a picture of a few stones coming off of his pool, however we have a jar filling up with the aggregate and stone everytime the pool is brushed and vacuumed. Also, if Chief Pool and Pump is insisting that they installed and performed an acid wash to specifications. I would like to see the specifications on both the initial application and the acid wash. Again, I feel it must be clearly stated that we have pictures that are date stamped of these events and the environment surrounding the initial application.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As previously requested, I would like to see the specifications they speak of under which they complied in the application of my pool finish and the acid wash.

Final Business Response
In order to show our diligence in ensuring that Ms. *******'s pool was done correctly, I am attaching the report from the manufacturer's representative. The following are a few quotes from the attached email report from ****** ****** manufacturer representative:

"When I first arrived I was outside by the pool with ***** from ****** by ourselves and ***** expressed to me how beautiful he thought the pool finish was and I had to agree, it looks great."

"My observations:
This pool finish and application looked very good. The finish was very evenly, tightly and uniformly exposed. It is an "A" grade application and an example of the excellent work of Chief Pool Plastering."

"My verbal summary to Mrs ******* was that the finish was excellent and the slight aggregate loss that she is concerned about is normal and not in any way a material defect."

The extent of Chief Pools' responsibility was the professional application of the Jewelscapes product, which we did with excellence, according to the manufacturer's representative.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair, Pumps - Dealers, Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers, Swimming Pool Service & Repair, Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/23/2004Business started: 02/01/1990
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Palm Beach Tax Collector
PO Box 3715 301 N. Oliver Ave, 3rd Flr
West Palm Beach, FL 33402-3715
(561) 355-2264
http://www.co.palm-beach.fl.us

Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
https://www.myfloridalicense.com/wl11.asp?mode=0&SID=

BBB records show a license number of 199808768 for this company, issued by Palm Beach Tax Collector. Their web address is http://www.co.palm-beach.fl.us.

Check License Status: http://pbctax.manatron.com/Tabs/BusinessTax/AccountDetail.aspx?p=199808768&a=1562429

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of SCC131150085 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is https://www.myfloridalicense.com/wl11.asp?mode=0&SID=. The expiration date of this license is 08/31/2016.

Check License Status: https://www.myfloridalicense.com/LicenseDetail.asp?SID=&id=82199B6A9AC04859AFED34846642E4D4

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of CPC1457101 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is https://www.myfloridalicense.com/wl11.asp?mode=0&SID=.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Russell Reese (President)
Business Category

Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair, Pumps - Dealers, Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers, Swimming Pool Service & Repair, Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Chief Pool & Pump Service, Inc.

201 South H Street

Lake Worth, FL 33460

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 201 South H Street 

    Lake Worth, FL 33460

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Chief Pool & Pump Service, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.