BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/02/2013

Puppy Palace Inc.

Phone: (954) 989-2814Fax: (954) 966-5012View Additional Phone Numbers5909 Hollywood Blvd, HollywoodFL 33021-6328 Send email to Puppy Palace Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/02/2013

BBB has determined that Puppy Palace Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Puppy Palace Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Puppy Palace Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)BBB Closure Definitions
02/16/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
AKC Registration Papers for my puppy
I purchased a puppy from puppy palace for $1050.00
Was told she was AKC Registered I am still waiting for her
AKC Registration Papers it has been 1 1/2 years. I would not have purchased a puppy at this price with no papers. I have contacted the business with no response as to where her papers are. I would like her papers or to be charge the correct price for a puppy with no registration papers.

Desired Settlement
I am asking for $600.00 to be returned to me.

Business Response
the registration papers on this dog was not given to puppy palace from the breeder, and the breeder refuses to forward them to us.puppy palace will refund 50% of the purchase price of what the customer paid for her puppy

06/16/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased puppy has congenital malocclusion covered by 1 year guarantee. No response to signed for certified mail nor telephone calls.
Puppy bought on 2/20/2014 from ***** with 1 year congenital/hereditary guarantee which reimburses customer up to price paid. Puppy has congenital malocclusion. The medical cost incurred by me up to now is $1641.50. I spoke with ***** of Puppy Palace on 03/04/2014 who advised to send all documentation/medical records for the owner's review. Package sent by me of medical records, x-rays copies, bill, letter from treating specialist veterinarian, letter from me all via certified mail received/signed for by ***** on 03/19/2014. When I received no response I called/spoke with ***** who advised to call back for ***** another day. I called for ***** and ***** advised he was not in. I then left a message. I did not receive a callback. Now today I called/spoke with ***** and he is out to lunch. ***** advised to call the owner **** tomorrow after 1:00pm, that the owner has the paperwork and is aware of the matter. ***** defers to ***** and ****.

Desired Settlement
Price of the dog as per their guarantee

Business Response
Ms. ******* purchased a Maltese Poodle mixed breed puppy on February 20, 2014. Puppy Palace does not make claims as to the genetic predispositions of mixed breed dogs, but would have been pleased to refund Ms. ******* the full purchase price. Ms. ******* has a pending charge back case with her credit card company for the full purchase price. In order to avoid providing a double refund, Puppy Palace is not able to provide a refund to her at this time.

Pursuant to the FL Pet Lemon Law, Statute 828.29(5) "Reimbursement for veterinarian costs may not exceed the purchase price of the animal." The maximum refund possible is the full purchase price. Puppy Palace cannot compensate Ms. ******* for any medical/dental charges she incurred.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The business responded only after I initiated a dispute with my credit card company and filed a complaint with the BBB which was over one month since Puppy Palace received my package via certified mail. The owner was not and is not "pleased" to refund the cost of the puppy because she did not refund and has not refunded the money when notified nor as of yet and has ignored all of my messages and calls using ***** as her call screener. The owner quoting the FL Pet Lemon Law is irrelevant along with her quoting her irresponsibility regarding the genetic disposition. If one pays attention to my complaint one will see that I am seeking a refund for the cost of the dog and not for my veterinary costs which have been and will be much more than the cost of the puppy. This clearly shows that attention was not paid to my complaint. I have yet to see a refund on my credit card. Today is 04/29/2014 and they received my certified paperwork on 3/XXXXXX. Again, I have not received a refund.

Final Business Response
MRS. ******* DID A CREDIT CARD CHARGE BACK AND WAS REFUNDED BACK FROM HER CREDIT CARD COMPANY THE FULL AMOUNT OF HER PURCHASE. AS PER FLORIDA LAW MRS. ******* HAS RECEIVED HER REFUND IN FULL AND IS NOT IN TITLE TO ANY OTHER REFUND. REFUND CAN NOT EXCEED THE PRICE OF THE DOG.

03/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased Siberian Huskie Puppy. Dog has been chronically ill since purchase. Puppy Palace refuses to address problem.
Purchased Puppy in May 2012. The dog has been chronically ill since the date of purchase reguiring extensive medical treatment costing several thousands of dollars.

I have continually tried to address this situation with Ms. **** ******* since the date of purchase. She has been completely unresponsive even dismissive of my concerns. She most recently told me she would do nothing and not to "bother" her anymore.

