BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/10/2000

Sunset Ranches Companies LLC

Find a Location

Phone: (800) 348-3800Fax: (305) 670-0105View Additional Phone Numbers9200 S. Dadeland Blvd., #307, MiamiFL 33156

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/10/2000

BBB has determined that Sunset Ranches Companies LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Sunset Ranches Companies LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Sunset Ranches Companies LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
06/02/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought land from sunset ranches companies llc **** ***** ******** ***** ***** *** ***** ******* XXXXX. My account number is XXXXXX. I was on autopay from day 1 and every month they charge me late fees and penalties and say I am not on Autopay. Every month I have to pay late fees and sign up every month for autopay. This is a scam and a way to rip people off. The payment is also via credit card of which they have my info. When you call them they put you on hold and claim a supervisor will call. That call never comes. They then sent you a notice of default and demand extra fees under late fees and penalties.Please investigate this company as this is happening to lots of other customers who are being ripped off by fraudulent charges.
Product_Or_Service: land
Account_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Refund of my late fees and penalties and to be on autopay and if not to be billed for my charges every month either by mail or electronically.

Business Response
The customer purchased land from us in December 2013, he was late in paying some of the monthly loan payments and late fees were charged to his loan account. We informed the customer upon his call to our office in April the reason for the late charges and he stated that we were supposed to charge his credit card each month automatically, and we requested that he complete an authorization form as we did not have the form on file. We again spoke to the customer yesterday and agreed to waive all late charges and we again requested he complete the authorization form (emailed to him yesterday) to allow us to start to charge his credit card effective 6/1/14 on a monthly basis.

07/29/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought tract 6, section 19, block 46, unit 433 for 20 acres was advertising estimate tax for $100, but it turns out to be $150. Bad False advertise
Because of the differences in the tax from my other purchase, I request to cancel my current purchase unit 0618, lot 12, block 48 because I predict Sunset Ranches corporation lies about their guarantee of satisfaction and estimate in the tax that they are clueless or bad advertising.

Desired Settlement
Request full refund for false advertising.

Business Response
In response to the Complaint by ******* *** concerning the 20 acres purchased from Sunset Ranches in April, 2016 under a Contract for Deed, the advertised and "estimated" amount for the 2016 taxes was $100, based on the property tax bills for the 2015 property taxes. However, she was only charged $60.00 by Sunset Ranches. We have no control over the appraisal board or taxing unit for Hudspeth County, Texas and it appears that when the new appraisals came out in May or June, the value of the property was increased by the Hudspeth County appraisal board. Therefore, the taxes may have increased if the value has increased. As in all real estate property sales, taxes for the year of the sale are predicated on the prior year's taxes unless and until a new appraisal is made. Those appraisals do not get to the consumer until May or June of the tax year in question. We hope this addresses this complaint.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Sunset Ranches have no control over the tax for sure, so they should not advertising what they are unaware of or they clearly know about it, but continue lying and denying of their lies? For now they know the tax adjusting to $159 for the value of $10,000, their land was adjusted for $1892 in 2015 then they are selling for $10,000 in 2016. Then of course the tax rose. Can you amagine how much the tax would be for $30,000 value land? 3x159= $478 definitely not about $100 way off portion of marginal errors. They still remain advertising in the month of July when they know about they should not lie to buyer the thing they are not in control of.. It was out dated 10 or 20 years ago when they purchase, but definitely not current adjustment.

Final Business Response
Consumer purchased during 2015 twenty acres of land, Unit 433, Tract 6(as per amendment to exchange for unit 430 Tract 2) and during 2016
purchased twenty acres of land, Unit 618, Tract 12. Contracts are attached hereto. Both contracts per #7 clearly state, PROPERTY TAXES - "are presently estimated to be $100.00 per year, per twenty acre lot based upon present use".
In addition to the contracts we have attached hereto the actual property taxes for consumers 2015 & appraised taxes for 2016. In both situations the taxes are MUCH LESS than $100.00 per lot.
Sunset Ranches has been in business for more than 20 years and we resent the accusations by
consumer that property taxes were misrepresented! This matter this must be concluded.
We will not refund any monies paid by consumer and if customer continues to spread "lies"
about Sunset Ranches we will seek legal remedies for "false and malicious accusations"

Industry Comparison| Chart

Real Estate

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/08/2000Business started: 01/01/1993
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Miami-Dade Tax Collector
140 W Flagler Street, 1st Flr
Miami, FL 33130
(305) 375-5452
http://www.miamidade.gov

BBB records show a license number of 4583275 for this company, issued by Miami-Dade Tax Collector. Their web address is http://www.miamidade.gov.

Check License Status: https://www.miamidade.county-taxes.com/public/business tax/accounts/4391025

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jack Giacalone (Manager)Mr. Joseph Giacalone
Business Category

Real Estate

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Sunset Ranches Companies LLC

9200 S. Dadeland Blvd., #307

Miami, FL 33156

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 9200 S. Dadeland Blvd., #307 

    Miami, FL 33156(800) 510-3370
    (800) 843-7537
    (800) 227-6115
    (305) 670-4444
    (305) 670-0702
    (800) 348-3800
    (800) 755-8953

  • 9400 S. Dadeland Blvd., #605 

    Miami, FL 33156

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Sunset Ranches Companies LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 510-3370
  • (305) 670-0702
  • (800) 843-7537
  • (800) 227-6115
  • (800) 755-8953
  • (305) 670-4444
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Real Estate

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.