BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Rapido Marine, Inc.

Phone: (786) 663-3278

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
08/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sold me a engine that is not working. They did not assemble the engine correctly
Rapido Marine agreed to take my engine block and rebuild the engine and provide me with what is called a long block. The engine is a 454 reverse rotation marine engine. They did the job and where paid. I have receipt. I then had the engine installed in my boat, when the engine was started for the first time. There was a loud banging noise coming from the front of the engine. I turned out to be the timing gears. They did not install the thrust washer correctly or at all. They came on site and confirmed that was the issue. Now the engine must be removed to fix the assembly error. I have been calling for days with out an answer. I have left many voice mails no return calls.

Desired Settlement
I would like to engine fixed and the removal and re-installation cost covered

Business Response
We have stated to Mr. Obrien that anyone can bring any engine at any time to us for repair or even a refund regardless who is at falt. It is never clear what happened until engine is taken appart and inspected. We have now been wating since july3 for him to return motor. We have repededly told him this.two weeks later, his last email to us said:


I waited to take the engine out until I knew what I was going to do with it. It was safe and dry in the boat, I did not want it open and hanging with rain every afternoon when I had no idea where to take it.

On 07/16/2014 11:23 AM, ****** ****** wrote:
Again , no! You knew you had to bring the engine to us. You chose now to take it out till now! Im not going to play these games any more. I dont play games. This will be my last email until you bring engine to the shop .you have 24 hours to do so or we will void all all your warranties. We can be as unreasonable as you are.


www.************.com
Raul@************.com
1-(786)-***-****
1-(***)***-****

On Jul 16, 2014, at 11:04 AM, ******* ****** <*******@*****.com> wrote:

Let me know if you have any questions. If you want flat top then mention it in the comment section. Thanks Raul (owner)

You ducked my calls for 2 weeks, sorry if your vacation got in the way of supporting your clients properly. I owned my own business for 25 years when one of my clients had a problem I was right there day or night. I did not avoid their calls for days on end. Leaving them without answers or options. Also if you check ripoff reports you will finds 4 or 5 others that have posted about your company. Just put rapido in the search box. You will also see that one was rectified I would do the same

On 07/16/2014 10:25 AM, ****** ****** wrote:
No sir. It is up to you if you go somewhere else with your engine.As we said in last email, you can bring your engine to us where you purchased it,at any time ,regardless of falt and we will not only fix it, but also show you why or where the ticking noise is.We have not wavered, or offered anything else neither prior or currently.? You also jumped to conclusions and only gave us 3 days durring 4 july holliday before
Going to BBB, and then ,to a ripoff report! Right? You will have to fix all that also before we help with any of your motors.Three days was not snuff time when we were on vacation. You are a very unreasonable person.
www.************.com
Raul@************.com
1-(786)-***-****
1-(***)***-****
On Jul 16, 2014, at 9:39 AM, ******* ****** <*******@*****.com> wrote:
Raul,
My engine is now out and due to your lack of any response what so ever or any attempt by you to support your so called warranty, You are forcing me to have my engine repaired elsewhere
--
******* O'*****
Sr. System Administrator
***********************************
Direct:*************
Support**************
******************************
***************************
Miami, FL 33137

--
******* O'*****
Sr. System Administrator

***********************************
Direct:*************
Support**************
******************************
***************************
Miami, FL 33137
--
******* O'*****
Sr. System Administrator

***********************************
Direct:*************
Support**************
******************************
***************************
Miami, FL 33137


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The emails do not represent a resolution. They only serve to demonstrate how difficult Raul can be to deal with after he has your money. To have a business tell you that they are going to void your warranties after they take 5K of your money on both my engines, makes me not trust them very much. Every time you pull and install and engine in a boat it cost you thousands of dollars I do not want to have to go through this over and over at my expense especially when it is due to their negligence in the first place.

