BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Gulfstream Aluminum & Shutter Corporation

Phone: (772) 287-6476 (Disconnected)Fax: (772) 287-9740View Additional Phone Numbers611 SW Timber Trl, StuartFL 34997-6207http://www.gulfshutters.com! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Gulfstream Aluminum & Shutter Corporation is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Gulfstream Aluminum & Shutter Corporation

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)BBB Closure Definitions
07/22/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Leaking window is not fixed
The window is under a written 10 year warranty and the company refuses to honor it. There is a severe water leak.

Desired Settlement
Replace the window or correct the problem.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Joe Ridgely Marketing
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***@gulfshutters.com
We deeply apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you. We have been restructuring the business and I can guarantee it will be taken care of in a timely manner.

We are in the process of ordering a new window. It should be installed in the next 4-6 weeks depending on delivery.

Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Joe Ridgely

03/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contract signed on and deposit given on July 25, 2013. Work completed without permit and which they still do not have.
Contract signed July 2013 work not started until September 2013 finally completed in October 2013. Gulfstream did not file for permit until November 2013 and has still not resolved issues with County to obtain permit. Permit issue needs to be resolve as soon as possible.

Desired Settlement
Need to have a approved permit and final inspection completed in a timely matter.

Business Response
Good afternoon, we at Gulfstream Aluminum & Shutter Corp.
Have been in business for 35 years. We are sorry this permit issue started with Mr. ******* we did the job and he will say how much they like it. I started the job with the understanding with my Engineers that we would not have an issue with the permit since we have been pulling thousands of dollars a year at the building pulling permits. I will take responsibility that we did not catch the increase in the wind loads in Mr. ******* development. We are sorry this happened. I sure learned a big lesson from this project. As of today February 21 2014 we finally have the Head of Martin County Building department Mr. ******** to final this permit which you know as the better business bureau is huge. So as you know we have done everything to make this work. Thank you we are so thankful the permit has been passed as of today 21 February 2014 and now we will ask for the final payment on Mr. Parson's job. Thank you **** ********
Inspection Passed ***********

01/24/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Gulf Stream defaulted on contract and has failed to return deposit. They did not meet contract delivery period nor provide delivery/install date.
Below is the text of the letter to Gulf Stream delivered by Certified mail on December 11, 2013, demanding a refund of a deposit in the amount of $1513.75, summarizing their default on the contract. This process started in March of 2013, with a visit from a sales rep, who never followed through with the proposal until we called them in August, 2013. We have records of many phones calls to them, many of which they failed to return. Prior to submission of this complaint, I called this morning, was placed on hold for several minutes and then told that the person I requested was not in yet. I left a message, but do not expect a return call. Similarly we have no response to the letter below.




December 10, 2013
Gulfstream Aluminum & Shutter Corp.
**** ** **** **** ***
******* ** XXXXX

Mr. **** ** ******** (Owner-President)
Mrs. ******* ******** (Vice President)

Following a long period of unacceptable service and your failure to perform according to the terms of the contract, we hereby decline your verbal attempt to modify the delivery period for the contract; and, we hereby cancel the contract for the replacement of our residential front door ensemble. The contract provided for performance within approximately 8 weeks from execution. The contract is dated September 24, 2013 and as of this cancellation, approximately 12 weeks have elapsed, meaning Gulfstream Aluminum & Shutter Corp. has defaulted on the contract terms.
We have been patient and responsive while trying to secure your performance, promptly submitting a deposit of $1513.75 being 50% of the contract value and initiating countless contacts. Yesterday's conversation with your supplier, Town & Country, a conversation you asked your supplier to initiate by calling us directly, indicated that shipment of the door would be no sooner than December 30, 2013, with installation following. This schedule means that installation might happen about 16- 18 weeks from the contract date. This is unacceptable to us.
This letter is also to demand return of the total deposit amount, $1513.75, since none of the failure in performance can be attributed to us. The contract provides that both parties must agree to changes in writing and since a revision of delivery time was not agreed to in writing by both parties, your default voids the contract and entitles us to a full refund. Every conversation we had with your representative reflected our need for a certain delivery, which we required to be specified in the contract; and, which we reaffirmed in writing in an email at the time of contract signing, copy of said email being included with the contract when we mailed you the contract. We do not engage contractors without a specified delivery.
We expect to receive the refund within 10 days from the date of this letter. Since we live only a few miles from your business, we will happily come to your offices to pick up the check. We were happy to engage a local business for our needs and are sad to see this outcome.
If we do not receive the full refund as requested above we will proceed with any and all avenues of redress available to us, including but not limited to an action in Small Claims Court of Martin County, FL and a complaint to the Better Business Bureau of South Florida.
Certified Mail, Return Receipt
HAND DELIVERED, address above
Encl: contract copy, check copy, email

Desired Settlement
Gulf Stream is holding a significant amount of our money being half the price of the door and installation they were required to provide within 8 weeks of the contract acceptance. That deposit is $1513.75. They have not been damaged, they are not entitled to keep money for work they do not perform, they did not provide the materials, nor the delivery, nor the installation as contracted and were unable or unwilling to provide a firm performance date. When we cancelled the contract effective December 11, 2013, they were already 4 weeks beyond the performance period.

