BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Southeast Florida & the Caribbean

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

The Rx Helper

Phone: (888) 233-4303Fax: (888) 233-4354

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

49 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 40 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Billing / Collection Issues6
Delivery Issues3
Problems with Product / Service36
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints49

Additional Complaint Information

Our files contain a pattern of complaints from consumers that allege that RX Helper fails to issue refunds after they have cancelled their accounts. Other consumers complain about wanting to cancel their services due to lack of correspondence and poor customer service from The Rx Helper.

The Rx Helper generally responds to these complaints by referring the consumer to their refund policy.

On October 15, 2013, BBB sent correspondence to The Rx Helper requesting their voluntary cooperation in resolving complaints on file with BBB and providing steps it will implement to eliminate the pattern of customer complaints.

On October 18, 2013 The RX Helper responded to BBB's concerns stating the following:
We help to facilitate the completion of paperwork for various prescription assistance programs offered though the manufacturing pharmaceutical companies to provide free or discounted medication to individuals who meet certain financial criteria. These applications are usually very lengthy, confusing, and outright difficult to understand, hence we provide a service to assist in the approval process.
We do not handle medication, see medication, or charge for medication. We simply assist in the completion of paperwork, and see through the lengthy process of approval, and then continue to assist in any additional filing required for future refills, or any additional medication that client may be prescribed.
We have scripting that has not only been approved by the department of agriculture here in the state of Florida, but we also have daily monitoring of our advocates to ensure the upmost compliance on phone calls with our potential clients. After someone is qualified for assistance they are required to do a recorded verification, which explains in great detail the terms of our service, refund polices, and cancelation policies as well. Every single client we have enrolled has not only completed this recording, but has agreed and understood all of our terms on this recording.
After the enrollment takes place, we email a welcome letter within 24 hours of that enrollment which helps to ensure their understanding about how are services works. Every client is also provided with our terms of service, refund policy, cancelation policy, and privacy policy via mail or email within 48-72 hours of their initial enrollment.
We have noticed the amount of complaints that come in from the BBB, and try to respond to each one of them as quickly as possible. We have and will continue to build redundancies to better ensure satisfaction for our clients, and more importantly to create a better understanding of how our services work, and how our cancelation and refund policies work as well.
We have implemented a system where follow up calls take place within a week of enrollment to see if a client has any questions or concerns regarding their paperwork. We also do bi-weekly emails if we are missing certain criteria preventing someone from completing the application process.

On June 16, 2014 BBB reviewed the complaints for The RX Helper and determined the pattern of complaints still exists.

BBB will continue to monitor the complaints and will update the companies review as necessary.

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (49)BBB Closure Definitions
06/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: My account was charged $70 and I did not receive my drug, nor did I return signed papers authorizing the deduction. Deceitful practices!
I contacted RX Helper because I am an elderly woman living on a poverty level income, and I can not afford the blood pressure medicine prescribed by my Doctor. RX sent me numerous forms to fill out, and they also sent me a form for my doctor to complete. RX informed me that I would save 50% on my prescription by using them. RX deducted $70 from my account before I even sent them the forms! I contacted my physician's office, and I was informed by a nurse, that due to my income, I can receive the medication for free. I contacted RX Helper and requested that my account be credited. I explained to RX that I had not even returned the forms to them, nor had I received my medication, and my account had been charged! The representative at RX was extremely rude and argumentive. She refused to refund my money, and she told me that I had agreed "verbally" by phone, to pay the fee. She also informed me that my drug is "free" and that the money they charged me was for "processing." This company is unethical and deceitful, and they are taking advantage of people.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

06/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: RxHelper took unauthorized payments from my WellsFargo Bank Account after I called and told them I was using ReRelief which offered free services.
To Whom It May Concern:

I recently informed RxHelper based on this email 4/11/14 not to take another unauthorized payment from my WellsFargo Bank Account. RxHelper has taken 3 unauthorized payments from my account. Here below are the events that have taken place. I want my money back; I have contact Weinstock, Friedman and Friedman, P.A.