Final Business Response
Mike O'***** purchased (2) motors from ****** ******.
According to Mike O'***** we sold him an engine that did not work. The engine is a 454 Reverse Rotation ****** Engine. ****** ****** policy has always been 1 year warranty for all our motors (no matter if it's there fault), this information is on ****** ****** Website and told verbally to all our customers.Mr. O'***** wanted money reimbursed for the installation of the motor which is indicated on our Website once again that we DO NOT cover any installation fees. We only cover the cost of the motor.
We advised Mr. O'***** it was up to him to go somewhere else with his engine, as we said in emails, he could bring his engine to us where he had purchased it, at any time. He knew what he had to do from the beginning. Come over to the shop!!!! Regardless of who's fault and we will not only fix it, but also show him why or where the ticking noise was occurring. We have not waiver-ed, or offered anything else neither prior or currently.
He also jumped to conclusions and only gave us 3 days during the 4 of July holiday before he went to BBB and did a ripoff report! Three days was not enough time when we were on vacation.
All Mr. O'***** had to do was return the motor for a full refund which takes 2-3 days to clear from the credit card company after the motor has arrived to ****** ******. I will honor the one year warranty and either provide a refund or send a new motor upon the receipt of the original motor.
Until this date we still have not received the motor to refund. He can drop off the motor to us where he originally purchased from us.
We confirm and fix problems in house only and never void warranties. We only provided the long block, not complete engine or install. Mr. O'***** wanted immediate response and slandered our business. He has been irrational, impatient, unprofessional. The mechanic at fault pointing fingers without bringing a single thing back to our shop for repair or for a refund. We do not void warranties! Look at our warranty very closely because we never waiver-ed from our policy that "we only work on our engines in our shop" where you purchased it and picked it up. We fix everyone's engine no matter who is at fault and that we do not pay labor under any circumstance as well.
Sorry for any inconvenience, we can be reached at ***-***-**** or 786-277-9637.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all it was not 3 days. He is talking about the week of the 4th of July, I first spoke to Angel about the issue with the engine on the 28th of June and I have the phone records to prove it. I also have the records to show all of the calls and emails when he avoided me for weeks after that. Raul has contradicted himself in his responses here. In this response he says they never void warranties see his previous response here in the copy of the email he sent me. Because of his statement saying that he was voiding my warranties. I took my engines to a competent shop and ******'s incompetent assembly work corrected. I have documentation and photos that prove Rapiod's negligence. I am now also having issues with the first engine. It appears that ****** did not do all the work they where paid for and on top of that put used parts in my other engine. Raul is a liar and a cheat, he needs to understand that you can not contract out the law.

11/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a marine engine and a 650cfm Holley double pumper carburetor from RapidoMarine despite the negative reviews I read about them because the price of the engine was decent and there were one or two positive reviews about them. Regardless there were problems right from the get go. I am a professional mechanic and run an automotive shop.They advertise they buy new blocks and rebuild them with quality parts, guarantee the engines blah blah blah. You've heard the sales pitch before. I told them I was in a hurry to get this engine because I was going on vacation (a boating spot which is a 1 week time share which is only available once a year at the end of the season-last of the nice weather). They said they would have it to me in 2 days guaranteed. They said the engine was in stock and ready to go. Not true. It was not ready and it wasn't till the following day that the engine was shipped out. Now I'm a day behind. Finally arrived 3 days later. I opened the engine box up and began to install my parts onto the new engine and right off the bat there were issues. The oil pan did not line up properly as it should have, there was soot and dirt in the port openings and tiny alignment holes and I t also had sandy, dirty grease in a few of the bolt holes. I looked in the openings for the water pump in the block and saw a significant amount of rust. This was NOT a new block. However I chose to continue because at that point I did not have a choice to complain or fight about it because I needed to get going to my time share. I got it all together and tried to install the carburetor and that too did not fit. I installed my old carburetor and tried to hand crank the engine. That's when I found out the engine was no good. Ridiculously tight to turn. They refused to warranty it with a replacement and said they would simply give me a refund. Rare to get a returned phone call and unwilling to work with me to resolve their screw up. I missed my needed vacation and I still have no engine and my shop lost money
Product_Or_Service: 5.7L marine engine & Holley 650cfm carburetor
Order_Number: XXXXXXXX-XXXX
Account_Number: N/A

Desired Settlement
I did want them to replace the engine with another new engine as I had bought in the first place; take my parts and install them, set everything and run it, test it and break it in so all I have to do is drop it in my boat and that's it but at this point I want my entire refund back. That includes the shipping. I want the full refund of $2050. In addition I want to be compensated for my loss of vacation. I work 16+ hours a day 7 days a week. The engine was the only reason I missed my vacation.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** ****, owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@rapidomarine.com
**** ********** from Westminster, Maryland NEVER started his engine.
He has stated that the holly 4 Barrel Carburetor does not fit on his GM intake. Everyone knows that it could be done with minimal changes. Yes you may need new screws (if u had a spacer), and you may even need a new fitting to screw it in minimal.
CARBURETOR HAS A BIGGER SECONDARY AS DOES HIS 4 BARREL INTAKE MANIFOLD.
This customer could have returned it.
The problem is we sold him a brand new carburetor for $250 (worth $600), we only sell Holley Carburetor now, he wanted a new Quadrajet for the same price, IMPOSSIBLE!
He also wanted us to put his engine together, no problem! ..Its just that we charge $900 for that! He wanted it for FREE...IMPOSSIBLE!
We recommend that he returns everything for a FULL REFUND if he does not have the knowledge for assembly.
Engine took 2 days longer due to shipper and weather. We are very sorry he missed his vacation. sometimes things take longer than planned.
ALL ARE ENGINES ARE NEW OR RE MANUFACTURED NOT USED AS STATED! We have a great reputation over all in places such as the biggest boating sites like Iboats.com,ebay.com, and the BBB of course.
We have already refunded **** ********** his FULL REFUND the same day we received the return.He also complained about that.Its just takes 3 days for a refund to clear his account.We don't VOID warranty's under any circumstances.
We are truly very sorry!