I love the animal but he has a chronic condition which i will have to deal with for rest of the dogs life. I am disgusted by Ms. *******'s lack of professionalism and compassion which is required in her business.

Desired Settlement
I would like Puppy Palace to reimburse me for the considerable costs I have incurred in taking care of the dog and to arrange for the future care of the animal.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *************@AOL.COM
TO BBB,

MR. **** CONTACTED PUPPY PALACE AROUND LATE NOVEMBER 2013 ASKING FOR A COPY OF HIS WARRANTY OF A SIBERIAN HUSKY PURCHASED 5/26/12. HE WAS TOLD THEY WERE FILED AWAY IN STORAGE AND WE COULD LOOK FOR THEM IN THE NEW YEAR. MR. **** DIDN'T LIKE THAT RESPONSE AND TOLD US HE WAS A LAWYER.
MR. **** NEEDS TO KNOW THE PET LEMON LAW FOR HIS 1 YEAR WARRANTY EXPIRED ON 5/26/13. AND TO THIS DAY NO MEDICAL BILLS, X-RAY, BLOOD WORK, LAB RESULTS, DOCTORS LETTERS OF DETERMINATION HAVE EVER BEEN SENT TO PUPPY PALACE. FLORIDA LAW REQUIRES THIS TO BE SENT 3 BUSINESS DAYS AFTER THE VET HAS DIAGNOSED WHAT ISSUES THE PET MIGHT HAVE. IF HE WILL SEND THESE TO US WE WILL LOOK AT EVERYTHING AND DETERMINE WHAT ACTION IF POSSIBLE. BUT WITHOUT IT THERE;S NOTHING PUPPY PALACE CAN DO.
LASTLY MR. **** STATED THAT I **** ******* (PRESIDENT) TOLD HIM NOT TO BOTHER ME IS COMPLETE FABRICATION BY MR. ****. AND LOOKING AT HIS PAPERWORK MR. **** DIDN'T PURCHASE THE DOG HIS SON DID.
AND ADDRESSING OUR LATE RESPONSE THIS IS THE FIRST NOTICE WE RECEIVED IN THE MAIL ON JAN. 7, 2014.
PLEASE UPDATE OUR CONTACT INFO:
FAX: (XXX)XXX-XXXX
EMAIL: *************@AOL.COM
CASE#XXXXXXXX
THANK YOU,
**** *******
PUPPY PALCE INC.




Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I'll try this again...I believe the BBB forum is one in which the consumer (that's me) issues a complaint so that the Business/Owner (Ms. ************ respond in a professional amicable way so that problems can be solved. I believe the purpose of this forum is to try and reach a solution that satisfies the consumer, after all Ms. ******* has my money and I would hope that her main objective in business is to satisfy the customer.That would be the reason for membership in the BBB so a consumer has the ability to resolve issues without litigation and to bolster a Business's reputation.

However all Ms. ******* seems to do is cite Florida law and evidentiay issues (i.e. phone records) without once proposing any type of resolution to a clearly upset consumer.I chose to use the BBB because of it's reputation as a forum for mediating disputes so the parties can resolve issues. Clearly Ms. ******* views the BBB as a way to further intimidate and harass customers.

Now as for Ms. *******'s continuing recitation of laws and evidence let me be respond by stating the following. The PET LEMON law is not our only course of redress through the legal system. I feel that other laws at are at issue both statutory as well as issues of equity. If Ms. ******* wants to challenge my ability to vigorusly pursue all avenues of Litigation and Liscensing I advise her to GOVERN HERSELF ACCORDINGLY!

Ms. *******'s way of treating customers speaks for itself as will her REPUTATION. I will give her one more chance to amicably resolve our dispute or i'll grant her wish to engage in any and all legal liscensing etc. avenues in the near future.

*** ****




Final Business Response
AGAIN MR. **** NEEDS TO SEND US ALL VETS BILLS AND VET LETTERS OR VET INFORMATION RECORDING THE ISSUE FOR THE PUPPY. WITHOUT THOSE PUPPY PALACE CAN NOT DO ANYTHING FOR HIM. MR. **** NEEDS TO SEND THE PAPERS AS SOON AS POSSIBLE BEFORE ANY REFUNDS CAN BE DETERMINED. PUPPY PALACE CAN NOT DO ANYTHING UNTIL THEN.