Below is the synopsis of events;
The day of my enrollment I provided my payment and recorded acknowledgement of membership. After hanging up the phone, it was brought to my attention that I signed up for RxHelper instead of RxRelief. Afterwards I phoned RxHelper back and explained my error and asked for my membership to be cancelled. I told the representative at RxHelper the aforementioned and that I did not want to be a member.

I acknowledged the payment of the application fee, however I didn't want to pay a membership for a program that is being offered for free and provides me with a discount card. Three months later, in review of my bank statements, I learn RxHelper took $39.95 from my checking account for 4 consecutive months (12/24/13, 1/27/14, 2/27/14, 3/25/14 totaling $159.80). I requested a refund during our conversation, to date I have not received a refund. I have contacted my attorney at Weinstock, Friedman and Friedman, P.A. ===============================================================
When I called RxHelper 3/24/14 at (XXX-XXX-XXXX) I spoke with ****** who immediately stated, I was not entitled to a refund especially based on the recorded phone call.

After literally demanding for her to change her tone and disposition with me, I spoke with ***** (manager). Upon speaking to speak with ***** (the manager) he immediately said, there was not a recorded call of me ever calling in canceling services. He proceeded to give me the following analysis of services offered by RxHelper, "monthly services" are fees their company charge similar to cable service. If I choose to use them I do, if I choose not to use them I don't have to and either way I have to pay.

I explained to ****** that the above was not an accurate description of Business Law defined services and goods. According to the below from the Better Business Bureau RxHelper has a
pattern...
==================================================================
RxHelpers claim to follow these steps;

* After the enrollment takes place, we email a welcome letter within 24 hours of that enrollment which helps to ensure their understanding about how are services works. Every client is also provided with our terms of service, refund policy, cancelation policy, and privacy
policy via mail or email within 48-72 hours of their initial enrollment. I did not received an email confirmation

* We have implemented a system where follow up calls take place within a week of enrollment to see if a client has any questions or concerns regarding their paperwork.
I did not receive a phone call from RxHelpers, I can provide copies of my ATT phone records.

To show that I called and canceled the above agreement, nothing is stated on the Better Business Report of how phone calls are handled, ***** claimed I was suppose to mail in writing my request. Had I received the above said phone call after my enrollment I would have shared my same concern of discontinuing membership.

===================================================================
Wells Fargo, if there is something your office can do to assist me with the refund please let me know. Thanks in advance,

****** ** *****

Initial Business Response
Mrs ***** enrolled into our program 12/23/13. The first time we heard from Mrs ***** was on 3.25.14 where she stated her desire to cancel and have her funds returned. Every phone call, and interaction is documented in our back office system. There is no record of Mrs ***** attempting to contact us prior to March 25th. We do weekly reminders to our clients, via email, to remind them to send back in the already filled out forms. We have documented record of these emails being sent to the email address she had provided to us. For example, the initial welcome letter was emailed 12/23/2013 at 4:37 PM. In addition, Mrs *****, like every other client who chooses to enroll with us, completed a recorded verification where she acknowledged our terms of service, and privacy policies. Mrs ***** is no exception. There is a extensive amount of work on our end that goes into the filling out of the initial applications, along with the follow up, status checks, and ultimately any additional filings for refills. Because Mrs ***** did not mail back the necessary forms, we were unable to complete the process for her. We do not offer a 'discount card' as she states in her complaint. All that being said, we are going to refund Mrs ***** her last 2 payments of $39.95 because we want to get to a resolution regarding this complaint. We hope this satisfies Mrs *****.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
Rx Helper has submitted three falsehoods to your organization. I did phone their organization, I did not receive a welcome email and to date, I received 1 refund see below (a huge example of RxHelper's Dishonest Traits/Transactions). Honestly, who lies to the Better Business Bureau about refunds.

RxHelper should not be allowed to deceive customers and not cancel memberships after realizing that RxRelief is the company they initially intended to contact. RxRelief sends out membership cards with adequate discount. I want all of my money back for all of the services I did not receive from RxHelper.

