BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/31/2012

Brilliance, LLC (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (866) 737-0754Fax: (866) 465-5173View Additional Phone Numbers3469 W. Boynton Beach Blvd STE 3, Boynton BeachFL 33436 Send email to Brilliance, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/31/2012

BBB has determined that Brilliance, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Brilliance, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service11
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Brilliance, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (12)
12/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered a ring, paid for it and never received what I ordered in its entirety. They haven't fulfilled this purchase for nearly 1 year. $10,000 approx
Approximate entire purchase was $10,000. This rings portion was Appx $3,000. I have records of all conversations saved in my emails. I paid with a credit card. I was promised a ring with four high quality stones in a Platinum setting. I specified expected quality, colors, and features. I designed the ring and had to sign off on its design. I paid for these design services. They made the ring, shipped it, and the Emerald stone fell out on the second time it was worn. I sent it back. They replaced the Emerald stone with a lesser quality stone, and sent the ring back to me beat up and scratched. I returned it. And took pictures. They resent it to me with a different stone of lesser quality with a large line through it. I told them that I was specific with what I ordered and expected. They agreed and resent me another stone, but this stone is a different cut and does not match the other 3 stones in the ring for cut. It has been between 10 months and a year since placed my order. Kore than a year we have been talking.

***** **** is the sales rep.
******** ****** is the COO that took it over when there was trouble. It is under warranty, but they haven't satisfied my order for the 4 times or so I gave returned it. I told them I want to return it for a full refund on ring, design services, grievance credit of $150 in refund, and pay the freight to return.

Desired Settlement
I have given ample opportunity to repair with what I ordered. My wife and I are done dealing with this as we have given ample opportunity to comply. This was a mothers ring and speeding ring combo that I worked a lot of weekends to buy her as a ring I wasn't able to give her when we got married because we didn't have the funds. Now this experience has ruined the gift behind it and she refuses to wear it. We are emotional abused by Brilliance, LLC. We have asked them to comply, and the haven't so the bbb is now needed to interject. I can discuss further details as requested, and I have the cc statement, all emails w agreements, design paperwork, and signed contractual agreement. Please assist in this terrible situation.

Business Response
Here at Brilliance.com we love working with the BBB. They provide a channel for our valued customers to share both great and bad reviews. As a business we learn what we are doing right with the positive reviews, and try and change things up when we get a bad review. However, lately we have seen an alarming trend of customers blackmailing businesses into giving them products and services for free.

***** ********* has threatened, harassed, sent profanity-laced correspondents, and verbally abused Brilliance employees. While we are willing to go to the moon and back for every customer, no business could work under these conditions.

As was stated in documented emails to the customer we are more then willing to completely redo his band after we schedule a time to speak over the phone. We stand behind all of our products and always want to make it right.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

***** *********
Defamation of character is a crime, ******** ****** at Brilliance. Please provide all emails to back up your claims, since all communication was electronic. Otherwise pull your comments that attack me as a person. Thank you for reaffirming everything I have stated about you and your company.

"Would NOT recommend this company. We have a ring that we designed. They guaranteed to make our ring to spec. It has 4 stones. The Emerald fell out during the second time of wearing it. They fixed, resent with scratches and repairs that I would compare to a three year old skill set. Embarrassing to show my wife considering I promised her that I apmade a good choice going through this company. They repaired and replaced the Emerald with a different one. This Emerald had a huge line through it. I was specific with the quality I ordered before I signed the agreement and purchased. They told me it was hard to get the Emerald I requested. I said they shouldn't have promised it to me if it was so hard to accomplish what I was promised. They wanted some time to track down the right Emerald. Months went by at this point. The next Emerald sent didn't have the same cut as the other stones. My wife and I had little money when we got married. This took years and lots of extra work to save for. Appx $10,000 purchase total purchase. A new wedding band with our kids birthstones and an engagement ring with a diamond. This nearly one year battle to get what we ordered has emotionally harmed us, and my wife refuses to wear this ring now. They ruined our lifetime purchase. I wouldn't expect much after what I went through. They refuse to refund me for our struggles and purchase. I am now seeking legal counsel and consulting with the Better Business Bureau. Be careful is what I would advise.

Here is an email string to verify my opinions.
Telling you that I will be moving forward to protect my purchase through legal counseling, better business bureau and website complaints is neither harassment, nor threatening. Those are terrible accusations that I will not accept. You are supposed to be a first class businessman. All I've ever asked for is my order completed as I placed it. For a year you haven't done that, but kept my money. Now I want a refund per our past discussion. No phone conversation is needed. Just be ethical and do what's right please. You have caused a great deal of sadness and anxiety in our home.

