BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/30/2008

Idea Design Studio Group, Inc.

Phone: (888) 864-1780Fax: (800) 675-2180

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

43 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 19 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Billing / Collection Issues2
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service34
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints43

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (43)
06/29/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I made an invention and needed help designing it, this company promised all kinds of things and does not deliver what it says.
Idea Design promised to take my invention, create a design, web page, and help getting a patent. Then they tell you that at the end of it all, they will supply you a list of business's that they deal with that are looking for new inventions and will buy patented ideas. The web-page was called a cartoon by one of the investors I sent it to, and furthermore the list they provide is a cold calling list of random business's. I did more on my own Google. Anyway, **** *****, at the company promised that we would be very rich from this idea. His exact words were "he was offering me a $200,000.00 house for 2,600.00. This was a comparison to how much I would make from the invention. I borrowed money from my dad, he is retired, and I am disabled. We didn't have that kind of money to waste on absolutely nothing. If it wasn't for the false promises given me, I would never have paid that kind of money, that I didn't have.

Desired Settlement
I want them to refund the $2000.00 back to my dad's credit card. They can have the $600 for what little they did. Useless pictures, writing and a patent pending, not a real patent.

Final Consumer Response
Idea Design did call me and we resolved the discrepancy between us. So please dismiss this case. Thank you very much. Sandra Dean

06/16/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They don't deliver what they have promised. The only time they were ever responsive is when they took my credit card information.
I had an app idea and I was doing some research online to learn more about how to create an app. I sort of just stumbled upon the IDS website and I put down my contact information on the landing page to see what kind of information they can provide; and they did call back but with not much information but with an extremely pushy salesman. He agrees with EVERYTHING you are saying and he will make you feel like you are on the right track to making tons of money when in fact they don't even know anything about it. Soon he will be asking for money. I was sold and I paid $595 USD on our first chat with a 'consultant,' who kept assuring me that my app is going to be awesome and that this $595 is nothing compared to the money I am going to be making.
After I paid the money, I was very motivated to really go through with it. But the 'consultant' seemed the other way around. I had asked for a written 'refund policy' since the day I gave him my credit card information over the phone, and he did promise me on the phone that he will send it to me in writing via email as soon as we hung up the phone. He never sent me anything. I asked him for it twice more and one last time a week after the first phone chat with him, and he again confirmed that he will send it to me. He never did. He, however, did confirm over the phone that if I do not like the 3D design and logo they are working on, I can get full refund. I am trying to save IDS unnecessary work by telling them, 'look I don't want to work with you anymore because I can't work with someone I don't trust;' but the consultant only keeps pushing and pushing and pushing me until I give up and hang up the phone.

They also gave me basecamp website where I can interact with the designers and the consultants of IDS. I am the only one that ever left any sort of message there for a whole week. I have left 3 comments, hoping they will at least answer to one of them. No one ever seemed to even sign in to check out my messages. I have a screenshot of it.

I am very unsatisfied with their customer service, and am also very skeptical about the legitimacy of their business. It's just a cleverly disguised hard sales.

Desired Settlement
I just want my $595 USD back. That's all I am asking for.

Final Consumer Response
They gave me the refund. Thank you.

06/16/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I requested for refund but they are not replying to any of my calls or emails.
They said they will give refund if I don't approve their first phase design; when I received their work, I told them I do not wish to continue working with IDS and asked politely for refund of $595. They have been ignoring all my emails and calls for a whole week now. I do not know where to complain or what to do about it since they are located in Miami and I am in Canada. I am willing to take legal actions if they don't get back to me within a month at max.

Desired Settlement
I want refund of $595

Final Consumer Response
IDS refunded the full amount. Thank you.

