BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/03/2011

AAA Able A/C & Appliance Service Inc.

Phone: (954) 525-6577Fax: (954) 525-6613View Additional Phone Numbers430 N Andrews Ave, Fort LauderdaleFL 33301-3214 Send email to AAA Able A/C & Appliance Service Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/03/2011

BBB has determined that AAA Able A/C & Appliance Service Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised AAA Able A/C & Appliance Service Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on AAA Able A/C & Appliance Service Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
01/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Twice they told me they would call and send repairman - neither happened
On June, 24, 2014 I called and requested a repairman due to a leak in the A/C unit. On 6/25/14 after 7:00 pm a repairman came and told me the line was clogge , he blew it out and left within 20 min. On 8/27 I had a recurring issue a different repair man came and wanted to do extensive repairs with an approximate cost of $600.00. I told him I had to think about it. On 9/20/14 I called the office and spoke with ******* who told me I could have a repairman on either Tues 9/23 or Wed 9/24.. I told her Tuesday was fine and she told me she would call me back to advise me when the repairman would arrive. No one called and no one showed up.On Tuesday 9/23 I called again at approximately 10:20 AM and spoke with ******* again. Her exact quote was, no one came yesterday. Again she promised to contact the repairman and call me back to advise me when I might expect the service. Again, no one came and no one called. This company has both my cell and home number. My experience with this company is less than acceptable. While they are polite they do not deliver on the promise services. Not only do they not show up but no one calls to advise the status. I suspect that it is a small business with little to no organizational skills. I would not refer anyone to this company for any type of business.

Desired Settlement
There is no financial settlement, just a prompt and courteous resolution of the problem with an exact date and time.

Business Response
Estimate was given August28 for a solution to correct drain problem of drain line broken under home. Customer choose not to have repair done.

12/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
AAA Able Appliance and Air Conditioning, Inc. told me that my AC would be repaired within 2 days of the service call. After 2 days passed AC not fixed
On 8-4-2010, I purchased an 18,000 BTU Amana room unit AC from AAA Able AC. A tech by the name of ******* installed the unit that day. A little over 3 years later the unit stopped working. I called AAA Able for service to repair the unit. On 10-22-2013, AAA Able sent ******* to my house for the service call. He looked over the unit for about 10 minutes. ******* told me that the coil sensor and the board was bad and needed replacing. ******* said he didn't carry the parts and had to order them. ******* said if he could order the parts locally he would be back the next day to fix the unit. If he had to order the parts from Jacksonville, he would be back in 2 days to fix the unit. ******* told me the total cost of the parts would come to approximately $225.00,give or take $25.00. ******* said the total cost to repair my unit would be a little under $300.00. The day of the service call I handed ****** my credit card, believing he would be back to fix my AC. ******* took my credit card
info and billed me $84.00. After 2 days, I heard nothing from AAA Able, so, on 10-24-2013, I called them. AAA Able told me that the parts I needed to fix my AC could not be located at the Amana warehouse. I told them that sounded like a bunch of B.S. Later that day, I called ********** cell phone and told him that I thought I was being lied to and I told him I would report his company to the BBB, Consumer Affairs, and ****** ****** of channel 7 news. ******* told me my $84.00 service call fee would be refunded. I checked my credit card account and found that AAA Able billed me the $84.00 and posted the charge to my account on 10-24-2013. I decided to see if I could locate the coil sensor and board for my AC myself. In about 5 minutes I located the parts for my AC. I called the 800 number at the back of my Amana user manual. The number is X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. I was connected within seconds to the Amana warehouse in Tennessee. I gave them my Amana room unit's model number, AE183E35AXAA, and it's serial number, XXXXXXXXXX. The Amana warehouse in Tennessee told me they had 2 types of coil sensors and 2 types of boards for my model Amana AC. They also gave me prices for the parts. Display Board, Part Number:XXXXXXXX, Price:$11.50. Main Board, Part Number:XXXXXXXX, Price:$19.38. Coil Sensor, Part Number:XXXXXXXXX, Price:$1.45. Coil Sensor, Part Number:XXXXXXXX, Price:$1.22. The Amana warehouse in Tennessee told me they could ship me these parts in about 2 days. When I heard the price of these parts my AC needed, I was absolutely shocked. ******* told me the UNMARKED-UP COST, the price he pays for these parts without receiving a profit was around $225.00. ******* also told me that he would show me an invoice proving that he paid $225.00 for these parts. I've given you the entire TRUE account, I'll let you be the judge of what AAA Able and ******* are. Although every story has 2 sides.

