BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/30/2010

Evans Roofing

Find a Location

Phone: (800) 290-9291Fax: (954) 561-7776View Additional Phone Numbers1071 NE 43rd St., Oakland ParkFL 33334-3805 Send email to Evans Roofing

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/30/2010

BBB has determined that Evans Roofing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Evans Roofing's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Evans Roofing

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
01/02/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Evans Roofing failed to meet it's one year warranty.
I had a contract with Evans Roofing dated 3-17-14 for the repair of a roof at XXXXX-X ***** **** **** ******* ***** ******** ** XXXXX. The contract was for $1200 which was paid to ******* ****** Manager/CEO of Evans Roofing. The contract had a one year guarantee.

The roof was repaired in March 2014.

A few months later during the rainy season the roof leaked in the same areas again. Evans Roofing came out after several calls and attempted to repair the roof. Evans Roof did such a poor job that the roof continued to leak and Evans Roof; also the left the roof with 7 tiles missing. The City of Coral Springs inspectors noted the missing tiles and required me to have the tiles replaced.

Evans Roofing replaced the missing tiles but work not fix the roof. Evans Roofing said that the roof
was not fixable and refused to do the warranty repairs.

I contacted a licensed roofer who gave me an estimate of $1650 to fix the repairs which were in the same location as the leaks before that Evans Roofing failed to ever repair.

I contacted Evans Roofing and they refused to fix the roof even though I have another licensed roofer that would do the job for me.

Evans Roofing said I needed a new roof and would not fix the leaks which they never satisfactorily repaired. Of course Evans Roofing did initially take my $1200 and give me a one year warranty.

I need to protect my property from further damage and request resolution as soon as possible.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting that Evans Roofing repair the roof with the warranty or pay $1650 for the licensed roofer to do the repair that Evans Roofing refuses to do.

There has been additional interior damage to the property that Evans Roofing is responsible for and I would be willing to settle this portion of the damage for $500.

The total requested settlement is $2150.

Business Response
Thank you for the opportunity to reply to Mr. **********'s request. Back in 2010 Evans Roofing first completed a repair at above address, we stated to Mr. ********** that the roof has reached its lifetime expectancy (over 28 years). The underlayment felt paper is dry, cracking and causing repairs very difficult to complete. The actual leak reported on the bottom of the valley, worked for approximately six months. As explained to Mr. ********** a new leak could have occurred on the upper part of the valley running down, causing a leak on the same spot previously repaired. Knowing the condition of the roof Evans Roofing came to the conclusion that the roof is not fixable anymore, by fixing it will cause more damage. This is the reason why Evans Roofing suggested to Mr. ********** replacing the roof was the best option. The contract in the amount of one thousand two hundred dollars included three different leaking areas, Evans Roofing purposed to refund Mr. ********** in the sum of four hundred dollars to void the guarantee on the roof.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My warranty was for one year and I expect it to be honored. The roof continued to leak within 4 months of the repair. It took a long time for Evans Roofing to come back and repair the roof. When Evans roofing did come back, Evans Roofing failed to repair the roof properly; in addition Evans Roofing was negligent by leaving the roof with 7 tiles missing which may have caused more damage to the roof. As I pointed out before the City of Coral Springs noticed the missing tiles on their annual inspection and requested that the tiles be replaced.

I requested that Evans Roofing repair the roof as required in the 1 year contract; or if Evans Roofing is not skilled enough to fix the roof, that Evans Roofing pay for another qualified and licensed roofer to repair the damage. The other roofer found the areas that needed to be repaired by Evans Roofing.

In summary Evans Roofing provided a 1 year warranty and took my payment; now Evans Roofing in less than a year says that the roof is not repairable;yet another roofer can repair the roof.


I am getting additional estimates to repair the roof from other licensed roofers. I had one roofer inspect the roof on 11/13/14 and am waiting for the estimate. The roofer said that the roof only needs to be repaired in the valleys where the repair was attempted by Evans Roofing but never adequately repaired. The remaining parts of the roof are fine. This licensed roofer does not agree with Evans Roofing that the roof needs replaced, but just repaired.

Final Business Response
Evans Roofing would like to reimburse **** ********** for the roof repair in the sum of four hundred dollars to stay in good standings.