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Ok. First off ****, who is the owner, is a very disrespectful, mouthy little ****. He called me on my phone and started to yell at me and called me everything but stupid. He called me up just to run his mouth and yell at me. In addition their sales rep are very smooth talkers to get whatever sale they can and it wasn't until I got an attorney involved that they started to move on the refund and return of the garbage engine their second rate rebuilder did when they rebuilt it wrong. Second is the carburetor was supposed to be a direct drop in and large enough to handle the additional CID of the engine. It was supposed to be a 750cfm but they sent me a 650cfm instead. Also simple add-one like a spacer and what not would not be enough to fit the carburetor due to the fact the front bowl was too far forward. I never said I wanted a QuadraJet either. I never made mention of a QuadraJet. That is a complete lie and fabrication of the truth. So now **** has put in writing he is a liar.

Typical for a company like this that can barely speak English. Interpretation can also be difficult as their engine builder does not speak any English so translation had to be done by the woman secretary of theirs.

It obvious their builders and **** the owner do not have ANY automotive or marine experience. They are nothing more then another eBay company that just sells parts to make money and lack the experience and expertise it actually takes to build and engine properly.

Now, I tried to return it several times but they kept ignoring most of my phone calls and would not return my messages when I would leave them. They were quick to pick up the phone when my wallet was open. Probably have caller ID and saw it was Maryland number calling and ignored it.

There are several other negative reviews about this company online as well. READ THE NEGATIVE REVIEWS. They speak for themselves.

Now as I said before after their failure to build the engine correctly and their procrastination costing me my yearly vacation at my timeshare the least they could do is either replace the engine or take the garbage engine, replace it and install all of my parts on it so it would be a turn key. Not a big deal right? Apparently it is. That's ok though because I am in the process of suing them and filing for a garnishment of their wages for punitive damages because of their fiasco. I own and operate an automotive shop and I needed a vacation and now I can't because of them so I am entitled to damages.

I would like to point out Rauk and his other employees said they tested every engine that they build. That too was a lie because it wasn't till after the engine would not work that they told me all they do is spin the crankshaft by hand and then I was told that this engine may not have gone through that process. To make matters worse they also lied about it being a "NEW BLOCK" because I have pictures that show there was old grease and soot in the tiny passages and drill holes in the block. Because I'm a mechanic I know what to look for. They got mad because I called them out on the lies they told and the deliberate manipulation of the engine just to make a few bucks. The block was not new and there were rust pits inside the engine block. I have pictures of that too. I have a scope on my SnapOn that has a camera on the end of it so I can see inside the block. So yes...I know for a fact they lied about everything front start to finish.


Overall this was a horrible experience and it wasn't until I got an attorney involved did things start to move forward. Buyers beware! They lied about the engine. It was not new and was not a new block as they stated in writing. (I have emails and the page print out as well off their listing), they lied about the fitment of the carburetor and they lied about what actually transpired. **** left out the fact he called me up on my phone just to yell at me and argue with me and he lied about when I got my refund. So that's it. Take it as you want but I'm done wasting my time with this. Only thing left is the small claims court action.

Final Business Response
Our reputation is an A.We have been around for 21 years. We sold 1800 engines this year (only one negative feedback this year). This customer has been the most disrespectful , racist person we ever dealt with .We now took his engine apart and found that he put the wrong oil pump bolt on main cap,went threw it, and locked up the crank.(hope this helps you, if not, get ready to fail again).. Beginner guy or competitor trying to blemish our great name.Full refund given including shipping. as stated earlier, sold 1800 engines this year with only a couple lifetime negative feedbacks(since 1995) including only this one here on BBB this year .Our engines speak for ourselves. Never started engine, still sais that he could not install a Holley carburetor on a small block Chevy, blames us for missing his vacation, got a full refund and still uptight.Everyone in our office speaks English perfectly without an accent.This customer has now shown his true colors as a racist, liar just wanting to damage our great name, and now making stuff up. Please help BBB

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Typical lies from a company trying to cover their butts to mislead and manipulate potential buyers.

I neglected to tell you I am an ASE master mechanic first off so I know what I'm doing. Number two you skirted over the issues of your lies about the block being new when it was not. You neglected to comment on your filthy and abusive phone call to me blaming me for your failed engine because of your obvious unknowledgeable re-builder. You still have yet to address the lies you told me in writing to which I also have that said you ran this engine and then your conversation with me saying that wasn't entirely true; but yet you spin the engine by hand.

