BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/20/2011

Pureformulas.com

Phone: (800) 383-6008Fax: (305) 887-0057

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues6
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service6
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints15

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (15)
06/02/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Have been trying to discontinue autoship (and charge to credit card for 5 months).
In February, I was assured in writing by Mary that autoship stopped. my skin is allergic to the lotion. I am still receiving autoship and being charged. Worst customer service I have ever seen.

Desired Settlement
STOP autoship . Remove me from your client list entirely. Credit me for any charge to credit card.
I have already given your company one bad review on line and am actively looking for other review sites.

Business Response
We are sorry to hear that our customer had trouble with Autoship. Our records indicate that there was one AutoShipment that was initiated by the customer logging in on 4/28/2016 this may have been done in error - there have been no other AutoShipments processed since 1/5/2016. We will gladly send the customer a return label to return the shipment and thereafter a full refund will be issued. We apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In February, I communicated with mary who was to cancel autoship. I have the emails. The order, my name, credit card ,everything should have been cleared from the system.
I would not have logged back into the system as i do not even have my original log in info. Nonsense.
Remove me from your customer list and all history of order. I have given the parcel service the order to refuse the package, so it should have already been returned to you.
Credit my credit card - then wipe the system entirely

Final Business Response
We apologize for any misunderstanding - a refund in the amount of $10.38 which was charged on 4/28/2016 will be applied back on your card on file. Your Auto-ship has been cancelled, your e-mail address has been removed from our subscription. You will no longer receive any correspondence or shipments from PureFormulas. We apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Final Consumer Response
Wonderful! Thank you for resolving this for me. It would not have been without your efforts.

******* ****

12/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE
I have purchased from PureFormulas for quite some time. They have excellent products and ship very quickly. The reason I gave them 1 star is because of their horrible customer service. This is the first time I have had to return an item unopened and every time I call (so far - 10 times at different times of the day) the company I get a voice message stating they are busy and will call me back. I finally got a call from one of their representatives and was told they would send me an email "right away" with the necessary information for me to do so. That was 6:43pm the previous day and it is now 1:15pm the following. I have been on their website trying to use their return process with no luck and have had two emails from them thanking me for my request, but no information to return item. EXTREMELY FRUSTRATING! After searching and reading review sites on line, it appears I'm not the only one who has experienced such horrendous customer service.

Desired Settlement
A means of returning unopened product for full credit as their website states.

Business Response
Thank you for contacting us ******. We do apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with our company. Upon research of your profile I see that all necessary actions have been taken care of. Please let us know if any further information is needed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

07/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
sells promo code as gift card, 6months expiration, no mention on website, refuse to refund/reissue.
Bought 5 $10 gift card from this company, NO where on the description does it say it is a promo code and that it has a expiration date 6 months from the date of purchase. Now it is 2 days past the expiration date, they refuse to refund or reissue, and refuse to admit fault even. You can't charge cash for a gift card and have 6 months to use from the date of purchase and never mention it on the product page. This is fraud big time.

Desired Settlement
Need them to refund me my money, of $20 that I spent to buy this "Gift card". They also need to stop selling these as Gift cards. They can give them out for free for promo code, but for this to be sold as Gift card for full price is FRAUD!

Final Consumer Response
After I filed the complaint, I noticed they just sent me an email saying they would give me $20 worth of credit on my account to make up for the expired gift cards. I am ok with the solution, though still believe they should not continue selling this promo code as gift card, and if to sell, make it clear on the produc t page that this is a code that will expire in 6 months from the date of purchase, otherwise it is deceptive.

06/30/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company doesnt honor their refund request by their customers as advertised on their website.
I've been a regular customer of pureformulas.com for a couple of years. I've ordered products from them, and when I tried to print a return label, pureformulas has removed the feature to print a return label on purpose so that customers such as myself can't return products that doesn't meet the customers expectations. On their website, they advertise a no hassle return process, but for customers such as myself that battles hypertension, food allergies, and gastritis, some of their products doesn't work for me because of my health issues. They have a 30-day return policy, and I needed to return some of their products to them because some of their products worsens my hypertension, allergies, and gastritis, so this is why I must print a return label and return some items. I demand a full refund and for them to put on the feature to print a return label. It is very unprofessional on their behalf to advertise a no-hassle refund, then turn around and make it difficult for customers to return products back to them. Refund please.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking for pureformulas.com to put back the feature that enables their customers to print a shipping label so that we can return products that don't meet our expectations.