Regards,

****** ** *****
Posted Transactions
04/25/14
SAVE AS YOU GO TRANSFER DEBIT TO XXXXXXXXXXX1927
$2.00
04/25/14
BILL PAY BALTIMORE GAS & ON-LINE xxxxxXXXXX ON *****
$20.00
04/25/14
CHECK CRD PURCHASE 04/24 BOB EVANS REST *** LINTHICUM HGT MD XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX ?MCC=5814
$18.69
04/25/14
CHECK CRD PUR RTRN 04/25 THE RX HELPER XXX-XXX-XXXX FL XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX ?MCC=8999
$39.95
04/24/14
SAVE AS YOU GO TRANSFER DEBIT TO XXXXXXXXXXX1927


On Fri, Apr 25, 2014 at 8:14 AM, Better Business Bureau <*****************@bbb-email.org> wrote:

Complaint ID#: XXXXXXXX
Business Name: The Rx Helper

BBB has received a response from the business in the above referenced complaint case. Please review their response to your original complaint and advise us of your position in the matter. The response may have already been mailed to you by the company.

The details of the complaint (including the business' response) can be accessed at the following website address: http://seflorida.app.bbb.org/complaint/view/XXXXXXXX/c/92ca2b. Please be sure to indicate whether the company's response is satisfactory or not within ten (10) days.

If BBB does not receive a response, your complaint will close as Assumed Satisfied.

Sincerely,

Customer Service Department

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

05/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor refund, exchange or credit policies

Complaint: Cancelled my request for help in paying for prescriptions and asked for refund. They have not responded to two letters requesting refund.
In September I enlisted the aid of The RX Helper to assist in getting help paying for my medications, as I am on disability. There was an initial fee of $119.95 for applying. After reading the requirements, I do not believe I qualify for this assistance and asked them to cancel my application before they sent any requests to the drug manufacturers. I called more than once to cancel and have sent two letters (9-23-13 and X-XX-XX)asking that the charge made to my VISA card of $119.95 be refunded. Their Terms of Service state that I could cancel at any time.

The only response I had to the first letter was to receive several calls from them trying to convince me to proceed with the application. I declined. I sent another letter on February 19, 2014 and have received no response at all.

Today (May 5, 2014) I am sending a third letter requesting a refund.

Initial Business Response
Mrs ******** enrolled with our service on Sept 3rd 2013. The next correspondence we had was on Sept 13th when she called in to let us know that her Dr's address was wrong on the Apps that we sent. She also informed me that for her Haldol we needed to have a different Dr. We informed her that we would get the correct Dr's added and sent to her via email. The next correspondence was on the 27th of September where Mrs ******** requested cancellation. We tried contacting her back several times over the following days and finally made contact on Oct 4th. Per our terms and conditions, refunds are only applied if a patient cancels within the first 14 days of their enrollment. We have done a significant amount of paperwork for Mrs ********, and countless changes to her applications, per her request, and that is what she commissioned us for. As she stated in her complaint, it is true, cancellation can take place anytime; however that does not mean she is also eligible for a refund. We have since canceled Mrs ********'s account, and have taken no further payments from her since her initial cancellation request. Once again, she was informed in October that she was not eligible for a refund.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: Failed to complete assistance obtaining prescription medications as promised at a discount price
They charged ne a total of 169.90 dollars to get discount price on my prescriptions for insulin. I called them several times. Each time I was promised all was going well but more paper work needed to be done. Said faxes were sent to doctor but I would check and it would not be. Had them fax me directly at where I was employed and I would get to the doctor. This kept up until my doctor actually got sick of the mass of paper work they needed and he finally gave up. I then got another doctor to keep doing the required paper work. I was always promised that The RX Helper would assist me with medications but nothing ever advanced. I had spoken to people there several times. ******, ****** ****** ***** were the ones I usually talked with and was always assured that things were in a good process. I read other complaints about them and they always come back saying it was the customers fault. They are scammers and know how to get trust and money out of you