Now let's address the issue of a "bolt being too long". Are you serious? That seems to be your excuse for all your failed engine rebuilds.

Yes that's right ****. I did some research and found that other people have had the same problems with your shotty builds. So I guess everyone is luring and everyone is using the wrong oil pump bolt huh? Oh wait...that's right. You're a filthy liar again. I took a picture of the oil pump cavity and guess what? It's a blocked journal you liar! Even if I used a bolt 10 feet long it's impossible to bottom it out because it's a closed cavity not an open one.

So stop liking trying to cover your own **** for faulty work. Your google reviews and blog site reputation and forum reputation speaks for itself. I am one person but you continually have problems with many people who buy your engines.

Lastly I am not racist ****. I have black friends and belong to an African church. Nice try but you fail. Pointing out the fact that your engine builder can not speak English is not racist. That's called pointing out the obvious. HE DOES NOT SPEAK ENGLISH. Your secretary even told me you have employees that can not speak English. ***** man...I even listened to her speak Spanish for 5 minutes to him trying to explain his improper rebuild with the engine. Racist? Dude you are in the wrong and all you can do right now is cry like a girl and try once again to misdirect people by saying im racist.

You're a tool and you sold me a bad engine.
You're mad because you thought you could push me around and it wasn't until my attorney got involved that you took it back and refunded my money.
You're mad because you're currently being sued and you're going to have to come all the way up here to Maryland to be present for the court lawsuit.
You're mad because you know I'm going to garnish your wages once I get a judgement and legally place an attachment on your businesses assets until I'm paid back in full.
You're mad because I called you out in your lies.
You're mad because you thought you would bully me around like you probably do with others and I fought back.

The BBB is not going to help you because you were in the wrong. Oh and FYI I am accredited through the BBB and I'll put my companies reputation against yours any day of the week. I have an A+ rating and I have a 100% positive feedback through consumer protection and I have been reviewed and confirmed through Google and I have awards and write ups for being one of the top companies in Carroll County, Maryland so please; spare me your dribble. I guess you're in shock because you thought I was some dumb schmuck but now you know I don't just know what I'm talking about but I'm also certified and run my own professional automotive business for years.

Looks like the jokes on you ****!

08/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
BOUGHT A 305 REBUILD MOTOR. THE ITEM WAS RECEIVED AS PROMISED. UNPACKED THE MOTOR AND BLOCK WAS CRACKED. SPOKE WITH ****. WILL NOT WARRANTY OR REFUND
I purchased a 305 short block motor from ****** ******. The item was packaged and shipped to me as I ordered it. Due to it being the end of the boating season here in PA I stored it as packaged in a garage out of the weather. This spring I planned to insall the motor on my boat. I unpackaged the motor and had a mechanic with me to assist. He noticed a large uneven area below where the manifold should be. He did a, "bore scope" test which showed the block was cracked along the entire length of the motor. No chance for a repair. The motor never saw water. so freezing is not an issue. I called ****, the owner of ****** ******. It took more than a week of daily phone calls to talk to someone there. He initially blamed me and said that I must have damaged the motor. Then he tried to blame the shipper. He eventually told me that he would honor the one year warranty and either provide a refund or send a new motor but he wanted me to photograph and text the pictures to him of the damage. **** also said that I would need to package and pay to ship the motor to him once he reviewed the photo's. The motor is packaged ready to go but I have been unable to contact anyone at ***** O. The photo's were forwarded to (***)***-**** on 05/21/14. That was the last I have been able to reach anyone at ***** O. Since my contact in late May the issue is still not resolved.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund for the motor $1300.00

Business Response
****** ******* purchased a XXX (XX-XX) Xpc LB motor from ****** ****** on July 22, 2013. ****** ****** policy has always been 1 year warranty for all our motors (no matter if it's there fault) but shipping is not covered as instructed on ****** ****** Website and told verbally to all our customers.
According to ****** *******: the block was cracked along the entire length of the motor, no chance for a repair, the motor never saw water, so freezing is not an issue. We sell 10-15 engines daily and we don't sell cracked blocks to our customers. This customer was in PA throught the whole winter and we are still covering it.So beat THAT!! We do cover all engines under any circumstance. All Mr. ******* had to do was return the motor for a full refund which takes 2-3 days to clear from the credit card company after the motor has arrived to ****** ****** (minus shipping). The customer has to pay for the shipping as our policy has always stated.
As I stated to ****** *******, I would honor the one year warranty and either provide a refund or send a new motor upon the receipt of the original motor , again we do not cover shipping.
Until this date we still have not received the motor to refund or ship a new motor to Mr. *******. We can schedule the pick up of our engine for him and he will pick up this cost in the refund.
Sorry for any inconvenience, we can be reached at RUN-663-FAST or XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Marine Sales & Service, Boat Dealers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.