BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/31/2003

Falcon Plumbing

Phone: (305) 251-7333Fax: (305) 254-1454View Additional Phone Numbers12210 SW 132nd Ct, MiamiFL 33186

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/31/2003

BBB has determined that Falcon Plumbing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Falcon Plumbing's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Falcon Plumbing

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
10/11/2012Billing / Collection Issues
01/26/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Falcon Plumbing is refusing to honor their one year warranty and does not return my phone calls regarding the complaint
I called Falcon plumbing and explained to them that I had a problem in the second floor bathroom. Sewage had been coming up in the bathtub and the toilet had been bubbling up and leaking. I knew there was a snake that was clogging the pipe. They advised me that when they removed the snake the problem would be resolved. They also told me they would cover the job for with a one year warranty.
The plumber came and took out some snake and said he had resolved the issue. However three weeks later the same problem reoccurred: sewage coming out of the tub and the toilet leaking. When I called to tell them they said this was not covered under the warranty. They claimed the warranty only covers parts and labor. When I look at my receipt it does not say that. It says "One year warranty." They also never told me that it would only be parts and labor. They are responsible for resolving this problem. I paid them $850 to do so and I am still in the same situation with which I started. My job number is XXXXXX. Receipt says Job completed on 7/10/14.

When I call to speak to the manager he says he will not send a plumber back to my home to fix this if I don't pay them. I have already paid them a lot of money for a job that was supposed to be warrantied for one year. They are not honoring their warranty.

Desired Settlement
Either they can issue a refund for the $850 that I paid them or they can come out and fix the problem. But they must honor their warranty for one year.

Business Response
On July 3, 2014, Falcon Plumbing was called by Ms. H. requesting an estimate for someone to go out to her home and cut out a section of waste line in her garage ceiling, in order to remove a drain cleaning cable that someone other than Falcon Plumbing had broken off in the line.

We scheduled a call for her and sent a technician on July 8, 2014. After assessing the situation, my technician advised the Ms. of the price to do the repair at ($850.00) and she agreed and signed the Acceptance of Work Performed box on the invoice. We proceeded to open the ceiling and cut out the section of waste line, removed approximately (15) feet of broken cable from the line. After installing the new section of pipe, my technician along with Ms. H., had all of the fixtures in the bathroom associated with this waste line running well. After flushing the line for 35 minutes, there were no stoppages in the line. Remember that her original call to us was to remove a broken cable in her line, not that there was a stoppage to be cleared. This work was performed on July 10, 2014.

On August 9, 2014, Ms. H. called to say that the line was stopped up again and wanted someone to come out and clear the stoppage. This call was answered by the owner of Falcon Plumbing who then advised Ms. H. that the stoppage had nothing to do with the repair we made and there would be a charge to send someone out to take care of this for her. Ms. H. proceeded to say that she was told that after the repair, she would not have any more stoppages and the technician did not tell her that,because that is not what we were called out for. She was advised that the line we repaired was running and all fixtures were draining properly when we left. Ms. H. then referenced that she was a reporter for Channel 4 and threatened media exposure if we did not take care of her problem at no charge. The owner of Falcon Plumbing then contacted her manager to please call her and explain that we do not warranty stoppages of any kind. After we clean out a stoppage and make sure that the line is draining properly and leave, we do not know what people do and what they put down their drain lines, so how could we or anyone else warranty a line against a stoppage. There was no stoppage when we were there for the original call. This conversation with the manager was not going anywhere and the conversation was ended.

On August 13, 2014, Ms. H. called our office and threatened that she was going to the Better Business Bureau and that she was going to find and contact the license holder for Falcon Plumbing and was going to confront him with her demands. For your information, the license holder does not have any voice in the daily operations of Falcon Plumbing, stating that as a courtesy to our customer, we would take care of the problem she was having.

Wanting to put an end to all of this, a call was scheduled to go out and clear out the stoppage in Ms. H's home at no charge to her because of all her threats. A letter was written to her from the owner of Falcon Plumbing stating as a courtesy to our customer, we would take care of this problem she was having currently.

The technician went to Ms. H's home on August 15, 2014, and proceeded to clear out the stoppage. While he was clearing the line, Ms. H.'s friend was continually telling the technician how to do his job to clear out the line. Strange that he knew how to do this and had to direct a plumber to do his job. After clearing the stoppage, the technician explained to Ms. H. that we were not responsible for any future stoppages and she did not want to hear this. She refused to take the letter that we had written for her and also refused to sign the work order for the technician. Copies of everything are available upon request.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)


Falcon Plumbing has been dishonest with me from the beginning and continues to be dishonest in their response to the Better Business Bureau. When I initially called Falcon I explained to them that I was having an ongoing problem with sewage backing up into the upstairs bathroom and the toilet was overflowing. I told them I was aware that I had a broken piece of snake in the pipe that need to be removed. They indicated that by removing that snake and making the necessary repairs I would not have these ongoing issues. I made sure to ask for a warranty for this very purpose.