Initial Business Response
We have over 36 documented interactions with ** *****. Just as he stated in the above complaint, we are still in need of the necessary documents from his physician to complete the process for him. Unfortunately, without these forms, we are at a standstill. We have done a tremendous amount of work on his behalf, which is exactly what he was paying us to do. We even went as far as to offer to waive any future payments until we received the paperwork back form his physician, but ** ***** declined the offer, and insisted on canceling. That was the last call he made to us, on Tuesday, April 1, 2014 at 2:42 PM. Unfortunately, refunds are set in place for clients that are denied assistance. ** ***** has decided to stop participation due the 'inconvenience' he's experiencing from his physician. He have a signed affidavit from ** ***** stating his acknowledgment of our terms of service and privacy policies. We'd love to continue the process for him, have offered to waive his future payments, but unfortunately, there is nothing more we can do to assist him at this time.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/24/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Applied to RXHelper for help with medication costs: This company took $180.00 out of bank account on Jan 13th, and on Feb 8th took another $59.95. The paperwork kept going back and forth, and in the meantime I received no medication until Mar 12th, a bottle of******* arrived, after I had already cancelled my subscription with them. I called, asking for a refund, that I did not want their service as it was taking forever, and they had turned down most of my medications anyway, and emailed my cancellation, asking for a refund of my money, only to be told that money was for "service" not for the medications, and would not be refunding anything. I did not receive any medications, except for the******* in March. I told them if they took out two months of "service" fees, than why didn't I get any medications? They wrote me a letter advising me they needed more information, the same thing I have sent in to that company twice before! So in the meantime, this whole episode has cost me $180.00, have not gotten my meds, and have had to get my prescriptions filled here at home also, costing twice for my meds. I am on a fixed income, will be 80 yrs old in a couple months or so, and this has been a real hardship for me. This is a big scam as far as I am concerned, they keep wanting more information, holding back meds, and taking your money in the meantime. I just received another letter from them a few days ago that they needed more info and COULD NOT PROCESS my application. So if it is NOT PROCESSED YET, why are they taking out my money? This has been real horrendous experience as far as trying to get help with medication costs. I feel sorry for anyone who is going thru this. Has taken me 3 months, $180 and nothing in return. Please check into this for me, I called and they give me a run around. My daughter is a biller for a hospital and she told me to turn them into BBB so other older people don't get hurt by this. My ID # XXX-XXXX with RX. Thank you so much.

Initial Business Response
We are perplexed by the nature of this complaint. The client clearly states that she indeed received*******, for free, from the manufacturing pharmaceutical company in March. It is not up to us how fast the pharmaceutical companies respond to the applications, or send the medications. We have not only done our job by facilitating the paperwork for Mrs. ******, but have succeeded in getting her approved for her*******. The fact that we request additional information is a simply an extension of the proof that we are continuously working on behalf of our clients. When the pharmaceutical companies ask for additional info, we relay that information to the client, and help to advocate on their behalf, and expedite the process. The fact that Mrs. ****** is somehow relating the fact that additional information is some reflection of poor services from our company is absurd and frankly insulting. We have proof that we have gotten 1 of Mrs ******'s medications approved, and if it didn't happen in as timely a fashion as she would have wanted, then she simply can cancel the service. But writing a formal and slanderous complaint is simply perplexing. That being said, refunds are only provided to clients that have been denied for assistance, not the ones who have been approved.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It has taken from Jan thru Mar 13th, at the time I cancelled, to receive one medication; in the meantime paying the monthly fee, but getting paperwork on March 17th, from Connection To Care concerning*******, stating that they could not "complete my enrollment at that time due to needing more information from the health provider. They returned my paperwork and prescription, the same paperwork that had been sent in once before. So evidently, I had NOT been "enrolled" to received medication. Then, I did receive a bottle of******* on Mar 18th, after cancelling my proposed enrollment. I am sorry that it had to get to this point, but I am almost 80 yrs old, disabled, and live on a very small income. Paying for my drugs here at home, and paying that fee at the same time really put a strain on my budget. I was also told that they would not pick up over half my prescriptions, so that would have done me no good whatsoever. I was told that they would pick up all my drugs for a monthly fee. Sorry, but your representatives need to make that VERY clear when they are talking to people, that you get no money back UNLESS you are turned down. This has been a hardship on me, not helping me in any way.. This has been an $180 lesson for me. I am not intending to be slanderous, as I am sure some people have gotten good service thru you, but I feel I did not get good service. Paperwork was going back and forth, the same info, like some of it was getting lost in the process. I sent in the same paperwork twice, and they wanted the same thing again. I gave up!

