BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/07/2010

Marlin Plumbing of Miami, Inc.

Phone: (305) 652-3031Fax: (305) 652-313520145 NE 16th Place, MiamiFL 33179

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/07/2010

BBB has determined that Marlin Plumbing of Miami, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Marlin Plumbing of Miami, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
03/02/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Verbal quote and final invoice do not match
Vanity sink still leaking
On 01/27/2015, I called Marlins Plumbing t schedule an appointment f or plumbing issues at my parents home. I was informed on the phone that the cost would be $98 for the first hour and $90 after that. I asked, how many hours it would be for the problems I had described on the phone and she stated about 1-2 hrs at the most. Under this assumption I agreed for them to go to my parents home. The plumber arrived, checked the ares that had the issues and gave me the quote and what the issues were over the phone. Mr Valter, the plumber, said ill charge you $400.00 flat for the service. I made it very clear that this was parts and labor and that it would not leak. He stated yes.
I received a call from my parents Aide stating that the master bathroom vanity sink was still leaking and that now the plumber was saying it was something else and that the work was not guaranteed. I was never informed that the work was not guaranteed nor is it on their website. I had a brief discussion and when he refused to go back in( he had already gotten in his car to leave) I called the companies office. They were very curt and refused to do anything. I stated I would not be paying for incomplete work and that the job was not don correctly. Now she informs me that something else is wrong and therefore they need to charge more. She threaten me with other means to collect their money. She abruptly hung up on me. I called back and after a brief discussion where I stated that I had no problem paying if the invoice was correct.At this point, I decided to concede with the payment as long as I received a copy of the invoice. Its not worth to me having the pending doom of a lawsuit for $400. She agreed to send me the invoice and also to credit one full hour of service to the bill. She sent it and upon receipt I see the utter gouging of the parts pricing. I call back and ask for the receipts of the parts bought because even though she stated that there is a 305 price markup, the prices did not match. I did research on them and the prices were much lower then what they were charging with the markup added.
When I finally got the email with the copy of the receipt, they had corrected the charge of the price on the invoice but then added 2.5 hrs to my bill. So because of there mistakes I ended up paying the original bill in a way because with the hr credited and the correct pricing of the parts they would owe me $98. I called them today 02/03/2015 and beside being rude, they refuse to refund me that difference and they hung up on me.
In summary, had I known that they do not guarantee their work they would not have been allowed to come to my parents house, this was found out after the shotty work was done, the plumber improperly diagnosed the problem of the vanity sink as being a P trap issue when in reality, after the fact, he said its the faucet. I should not have to pay for a wrong diagnosis, nor should a company backtrack their agreement once they are caught gouging prices. They take advantage of older people that have a difficult time fending for themselves.
The names of the people I spoke to are the following:
******- receptionist that took the call
*******- she is the one that argued, then gave me the discount, argued again and then upped the charged hours
****** "manager", nasty and rude. Did not want to deal with any of the issues.

Desired Settlement
I want them to refund me whats owed. I only asked for the difference and they got upset. I really should be getting a full refund since the job was not diagnosed correctly and not completed correctly. I still have to get another plumber to fix what they neglected to do.

Business Response
Marlin Plumbing was called out on January 27, 2015 by ****** **** to repair a leaking shower head and handle at **** ******* ****** Miramar, FL XXXXX, which is her parent's home. At no point was ****** **** on the premises at the time of service, my plumber proceeded to check out the leaking shower valve, also while he was there he was asked by the parent's aide to also check out the lavatory that was also leaking. Our plumber proceeded to go to Home Depot and purchase the parts necessary to repair the shower valve that was leaking. Upon returning to the home the plumber made the necessary repairs to the shower valve. He also changed out the P-trap on the lavatory drain, they wanted to also change out the lavatory faucet, but we do not carry faucets on our truck. After our plumber, Valter, who is new with the company, wrote up the bill Ms. **** called the office complaining about the amount of the invoice, I told her to let me look at the bill the following day and go over everything, Ms. **** proceeded to tell me that she was not going to pay the invoice and I proceeded to tell her that if she did not pay the invoice that I would do what I needed to do to collect on services rendered. She continued to want to argue with me and I let her complain for several minutes and she still continued to complain, at which point I told her I needed to look at the bill and hung up the phone. After several emails and phone conversations I sent her, via email, the tracking report on how much time our plumber was on site and I also proceeded to give her a copy of the receipt of what was purchased to repair the shower valve and replace the trap under the lavatory, which is not standard company practice. After reviewing the invoice I made the necessary CORRECTIONS as per our hourly rate and the mark up of the materials. The correct charges should have been $417.50 but because our new plumber, Valter, did not add his hourly rate and materials correctly, Ms. **** agreed upon paying $324.84 per email approval on amount owed. Even after Ms. **** agreed upon the payment she still continued calling and harassing me and I continued to TRY and make her happy and still she continued to complain and sent me emails. We did the service on the 27th of January and because of all the complaining I did not run her credit card until February 2, 2015. After that she still wanted another credit of $98.00 on February 6, 2015, and at which time, to keep her happy, I also gave her that credit. Please see the attached emails, invoices and payments and the tracking of my plumber, which is in response to her Complaint.
(Please see attached documents)

Industry Comparison| Chart


Additional Information

BBB file opened: 07/21/2004Business started: 08/14/1991
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395

Miami-Dade Tax Collector
140 W Flagler Street, 1st Flr
Miami, FL 33130
(305) 375-5452

BBB records show a license number of CFC048292 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is

Check License Status:

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 2627108 for this company, issued by Miami-Dade Tax Collector. Their web address is

Check License Status: tax/accounts/2503465

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Marcy Walker (President)Mr Edward Walker, Jr (Vice President)
Business Category


Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Marlin Plumbing of Miami, Inc.

20145 NE 16th Place

Miami, FL 33179

To | From


1 Locations

  • 20145 NE 16th Place 

    Miami, FL 33179(305) 652-3031

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Marlin Plumbing of Miami, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.


Industry Tips for Plumbers


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.