***** *********

On Sep 11, 2014, at 9:17 PM, ******** ****** wrote:

*****,

Under no circumstance will we continue working with you under threats or your harassment. You can retract your reviews, schedule a time to talk to me, and then I will gladly work with you on resolving this matter quickly and professionally. However, should you not want to resolve this between ourselves in a professional manner this will be my last email to you and I will submit this to our attorney and he will take all the necessary actions on our part.

Have a wonderful evening,

******** ******
Chief Operating Officer

********@Brilliance.com XXX-XXX-XXXX Direct: XXX-XXX-XXXX
www.brilliance.com Skype: yohayon

******** ******, the Brilliance COO is behind all of the Brilliance comments and dishonesty in their response. I remind him that defamation of character is a crime, as well as stealing, as I wasn't given what I had purchased. I request him to copy and paste the emails that back up his accusations, since all communication between us is in writing. Otherwise, remove your post, and be prepared for the consequences of stealing and slander.

Final Business Response
Thank you again for your response Brett. Our response and offer still stands. We stand behind our work and will gladly work to make you satisfied. When you are ready to setup a time to speak over the phone we can discuss getting the ring back and possibly remaking it completely.

04/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Brilliance has a terrible customer service when the customer rep. has attitude against the customer and they have failed to honor the return policy.
I have a terrible experience shopping here and just don't understand how you survive your business these days with terrible customer service and unclear return policy. I called in a few weeks ago to ask if your engagement rings are available for purchase without loose diamond. ******** ******, one of your diamond expert was very helpful and asked if I could send him an email about the information of the rings I inquired, he could give me a discount (I inquired 3 rings). I then sent him all the information needed and agreed to purchase three rings. Your company sent me an invoice with a non-discounted total. I then asked that **** did offer me a discount earlier and you should keep your proposal. I received a new invoice with the discount and was very excited to see my rings. I waited more than 2 weeks and saw no updates for my ring order. I had to call in and one of your representative updated the status of the order to "shipped" without any tracking number. I don't think you should wait for your customer to ask and update the order. When I called to ask about the tracking numbers of the shipment, ********* one of your representative told me that she can't give me the tracking numbers for security purposes with the attitude that I am any kind of disturbance to her. How do I know when the package arrive to pick it up then?Two days later, the rings came with a big disappointment. They don't look like how they are on the website. I called in to ask for the return code. ******** told me that she would send me the return code asap. I waited a day and nothing happened. Called again and another rep. told me that ******** would called me back regarding the return code. She called and said I can't return the rings and could only exchange them. I said many times that the rings do not look like they are on your website and I don't like them. She kept saying that because I received the discount I could not return them and the ring was adjusted to fit the size of the diamond I wanted to purchase. You never mentioned that rings without lose diamond are final sales. I did not ask you to adjust the prongs of the setting to fit my stones. You asked me to give you the sizes of them so you can adjust the rings. I first thought this was very nice of you to do so. But now I realize this is your way of doing business to lock customer in a transaction. You are an online business. You should not expect people to look at the pictures on your website, purchase them and never return them. The pictures were very deceiving. These are wedding and engagement rings that worth a quite lot of money and customers need to like them to keep them. ******** did offer me a very "good" option: exchange the rings for custom rings. Seriously? I have to go through so much (your attitude and non-responsiveness) just to return these rings and now you asked me to exchange them for custom rings, which I will never be able to return. I don't think this is a good option, ********. In addition, I am a customer and should never be treated with such an attitude: "I don't want to argue with you" - quoted ********. She said her supervisor will talk to me but never gave me the number of her supervisor, her name or when she will be calling me. She just hanged up.
Order number XXXXX

Desired Settlement
Please issue a return code and return label as soon as possible so I could ship the rings and get my refund back. This is not 100 or 200 USD purchase, this is almost 3000 USD purchase. Also, please educate and train your customer services representatives especially they are so disrespectful to me when she ********** at the number XXX-XXX-XXXX) has been so rude and cut me off while I was speaking and hanged up on me without leaving any further note, and when I called her back 2 minutes later, she did not bother to pick up the phone.

Business Response
Per the customer, in an email dating from April4, 2014 at 10:46 PM EST: (I asked her to dismiss the case and this is what she said)

Hello ********,

Regarding the case at BBB, you actually need to reply to the request, i.e the resolution we came up with. I then will have the option to close the case. Right now I don't have access to that option. That's just how the website works.

-****



On Fri, Apr 4, 2014 at 9:51 AM, ******** ****** <********@brilliance.com> wrote:
Here is another one ****. Would you kindly cancel it.