05/31/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Idea design studio failed to refund money I paid them to design product my 10 year old son had developed. Design did not meet standard.
In April 2014, I hired Idea Design Studio to design Solar cell phone (Infinity Solar Cell Phone my 10 year old son had invented. I first started with Invent Help a company that designs products. Somehow, Idea design studio came into the scene. First I taught they were part of Invent Help but found out they were separate companies but because Idea design Studio promised me that they are one of the best in the business with over 6,000 manufacturing companies that they do business with and would be able to bring my son's invention before these companies and would be able to find companies that will be interested in my son's invention and secondly, they will also set up a web page that they made me sign up for two years that will give me access to see inventors when they express interest in my product. They also promised me they will on daily basis send me links through my email that will help me keep in touch with several different companies to present my product to them. I paid them through my PayPal account through Bank of America. On 04/14/14 $395.00. REF (GRO XXX-XXX-XXXX FL XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX. On 05/02/14 $2,500.00 PayPal REF Idea Design XXX-XXX-XXXX FL XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX, on 05/30/14 Idea Design Studio Pay Pal $1,000.00 REF XXX-XXX-XXXXFL XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX, On 07/17/14 $1,000.00 PayPal ID # 6FL XXXXXREXXXXXXD.This brings total payment to Idea Design Studio to $4895. On April 16, 2014, they sent me copy of gray scale design and on April 23, 2014 colored design and a 30sec video which did not show anything different from the previous designs. I spoke to Andy Wright the guy who I dealt with from the beginning of the process and one who took all the payments from me and made him understand that I am not a technical person because he asked me my background from the beginning and made him and all that I spoke to understand that I will rely on their expertise to have a good product design and they all promised they will do their best. The first pictures they sent me looked good on paper. When they started sending me links for me to get in touch with the different companies, I found out that some of the links could not be opened and those that opened had nothing to do with the product I have paid them to design. The links showed companies that produced house hold items, toys, pet food, candies, school supplies, toiletries etc. There was no company that produced solar products or anything that deals with solar cell phones.They promised to send links and also keep my web page open for two years but they stopped sending the links after two weeks and none of the links they provided were helpful. When I contacted them why they have not been able to help me find a company for my product as they had promised, they told me to find my own company to help me develop the product which was not what they promised. I was able to find a company on my own who looked at the design and concluded that there were flaws in the design and that it was poorly done and will not work. The design is not good enough for the solar panel to work as they have showed in the design. I called and sent them email about my findings and the project manager overseeing my project David ******** wanted me to pay another $300.00 to redesign the phone. I refused and requested that they refund my money to me. Andy ****** called me and offered to refund only $1,0000.00 but I refused to accept their offer of $1,000.00 and requested $3,000.00. A guy called Jim called me to follow up with my request but after a couple of conversations, he has completely ignored my calls and emails. This shows that they are scamming people to take advantage of them. For failing to help me find a company to help develop and market my son's product as promised and for designing a product that will not work, I am asking that they refund $3,000.00 to me. My son keeps asking me about what happened to his invention and I am tired of telling him I am still working on it.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting that to peacefully resolve this case, Idea Design Studio should refund $3,000.00 to me out of the $4,895.00. This is money I borrowed from my son's future college fund with the intention that this product will be able to succeed for him to get financial backing to help him in the future. I expressed this concern to Andy ****** when I first spoke to him and he made me to understand that the idea of the Solar Cell Phone was a brilliant one and see a future for the product and therefore encouraged me to pursue it not knowing they were only interested in my money.

Business Response
FYI - We've reached a tentative resolution with the above and all related details should be worked out in the next day or so.



Regards,



Jim

IDS

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have not finally accepted or rejected their offer because I have asked that they send me copies of documents that I signed which they claim they would use to deny my request if I refuse to accept their offer. I just want to see those documents and also keep them for my records but have not heard from them yet and still waiting. Please be patient with me as we all work together for a peaceful solution to this case.

Final Business Response
As of April 27, 2016, all issues regarding Mr ****** have been resolved. Please feel free to contact Mr. ****** to confirm resolution, we appreciate the time granted by the BBB to allow us to fully address the client"s concerns and related issues.



If you have any further questions or comments, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.



