BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/30/2007

PetMed Express, Inc.

Phone: (954) 979-5995Fax: (954) 971-0544

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

21 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service11
Total Closed Complaints21

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (21)
05/13/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered medication from 1-800-Pet-Meds. On their website it says they price match, but when contacting them, they will not.
I ordered Furosemide from 1-800-Pet-Meds with US Priority shipping. Three days after the prescription was shipped, I contacted their customer service asking for more details on when it would be delivered. While in contact with their customer service, I went on VetRxDirect where I also buy my dog's medication and saw the same Furosemide for .25 cents/tablet ($45 for the total amount) and I just paid .52 cents/tablet for a total of $93 plus shipping. Their website says, "Price Match. See a lower price somewhere? We'll match it!" However after inquiring about the price match since I paid double, customer service says they only price match when you're making the purchase. Since my order has already shipped, they will not price match. Their website should not say "See a lower price somewhere? We'll match it?" but should include "we'll match it on the day of purchase only" as anything else is misleading. My order number is OXXXXXXXX. Thank you for your help.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund for the price match as stated on their website for a total of $48.00.

Business Response
We are very sorry for this consumer's experience with our company and website. Immediately upon receipt of this complaint one of our senior managers reached out to the consumer. Although we disagree that our price match language is misleading, the consumer was advised that we would be refunding her money. The senior manager also apologized for the lack of service on the responses she received from our representatives, and clarified our price match process. When asked if there was anything else we could do for her, the consumer indicated no, that all was good. Again, we are very sorry for this consumer's experience with our company.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


03/11/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Never delivered medication and refused to do anything to get medicine for my dog on time, without a single apology. I even paid for rush shipping.
I purchased my dogs dose of revolution, as I have for the last two years. I paid for rush shipping because she needed her dose within a week or we were at risk for fleas. After a week passed *** my rush shipping package still hadn't arrived, nor had I received any communication from 1-800-PetMeds I decided to check my order status. Status said RX PENDING. So I opened the web chat with a woman named ***. *** said they froze the order because my vet didn't approve the RX, which made no sense since my vet had handwritten a script for me which I had in my possession just in case. I told *** there must have been a mistake and asked if they could double check and call again, or I could email the script. *** not only never once apologized, she refused to offer any solutions except for snail mailing. At that point it would be entirely too late for us, and Revolution is the ONLY product that keeps the fleas at bay here in South Florida. I asked once more if they would call, reminding that I am a long time loyal customer and that I had already been left in the dark with no contact from PetMeds to even let me know that there was any sort of problem and she refused again, without apology.

Worst customer service experience of my life and now my dog has fleas because they couldn't bother to communicate that there was a problem or help do anything to solve it. This company's blatant mishandling of this case and refusal to communicate regarding my dogs script is going to cost me 100's of dollars to fix. I have other pets and small children now subjected to the consequences of this wreck less company.

Desired Settlement
I want a sincere apology and rush order of my dogs medicine.

Business Response
We are very sorry for this customer's experience. Immediately upon receipt of this complaint we reviewed our interactions with her and determined that we failed to live up to our mission statement to deliver fast, easy, helpful service with great savings. The employee involved, Jan, will be counseled. Also, one of our Customer Care Managers reached out to the customer and to her stated satisfaction, he arranged for her order to be placed again, and sent out immediately at no cost to the customer. Once again, we apologize for this customer's experience and are thankful she gave us the opportunity to correct the situation.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I must express my sincere gratitude to Christian at Pet Meds for not only going above and beyond to ensure that my dog, Penny, was properly medicated and cared for...but for his exceptional speed and concern to handle the matter. He made a lifelong customer out of me today. Thank you for making this situation right.

01/29/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
1800PetMeds guarantees their products/service without exception. I actually ran out of medication waiting for their order to arrive.
I can never trust 1800PetMeds again. I ran out of medication before their order arrived, and I had to find another source. By that point, I no longer needed their order. Since they advertise an unconditional guarantee, when their order finally did arrive, I took their advice and returned it without opening the box. I already had refilled the medication elsewhere; I no longer needed PetMeds.

They said my refund would arrive within 7-10 days. Today is day 11, and I have no refund. They acknowledged my return but are refusing to issue a refund. If the BBB cannot resolve this, I will take legal action.

Desired Settlement
Refund my money and never contact me again.