Thank you again,

********

E-mail: ********@brilliance.com
Website: www.brilliance.com
Toll-Free: XXX-XXX-XXXX *******
Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Fax: XXX-XXX-XXXX
International: + XXX-XXX-XXXX
**************

03/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I returned an item and have not received my refund.
My return was received within the 30 day return policy.they do not return calls or e-mails.
I purchased 2 rings and a loose diamond,order # XXXXX on 10/23/13 for the amount of 2733.20. I payed with a bank wire. I was not happy with the rings and returned them and the diamond within the 30 day return period. I received an e-mail stating that the rings were received. I waited the 30 days for my refund. I sent e-mails that were never responded to and then called and spoke with ******** ********** she was to forward my information to the accounting department and I have heard nothing from them.

Desired Settlement
I want a full refund for the original purchase price of $2733.20.

Business Response
Thank you for your feedback regarding the wire credit and brining it to our attention. We have now completed your wire refund and the funds should already be posted to your account.

02/23/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Merchandise returned, receipt confirmed over 20 days and credit has not being issued
On 12/13/15 an 18K man gold wedding band was purchased under order XXXXX $695.00. The ring was returned, company confirmed receipt of merchandise on 1/4/16 and informed that it would take up to 20 days to give me the credit. It is now 30 days and no credit was issued.

On 12/21/15 two 18K woman/man gold wedding ring was purchased under order XXXXX $1,055.00 total. The woman's ring was returned and company comfirm receipt of merchandise on 1/8/16. It is now 26 days and no credit has being issued.

I have sent three emails to the person who sold me the ring questioning the credit, emails were not answered. Also, I replied to both emails that was confirming receipt of merchandise, no answer was received.

On 2/1/16 I called and left a message on the answering machine for the person responsible for returns. No answer.

On 2/2/16 I called again, spoke with Jonathan. He said that a credit was issued to the credit card, they would call back by 6pm after speaking with the credit card. Received no call and no credit.

On 2/4/16 I called again, spoke with someone at brilliance left a message and was informed that Jonathan is one of the owners.

Till today Brilliance has not replied to y emails or phone calls, neither I have not received credit for the two returns. Brilliance has the merchandise since 1/4/16 and 1/8/16.

In my view it is unacceptable that a business take so many days to credit a customer for a merchandise that they have received.

Thanks

Desired Settlement
Help in getting my refund credit back to my credit card

Business Response
Thank you for contacting us regarding Ms. ******'s refund. Ms. ****** was given a call back on Thursday 2/4/16 after speaking to one of our sales associates(Jennifer). She was notified again that her credit card had been refunded and to please allow a few days for her credit card statement to reflect the changes. Per her conversation with our sales associate, Ms. ****** stated that a dispute/chargeback had been started.

Upon our conversation ****** was notified that once a chargeback/dispute is placed, we are no longer authorized to handle the return details with her but instead all of the conversations need to be handled directly with the bank.

At this moment, we are waiting for a letter from her bank to resolve and complete Ms. ******'s dispute.

02/22/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unethical Business Practices
I would like to file a complaint against Brilliance, LLC for unethical business practices.

The situation is that I was looking on line to purchase a loose diamond and I started with Brilliance.com researching and later identifying a specific diamond I intended to purchase.
Once I was send the Gemological Institute of America (GIA) certificate number (XXXXXXXXXX) for the diamond I was interested in purchasing, I did a simple search online and I found the same exact diamond advertised by Dreaming of Diamonds.com for $50.00 less than Brilliance LLC's price of $795.00

Brilliance LLC, stated they would match the $745.00 price, however, all visitors to their website were given a promotional code (50NEW) for $50.00 off any purchase (without any exceptions, blackout dates, etc.) if the visitor signed up to get their email advertisements.

I signed up for the emails, and expected Brilliance LLC to honor their discount code (Which I have attached) and they refused to give me the promised discount.

In the end, I believe that online business have no problem being unethical, since they have no fear of any repercussions from a single customer living perhaps 3000 miles away in another state.

Thank you for your assistance,

Desired Settlement
If at all possible, to sell the item in question with the discount (50NEW) applied to the matched price.

Business Response
***,

Thank you for your complaint, we greatly appreciate it.

You can read our low price guarantee here: https://www.brilliance.com/services/payment-taxes. Per our written policy:

"Brilliance offers the highest quality products at the lowest prices guaranteed. If you happen to find an item of identical size and quality at a lower price, we will beat it. Please note that it is under the sole discretion of Brilliance to determine if an item is of identical size and quality. Additionally, a low price guarantee can not be combined with a discount or coupon code."

As you can see we don't allow coupons to be combined with low price guarantees.

As a side note I do believe it is unethical to put in a complaint with the BBB without reading our policies. We always believe in creating a transparent buying process and instead of going to the BBB with a baseless complaint you would be best served speaking with our management team to work TOGETHER in making sure we solve any concern you have.