Final Consumer Response
These comments are specific to Evans Roofing response. The releaking areas were noticed within a few months not 6 months. It took Evans Roofing considerable amount of time to return calls and set appointments to do the attempted repair. After the repair the leaks were still there. Also Evans Roofing left many tiles missing on the second repair attempt. These missing tiles could have caused the paper being dry,and possibly cracking. Theses tiles were missing for several months, who knows what damage this could have caused. The City of Coral Springs noticed the missing tiles as requested they be replaced. Evans Roofing did replace the tiles but did not replace them properly.
Evans Roofing did not put the tiles level which was cosmetically unappealing and possibly dangerous to the areas below the tiles. The area where the tiles were put back improperly was noticed by the other roofers and they planned to make repairs in the these area.Evans
roofing should be responsible for the cost to repair the areas.

12/29/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Evan's Roofing refuses to fix my leaking patio roof despite calls and complaints.
the first contract was set up to be for $4,980.00 for a full roof repair, a gutter system, and it said it was a final contract. it was signed on 7/24/14 when we set a deposit of $1,980 by check.

at this point, the work had just begun and was going to get worse.

when fully paid off by 8/25/14 (with the remaining $3k), he said that the roof was more than worse and needed more money for the repair of an additional $700 dollars which was for the supposed wood and never should have been added.

according to the logisitcs of the contract, the wood is $5.00 per foot and they used approximately 476 sf.

still, we paid him off despite our complaints and money worries because he decided to put a lien on the house when we questioned his methods and rudeness at this point.

needless to say, the man actually confessed to having bought the company to us with the title 'evan's roofing' and he claimed it was his business in the beginning of our meeting. fred, the man who was in charge of helping us choose a proper roof, actually recommended that we do not need insulation for an outside patio. even if we did buy the insulation, it would have still been damaged due to the leaks in his roofing job.

fred, as of 1:45 pm on 11/24/14, claimed that the contract was essentially voided and made up false facts about a very clearly written contract. he refuses to meet up in person and chooses to rather yell at my mother and I over the phone about how much we don't listen even though he yells just as much as we do.

i don't want to fight, i just want a resolution to this leaking patio roof since that is what i initially spent money on.

Desired Settlement
just fix my roof. i spent over 7 thousand dollars, have faced multiple contract, have been told that 'i don't know what i am talking about' and have been belittled by them. an inspector--from their company, mind you--came and even stated that the roof had 'pooling water'but ignored the water stains and dismissed it as 'settling'. this is already with having all the money invested and still within our warranty.

the company is rude, will not abide by their own contracts and changes their payments on a drop of a dime. when the phone conversations are being exchanged, the owner keeps calling us 'ignorant' despite the fact that this is an incident that was done within a few months.

roof repairs where essentially pointless and they claimed that there was 'moisture on the inside' but have a strict refusal to acknowledge it even with undeniable water stains showing.

it was a degrading experience, i was called an idiot. he recalls details with horrible accuracy, doesn't take time to actually listen to the customer... the list goes on.

whatever happened to the term 'the customer is always right'? now, mind you, i just want fairness and nothing more. i want my roof to be repaired the way it was intended, nothing more and nothing less.

Business Response
Spoke with the ***** Residence after this claim was made. All corrections have been made.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/2004Business started: 08/07/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
https://www.myfloridalicense.com/wl11.asp?mode=0&SID=

Broward County Business Tax
Broward County Governmental Offices 115 S. Andrews Ave.
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301-1818
(954) 357-7235
http://www.broward.org/Pages/Welcome.aspx

BBB records show a license number of CCC1326276 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is https://www.myfloridalicense.com/wl11.asp?mode=0&SID=. The expiration date of this license is 08/31/2016.

Check License Status: https://www.myfloridalicense.com/LicenseDetail.asp?SID=&id=243F2850EF5BCB50EB3D484A6065205A

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 185-1179 for this company, issued by Broward County Business Tax. Their web address is http://www.broward.org/Pages/Welcome.aspx.

Check License Status: https://www.broward.county-taxes.com/public/business tax/accounts/5269

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 2003, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thierry Devove (President/Director)
Business Category

Roofing Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Devove US, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Evans Roofing

1071 NE 43rd St.

Oakland Park, FL 33334-3805

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 3599 23 Ave South 

    Lake Worth, FL 33461

  • 4242 SW 74th Ave STE A 

    Miami, FL 33155-4405

  • 1071 NE 43rd St. 

    Oakland Park, FL 33334-3805(954) 553-0036
    (800) 290-9291
    (305) 896-4846
    (305) 244-4603
    Fax: (954) 561-7776
    Fax: (954) 561-7776
    Fax: (954) 561-7776
    Fax: (954) 561-7776

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Evans Roofing is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (954) 553-0036
  • (305) 896-4846
  • (305) 244-4603
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.