Business Response
We are so very sorry for this customer's experience. However, contrary to what is alleged, we are not "refusing to issue a refund." It was an honest human error. When the customer indicated that he was returning the product, at that time a refund should have been processed. Unfortunately it was not done until the customer emailed us again, a day after filing this complaint. We do show that the refund was processed and the customer should have already received it. Again we are very sorry that this customer's experience was not up to our usual standards. We have marked his account so that he should not receive any further communication from us. If for some reason he does, he should contact us immediately at *******@1800petmeds.com

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It is true that eventually I did receive a refund to my credit card for the price of the medicine that took more than two weeks to arrive. So this complaint is likely over.

As a message to PetMeds, you're right about one thing I never should hear from you again. If I do I will consider it harassment. I've already received two promotional mailers that I did not want. Those count too, and if I get another one I will not hesitate to extend this complaint, or move on to the next level.

You cost more than my vet for this medicine, and with no existing regulation I don't know the source of your meds. Your business is built on suckers who don't bother to compare, or who have profiteering vets.

Final Consumer Response

10/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Told by customer service representative that they'll refund/price match prior (2) orders from previous months but being told now by another they won't
Hi,
I purchased two orders for Tramadol 50mg, 100ct at $69.00 for my dog in Feb and March. I was placing another order this week and my Veterinarians office said it is illegal to buy this medicine online and called into our local Walmart. Where I was charged only $16.81 for the same exact medicine. So, being very upset by the difference in price I contacted 1 800 Pet Meds Customer Service and was thrilled when received response back that it would be no problem and of course they would price match refunding the difference after checking with Walmart as to what price was in February and March and to attach receipt in email reply back. But I'm now being told by customer service that they won't due this as it needed to be done day I placed the order?

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of $100.37 and thank you so much for your help!

Business Response
We apologize for not responding sooner but we thought that as of shortly after the initial complaint, when a refund was processed, the matter was resolved. But we see now that a response should have been sent indicating that a refund had been made. Further we see that the customer is requesting an additional amount of $6.01. Please be advised that as of today, a request for that amount to be refunded to the customer has been submitted to our accounting department. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused to this customer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


11/20/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
they do not price match as advertised....i callled and got 3 different responses every time i callled
i callled to order meds for my dog...i was told they price match any vets price...so i told them i needed the frontline plus flea and tick med for my small dog...my regular vet charges 13 dollars a dose...3 doses to a box...and u get 1 free dose....if u buy 2 boxes...u get 2 free doses...so the first rep did some math and divided all the extra doses my vet was giving me and came up with 57 dollars for 2 boxes with free shipping....the 2nd time i called...it was 70 dollars...all of a sudden noone knew what i was talking about...deceptive sales and advertising practices

Desired Settlement
i want the original offfer honored...or send me 3 boxes for the 70 dollars

Business Response
We are very sorry for this customer's experience with our company, but with all due respect we do not engage in "deceptive sales and advertising practices." Additionally, our records show that on November 4, 2014 Mr. ******'s order was shipped to him with a price match as he requested. While it appears that Mr. ****** had also requested to use a coupon in addition to having a price match, it was explained to him that only one offer is allowed. Immediately upon receipt of this complaint a senior manager in our company attempted to contact Mr. ******. She left a message for him but has not heard back. Again we are very sorry that Mr. ****** had difficulties and we sincerely apologize, but his desired resolution has been achieved.

Page 1 of 2
04/15/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
1800PETMEDS Fails Again With Customer Service.
Problem date 4/2/16
1800PetMeds Has Again Failed When it Comes to Customer Support.
We attempted to purchase OnLine with 1800PetMeds, apparently their website deducted our credit card twice.(Double Charged)
We phoned the toll free number immediately and our experience with the PetMeds employee was a negative, with no ensured feeling that our payment was Voided.
We soon called-back to ensure that our credit card was payment was cancelled, We escalated the secondary call to a manger whom named herself *Kim*
Her tone was Inflammatory, Rude, Non-Engaging and overall unacceptable.
We do not plan on patronizing 1800PetMeds Again!

1800PETMEDS Is In Serous Need Of Retraining Their Employees!