Business Response
We accept returns of unopened items within 30 days of purchase, after the 30 days the option to print a prepaid label is not available. Here's a link to our simple return policy https://www.pureformulas.com/returns-and-exchanges#sthash.eHnSXS6L.dpbs

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Please close case; company has issued refunds for returned products. Thank you.

01/01/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Pureformulas will not issue my credit on a return.
I spoke to the manager- (*******) on 09/23/2014. He said they would credit my purchase when they got the returned product in the mail. I have spoke to Pureformulas 3 times since then, they keep saying they are crediting my credit card, but they never do.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund of $23.19 that they said they would credit me. I would prefer a paper check through the mail since they never credited my credit card, even after I had to give them my card #'s again because they said they don't keep it on record. I do not trust them with my personal info, since they don't do what they say they will!

Business Response
We can only issue refunds to the original payment method. Please call our toll free number XXXX XXX-XXXX and one of our customer service agents will be happy to process your refund

06/16/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
PureForumulas claim they price match with other websites. They dont charge shipping. They said we pricematch but must charge shipping.
Pureforumulas.com says over the phone and online they price match. Their is nothing on the site to state this. When inquiring, they said they do price match but must charge shipping because the other website charges shipping. Their entire site says "free shipping on all orders" When I informed them of this the surpervisor was stumped and said "that is just the policy" that can't be. They can't change the rules like that if it says free shipping on all orders. They have no stipulations anywhere on their site on how price matching works. They should price match the other site and offer me the free shipping if that is what they are promoting on their site! This is a terrible way of conducting business. A business can't change the rules midstream if they clearly state free shipping on all orders.

Desired Settlement
I want them to honor my request and offer me the advertised price from the website they do price match with and offer me free shipping since that is what their website states. It does not state free shipping on all orders that are not price matched. It simply says free shipping on all orders! They should work with the consumer and honor this request. They were rude and obnoxious. Any good retail business works to correct the problem when its pointed out to by the cosumer. This supervisor didn't even offer me an option to purchase the product at no shipping cost since that is what their site states because I found it cheaper elsewhere. She actually told me I could go buy it form the other site then. I dont have to buy it from them! Really?? Very unprofessionalt. If they are going to have a price matching policy they also need to display it clearly on their website with any stipulations. If I were to order it the way they want I would be paying more and their would be no benefit to me saving money and their would be no price match. This practice needs to cease. They are deceiving the consumer!

Business Response
We are sorry to hear about the experience that the customer had with one of our representatives. We will look into it to ensure that this does not recur. PureFormulas offers free shipping as documented by our Free Shipping Policy - however, the company does not have a documented Price Match policy - as a courtesy and at our discretion we have offered price matching to our customers in the past in instances where the competitor in question also offers free shipping. We would be happy to place the customers order at the prices displayed on the PureFormullas website and will continue to honor free shipping as our policy states.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
While I am pleased that the company will look into the matter on customer service and how they speak with consumers, I do not accept their continued irresponsible position of refusing to document on their site how their free shipping policy works. As I previously stated, their site says free shipping on all orders. That is the ONLY documentation found. They continue to market that and need to make sure they follow through with that. They cannot change the rules midstream and stating "at our discretion" That is changing the rules! Stop putting that disclaimer in. You either have free shipping on ALL orders (including if a competitor offers it at a lower price, or you do not) You can't decide if you want to honor it or not just because someone beats you in a sale. You are to late to earn my business and you ruined the sale. Fix your free shipping policy and state it correctly. Do not continue to mislead the consumer stating "at your discretion" No company does that if they have a free shipping policy on ALL orders. Again, this includes competitor price matching. If a consumer contacts you they found the same item at a lower cost but that competitor charges shipping and your site states "free shipping on all orders" you follow through and honor it and DO NOT decide to charge shipping. That is not how price matching works! Why is this so hard for you to understand!

