BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/31/2005

Publishers Communication Systems, Inc

Phone: (954) 979-6800Fax: (954) 984-8737

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
02/16/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Requesting a denied refund from Publishers Comm. Systems for cancelled Good Housekeeping Mag. charged to American Express acct. through March 2019.
Have cancelled delivery of my 89 yr. old mothers Good Housekeeping Magazine directly through website, but informed that the order is through a 3rd party: Publishers Communications Systems, and that I must contact them for cancellation of magazine, and a refund of their extended subscription through March of 2019. They deny the subscription extension, and directed me to Publishers Direct Choice, who also deny the extended subscription, saying that 2013 was their last renewal. I last spoke to their manager, Kraizia, who said there was nothing she could do to help me. My mother says that she has tried, unsuccessfully, over the years (since 2012) to cancel this magazine, but agents that she speaks to take advantage of her age and mild dementia. She is not able to keep up with ALL of the magazines that she has been 'talked' into subscribing for. Her name is Ruth Hutson, and the account #XXXXXXXXXX. I have no recourse but to file a complaint and hope that the Better Business Bureau can find out where to STOP this magazine and also get my mother a refund that has been charged to her American Express account.

Desired Settlement
Permanent cancellation of Good Housekeeping Magazine and a full refund from cancellation date through March of 2019, which has been automatically charge to my mothers American Express account.

Business Response
This is in reply to your email dated February 11, 2016 relative to the above; Case # XXXXXXXX.

Please be advised that Publishers Communication Systems, Inc. is not involved in any direct selling of magazine subscriptions. Our company is a clearing house for subscription orders sold by independent selling agents. We process these orders to various fulfillment centers.

The order in question was submitted to us by ********** ****** ******* *** of Miami, Florida for a four-year subscription to Good Housekeeping magazine, which we forwarded to the publisher.

After receiving your email, we questioned the selling agent about this consumer assertion that her mother requested this order be canceled and a refund issued.

According to the selling agent, on February 11, 2016, they spoke with Ms. ********* and arranged for a refund back to Ms. ********* American Express credit card.

At this time we consider this matter closed and request that our record with the Better Business Bureau be reflective of that.

Additionally, please see that our rating is not challenged as we have been inappropriately named in the complaint.

If we can be of any further service, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Respectfully,
Publishers Communication Systems, Inc.
Customer Service Department

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Publishers Direct Choice Manager, Krazia, did in fact contact me on February 12, 2016 and offered a partial, but substantial refund for the remaining issues of Good Housekeeping Magazine left on my mothers 4 yr. subscription, and also put her on their 'no call' list. Unfortunately, I was given the name of Publishers Communication Systems Inc. by a Good Housekeeping Magazine agent, as the agency handling my mothers subscription. They denied handling it and passed ** on to Publishers Direct Choice, who also denied handling her current subscription, and told me they could do nothing to solve my problem, so consider my frustration being given the run around, when all I needed was someone to cancel her subscription and issue a refund for an unwanted 4 yr. subscription. I consider the problem taken care of, as stopping the magazine, and getting my mother a refund for the remaining issues was my intent. There would not have been a need for a Better Business Bureau complaint if the magazine industry did not make the process so difficult and if my request would have been respectfully complied with weeks ago. I was left with no where to turn, except a complaint to the Better Business Bureau to help solve this problem.

10/19/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Subscription to a magazine was ordered, however, I DID NOT order the magazine, nor did I receive any notification of a gift subscription for it.
ESPN Sports Magazine subscription was ordered in my name. However, I DID NOT order this magazine. I was not notified of any gift subscriptions. I am concerned about HOW this was ordered and by whom. I have contacted ESPN Magazine and cancelled the subscription, and they referred me to Publisher Communication Systems for questions regarding payments. There was no verification through Communication Publisher Systems with me regarding this subscription. I would like to have answers as to how, and by whom, this was ordered in my name, with my address. The magazine is ESPN , received on Friday October X XXXX. The ESPN Subscription number is ESNXXXXXXXXXX. I have NO INTEREST in this magazine or in doing business with Publisher Communication Systems.

Desired Settlement
I want to know how, and by whom, the subscription to the ESPN Sports Magazine was ordered, and I further want my account and name cleared of any and all charges that may have been incurred, and any and all future charges, by this order. I did not willfully agree to any subscription(s) with Communication Publisher Systems.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
This is in reply to your email dated October 12, 2015 relative to the above; Case # XXXXXXXX.

Please be advised that Publishers Communication Systems, Inc. is not involved in any direct selling of magazine subscriptions. Our company is a clearing house for subscription orders sold by independent selling agents. We process these orders to various fulfillment centers.

The order in question was submitted to us by Western Reader Service of Walnut Creek, California for a one-year subscription to ESPN magazine, which we forwarded to the publisher. After receiving your email, we questioned the selling agent about this consumer assertion that she did not order the magazine.

According to the selling agent, on October 12, 2015 several attempts were made to reach Ms. ******** by phone at XXX-XXX-XXXX in an effort to resolve this issue, however, she has not returned their call.

At this time we consider this matter closed and request that our record with the Better Business Bureau be reflective of that. Additionally, please see that our rating is not challenged as we have been inappropriately named in the complaint.

If we can be of any further service, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Respectfully,
Publishers Communication Systems, Inc.
Customer Service Department


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
It is true that several "attempts" were made to contact me, during my own work hours when I am unable to answer my phone. However, the caller did not leave a voice mail to identify who they were, or why they were calling, or how to reach them, until approximately 8 p.m. Mountain Time, at which time a male caller from Publishers Communication Systems, Inc. finally left a voice mail. The call was from the same number that had been calling, every two hours, with out leaving identifying information. The male caller did explain the situation, and assured me that my name would be removed from further distributions, and that there were no payment obligations associated with the subscription. I accept this resolution, however, I still feel the business practices and customer service practices of Publishers Communication Systems, Inc. is in need of review. It is unacceptable to call a patron/consumer every two hours, and not leave voice mail messages identifying who they are and why they are calling, or even how to get into contact with them. Furthermore, it is not in best practice to call consumers/patrons during such late hours in the evening. If a voicemail had been left for me after the first attempt to contact me, I most certainly would have returned the call to resolve the issue; especially due to the potential risk to my identity and financial status if this situation was not questioned, and subsequently resolved.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Publishers - Book, Books - Wholesale, Magazine Sales, Magazines - Subscription Agents, Music Publishers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.