Regards,



Jim

IDS

Direct # XXX-XXX-XXXX

Final Consumer Response
Just want to thank BBB for taking my case and making sure that it came to a peaceful end. I received a check in the amount of S2200 from Idea Design Studio yesterday as refund amount agreed upon by both parties. I am satisfied with the way BBB handled the case and want to thank you again for your patience and assistance. If the check clears, then the case is closed. If there is any negative comments that I made that might tarnish the name of IDS, please remove it from their file. Thanks.

03/30/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Idea Design Studio has taken $i495.00 from me and they refuse to give it back after I was told that it was refundable.

John ***** called me to ask me if I had an idea for an invention and I said yes. He then proceeded to tell me how their company could start designing my idea for a fee of $395.00. John said this money would be refundable if I didn't like the sketch of the design or if I changed my mind. I then paid the 395.00 for a sketch of a TV for people with a serious eye condition with a master card ending in 2798. My receipt # is 10.174.5.XXX-XXXXF2A8AD9-617D98AX-XXXXXD3B. This was done on Jan.26,2016 around 1:20 p.m. 1 or 2 days later the supervisor named **** ***** called and told me to take a look at the sketch they had done now he needed an additional 4900.00 for a patent. I did give him 1100.00 with the same mastercard my receipt # on that is 10.174.5.XXX-XXXXA55E14A-1F49BXXX-XXFDDB53 this was done on Jan.28,2016. I told **** on the phone Feb.1,2016 that I had decided not to get the patent he started to raise his voice at me and when I ask for the 1100.00 back that I had given him to go towards a patent he refused. He told me that that money was going to 3D but so far all they have done are a few sketch's and he told me that John didn't know what he was talking about when he told me that they would refund my money. He was very unprofessional on the phone. **** said he would call me back the next day to discuss this matter more but I have not heard anything from anyone.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking to get my money back from idea design studio. I've been **** to and don't know anything else to do except contact the BBB when they won't answer or return my calls since I have told them that I don't want to go on having them create an invention and get a patent.

Business Response

This case has been resolved, please see email sent to bbb on 3/3/2016. Let me know if you need me to resend documents.


Ty


Jim

IDS

Consumer Response
Yes Idea Design Studio did agree to return 1100.00 out of 1495.00 paid to them by me and I accepted this to resolve the issue between the company and me. They have already paid the 1100.00 back to me. Thank you very much for your help in this matter otherwise I don't think they would have returned one dime back. So yes the BBB can close this case now. Thanks Again ****** Hogan *****

Page 1 of 5
02/01/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Deliverables do not match service fee and there is blatant mis-representation of competencies, guarantees, policy and practices
On Oct 5th, 2015 I employed the services of Idea design to help launch an idea. Spoke with ****, Val and Erica who all promised me a host of things. First I was asked to pay $395 to get started. It was unclear exactly what that $395 covered but I was told it was a deposit to get things started. I was told that they would take care of all the production and marketing of my idea, I was told I would be marketed to investors and they would hold my hand through the entire negotiation process. I was told they had a rolodex and portal of investors that they would market my product to. I was told I would get a website and everything. I pd the $395 and a few weeks later, was contacted my **** who asked for an additional $4,500 to take over the marketing and patent of my product. I was told I needed to enter into a contract. I was told that I would lose the $395 if I didn't follow thru. I was told that they believed in me and they already identified investors and was generating interest in my idea. I explained that I had a lot going on in my personal life so I was offered a $3,600 package instead. In that contract they listed 7 deliverables on pg.1. They included,

1)logo
2)3d design
3)web pg
4)web hosting
5)technical writing (description of product/company)
6)animated design
7) product mgmt system