Final Business Response
We are sorry to hear the process became a burden on you. We are happy to say that the******* was approved; 3.17.14 and the Enrollment for that program ends 12.31.14. If you ever need assistance in the refill process, please do not hesitate to contact us. To reiterate the original point however, it is completely out of our control when the pharmaceutical companies ask for additional paperwork. We understand the process can be tedious and timely, that is the very reason individuals hire our services to begin with. The refund policies are gone over in our recorded verification, and in writing in the initial packet of information that was sent to you upon your enrollment. All that being said, we have decided to refund your last month fee of $59.95 back to the CC we have on file for you. We hope that satisfies this complaint.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 8
06/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: they ask for 39.95+60 at the beginning and they send a form for the dr to sign no dr will sign their form asking to change the medication. no refund
no refund and they ask the dr to change the medication

Initial Business Response
I am confused by this complaint. We have over 20 documented interactions with this client. One of which is the client thanking us for all of our help, and was sorry they were canceling, but the Doctor was not cooperating in signing some of the forms in a timely fashion. The following statement has been taken, verbatim, from Mr ******'s cancellation letter. "Thank you for all your help and I hope in a future I could work with this great company."
Per our terms and conditions, refunds are only applied if a patient cancels within the first 14 days of their enrollment. However, in this case, we would be happy to try and satisfy the patient by refunding the fee of $39.95. A check will be mailed out today, 5/15/14. We hope this shows our good faith effort to resolve this issue even though the client seemed very happy with our company a short month ago in their letter to us.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was very clear with them, but they still took $60 for application fee, in this case the application was never completed and could not cancel before because they send the letter late and they never process my applicaiton. Please send me my money the $39.95 + $60. Also, I told them many times that the medication is trilipix not verbatim why would I alter my husbands medication. The main reason I am not satisfy with this company is because they are trying to do extortion. God knows how many people has gone trough this. Please stop this people is not fair for people that are in need of medication and they are taking advantage of their lock of money to buy this medication. I would of never think this could happen to me, but because it happen to me I am asking for justice I want to be the voice of those who can not talk and they were taken advantage.

Final Business Response
The above complaint is nothing short of slanderous. We take great pride in the work that we do for our patients. It is completely unfair and uncalled for to place blame on our company because your Physician was not willing to sign off on the applications. We take great offense to the comments listed in the above complaint. As stated before, we have done a significant amount of work on your behalf, completing several applications, and fulfilling our obligation of advocating on your behalf in an attempt to get you approved for your medications. That is what you paid for, the completion of paperwork and follow up that may come afterward. That being said, we have already submitted a refund of the $39.95. It is documented that it was mailed out to you on May 16th. To satisfy this complaint, We will agree to issue a refund of the $60 as well to show our intention of trying to appease this patient. This refund is in no way an admission of guilt, as we have gone above and beyond for this patient in an attempt to get them approved for their medications with the manufacturing companies. The check will be mailed out today for the $60.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I appreciate for the BBB to make this people return my money. Although, this does not make it ok for them to try to still money from an obviously needed family. I am want for the BBB and the FDA to take care of this problem because my doctor takes care of my entire family we know him for several years and when he said that what they where trying to sell me was a totally different medication. OMG, I immediately called to request my money because my doctor will not sign a document that stated that it was ok to take a total different medication than trilipix. Please, I am asking for the BBB to close this company because if they did it to me that I ask 100 questions, I can not even believe what they do to people that don't, like our parents, grandparents, and disabled. I am begging for the BBB and FDA to close this company if you need me for anything at any time please contact me. I be glad to provide with all the proves that I have for this thieves to stop stationing families. This has to stop. In what concerns to the work that they did for me the application was in blank and they just mail me and faxed my doctor the documents to sign, and charge my credit card. I am sorry that they had to work so hard to try to keep $99.95. I can not believe that they take pride over stilling from people.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