On 7/10/14 the company sent a technician named Stevan to do the repairs. Contrary to the company's response, no paperwork was signed prior to the repairs. However I did sign paperwork after the repairs were made. At the time the plumbing seemed to be working correctly. And Stevan did write on the paperwork "1 year warranty." (I have a copy for your review when ready)

So when I called less than a month later when the sewage reappeared in the upstairs bathroom and the toilet started leaking I expected Falcon would honor their warranty. As you know they did not. I asked to speak to the owner and I was told there is no owner. So I went on the State of Florida business regulatory site and looked up the business. It turns out the business license is listed in the name of a man named ***** J. ******. I called back Falcon Plumbing and asked to speak to Mr. ****** and the woman told me he is no longer with the company. I said well then that's a problem because your license is registered in his name. That's when the woman said she had made a mistake and that he was still with Falcon yet unavailable to take the call at the time. I asked her to have Mr. ****** call me. She said he would. However I never received a call from Mr. ****** instead the same manager that was refusing to help before called me back and said he would come out and figure out what the problem was and fix it.

The manager never came out however Stevan did come back to my home. He said he was simply there to snake the line. I told him this was not a solution. The line had been snake many times before with no resolution. I called back the manager while Stevan was at my home and offered no other solution. After he spoke to Stevan, the manager told me Stevan would be opening up the line in the garage so that I could see the snake was traveling down there. I don't know how this was going to help. Stevan later admitted to me that this was not going to solve the problem. He also advised me not to open up that line in the garage because he said he couldn't guarantee that he would be able to seal it back properly and he didn't want a leak. ****** also handed me a revised contract with a letter attached that he wanted me to sign. I told him I would not agree to an amended contract that the company was responsible for a year warranty. I refused to sign that document. They could not change the contract at this point unless they wanted to refund my money.

As far as the company's assertions that I was using my position as a reporter to threaten them... those are completely false. First of all, I am no longer a reporter. I have not worked in TV news for the last two years. The only reason Stevan knows that I used to be a reporter is because he asked me about it while in my home. However, in situations like this, yes it does help to have reporter researching skills to be able to research the background of a company. I will use every skill that I have to try and get to the bottom of this problem. I refuse to simply allow a company to take $850 from me and promise a year guarantee and fail to fulfill their obligations. But threats of media exposure were never made. However I did tell them I will track down Mr. ****** to try and discuss the matter with him.
As far as their claims that my friend was telling the technician how to do his job, that is ridiculous. I had my friend at my home for the visit from Falcon because I was frankly frightened by the hostile manner that the manager had been dealing with me over the phone, yelling at me and refusing to let me talk. I didn't want to be home alone when this hostility came to my house. My friend was simply asking that the toilet that Stevan removed in the upstairs bathroom be put back in the proper manner. I should also mention that Stevan didn't complain about the home cooked meal that we gave him after he stopped in the kitchen at least four times to say how good it smelled. We were overly nice to Steven and don't deserve to be chastised for our kindness.

In conclusion, I don't believe Mr. ****** works for the company despite the fact the license is in his name... this is a big problem. In addition, I have never been given a name of an owner despite asking for it. Yet you can note that the Falcon response to the Better Business Bureau says the owner called me. The problem still needs to be fixed and the warranty upheld. Furthermore someone needs to get to the bottom of potential licensing issues with Falcon.


Final Business Response
Falcon Plumbing has never had any customer complaints such as this. We are disputing her allegations due to the fact that they are not accurate. Falcon Plumbing has been in business for 28 years, family owned and operated. Our large returning customer base and service record, speaks for itself. The Manager tried to help Ms. ******* numerous times by telephone. She used multiple vendors to try to help her with the same issue.



***** *********

President

Final Consumer Response
Falcon Plumbing has yet to rectify this issue. I paid them $850 and they did not do the job that I hired them to do and they have not honored their warranty. I have since had to spend more money to hire another plumber. This plumber ran a camera through the plumbing line and the video shows there are still large pieces of snake caught inside the line. I hired Falcon to remove those pieces of snake obstructing the line and they didn't do so. In addition I have since learned from other plumbers that Falcon should have ran a camera in the line themselves after working in the line to confirm whether or not they had removed the snake. This was not done. I am demanding a refund.I have copies of the video for arbitration purposes.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Water Heaters - Repairing

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/19/2002Business started: 01/23/1986
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr

Miami-Dade Tax Collector
140 W Flagler Street, 1st Flr
Miami, FL33130
(305) 375-5452
http://www.miamidade.gov

BBB records show a license number of CFC1425704 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr. The expiration date of this license is 08/31/2016.

Check License Status: https://www.myfloridalicense.com/LicenseDetail.asp?SID=&id=96096A47688B55DD35FFB3A3E849248C

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 1533927 for this company, issued by Miami-Dade Tax Collector. Their web address is http://www.miamidade.gov.

Check License Status: https://www.miamidade.county-taxes.com/public/business tax/accounts/1533927

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Business Management
Principal: Mrs Wendy Visscher (President)
Business Category

Plumbers, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Water Heaters - Repairing

Alternate Business Names
South Dade Plumbing, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Falcon Plumbing

12210 SW 132nd Ct

Miami, FL 33186

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 12210 SW 132nd Ct 

    Miami, FL 33186(305) 251-7333
    (954) 455-6444

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Falcon Plumbing is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (954) 455-6444
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Plumbers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.