You can reach our COO direct at XXX-XXX-XXXX ext 1002, his name is ******** ******.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Dear Mr. ******,
Thank you ever so much for your timely response to my complaint.
I also would like to thank you for doing your due diligence in researching what exactly transpired regarding my interactions with your company, since you seem have either ignored or completely missed many important facts.
First and foremost, I requested information regarding the use of the discount code on 1/19/16 via email, "Thank for you reply, but you're matching the price +/- $1, not beating it. Also didn't see any rules regarding the use of the discount. Can you provide them?
Brilliance Response on 1/29/16 "Thank you for the email. I do not think that is listed on the site anywhere however it a general rule that you can't use a coupon code
It would appear that your time would be better spent training your staff, rather than attacking your critics for "Baseless Complaints" which are in fact, based on the information provided by your staff.
When consumers are given so many options online, it's important, to know that the company you're dealing with cares about you and your satisfaction. However, it would appear that Brilliance LLC is more concerned with saving face, rather than, serving their customers.

Sincerely,

*** *******


Final Business Response
***,

Thanks for your response and I will certainly bring to attention our actual policy which can be found at https://www.brilliance.com/services/payment-taxes to Jennifer's attention.

If there is anything else I can help you with you can contact me direct at ********@brilliance.com.

12/08/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This companies return policy and ordering process is deceptive and they refuse to return my money despite the cancellation of my order.
The companies website prominently states:

"At Brilliance, we stand behind each of our diamonds, engagement rings, and fine jewelry products with a 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee. If you're not absolutely satisfied with your purchase, simply return it for a full refund or exchange, no questions asked."

Virtually all consumers will assume that starts from when they receive the ring or at least on the date that it is shipped. However, after reading thorough their returns policy, you will see this text at the bottom of the webpage:

"Returned products must arrive at our office within 30 days from the time an order is placed online or over the phone."

I did not see the above sentence at the time (X-XX-XX) I ordered the ring (why would a consumer look for such a thing with such a prominently displayed return policy and no footnote directing them to a modification of said policy?) and was told on the phone that it would take 10 days to receive my order.

After 6 days (9-30-15), I emailed about the status and was told it was going to take 15 days and that they had sent me an email telling me that. No such email was sent until after I inquired (I checked my Spam folder). That same day (X-XX-XX) after further review, I discovered the sentence above limiting my ability to return the ring.

I suspect that by the time I actually received, and had the ring appraised, I would almost certainly not be able to return it being outside the 30-day window. On 9-30-15, I contacted ******** ******* (Chief Operating Officer) to cancel my order and was told that they were going to ship the ring to me despite my cancellation.

As to the ordering process, just below the 30 day limitation is a statement that reads:

"Custom items such as custom rings, custom jewelry or any other special order cannot be returned or canceled. Additionally, design deposits, custom head fees, customization fees and engraving fees are non-refundable."


On 9-24-14 my email to ***** ******* (Diamond & Jewelry Expert) stated:

"I'd like to pair it with your stock #XXXXX ring."

They now insist that is a custom order. Princess cut diamonds are very popular and the ring has a stock #. How are consumers supposed to know that in fact they have ordered a custom ring?

I insist that they refund my money and have disputed this claim with Visa.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund and I want them to change their website to place a prominent footnote to the details of their return policy. They also make it clear to their customers that the only diamond not considered custom is a round diamond. A customer shouldn't be expected to pull a hidden drop down menu down to find out he has ordered a custom ring and will not get his/her money back if they don't like it.

Business Response
*******,

Thank you for submitting your complaint, we greatly appreciate it.

You worked with Chris ******** a Diamond Expert at Brilliance. Our records indicate that you worked back and forth with him via email and phone on multiple diamonds and the specific ring setting (chosen by you "I'd like to pair it with your stock # XXXXX ring") that you ultimately decided to purchase.

When you were ready to purchase the center diamond and ring setting, you spoke verbally on the phone with Chris and before placing your order he notified you (on a recorded line) that the particular setting you chose needs to be customized for a Princess center stone. The customization charge and notations were notated on your account, listed on an invoice, and the invoice was emailed and received by you. Initially when we tried to take your payment, your card was declined and a call back was needed (after the invoice was already sent out) by you to charge your card for the order.

Our return policy is displayed on our site (with at least 2 links on each page), hasn't changed in over 3 years and is very specific that "Custom items such as custom rings, custom jewelry or any other special order cannot be returned or canceled. Additionally, design deposits, custom head fees, customization fees and engraving fees are non-refundable." (The policy can be found at https://www.brilliance.com/services/returns).