Desired Settlement
Confirmation Wrongfully Double Charged Credit Memo

Business Response
We are very sorry for this customer's experience with our company. We strive to provide fast, easy, helpful service with great savings, and we have not achieved it with this customer. Unfortunately it appears that what happened was that the customer attempted to place an order online and over the phone and as a result, there were two pending authorizations on his Visa credit card. It should be noted that these were only pending; no actual charge was made. And then when the customer reached out to our Customer Care Department, he did not get helpful service and was not informed to his satisfaction that his credit card was not charged twice. And then he cancelled his order and still was not reassured that he would not get charged. As already indicated, we are truly sorry for his experience and he can be assured that no charge was made to his card. We have sent the customer an email apologizing and providing him with the confirmation that no charge was made at any time. We hope that the customer will give us another chance to be of service and we have placed a $20 merchandise credit on his account.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I Have Asked On Countless Occasion for a Credit Memo Confirming The UnAuthorized Charges Onto my Card By PetMeds Were to Be Void By PetMeds.
We Later Come to Learn That Petmeds Transacts a (3RD) Charge Onto Our Credit Card.
The Only Replies We Receive From The PetMeds Company Are:


Apologies and Coupons
We Will NEVER Patronize This PetMeds Business Again

Final Business Response
Once again, we are very sorry for this customer's experience. However, we would respectfully point out that we did not ONLY offer apologies and coupons. As he had requested, we confirmed to him both in our initial response here and via email that his credit card had not been charged and that what he was seeing were pending authorizations based on his having placed, or attempting to place, orders with us. Furthermore, we assured him that the pending authorizations would drop off. When he emailed back indicating that he had asked for a credit memo as he is asking for here, we advised him that we cannot issue a credit memo since his credit card was not charged. We once again confirmed, via email, that we did not charge his credit card. Since he was a long standing customer we did apply a merchandise credit in hopes that he would give us another chance and we are sorry to hear that he will not.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Again the communication with this company is strictly via email.
Our mail exchanges only seem to cycle in a cyclic rate of about One Per week.
My Countless Requests Only Seem To Fall on Deaf Ears with this pedmeds online seller.
The pedmeds company is clearly focused on a discounted future offer of 20 dollar coupon to attempt to make peace with this issue.
I have successfully escalated this matter with local media.
This is Not The First Time I have had Troubles with this pedmeds seller

01/11/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
my pets have gotten fleas and ticks
The products I have purchased from this company do not work for my pets I had contacted them and haven received a response. Our pets have been itching often and I have found numerous ticks on my pets that had been alive and were attached for feeding I am not happy with these products and the prices I had to pay for something that doesn't work

Desired Settlement
Refund and a discount on products that are guaranteed to work

Business Response
We are very sorry for this customer's experience with our company. Unfortunately, no one can guarantee that a particular product will work for every pet. However, we do stand by our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee and have already issued a full refund and in addition, applied a merchandise credit to the customer's account. Upon receipt of the complaint, and several times thereafter, one of our Customer Care Managers attempted to contact the customer, by telephone and email, but we have not heard back from him. Again, we are sorry that we were not able to provide excellent customer service and we hope that the customer will give us another opportunity to be of service to him and his pets.

12/08/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered heartworm prevention , it was dispensed out of the box into vials. The reason makes no sense and is not acceptable.
On Aug 13th, 2015 I ordered (2) 6 pack boxes of Trifexis heartworm/flea prevention 40-60 lb.
I paid $232.98 on my credit card. I received my order several days later. They had taken the trifexis out of the box and put it in vials.
I have been buying heartworm prevention for my dogs 30 plus years. I have had alot of dogs. Usually 4-7 most the time. I lost 2 in past 2 years due to old age and it was time. I have 4 now. I am animal lover especially dogs. I have spent a ton on heartworm prevention over the years. I switched to trifexis when it came out years ago, it's very expensive. My vet clinic approved me to buy it online at 1-800 pet meds.
I called and questioned why they didn't send it in it's original box. First customer service lady said they take it out of the box because they don't want the dog to chew up the whole box. I doubt that is a reason. After telling her that was not acceptable and I wanted it in the original box and I needed the box to get a 50.00 rebate also. I was on hold for awhile and she came back and said they would ship me 2 boxes and return the vials. OK Next day a supervisor called me and said they would not be sending me 2 boxes. I told her I wanted the trifexis in it's box. She tells me they buy it without the box. I told her that yesterday the lady told me they took it out and put in vials so the dogs don't chew all the tablets in the box. So now they have told me 2 different things. So we went round and round about the box, the rebate , to she will give me store credit. I said I didn't want store credit I want them to ship my trifexis in the box and I will fill out my rebate. She said the manufacturer would not honor rebate if not purchased from vet. Or I could send back and get refund. I said no , my vet finally gave me a script to get online and save some money, so no I don't want to return it. I asked where they buy it that it would come without the original box. I said the manufacturer doesn't sell it like that, and asked if it came from Mexico. She said no. Told her I would call them back he next day. I called ****** and asked them if they sold trifexis or any of heartworm or flea product without its original packaging. They said no, and do not know where they buy Trifexis. They said they would honor rebate even though I didn't purchase from vet. So I want to know where do they buy the product without the box, and how can I be sure it's Trifexis and it's approved to sell in USA . Is it USDA approved? I am asking if that is the correct approval. So I call back next day, talk to a different lady, we went thru the same thing, I told her I have been told 2 different reasons and neither one was acceptable. She offered 50.00 instore product or refund, I said no. I get email a few days later asking for survey, well after I replyed and told them to call me, a lady called and we went over everything. She didn't know what to say. I told her I would be reporting them to BBB. They are not buying trifexis from the manufacturer, they buy it taken out of the box.
Obviously they are buying it someplace that they are not suppose to buy it from. ****** does not recommend buying it without proper packaging.I want to know where they buy the product and how do I know it's safe and approved?