The contract was executed incomplete. The first pg is not completely filled out. Deliverable # 1 and 2 had already been done an pd for as that is what the $395 was for as verified by Jeff. Also the false advertisement of promoting me to investors and holding my hand the entire way as well as getting my patent filed was not in the contract although I was told when they asked for the $3,600 that that is what is was for. So far, the remaining 5 items on the contract have not been completed and the two items that I already paid for a second grader could have created.
The contract signature authorization page is imcomplete and void as it does not properly reflect my title and should have been caught and corrected by the team. I contacted Val to follow up on progress and was told that they were already talking with investors. I also received a request for an additional $285 to work with me and file my patent!!??? I thought that's what was included in the $3600. They didn't tell me it is just for a provisional patent which isn't recognized by investors. I had a strong feeling I was getting shammed so I enlisted that help of a consulting firm to go over my contract and deliverables. I wish I did this first. They were the ones that pointed out that the contract was incorrect. There were deliverables on it that had already been done for another fee. I called in to get answers and this is when Jeff showed he was the ******** that he is. He began to scream, called me delusional, insulted my consultant, hung up on me, refused to answer questions, had a temper tantrum on the phone huffing, puffing and screaming and telling us to shhhhhhhh!!! I asked him to itemize the deliverables and he refused. He admitted the contract was void. I asked him why he said he would promote my product to the investors when the contract stated they absolutely do no promotion. I asked who were the investors he said he contacted and he said, "Oh I was talking about my other accounts"!! Really?? I asked him why he guaranteed to put the web page up by December when the patent wouldn't have been filed knowing that would make the patent null and void, he had no answers. He admitted that the list of the deliverables was inaccurate on the contract. I told him I was recording the convo and he said he didn't care. Told him I wanted out because nothing had been done and the contract was wrong and he told me it was nothing he could do for me. Literally not one delivarable but the two that shouldnt be on there have been completed. Asked how he would animate my idea, he said it was in production but wouldn't disclose details. SCAM SCAM SCAM!!!

Desired Settlement
I would like $3,600 refunded to me and them never to contact me ever again.

Business Response
As per our recent emails please note that we have successfully resolved all issues. See attached.

12/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Idea Design Studios did not honor the contract terms and conditions

I signed a $5,300 contract with Idea Design Studios to market my invention. The company delivered less or none than what the contract and phone calls called for. They were supposed to design a logo but did not know how so I had to send them the idea and a draft of the logo. They were supposed to deliver a video and they designed one using HTML code that cannot be updated nor changed. I asked for the HTML codes but they could not deliver. The video now is obsolete and out dated because of changes. They promised to send investors and well known wholesalers such as Lowes, Target, Hone Depot and others for me to submit my invention but all I received was repetitive referrals of companies that most of them would not even accept and submissions and are unknown businesses. They also promised a patent but all we got was a PPA a provisional patent that no known investor or wholesaler will accept. I contacted Mr. *** and told him he needs to amend this situation but received no response and was totally ignored.

Desired Settlement
The minimum resolution will be Idea Design will submit an application for a full patent of my design and a Powerpoint video presentation.

Business Response
*****



Please note that all issues regarding the above have been resolved. Please contact us if you have any additional questions or comments.



Attached please find supporting documentation.





Regards,





Jim F.

IDS

Complaint Response Date bumped because: Thanksgiving

Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

11/25/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Complaint
Idea Design Studio has not fulfilled the promise of my contract and I am not happy at all. I was told when I signed up with them that I would receive emails every 3 days and that hasn't been the case at all. When I signed up with Idea Design Studio they promised that they will create a 3D model of my Project and I would receive countless emails to investors and buyers. I entered a contract with the company based on them stating that they would provide contacts that was needed to get my product in the markets which is a 2 in 1 combo Kitchen counter top appliance. I wasn't receiving new emails every 3 days as promised in my contract with Idea Design. The emails sent to me most of them didn't work or said invalid when I opened them. Because Idea Design did not deliver on that promise the contract was breached on the deliverance of promised contacts and emails of investors and buyers to get my product advertised. I paid $350 for the 3D grayscale and 3D color renders of my product Design which was paid on February 26, 2015 and then I paid an additional $1400.00 on April 10, 2015 and $600.00 on September 9,2015 and $285 for provisional patent for a total of $2635.00 I was promised that they $2000.00 was for phase 2 which was a web based account and countless emails to send to investors and buyers to get my product out in markets. They did not deliver on that promise at all. I'm very unhappy and angry that they did not deliver on there promise. I called Idea design about this matter and they did not help at all. I want the $2000.00 for phase 2 because what was promised was not delivered at all and I want to keep my product design because I paid for that part of it and I paid for the patent. If I can't get the entire $2000 back that I paid because of the web page I want $1500.00 and I want to keep my product design because I paid for that part of it and I paid for the patent. I am angry and upset with Idea Design because they did do what they promised when I signed up with them.