05/12/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized bank debits

Complaint: I set up the account, I asked for the count to be put on hold, they debited my account anyway and won't give me my money back.
I set up the account in July, I was contacted by one of their workers before we started the debits. I told the worker that I did not want my account debited. They said they would put it on hold and then they went ahead and debited the account for the last six months. I found out about it when I get an overdraft notice and thought there should be money in my account. They debited my account for $39.95 per month for the last six months. I have asked for a full refund plus the money that caused me to get overdraft to cover those overdrafts. They won't even give me the CEOs name they refuse to let me talk to a manager. I talked to a supervisor named Shane employee number XXX-XXXX. He would not do anything but tell me they were not going to give me a refund he didn't offer to settle with me in any way shape or form. I am going to sue them in justice court for the full amount the justice court will allow. I have to have the CEOs name that is why they would not give it to me. This company has horrible customer service they have a D rating with the Better Business Bureau and they are on ripoffs.com. Do not do business with these people.

Initial Business Response
We have spoke to My **** several times before, and after he submitted this complaint. We have even went as far as to play Mr **** the recorded verification he did upon his enrollment, and unfortunately, he has been rude to the point that further communication has become impossible. Due to the fact that Mr **** was so upset, we agreed to refund him 3 months of payments. These refunds were submitted over a week ago, before this complaint come through. we believe that we have made a good faith effort to resolve this issue, before this complaint was ever submitted. Even though Mr **** agreed to our terms of service, privacy policies, and refund policies, we decided to refund 3 months of payments anyhow.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I talked to their representative before they started pulling money out and he said he would stop the payments. THEY LIED.... I want all my money back and the money for my 2 NSF checks also. If I can not get this done through BBB I will haul them into court..... Win lose or draw I will get satisfaction....

ANSWER IS NO I WANT 310.00 to make me right!

Final Business Response
Once again, as stated in my last response; we never received written or verbal request to cancel Mr ****'s account until March 18th 2014; which we have documented. We also have a voice recorded verification, which we've played for Mr ****, where he not only gives us permission to debit the account, but agrees and acknowledges his understanding of our cancellation and refund policies. We believe that we have gone above and beyond by refunding Mr **** 3 months of fees totaling $119.85. We have made a good faith effort to resolve this matter as according to our refund policy, Mr **** is not due any refund at all. Again, $119.85 has already been refunded to Mr ****, and his only request to cancel with us came in March 2014.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The people are liars. I did request before the took the money out. I have requested the name of the president of the company and they refuzse to give me that name. "Signs of a company who is a total scam. They don't document when it benefits them not to. They are low forms of life taking from people who need the help. Karma or the law with catch up with them. I also suggest that people file Florida Attorney General complaints. Also complaints with the Attorney General in your state


Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

04/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: The RxHelper is scamming patients by conning them into paying for drugs that can be acquired for free.
I am a senior with severe arthritis, low income and on Medicare without a supplemental plan. I have to take Enbrel which is unaffordable to me. Because of high copays, I looked online for assistance and found RxHelper. They told me that for a one time fee of $60.95 and $59.95 per month, they could get me Enbrel. I signed up, they took the money out of my card, and a month later there was still no drugs.

What they did was download the application from a legitimate assistance place called Encourage, send it to me and charge me $59 for it. I called Encourage about missing a insurance card number, and they told me they never heard of Rx Helper. I called Medicare and was told the same thing. I called my state Hicap office, and they started an investigation on these fraudulent people.

Of course, I am now out $120 with no way to get a refund.

Now I am back to square one with high copays and no assistance. I wasted a month of time being ripped off by the RxHelper frauds.

Somebody needs to shut these creeps down before other poor, innocent seniors get bilked out of money they need for food and medicine to survive.