Moreover when you did contact Brilliance and had concerns about your 30 day return period, we extended the return period and granted you "30 days from the time you receive your order". We wanted to make sure you had enough time to review the diamond while insuring our jewelers had the time they needed to complete your ring to the highest standards.

When you emailed in to cancel your order your wording stated "Please honor the words prominently displayed on your website:" regarding our return policy. This is a direct contradiction to this BBB complaint regarding our displayed policy. Additionally, per the same email "Visa has already credited my account." (We are more then happy to send in all and every piece of written correspondence into the BBB). Again you ask for your money back but notify us in an email that you already received a credit from Visa.

At this point we have cast and completed a customized ring at our own expense and your payment has been withdrawn from our account.

In light of these facts and our email records we request this complaint be closed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Let me go through this response and note the inaccuracies therein. I will quote the vendor's response followed by my response.
Brilliance:
When you were ready to purchase the center diamond and ring setting, you spoke verbally on the phone with Chris and before placing your order he notified you (on a recorded line) that the particular setting you chose needs to be customized for a Princess center stone. The customization charge and notations were notated on your account, listed on an invoice, and the invoice was emailed and received by you. Initially when we tried to take your payment, your card was declined and a call back was needed (after the invoice was already sent out) by you to charge your card for the order.
My Response:
My card was declined because of VISA's fraud policy not because of the standing of my account. It is correct that I spoke with Chris on the phone in placing the order. My recollection of the call is that I was not notified that the call was recorded, which is in violation of Florida's wiretapping law. As a "two-party consent" law state, Florida makes it a crime to record a "wire, oral, or electronic communication" in Florida, unless all parties to the communication consent. See Fla. Stat. ch. 934.03. In addition to subjecting you to criminal prosecution, violating the Florida wiretapping law can expose you to a civil lawsuit for damages by an injured party.
I encourage Brilliance to provide said recording to the BBB and myself so that they can prove that I was notified that the call was being recorded as I have no recollection of that fact. Nor do I recollect any statement by Chris that a princess cut diamond (2nd most popular cut) in this stock setting was considered a customized ring and therefore no returns or cancelations were permitted. I recall Chris indicating that there was a $100 charge to place a princess cut diamond in the setting but I had no reason to believe that meant the ring could not be canceled or returned given that your Return Policy states at the top of the page:
At Brilliance, we stand behind each of our diamonds, engagement rings, and fine jewelry products with a 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee. If you're not absolutely satisfied with your purchase, simply return it for a full refund or exchange, no questions asked.
This statement provides no exceptions so it must cover all of your products and as it says, give a full (i.e., 100%) refund. Having checked my inbox and spam folder, I never received any invoice or email regarding my order from the day I ordered the ring (i.e., September 24, 2015) until I emailed Chris on September 30, 2015 asking him the status of my order. Please forward date stamped proof of your claims because as far as I know, I never received the communications you speak of.