PUPPY PALACE
**** *******

03/19/2015Problems with Product / Service
06/10/2013Delivery Issues
Page 1 of 2
07/11/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Will not provide the AKC Registration Paperwork on our dog.
We purchased a rottweiler in April 2013 & we were told that at the time of purchase, they were still waiting to receive the AKC paperwork from the breeder. To date (little over a year later) we still have not received our dogs paperwork. My wife has called Puppy Palace numerous amounts of times to speak to the owner & she will not return any phone calls. None of the employees that work there will tell whats going on, all they do is take your name and number and say "someone" will call you back. Still waiting for a return phone call. My wife called today and an employee gave her the breeders name and number and told my wife that she has to contact the breeder for the paperwork. In the contract it clearly states that you will receive the paperwork if not when purchasing the puppy, then no longer than 10 days after the purchase. I will never buy from this facility ever again. Before we left with our puppy we were told she has a little "cold" coming on.. When we took her to the vet she had kennel cough. Puppy Palace does not stand behind their guarantees and we completely overpaid for a puppy that still does not have its AKC paperwork.

Desired Settlement
We want our AKC paperwork that we were promised when we purchased our Rottweiler.

Business Response
WE PURCHASED THE PUPPIES FROM A LADY THAT SAID PUPPIES CAME WITH THEIR AKC PAPERS. SHE PROMISED US TO GIVE THE PAPERS AS SOON AS SHE GOT THEM FROM THE BREEDER. WE HAVENT BEEN ABLE TO GET IN HOLD OF THE LADY WE BOUGHT THEM FROM. BREEDER WAS CALLED AND BREEDER SAID SHE WONT RELEASE PAPER TO US UNLESS SHE SPEAKS TO THE LADY SHE SOLD PUPPIES TOO. AT THESE POINT IT IS OUT OF OUR CONTROL. WE HAVENT BEEN ABLE TO CONTACT THE BREEDER AFTER THE FIRST CALL.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Their response is a complete lie. The owner of puppy palace purchased the dogs from the breeder ***** ******* in South Carolina. The breeder has pictures of **** (owner of Puppy Palace) holding the puppies she bought. **** is that "lady" that she claims she purchased the dogs from. **** never went back to the breeder for the akc paperwork. I want my paperwork for the dog I bought from Puppy Palace

Final Business Response
I AM A NEW MANAGER HERE. I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO RESOLVE THE ISSUE. I HAVE CONTACTED THE BREEDER BUT SHE REFUSES TO GIVE US THE PAPERS. I GAVE MRS. ********* THE BREEDERS INFORMATION SO SHE CAN CONTACT HER AS WELL AND GET THE PAPERS. OUT OF GOOD ***** WE BOUGHT THE PUPPIES PAID IN FULL AND HAVEN'T GOT PAPERS FOR THEM. IT IS OUT OF OUR CONTROL BUT WE WILL GIVE 50% REFUND TO SOLVE THE PAPER MATTER.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have personally contacted the breeder but since she did not sell us the e dog she will not give us the paperwork. The breeder said the owner of puppy palace gave her falsified information.. I'm very upset that I own a full-bread Rottweiler without any proof that she really is.. If puppy palace has done everything that they possibly can do to get the paperwork then why is the breeder telling me different? And if I cannot get the paperwork and puppy palace is offering to refund us 50% of the purchase price then how do we go about getting our refund. Although I'm not saying that a 50% refund is awesome because all I'm wanting is the official paperwork on our dog because without it we completely got ripped off but I guess it's better than nothing. So how do we get this refund?

Thanks,
******

06/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sold a very sick puppy
Puppy Palace sold me a very sick puppy , I took the owner
****** ******* to small claims court and won she still
refuses to pay ! My puppy needs surgery she should be held
accountable for selling SICK puppy's

Desired Settlement
I am seeking the purchase price and court cost also
3 vet bills

Business Response
**** ******* and Puppy Palace have not received any correspondence from the court as to the determination of Ms. *******'s claim. No representative from Puppy Palace appeared in court with Ms. ******* and it is unclear as to what she is referring to.

Ms. ******* was offered to return the dog for a full refund over 9 months ago. She brought the dog in, received the refund, and then came back 2 hours later and picked the dog back up.

Puppy Palace requires a copy of x-rays so that a second opinion may be obtained (compliant with state law). Ms. ******* dropped off x-rays at the store, but picked them back up less than 2 days later, and without notice. This did not provide the time necessary to have the x-rays reviewed by another veterinarian.