Initial Business Response
We have over 15 documented interaction with Mr ******* over the course of his enrollment. The services Mr ******* received form us was the facilitation of his paperwork to assist him in his approval with the pharmaceutical companies PAP programs. He acknowledged this fact once on a recording, and a second time in writing in his signed patient affidavit. A copy of his signed affidavit can be found attached to his complaint, as I have uploaded a copy for the record. We have done a tremendous amount of paperwork for Mr *******, which is exactly what he paid us to do. His cancellation came about because he has decided to continue the process by himself without our assistance. We have canceled his account, and no further funds will be debited. However, a refund is not due, for two reasons. One, he is outside of his 14 day window, and secondly, we have completed his paperwork, and were in the process of follow up with the pharm companies to see that his eno9rllment be completed. At which point he canceled. Just because a client decides to continue the process on their own, does not mean we haven't done work for that client. Again, please find the attached signed affidavit to show irrefutable proof that Mr ******* was completely aware of our terms of service and privacy policies.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Absolutely false! They did nothing to help me get Enbrel except take my money. The fact that I had to phone them so many times attests to the fact that they are a fraud.

It matters not what this bogus company says. The bottom line is that they are ripping off poor, sick people by charging for paperwork that can be done by the patient for free with the foundations.

They are downloading applications from foundations such as Encourage, sending it to the patient, and charging a $59.95 fee. They never let the patient know that he can do the same thing online for free.

I would steer clear of this company unless you want to lose money for nothing.

Not to mention the aggravation when they make patients wait months for medicine that never shows up. While all the time deducting that fee every month.

If you don't believe me, look at the reviews.

Final Business Response
In response to the slanderous comments listed in the above response by Mr *******, we continue to attest to the fact that all the information on the approval process thorough PAP's was not only explained to Mr ******* prior to his enrollment, but agreed to, by him, on several occasions. We are an advocacy group who assist in the approval process by facilitating paperwork on behalf of patient to get them approval directly through the manufacturing pharmaceutical companies. Whether Mr ******* wants to acknowledge the fact that he indeed agreed to our terms of service on a recorded verification, and agreed to fully understanding our privacy policies, and the manner of which we do business, is a moot point, as we have done the work we agreed to when our service payment was collected. Despite what Mr ******* thinks, there is a significant amount of work that goes into filling out the correct application for an individuals medication, and A TON of follow up to assure the applications gets approved and processed in as timely a fashion as possible. That being said, Mr ******* decided to stop participation with our company, and go to the manufacturer directly. These programs are offered to everyone, however, our clients hire our services to do the lengthy and tedious paperwork, follow up, and any future filings for them. This information again was not only explained to Mr ******* on our initial phone call, but he agreed to all of this in his recorded verification.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I disagree. I was never told that I could apply to the same place they were referring me to for free. I learned that from talking to the Encourage foundation.

They are accusing me now of slander. Good luck! I am accusing them of outright fraud.

They are nothing but a boiler room ripping people off for drugs that are available to low income people who qualify for free. Like I said before, they download apps from the drug assistance places and send them to the patients for a fee.

The Enbrel support people will testify to the fact that this RxHelper is completely a fraud.

So will Medicare and the Encourage foundation.

They did not know who these people are, until I told them. How can that be legitimate?

Just because I agreed to their lies on the phone means absolutely nothing. I had no idea they were not legitimate at the time. Read the reviews on these people online. You will not find one good one.

Once these liars get found out, they simply move their boiler room to another town in Florida and use a new name.

All I know is that I lost $120 and never received any medications through these people. I had to go through Enbrel support, and they contacted the Encourage foundation, before I was able to finally get Enbrel.

The fact is that everyone I spoke with about this fraudulent RxHelper is unhappy that they are being used. dm

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

01/29/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Non-delivery of products

Complaint: Paid and no medication received
Applied for medications for diabetes 3 months ago. Paid so far near $200, have not received ANY. Customer services keeps on asking for further documents, for #1 and #2, sent them 4 times and nothing happens.
Medication #3 supposed to have been sent 2 months ago, so far nothing and no one tells me the status. I feel this company may be another fraud.