Brilliance:
You worked with Chris ******** a Diamond Expert at Brilliance. Our records indicate that you worked back and forth with him via email and phone on multiple diamonds and the specific ring setting (chosen by you "I'd like to pair it with your stock # XXXXX ring") that you ultimately decided to purchase.
My Response:
With the exception of working on multiple diamonds, this is true. I only worked with Chris on one diamond. I did ask him if he could find a nicer one for the money but he could not.
Brilliance:
Our return policy is displayed on our site (with at least 2 links on each page), hasn't changed in over 3 years and is very specific that "Custom items such as custom rings, custom jewelry or any other special order cannot be returned or canceled. Additionally, design deposits, custom head fees, customization fees and engraving fees are non-refundable." (The policy can be found at https://www.brilliance.com/services/returns).
My Response:
BBB, I encourage you to go to the page he has linked and ask yourself if someone shopping for an engagement ring should be expected to read all the way to the bottom of the page to find information regarding custom items. I think you will agree with me that virtually all consumers will assume that custom means custom (e.g., you've asked the jeweler to design you something from a sketch or picture) or at least something lacking a stock #. The policy is incredibly deceiving and I would venture to say borders on illegal. Perhaps you should contact the local district attorney to take a look at this companies business practices. Probably the last thing a consumer is thinking about when they order an engagement ring is having to return it especially after reading the guarantee prominently displayed at the top of the page. Consumers are unlikely to see a need to read any further as it states they will get a "full refund." In fact their guarantee does not exclude custom items so I would argue that even someone ordering a custom item should in fact get a full refund based on the way it is worded without so much as a footnote to the modification of the policy.
Brilliance:
Moreover when you did contact Brilliance and had concerns about your 30 day return period, we extended the return period and granted you "30 days from the time you receive your order". We wanted to make sure you had enough time to review the diamond while insuring our jewelers had the time they needed to complete your ring to the highest standards.
My Response:
Yet another way their returns policy is designed to deceive customers. The Brilliance Returns Policy states: Returned products must arrive at our office within 30 days from the time an order is placed online or over the phone.
When I ordered the ring on the phone Chris indicated that it would take 10 business days to ship my ring (if they have the recorded call, they will be aware of that). When I checked with Chris on September 30, 2015, that had been extended to 15 days ostensibly because of some Jewish holidays. Later that day after chatting with ******** ****** via instant message and becoming aware of the details of the Brilliance guarantee, I told him that I was leaning towards canceling my order because that caveat would give me little time to have the ring appraised and return it if something was wrong. He sent me a carefully worded email giving me 30 days from receipt to return the diamond (notice he didn't say diamond ring). If they wanted consumers to have adequate time to review the ring, 30 days from receipt would be their standard policy, not an alteration designed to keep me from canceling my order.
Brilliance:
When you emailed in to cancel your order your wording stated "Please honor the words prominently displayed on your website:" regarding our return policy. This is a direct contradiction to this BBB complaint regarding our displayed policy. Additionally, per the same email "Visa has already credited my account." (We are more then happy to send in all and every piece of written correspondence into the BBB). Again you ask for your money back but notify us in an email that you already received a credit from Visa.
My Response:
My initial email canceling the order dated September 30, 2015 stated in its entirety:
********,
After thinking this over and reading some online reviews. I would like to cancel my order.
Thank you very much.
It was only after receiving your email on October 1, 2015 that I asked you to honor the words prominently displayed on your website. Your email stated in part:
While we try to make sure every customer has a stellar experience with us, on principle there are some areas where we simply can't bend. The negative reviews of us online (there are approximately 5 actual real cases, some posted numerous times) are situations where as a company we have been blackmailed to give away products for free or else they will post negative comments and reviews. Because of this growing trend there have been some very encouraging court decisions in the last couple weeks that have actual made customers pay for damaging remarks that are simply not true.
Regarding your order, I have notified the Orders Department to begin the cancelation process on your diamond order. Your ring setting, because it included a Custom Head can not be cancelled or retuned and will ship out to you as soon as it is complete. Again the ring is already in casting and the side diamonds are awaiting the setting.
Was this email intended to intimidate me into not complaining? That might work if I wasn't telling the truth. Brilliance will have to educate me further as to how asking them to honor their guarantee is a contradiction to this BBB complaint. Visa has in fact credited my account. However, as of today, October 20, 2015, they are awaiting your response to their inquiry so in fact, the matter is not completely resolved. I do not need the BBB to intervene on my behalf with VISA. I ask them simply to go to your website and see for themselves. They should also consider involving the proper authorities regarding your taping of phone calls without consent in violation of Flori

Final Business Response
At this point I am trying to understand what needs to be done on our side to resolve this. Customer has been refunded by Visa (per the customer himself).

We have demonstrated the places on our site where we clearly state the places where our policies are located.

We have even expanded the "Can be set with" section on the site to show extremely clearly (again besides for it being literally written on the invoice) what center stones each ring can accommodate: https://www.brilliance.com/engagement-rings/trillion-diamond-ring-platinum-1/2-ctw.

At this point I am really not sure what further needs to be done as literally everything in the Desired Resolution has been fulfilled already. Is someone from the BBB actually reading these complaints?


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The suggested improvement to their website still falls short. As I have said over and over, they need to modify the guarantee itself. Anything less will lead many consumers into thinking the ring they order is covered by the guarantee. This companies refusal to make that clear in their guarantee makes it clear to me that a lack of clarity if not outright deception is a key part of their business plan. I have forwarded my complaint to the Florida Attorney Generals office and request that BBB keep this complaint open until they have had time to investigate.

03/04/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Brilliance failed to return $3332 to me after I returned my purchase within the evaluation period.
On November 3rd 2014 I wired $47,970.02 to Brilliance for the purchase of a diamond and setting. I was explicitly informed that the ring would not be manufactured until I had selected a diamond. On November 14th I received a diamond for evaluation. I informed Brilliance that I wanted to return the diamond on November 17th and Brilliance confirmed receipt of the diamond on November 19th (well within my 30 day evaluation period.) After numerous inquiries about when my money would be returned Brilliance sent me an e-mail on December 11th indicating that my money would be wired to me early the following week. On Wednesday of the following week I had not yet received my refund so I called to inquire. From that point forward I corresponded with Briliance on a daily basis, but still did not receive a refund until December 23rd. This was 36 days after they confirmed receipt of the diamond I had returned. The amount of the refund issued on December 23rd was $44.638.02. This is $3,332 less than I paid.