Desired Settlement
I want my $84.00 service fee refunded and I want other consumers to beware of AAA Able AC. I don't want other consumers to be lied to and cheated out of their hard earned money.

Business Response
Customer wanted a 3pm service call on October 22nd. Our technician arrived to assess the issue at 3. Unfortunately, the parts company was already closed for that day. When our technician, reached the parts company the next day, they informed us the display board would be hard to receive. We found out, however that Amana warranty had one on locally. We immediately refunded Mr. ****** his money on the 24th and referred him to the Amana warranty company.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was willing to drop the issue with AAA Able AC, but after reading AAA Able AC's response to my complaint, I feel I am obligated to shine a light on their inaccurate account and expose them. I originally scheduled service for 3PM on Monday, October 21, 2013. I both submitted an appointment on AAA Able AC's website and I called their office. AAA Able AC postponed the service call for October 22, 2013, Tuesday. The AAA Able AC technician only spent about 10 minutes looking at my AC, so he was done around 3:10 PM. I don't know what parts company AAA Able AC called that they claim was closed, but the 800 number I called (X-XXX-XXX-XXXX) for part closes at 4:30PM Central Time. AAA Able AC claims the parts company they reached informed them that the display board would be hard to receive. Hard to receive? What the **** does that mean? Either the parts company has the parts in stock or they don't. My AC didn't need a display board, it needed a main board. AAA Able AC never referred me to the Amana warranty company. AAA Able AC told me they couldn't locate the parts; I told AAA Able AC that sounded like B.S., and AAA Able AC disconnected the call. I then immediately called ******, the AAA Able AC technician, and he referred me to a guy named ****. ****** told me **** was an Amana guru who most likely had the parts my AC needed. I called this **** for help but he gave me the run around. To this day, I don't know who the **** this **** really is. ****'s number is XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Final Business Response
We are so sorry that this customer could not be satisfied and this is why he was refunded on his credit card the following day. In closing in 35 years and thousands of customers later we have learned that some times- odds are you have a unsatisfied customer occasionally. All we can do to rectify this is to credit the customer.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Refrigerators & Freezers - Service & Repair, Appliances - Small - Service & Repair, Appliances - Small - Dealers, Laundry Equipment, Appliances - Major - Dealers, Duct & Duct Fittings, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/12/2007Business started: 11/21/1984
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
https://www.myfloridalicense.com/wl11.asp?mode=0&SID=

Broward County Business Tax
Broward County Governmental Offices 115 S. Andrews Ave.
Fort Lauderdale, FL33301-1818
(954) 357-7235
http://www.broward.org/Pages/Welcome.aspx

BBB records show a license number of CAC032432 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is https://www.myfloridalicense.com/wl11.asp?mode=0&SID=. The expiration date of this license is 08/31/2016.

Check License Status: https://www.myfloridalicense.com/LicenseDetail.asp?SID=&id=C37CB51DBA9929E19792A6E57D652E97

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 3232273 for this company, issued by Broward County Business Tax. Their web address is http://www.broward.org/Pages/Welcome.aspx.

Check License Status: https://www.broward.county-taxes.com/public/business tax/accounts/23733

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 1981, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Murphy (President)Mrs. Denise Murphy (Vice President)
Business Category

Refrigerators & Freezers - Service & Repair, Appliances - Small - Service & Repair, Appliances - Small - Dealers, Laundry Equipment, Appliances - Major - Dealers, Duct & Duct Fittings, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Alternate Business Names
AAA Able Air Conditioning & Applicance

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for AAA Able A/C & Appliance Service Inc.

430 N Andrews Ave

Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301-3214

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 430 N Andrews Ave 

    Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301-3214(561) 392-9522
    (561) 734-9000
    (954) 525-6577
    (305) 623-8242

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*AAA Able A/C & Appliance Service Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (561) 392-9522
  • (561) 734-9000
  • (305) 623-8242
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Refrigerators & Freezers - Service & Repair

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.