While the contract has small print that says that "the above prices, specifications and conditions are satisfactory and hereby accepted" and it does not allow for any verbal agreements by either party. Therefore there is no basis for Gulf Stream to modify the delivery and we cancelled the contract accordingly.

We have demanded full refund of the deposit of $1513.75. In addition, significant effort and time and aggravation have been expended. GulfStream appears to have no regard for consumers. If they do not want our business, they should say so. At 70 years of age, and a lifetime of work in real estate and construction industries, we know what good service should be, what quid pro quo means, and have received neither from GulfStream. While we expect to receive a full refund, it would be appropriate if it were accompanied with an apology.

12/09/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On May 2, 2014 I gave ********** my credit card in the amount of $6,000.00 as HALF payment for a 12' x 12' garage door and matching siding and peek enclosure, 2 years of maintenance, 5 year warrantee of parts and labor, with clear slats, ALL electric work, and two universal remotes.They installed the rollup door on September 22, XXXXX. I complained the sides were not secure. They installed unpainted hurricane shutters to fill the 2 3' gaps and said they would complete the rest when they got the material. I telephoned them on October 23, 2014 and asked when this job would be complete. One of the owners **** said they were having a meeting on Friday and they would figure out when they would complete my work. No call on to me on Friday. Monday, October 27, 2014 I made 10 telephone calls and got and answering machine stating "No one is available". I drove to the office at 11:30 AM and found the sign stating they were closed.
Product_Or_Service: Rollup garage doow & enclosures

Desired Settlement
I estimate, the work that has been completed is of a $1,000.00 value. I expect ALL the contracted work to be completed to include matching siding and peek enclosure, 2 years of maintenance, 5 year warrantee of parts and labor, with the clear slats, all electric work, and two universal remote, or refund me $5,000.00.

12/09/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid a 50% deposit of $19,250.00 in May 2014 and never got anything.
On May XX XXXX I signed a agreement of %50 deposit the rest due on completion of the Job for 38'x14' motorized roof and super Gutter. On that date I gave a check to the owner **** O'***** in the sum $19,250.00, %50 deposit. From that point on I have received nothing.

Desired Settlement
Provide the product or refund the deposit

12/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Seeking refund of $1000 paid for a custom shutter color OR allow us to pick up the paint.
Ordered custom made railings and shutters at $4500. Master Card will deal with them on this. Also paid $1000 cash for a custom color. Been given the "run around" for the last few weeks and now they are out of business. Seeking either refund of $1000 OR ability to pick up the paint....if indeed they have it.

Desired Settlement
seeking refund of $1000 OR provide me with the custom paint so I can have the shutters made elsewhere.

12/01/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
********** has gone out of business and took our deposit $ from us for whole house Accordian ********* Shutters which was never delivered or installed.
On July 18th of this year we had ******************* & Shutter Corp. (************* - Regional Sales Director) come out to our home and give us a quote on ********* Accordion Shutters for our whole house that would be completed in 8-10 week. At that time we signed a contract and they charged us 1/3 of total cost to our credit card as approved $5515.00. They kept delaying the installation and not returning our phone calls. On Oct. 6th they said they would start today on Oct. 20th. When they didn't show and we couldn't reach them by phone we drove up to the store. There we found a sign "OCTOBER 17, 2014 AFTER 35 YEARS WE ARE SORRY TO INFORM YOU THAT******************** & SHUTTER CORPORATION IS CLOSED".

Desired Settlement
We want our $5515.00 refund BACK!

01/23/2015Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Shutters, Aluminum Products, Screens - Door & Window, Construction & Remodeling Services, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/01/1980Business started: 09/26/1979
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr

BBB records show a license number of CRC058017 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr. The expiration date of this license is 08/31/2016.

Check License Status: https://www.myfloridalicense.com/LicenseDetail.asp?SID=&id=5D01D2AD8F387359D3A80659E2B088DB

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of CGC1519137 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr. The expiration date of this license is 08/31/2016.

Check License Status: https://www.myfloridalicense.com/LicenseDetail.asp?SID=&id=3691D6A526A8A11787B4A6E9B2567365

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 1979, FL

Business Management
Mr. Timothy Taylor (Qualifier)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John L. O'Brien (Owner-President)Customer Contact: Mrs. Barbara O'Brien (Vice President)
Business Category

Shutters, Aluminum Products, Screens - Door & Window, Construction & Remodeling Services, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 611 SW Timber Trl 

    Stuart, FL 34997-6207(772) 287-6476
    (800) 244-4143
    (561) 748-6788
    (321) 636-7556
    (321) 722-2756
    (772) 335-5551
    (772) 567-2844

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Gulfstream Aluminum & Shutter Corporation is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 244-4143
  • (561) 748-6788
  • (321) 636-7556
  • (321) 722-2756
  • (772) 335-5551
  • (772) 567-2844
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Shutters

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

According to information in BBB files, this company is no longer in business. If you have an unresolved dispute with this company you may wish to seek legal advice.

As of October 21, 2014, the company is out of business and the BBB suggests contacting the Florida Attorney General's office at 866.966.7226 and the Martin County Sheriff's Dept. 772.220.7000 for further assistance.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.