I have received no goods or services warranting this deduction from my refund nor have I contracted for any future goods or services. Communications from Brilliance employees ************** and *************** clearly state that the ring casting would begin AFTER I had selected a diamond. At no point did I order the manufacture of the ring.

On December 5th I requested a refund of the remainder of the money thath I sent to Brilliance and *************** refused.

Desired Settlement
I would like Brilliance to refund the remainder of the money ($3332) that I wired to them on November 3, 2014. I would further like them to send me the CAD file that I paid for or have them refund the $250 that I paid for the design fee. I further request that they reimburse me for return shipping of the diamond since they did not inform me of this expense (estimated that it would be $50) until after they had shipped me the diamond. In total, I expect Brilliance to return $3882 to me.

Business Response
As was already told to ***** in numerous emails, our policy which has not changed nor will it (http://www.brilliance.com/returns) states that "Custom items such as custom rings, custom jewelry or any other special order cannot be returned or canceled. Additionally, design deposits and engraving fees are non-refundable." We also have a link to our return policy on every page on our site.

Furthermore, even the "shipping" charges that were charged to ***** were agreed to in writing and charged to the customer with his full authorization.

Furthermore, please note that ***** did order a "loose diamond" as well on his order that was fully refundable and was indeed refunded in full. Again, this refund was completed per our policy (http://www.brilliance.com/returns) that there is a full 30 day refund policy for all loose diamonds.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
A custom ring was never ordered. I had Brilliance design a ring to accompany my diamond purchase and paid a fee for the design. Since I did not purchase a diamond I never authorized an order for the ring. it is rediculous to assert that I ordered a custom ring since the ring could only be manufactured after a diamond was selected. I am curious how Brilliance intends to substantiate there claim that they are entitled to retain my money when I have neither ordered nor received any goods or services beyond the design of the setting. Since I have not received the associated CAD file they have not even earned the $250 design charge much less the full amount that I sent to them.

Final Business Response
To state the facts and clarify again. Mr. ******** did place an order for a custom design on 10/3/14 with a $250 deposit payment (which as of this writing he has disputed with his card company even thought the design was completed and approved). On 10/29/14 an invoice was "created" (just like any company would create a document listing out items in an order and any customer sending money would expect) for Mr. ******** to complete payment. We have confirmation of the invoice reaching him via email, correspondence of the instructions to wire the funds to us, and finally an invoice was physically delivered (sent via FedEx, signature required) when he received the diamond in his order.

When it comes to custom jewelry and rings, customers commission us all the time to make them pieces even though they own a center diamond or gemstone. Stating the fact that Mr. ******** decided not to purchase a center diamond from us doesn't automatically void out his custom ring order. Secondly, when a return code was sent for his order it specified it was for the loose diamond only (as always we have written proof of this as well).

In addition, when we wired the funds back to Mr. ******** for the loose diamond he returned, ******** ****** and Kim Rost verbally confirmed the amount of refund with him which he agreed to over the phone (this was done twice as initially we received the wrong wire instructions from Mr. ********).

As we have stated all along, we have no intention of not delivering the custom ring to *****. We have had repeated correspondence asking him to confirm the center diamond size so we can ship him his ring (we have written emails stating this).

As of this date, Mr. ******** has placed a credit card dispute on the custom ring design service (which was completed and approved) along with the shipping fee (again which we have written proof from him). If Mr. ******** no longer needs a ring, we are more then happy to bend our policy and give him a store credit for any custom design jewelry he made need in the future. This would come at a significant loss for us as we have paid our designers, spent hours working with Mr. ******** and have cast his ring in 950 Platinum.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As I have stated on several occasions, I never ordered a ring from Brilliance despite their claim. The ring design was dependent upon the selection of a center diamond. It is not possible for Brillince to claim that they cast a custom ring for me when they had no measurements to do so. The measurements in the invoice that they provided were based on a center stone that I returned to them. This stone they marketed as an I color stone. Two independent jewlers rated the stone as an M color. They knew that I had never seen the stone and that the ring and stone were subject to my approval before the order would be placed. I did recieve images of a ring design which I liked. I would be happy to pay the $250 fee for the design if Brilliance agrees to send me the Computer Aided Design (CAD) file associated with this design so that another manufacturer can build the ring (adjusted to the stone that I select) if Brilliance agrees to return the $3332 that they have been holding since October of last year. It is rediculous for Brilliance to assert that they have incurred cost for this transaction beyond the normal cost of doing business. They have sent me nothing. They still hold all of the raw materials (platinum and side stones). In addition, I have no evidence that they manufactured anything on my behalf and if they did, they did so at their own risk. As they have admitted, I never sent any stone measurements for a custom ring to be manufactured. I appreciate that Brillince has at least offered a store credit. However, after 4 months of battling with Brilliance, thie is far too little too late. In fact, a store credit has less value to me as I have no confidence whatsoever that any custom jewelry designed by Brilliance would be worth the price they would assign to it. The only appropriate remedy at this point is a full refund. Please return my funds as soon as possible.