Desired Settlement
Desired Settlement,
I Feel that what I am asking for is fair which is the $2000.00 for Phase 2 which was paid by me to Idea Design and to keep ownership of my product because I paid for that part and I also paid for the provisional patent.

Business Response
We're currently in communication with the above customer and will need a few additional days to completely resolve.

10/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Called and left email plus voice mails doesn't respond gave me false idea and worthless
when i came up with my idea i tried searching online for an idea company that can help me make my product end up in stores.finally i found idea design design studio reached out to someone very nice. he explained the entire process of how it will go threw and "how they will be with me every minute and guide me till the end." I finally agreed to pay this huge amount of money for some worthless video and photo which Will be drawn of my product (which can be drawn by my 12yr old daughter). Then i got in touch with Marvin the third which was at first very nice untill he busted.... when my drawing was done they sent me company names to where i should send my product info to see who would want to manufacture it.
They sent me all company's except company's appropriate for my product i was telling them no company making pizza would start making hair dryers but there answer was yes this is how it works.but i guess was right and no-one responded. Until finally one of my company searches responded, tried being in touch with Marvin of how to Handel this,and he was all of the sudden bz as David-s respond. This company did not help me come up an idea of how to work out my product should actually work they just did this none sence photo of a product they have noooo clue how it should work and did not verify that there is actually no other similar item patented in process of being made now. They helped nothing they make themselves nice and i lost tons of money

Desired Settlement
Need something to compromise.

Business Response
Sorry about the delay in responding to the above, please note note all matters regarding the above were completely resolved a few weeks ago.

Should you have any additional questions or comments please do not hesitate to contact us.

Regards,

Jim F.

IDS

07/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company tell you they will patent your idea and after the get your &1200.00 they tell you they are done everything they tell you is a scam
They got my money but they have never mailed me any information , they also have a person that pretend to be a lawyer , but you can never talk to anyone . They have my money and will not give it back to me

Desired Settlement
They have my money and they never did the work

Business Response
Based on our review of the case files regarding the above, we have performed all related product development services as agreed upon. The customer also signed our standard approval of work performed (see attached) and did not express any concern regarding work completed. In an effort to assist client with his project, we completed all work prior to receiving final payment for services rendered. In additional to completing project without final payment, client was allowed to continue use of our internal data base. Permitting access to our data base provided client with the opportunity to market product to potential investors and manufacturers. Our efforts in this particular case are well documented and the reference regarding withholding product documents and information is completely false.
This complaint has no merit and should be closed accordingly.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They are ripping off a lot of people just like me ! No one has thousands of dollars to just give away to a company that has no plans on helping you with your invention ! They get your many then they cut off all contact . They even have someone play the part as a lawyer he is also fake .

Final Business Response
See attached.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yes I did agree on the things they email me but it was all a smoke screen ! They never did send my information into the patent office ! They make it look like they are working for you .
They promised to work with me for two yrs after they got my money they told me they have done every thing . They lied about working with me for two yrs also I never not followed through they stop working with me ! They told me they have done all there work ! They never did send my information into the United States patent office like I paid for they never sent me the paper work for proof that they ever did anything . I have no paper work from them at all ! This company do everything through email because they will not form a paper trail they are a scam why no paperwork at all ! They do not give any paper wo

Page 1 of 5

Industry Comparison| Chart

Marketing Consultants, Computer Assisted Design Services, Web Design, Brand Development, Inventors, Graphic Designers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.