Desired Settlement
they need to sell the product in it's proper packaging , I want the 2 boxes of trifexis I bought in the box that they received it in.
My dogs won't even eat the tablets, I have to poke them down so I know they won't eat the whole box. They shouldn't buy products if it's sold out of original box. Medication is not like a toy. You need to be careful what you buy and where you buy it. Your reason for putting them in vials and selling it/or so the dog doesn't eat the whole box is BS.

Business Response
We are sorry that this customer appears to have gotten conflicting information from some of our employees. We take responsibility for that and will do a better job training our staff.

In some instances, our pharmacy does place a pet's medicine in our own prescription vials. Despite the customer's belief that it is "BS" the reasons are for safety, liability, maximum protection during shipping, and branding purposes. In all such instances, the medication that comes in a foil packaging remains in that foil packaging, but as already indicated, is put inside a safer, traditionally-used, prescription vial. The customer can be assured that we are a duly licensed pharmacy, with licenses that are current and without restriction. We dispense the same exact medication as would be dispensed by her veterinary clinic, all fully approved for sale and use in the United States. As with all licensed professionals our pharmacy practice and medication is subject to inspection by the licensing agency of our home state and by the United States Food and Drug Administration. We are in full compliance with both agencies.

Furthermore, we have earned Veterinary-VERIFIED INTERNET PHARMACY PRACTICE SITES (Vet-VIPPS(CM)) accreditation through the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy(r). We successfully completed the rigorous accreditation process by demonstrating the professional operations of our pharmacy, including the maintenance of policies and procedures that protect the veterinarian-client-patient relationship, ensure the appropriate handling of prescription medications, provide appropriate medication information, and ensure quality pharmacy practices are continuously offered to our clients. Our accreditation can be verified at www.nabp.net

Once again, we are sorry that apparently this customer was given conflicting information, but with all due respect, the packaging in which we dispense our medication is always proper packaging.



Consumer Response
I have been unable to respond till now. I feel they failed to comment about whether they buy it without the box or why they can't mail me the empty box after they put the trifexis in the vial. If they take it out of the box they can put the empty box in the box and mail it along with the vial.

Final Business Response
This customer can be assured that we get this product in the boxes and re-package for the reasons we have already given. Unfortunately our shipping automation, which involves repackaging, weighing, quality control, pharmacists doing the final check a certain way, among other factors, makes it impossible for us to accommodate individual requests. As a licensed, accredited pharmacy, we are filling the prescriptions in the best, safest, and most efficient manner that we know how to and if a particular client is not happy with the service we provide or the convenience, while we would be sad to lose a client, we would understand if the client chooses to purchase the medication elsewhere.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I think a client has the right to know where the product is bought when the box has been removed for a unacceptable answer. I talked to one of the manufactures sales rep at my vet clinic. Elanco, the manufacturer, does not offer their heartworm prevention Trifexis to online pharmacies. Elanco does not want it sold online. So we know you purchase it somewhere unknown. And you obviously don't want to share that info. Elanco does not recommend buying Trifexis if it's not manufactured in the USA. Can i have proof it's not bought in Mexico or somewhere else that should not be selling it? Are you aware that Elanco doesn't want you selling it?