08/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After many emails, unanswered; I expect refund (after about 3 months). I was promised a refund, but I received nothing. Amount $1927.08!
I'm in France and I trusted this company for the purchase of a diamond. I was well advised, and the purchase is done very quickly (within a week). I paid for my order #XXXXX, amount of $1,927.08, by bank transfer. And, I even added $15 by Paypal, as the international transfer takes additional charge.

The order is placed Feb. 16, 2014; and payment is received February 24, 2014.
Parcel shipped 4 March 2014, and is block 10 days at customs. I contact the French customs to request a return to Brilliance LLC. So the package is returned to the company, not open, before 30 days, on March 17. On their website Brilliance LLC, it is noted "returned on March 26", which is false.

Of course, before I ask for a return of the parcel; I contacted ******** and I told her that I refused the parcel and I wanted a refund. She said that the refund will be made upon receipt of the stone, so no problem. Since March 17, I sent a lot of e-mails, but today (3 months later), I don't received my refund.

Juliana told me to have made the refund 2 times, but there was a rejection. I do not believe it too!
I offered to make the refund via Paypal, it is fast and reliable. But no answers. I contacted again and again ******* by tchat, and he promised me a quick solution to my problem and a answer via email. I never received any emails.

Anyway, I rest since the March 17 without refund!

Desired Settlement
I would like to be refunded as quickly as possible, either by Paypal or by bank transfer (with proof of payment).

Business Response
Thank you for your complaint ********, we greatly appreciate you contacting us through the BBB.

Your wire transfer payment was held up because it was rejected by your bank several times. Our CFO was on the phone with your bank a countless times and was finally able to clear up the issue and a final wire transfer refund was completed on 6/13/14.

While we love working with international customers, your experience has forced us to take off France as a country we can ship to. Between the customs office that held our package for more than a month and a half to the bank that was not cooperative, we do not feel like we can offer our same great customer care to customers from France.

We have enjoyed working with you and look forward to working with you in the future.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Jewelers - Retail, Precious, Semi-Precious & Synthetic, Jewelry Engravers, Jewelry Designers, Jewelry Castings, Jewelry Buyers, Appraisal - Jewelry, Jewelry Repair, Jewelry Polishing & Plating, Gold Buyers, Gold, Silver & Platinum Dealers, Jewels - Imitation

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/26/2009Business started: 04/27/1990
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Palm Beach Tax Collector
PO Box 3715 301 N. Oliver Ave, 3rd Flr
West Palm Beach, FL 33402-3715
(561) 355-2264
http://www.co.palm-beach.fl.us

Boynton Beach, City of
100 Boynton Beach Blvd
Boynton Beach, FL 33425-0310
(561) 742-6360
http://www.boynton-beach.org

BBB records show a license number of 200812431 for this company, issued by Palm Beach Tax Collector. Their web address is http://www.co.palm-beach.fl.us.

BBB records show a license number of 15-00027400 for this company, issued by Boynton Beach, City of. Their web address is http://www.boynton-beach.org.

Check License Status: https://egoveast2.aspgov.com/byb2c2gol/BLINQINF.jsp?IsWhatIf=true&searchBy=license&Year=15&Number=00027400&btnSubmit2.x=24&btnSubmit2.y=7

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 201359376 for this company, issued by Palm Beach Tax Collector. Their web address is http://www.co.palm-beach.fl.us.

Check License Status: http://taxcollectorpbc.manatron.com/Tabs/BusinessTax/AccountDetail/TaxDetail.aspx?p=201359376&a=2624413&b=B40220789&y=2014&t=16056641

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jonathon Ohayon (Manager Member)Mr. Jacob Ohayon (Manager Member)
Business Category

Jewelers - Retail, Precious, Semi-Precious & Synthetic, Jewelry Engravers, Jewelry Designers, Jewelry Castings, Jewelry Buyers, Appraisal - Jewelry, Jewelry Repair, Jewelry Polishing & Plating, Gold Buyers, Gold, Silver & Platinum Dealers, Jewels - Imitation

Alternate Business Names
Brilliance, Brilliance.com

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Brilliance, LLC

3469 W. Boynton Beach Blvd STE 3

Boynton Beach, FL 33436

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 3469 W. Boynton Beach Blvd STE 3 

    Boynton Beach, FL 33436(561) 369-5551
    (866) 737-0754
    Fax: (866) 465-5173

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1655 West Market Street Suite 350 

    Akron, OH 44313

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Brilliance, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (561) 369-5551
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Jewelers - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.