Initial Business Response
We have since spoke to ******** after this complaint and verified that the medication ******** was not only approved, but was being shipped after we received clarification from his Doctor's office. Not only has ******** done an initial recording giving his consent and understanding of our policies, he has since done a second recording on Dec 18th, agreeing to stay with the company and continue to use us for assistance. The additional paperwork needed has been requested from the specific pharmaceutical companies in order to complete the enrollment. We are, and will continue to work diligently on getting the approval rectified. Once again, ********, has since agreed to stay with our company after he had already submitted this complaint.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
the RX Helper explanation is totally inaccurate.

the business said: Our refund policy is very clear. Refunds are for clients who are denied, not approved.
I have only received after 4 months just one(1) medication, out of 4 medications. They said the providers denied my claim because I made too much money.
I want all the money back they took from my account up to today 01/16/2014: $229.85

Final Business Response
The allegations that Mr ***** was forced into doing a recording is not only appalling, but completely inaccurate. Mr ***** has voluntarily done 2 separate recordings, on his own accord, asking for our continued assistance. Our refund policy is very clear. Refunds only take place if someone is denied for assistance. Mr ***** was not only approved for his medication, but we have signed documentation, in addition to 2 separate recordings where he not only acknowledges our terms of service and refund policy, but identifies the fact that we indeed got him approved for his medication. We have canceled Mr Hears's membership effective immediately, and no further charges will be debited to his account. Once again, Mr ***** stated in his last rebuttal that the medication had been approved and received. Refunds are for clients who are denied, not approved.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

01/27/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In October 2012 I signed up with The Rx Helper to try and lower my monthly prescription bills. I was told that after the initial sign up that I would be billed $79.95 each month for 5 prescriptions that had been approved for this service. They have taken out $79.95 for Oct, Nov & Dec ($239.85). There was a 1 time sign up fee of $65. I do not care if they keep the $65. I understand that was a sign up fee. However, since I have never received any prescriptions from them as promised I would like to have my $239.85 put back into my account.I am filing for disability now & have been unemployed since October 24, 2012. I was hoping this would help me out. However it has been a complete sham. I have asked that they close my account as of today's date (1/2/14) so there should not be any more deductions.This has caused me a lot of anxiety & frustration that I do not need at this time due to health issues.
Product_Or_Service: Prescription Service

Initial Business Response
The payment to our company our for the facilitation and completion of paperwork to help assist individuals get approved for PAP programs offered through the pharmaceutical companies. We continue to advocate on behalf of our members to see through the fulfillment process. In this case, *** ****** was advised on more then 6 different occasions that additional paperwork was required by the pharmaceutical companies in order to complete her enrollment. It is completely out of our hands if a pharmaceutical companies requests and requires additional information. Once *** ****** stopped participating in that process, our hands are tied. We have signed documentation from *** ****** acknowledging our terms of service and refund policy. We also have a recorded verification where she agrees to our refund and cancelation policy. A client is only refunded if they are denied for assistance, not because they decided not to send in the required documents for us to complete the process. We can only hope that if *** ****** decides to seek further assistance she will keep us in mind.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No service was performed. All paperwork was faxed to them. I have cancelled my membership & will just use this to better my understanding about companies like Rx Helper. I will also discourage anyone that is thinking about doing business with Rx Helper. They tell you one thing & then do another. All they have done for me is take money that I am relying on while I file for disability. Now I'm out that money as well as prescription medications that I need.
I want nothing more to do with Rx Helper!

Final Business Response
We provide a service to assist in the completion of paperwork to get individuals like *** ****** approved for medication offered through the various pharmaceutical companies programs. In this case, we havemi13 documented interactions with *** ****** regarding her application. She sent the paperwork back with the appropriate signatures, however, we were missing her proof of income, along with some other required documentation the pharm companies requested. At this point *** ****** decided to cancel her enrollment and stopped her participation in the program. We cannot finish her application until these documents are sent to us. Our terms of service clearly states that payment is made to us for our assistance in the facilitation of paperwork. We have done a significant amount of work on this case, and would love to finish the process, but cannot do so without *** ****** participation. Refunds only take place when a client is denied assistance. This was not only explained to *** ****** on a recorded verification, but we also have a signed affidavit from *** ****** where it clearly states our terms of service. I have attached a copy of this signed affidavit with this response.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Prescription Benefit Consultants

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.