BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Best Western Plus on the Bay Inn & Marina Miami Hotel

(800) 624-3961View Additional Phone Numbers1819 79th St Causeway, Miami BeachFL 33141http://www.bestwesternonthebay.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Best Western Plus on the Bay Inn & Marina Miami Hotel is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Best Western Plus on the Bay Inn & Marina Miami Hotel's rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Best Western Plus on the Bay Inn & Marina Miami Hotel

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
08/26/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hotel did not offered serviced that advertised.
On May 30th 2013, I reserved a room (for upcoming Jul 4th weekend) at******************* on the Bay and Marina in Miami; among other things, for being at the bay, have amenities including a famous ********************************, good online reviews, etc. I showed up on July 4th before check in time, but I told them that we were traveling from far and we were very hungry and wanted to eat at the grill before checking in. The person there told me that she was very sorry but, the bar and grill were under " remodeling", It took me by surprise, but I have a 1 year old baby that was hungry, so I checked in and drove out to eat in a restaurant. Then I found out that there was an accident 2 weeks ago at the hotel, and the famous************* and grilled collapsed and there were many injured. Then, I realized that there was no place to eat at the hotel or a place to buy a refreshment to share by the pool. I will have to go out every day to get food, and no music or entertainment whatsoever by the pool. Furthermore, I paid an extra to get a room by the bay, with a nice view, when I came out to the balcony, you could see all the debris down bellow, from the previous accident. Then I walked to the reception and spoke with *****, and told him, that they should had called and informed about the accident, because it is obvious that the place without food, music and entertainment is no good for a family vacation. He told me that it was impossible for them to call the customers. I told him, that they should do a price adjustment since the hotel did not offered the amenities that was advertised on line, and drove me to reserved in that hotel. He told me that there was no refund or price adjustment: I am sorry. He said he will tell his manager the next day, but he was sure that there will be no price adjustment. I never got a call from anybody. I believed that business shows lack of respect for people. I wanted to be fair and tried to ask for a price adjustment, but they were inflexible, and disrespectful of my time and money, they lied, because they never said anything about the accident and in a very discrete way call it a " remodeling". It created a problem to me and my family that had to go out to eat everytime without getting the rest and tranquility we were looking for and had to seat by the pool with nothing to drink.

Desired Settlement
I paid 604.00 for 3 nights. I want 200.00 refund.

Business' Initial Response
Dear Contact,

Thank you for contacting ******************. I apologize we are unable to assist with ********* concern as we are not affiliated with the ************.

Thank you,
**************
******** Care

Industry Comparison| Chart

Hotels

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/31/2013
Contact Information
Principal: Customer Service Manager
Business Category

Hotels

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Best Western Plus on the Bay Inn & Marina Miami Hotel

1819 79th St Causeway

Miami Beach, FL 33141

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1819 79th St Causeway 

    Miami Beach, FL 33141(800) 624-3961
    (305) 865-7100

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Best Western Plus on the Bay Inn & Marina Miami Hotel is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (305) 865-7100
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Hotels

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.