BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/15/2008

BodyLogicMD Franchise Corp

Phone: (888) 406-5430Fax: (888) 469-1643

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
11/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
When I called the company to make an appointment for bioidentical hormone replacement in June 2014, I was offered and agreed to a $250/monthly credit card payment to cover all treatment costs. $250 was charged to my account on June 6, July 8, August 7, and Sept. 9. When I had my first appointment with Dr. Kaye on July 24, he expressed knowledge of the $250 per month payment plan, and told me I would NOT be charged for that appointment (which apparently would have been approximately $500). When I had my 2nd interaction with Dr. Kaye (a phone consultation on Sept. 25), his receptionist told me I would be charged $295 for that phone call because "the $250 monthly payment plan wasn't working out very well." When I checked my credit card statement, I was surprised to find that I had been charged $495 AND $295 on Sept. 26. I did not authorize these transactions. When I spoke to the receptionist, I was told I would be reimbursed the $250 monthly charges. No reversals have been made to my credit card to date. I have called the company at least 3 times trying to resolve this, with no action taken. Promises have been made and broken about when the situation would be rectified.
Product_Or_Service: Medical services

Desired Settlement
At the very minimum, Dr. Kaye should honor the $250 monthly payment plan that was offered to me. He should ensure that the wrongful $495 charge is removed from my credit card promptly. An honorable company would not take a payment plan AND then effectively double charge.

Business Response
Thank you for giving us an opportunity to respond to Ms. *********. We will be reaching out to Ms. ********* to verify her credit card number so that we can refund the $250 charges. Please be aware that Dr. Kaye is a Franchisee of BodyLogicMD and his practice is owned entirely by him. It is unfortunate that Dr. Kaye decided to discontinue the $250 per month program. As far as the $495 office call charge, Ms. ********* will need to reach out to Dr. Kaye's office to request the refund. His office number is XXX-XXX-XXXX. Please thank Ms. ********* for her patience while we investigated this issue.

05/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I never received anything from BodyLogicMD. After several weeks of calling a writing, I was only given a partial refund.
I ordered a test from their website on 4/9/2014, and several weeks later still hadn't gotten anything. I called several times asking for a refund. After a few weeks of refund attempts, on 05/1/2014 I got an email saying that they were processing my refund. Several days later, I saw that they had credited $170 of the original $195 back to my FSA card. There's no reason for them to keep $25, nor did I ever agree to that.

Desired Settlement
I would like the other $25 refunded back to my FSA card. I've asked through several emails and phone calls for this without getting a response.

Business Response
We apologize to Mr. ******* if there was any misunderstanding. The $25 retained from his refund was our standard Shipping & Processing Fee. This is explained to all patients. As it appears that Mr. ******* felt that he had difficulty in obtaining a refund, we have gone ahead and requested a refund of the remaining $25. Thank you.

03/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
BodylogicMD removed $2651 from my account and four weeks later they have not refunded anything and will not respond to my emails.
I contacted BodylogicMD on November 1,2013, and was told that my insurance would probably refund some of the money that would be spent at BodylogicMD. On November 2, 2013, I received an email from the company stating that my insurance would not cover any of my expenses. I sent an email to ******** ******* at BodylogicMD, my contact, that cancelled my account and requested a response acknowledging the cancellation and refunding any money that had been used. I had not received a response on November 4, 2013, so I repeated my email request. On November 4, 2013, I received an email from ******** ******* of BodylogicMD that acknowledged my account had been closed and that a refund action had been initiated by her. On November 5, 2013, my account had $1401.00 deducted by BodylogicMD and then on November 7, 2013, another $1250.00 was deducted from my account by BodylogicMD. I was upset but thought it was an accounting problem that would be corrected quickly. I sent another email to ******** ******* at BodylogicMD on November 29, 2013, and requested that my money be returned by BodylogicMD. I have not heard from this company since their acknowledgement of my account closure on November 4, 2013. Nothing. Crickets! I have sent other emails since then but have not received a reply.

Desired Settlement
A return of $2651.00.

Business Response
Please see attached string of emails starting December 4, 2013, between BodyLogicMD and Mr. *******. As indicated in the email, we were able to locate the normal charge of $675.00 and refunded it back to Mr. *******. We were unable to locate the $2651.00 charge and recommended to Mr. ******* to dispute the charge with his bank. We did not hear anything further from Mr. ******* until the Better Business Bureau contacted us on December 6, 2014. Thank you.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response from BodylogicMD left out all the other emails that were passed between their representatives and me. They also left out the fact that they initiated a telephone call immediately after the email from them which they claim put the ball in my court. The call was from ******** ******* my contact point at BodylogicMD. She asked me to not reply to the emails from the local (Portland, OR) office and to deal with her instead. She also stated that she had returned $675 to my account. I checked later and she had returned $675 to my account. However, Following the first response from BodylogicMD, ***** ******* from the local office, denied all but $675 of the $2651 originally claimed. I immediately checked with my bank and found that someone had fraudulently removed $1401 from my account on Nov 5, this was four days after I had given my information to BodylogicMD. The timing made me think that BodylogicMD was responsible for the deduction. I had not given that much information to anyone for a long time so I looked at the most likely place. There was enough information available to the person who took my money for him to send it in the form of a ******* ***** transfer from my account. This seemed to point a finger at BodylogicMD. I have since initiated a fraud investigation into the matter. But at this point I have no idea who took the $1401. During my last conversation with ******** ******** at BodylogicMD Headquarters, I reminded her that my account was charged $575 for my wife's account which I also closed on November 4, 2013. She acknowledged this fact and said that she would forward the money to me. It was not possible to refund the money by using the same account to refund the $575 that was used to take it from me. That account was closed as soon as the $1401 fraud was discovered. To date I have not received the $575 that was taken from my account.

Final Business Response
To further clarify, Mr. *******'s **** was charged on 11/4/2013 the amount of $675 for tests. He requested and received a refund to his **** in the amount of $675 on 12/5/2013. For Mrs. *******, she elected to pay on the 50/50 program whereby half of her total tests of $525 ($262.50) were charged to her ** on 12/18/2013 with the balance to be charged in 30 days. Prior to the end of the 30 day period, Mrs. ******* requested a refund and $262.50 was refunded to her ** card on 1/15/2014. These are the only transactions that BodyLogicMD has on file. BodyLogicMD is sorry that Mr. ******* is going through this difficulty but BodyLogicMD had refunded all charges to Mr. and Mrs. ******* in a timely manner. Thank you.

05/05/2014Problems with Product / Service
08/19/2013Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Physicians & Surgeons - Hormone Replacement Therapy, Nutritionists

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.