The dog supposedly has hip dysplasia, a congenital and purely genetic issue, though Ms. ******* repeatedly claims that the puppy is "sick". She has provided no documentation of any illness, nor has she provided x-rays or documentation of hip dysplasia. As we have told Ms. ******* previously, if she would provide us the veterinary documentation and x-rays, we would be able to determine an appropriate refund. Pursuant to the FL Pet Lemon Law, Statute 828.29(5), and stated in the Puppy Palace Guarantee, "Reimbursement for veterinarian costs may not exceed the purchase price of the animal."

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
**** ******* owner of Puppy Palace was served on
January 23,2014 to appear at the Broward County Courthouse on February 25,2014 @ 2:30pm case # XXXXXXXX.**** ******* or a Representative of Puppy
Palace did not attend court hearing. I am referring to the BREACH of contract, I was sold a AKC PAPERED rottweiler puppy for $1,085.44. I still have NO PAPERS and was told by **** ******* she will get with the breeder and get the AKC PAPERS! I would have NEVER purchased this puppy for that price!**** when you where served by the sheriff office you received all copy's of the Veterinarian exams and Information that was needed.The vet bills DO NOT exceed the purchase price of puppy!My puppy is Sick, and will need surgery.I still 9 months later have NO AKC PAPERS AND A SICK PUPPY.**** in your response of the hip dysplasia this puppy has it in BOTH hips and severe arthritis she is only 14 months old!Read the Court Documents that where brought to puppy palace and you SIGNED for!



Final Business Response
There has been no correspondence from the court as to the determination of your complaint.

Puppy Palace agreed to fully reimburse you for the price of the dog. We cannot determine a compensation amount for vet costs because you have not provided us the records and adequate time to have them reviewed by a vet.

You agreed to the Puppy Palace Guarantee stating in Paragraph 7 that Puppy Palace has the right to have the dog examined by a veterinarian of our choosing. You have not allowed this opportunity.

Again, hip dysplasia is a hereditary issue, not a sickness. No documentation was provided indicating any sickness, only the supposed hip dysplasia, which we have not been able to confirm. We cannot address claims that the dog is "sick" when there is no diagnosis of an illness.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
****,
would you like a copy of the court documents that where served to you by the Broward Sheriff @ Puppy Palace on 1-24-2014@ 6:04 pm? The paperwork had all Documents,You did not ask me to bring the puppy to your vet for an examination, I have no problem with that request. Also you seem to be avoiding the question where are the AKC PAPERS? I paid for an AKC Rottweiler puppy $1,085.44. I have called and stopped in Puppy Palace still nothing? My Puppy is sick with BOTH hips and Severe Arthritis and will need surgery for that and her INVERTED VULVA she has Urinary Infections!Its all
Documented in the paperwork that was brought to
you @ Puppy Palace.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pet Shops, Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail, Pet Foods - Wholesale & Manufacturers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/19/1998Business started: 08/15/1994
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Hollywood, City of
2600 Hollywood Boulevard
Hollywood, FL33020-4807
(954) 921-3225
http://www.hollywoodfl.org

Broward County Business Tax
Broward County Governmental Offices 115 S. Andrews Ave.
Fort Lauderdale, FL33301-1818
(954) 357-7235
http://www.broward.org/Pages/Welcome.aspx

BBB records show a license number of 1500034439 for this company, issued by Hollywood, City of. Their web address is http://www.hollywoodfl.org.

Check License Status: http://www.hollywoodfl.org/index.aspx?NID=218

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 339-1105 for this company, issued by Broward County Business Tax. Their web address is http://www.broward.org/Pages/Welcome.aspx.

Check License Status: https://www.broward.county-taxes.com/public/search?search query=339-11005&category=business tax

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 1994, FL

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Scott Watelski (Manager)
Contact Information
Ms Judith Norford (President)
Business Category

Pet Shops, Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail, Pet Foods - Wholesale & Manufacturers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Puppy Palace Inc.

5909 Hollywood Blvd

Hollywood, FL 33021-6328

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5909 Hollywood Blvd 

    Hollywood, FL 33021-6328(954) 989-2814
    (954) 989-8582
    (954) 559-7520

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Puppy Palace Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (954) 989-8582
  • (954) 559-7520
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Pet Shops

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.