10/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unethical and irresponsible behavior on the part of Petmeds Online Pharmacy
I would like to register a complaint regarding Petmeds service, lack of response to issues that we brought to their attention and their disregard for the lives of the animals they're supposed to be assisting.
We have been ordering vetsulin and needles from Petmeds since February of 2015 (see order history below). During that period, even though it should be a rushed delivery since the vetsulin needs to stay cold, it was never sent appropriately, labeled urgent and the carrier was never notified that the package contained medication that needed to stay cold. The last few deliveries were delivered late to the point that the vetsulin was warm. The last two orders we specifically called and spoke to one of your representatives to send the vetsulin appropriately but no action was taken. We spoke to UPS and were told that you were not notifying them appropriately to rush and delivery the medication and that you were sending as a normal delivery. Our dog became severely ill last week and when we went to the vet we were told to immediately stop using the vetsulin from Petmeds as that was the cause of her illness. We don't know if it was because it was warm when delivered or just defective. When we administered the new vetsulin supplied by her vet, we noticed an immediate vast improvement which told us that our vet was correct. Pedmed's behavior is completely irresponsible and we want to file a complaint. In addition, the boxes of syringes provided had random defectiv3e needles that were crooked. Besides being irresponsible, it seems Pedmeds has poor quality control standards.

Order List

Order Date Order Number Order Status Order Tracking
07-23-15 OXXXXXXXX
Order Gone XXXXXXXXXXXX

06-16-15 OXXXXXXXX
Order Gone XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

05-30-15 OXXXXXXXX
Order Gone XXXXXXXXXXXX

04-13-15 OXXXXXXXX
Order Gone XXXXXXXXXXXX

02-10-15 OXXXXXXXX
Order Gone XXXXXXXXXXXX



Jose Guevara...... XXX-XXX-XXXX
******* *****........ XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
An apology and admission of irresponsible behavior. Plus a refund for all the Vetsulin and syringes purchased. Plus Vet costs experienced to normalize Cookie's issues. ($1,200)

Business Response
We are extremely sorry for Ms. *****'s experiences with us, and wish we knew earlier of her dissatisfaction. Immediately upon receipt of the complaint, one of our senior customer care managers reached out to her not only to apologize but to assure her that we would attempt to come up with a satisfactory resolution to the issues. To date, a refund as requested has been done, and an evaluation of submitted veterinary bills has begun. Again, we are sorry since we strive to provide fast, easy, helpful service, something that we have not accomplished in this case.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Thank you for your follow up. In response to PetMeds' statement:
* We had brought the unacceptable delivery process to their attention three times previously. The delivery of the insulin, this most recent time, was mishandled even after we contacted PetMeds to request proper packaging and delivery, based on our experience with prior deliveries that had been mishandled.
* Prior to contacting BBB, we had sent emails to PetMeds to which they did not respond. Their lack of response led us to contact BBB.
* We appreciate the apology from PetMeds and we have received a refund for the damaged syringes and compromised insulin received.
* We submitted the Veterinary cost estimate requested two weeks ago and this week we submitted a copy of all invoices paid to date for the required Veterinary care for our dog's compromised condition..
* We are somewhat frustrated as we have to repeatedly contact them for an update.

Final Business Response
While we do not agree that our insulin was of poor quality, we do apologize for the inconvenience caused by this whole situation. Furthermore, we had only received estimates of expenses and not exact bills, and could not get cooperation from the customers' veterinarian. However, since we pride ourselves on our service, we decided to reimburse nonetheless and the check was delivered yesterday. We trust this will bring the matter to a satisfactory conclusion.

10/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Returned product. Was not refunded despite customer service indicating that they will refund me.
Returned product valued at $15.18. Despite numerous contact with customer service to obtain refund, refund was not provided by business. Customer service rep stated, "I am putting in the refund for you now of the other 15.18." To date, no refund has been issued to my method of payment.

Desired Settlement
Full refund of $15.18 to my method of payment. My customer number is XXXXXXXX.

Business Response
We are very sorry for the situation this customer experienced. Immediately upon receipt of this complaint one of our Customer Care Managers reached out to the customer and we discovered that back in June of this year when a refund was processed, there was a miscommunication. Unfortunately this customer was only refunded for one set of returned items instead of the two sets that were returned (adding to the confusion was that the refunded products were in the identical dollar amount - $15.18). This second refund has been processed already and the customer was advised that she should see the amount posted to her account within 3-5 business days. Additionally, because of the inconvenience that was caused, we have also applied a $20 merchandise credit to the customer's account and we hope she will continue to be a loyal customer and let us help her take care of her pets. Again, we are very sorry for the inconvenience.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.