Final Business Response
Our sincere apologies for any misunderstanding. As previously stated, PureFormulas offers free shipping as documented by our Free Shipping Policy - however, the company does not have a documented Price Match policy and as such reserves the right not to price match. We are however committed to offering a positive customer experience and would be happy to place the customers order at the prices displayed on the PureFormullas website and will continue to honor free shipping as our policy states. Please feel free to contact us and ask to speak to a manager, we would be happy to apply any discounts we have available at the time to your order. We appreciate your understanding.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I cannot believe what I am reading Mr. *******, how can you stand by this ridiculous claim that "you reserve the right not to price match" when your company agrees to do it over the phone. Get your facts straight sir! Do your reasearch! Get some proper business training because you sir are very misinformed on how to run your business the proper way. You blew your opportunity to right your wrong the moment your representative told me that I can go "buy my product elsewhere" and YOU continue to argue with me about your ludicrous ghost policy on price metching. I have never come across a company so ill informed on the proper way to do business until now. Your apologies are not accepted and I do not want to have anything to do with your company until you fix your serious problems at PureFormulas on how you operate. You can't pick and choose whether or not you have a price matching policy and then change the rules in the middle. When you realize this your company will run a lot better and maybe your business will improve. Until then, no rebuttal is going to be entertained by me to you because you just do not hear me nor get it. At this point you should be offering me complimentary purchases of at least $200 to fix your wrong because as you can tell I am irate that you continue to defend a policy that you DO HAVE but refuse to document. It is a disgusting unprofessional practice and I want nothing more to do with your company ever again. This is the last I am going to comment on this issue and I will do everything in my power on forums to steer people away from PureFormulas and take their business elsewhere until you choose to fix your problem. It is a very sad day indeed that you are taking the stance you have chosen. Good luck to you Mr. *******, PureForumlas has a lot to learn on the right way to conduct business. This case is now CLOSED as far as I am concerned.

04/04/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I never received my order.
On 2/11/16 I placed order number XXXXXXXX. I used a coupon for a percentage off and paid $12.62 with my debit card. On 2/18/16 I received an email asking me to review the items purchased. After it still didn't arrive, on 2/22/16 I contacted pureformulas using the online chat feature. I chatted with Lasheka who told me that there was an error in their system and she would have my order shipped expidited and offered me a $10.00 gift card for my troubles. So I accepted and waited. On 2/29/16 I called and asked for the shipping status. At first I was told that I cancelled the order, then I was told I never paid for the order. After explaining that my checking account was debited $12.62 on 12/12/16 she told me that her supervisor would have the order shipped immediately again, also expidited. It is now 3/6/16 and it didn't come once again. I did use the gift card to order one of the items again, just to test the shipping, and I did receive that item within 3 days. I would like a refund of $12.26 immediately.

Desired Settlement
I just want a refund. I have no plans of doing business with this company ever again. Thie was my first purchase from this company.

Business Response
The customer contacted PureFormulas directly and the order was shipped directly to the customer via UPS next day air on 3/9/2016 - the tracking number shows that the order was delivered 1ZYRXXXXXXXXXXXXXX.

We apologize for the delay and any inconvenience caused. Should the customer need any further assistance please feel free to contact us and we will be ***** to help her.

02/01/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Poor - Rude- Indifferent Customer Service - Withholding Refund Due - Continual Excuses - No Action Taken to Resolve CS/Order/Return/Refund Issues
This complaint is in regards to Pure Formulas and their supervisors - who failed by choice to not follow through in an appropriate courteous manner regarding the order issues, returns and refunds of Order #XXXXXXXXX. I have been a long time faithful customer and I have been treated with extreme rudeness, indifference and been given nothing but excuses in my attempts to receive my refund that was due to me for the order that was was placed in error on 11/6/15. I attempted to contact PF's by email (less than 24 hours after order was placed) and was subjected to a supervisor by the name of **** who was rude, hateful, argumentative and completely unwilling to resolve the order/return issues - she refused to issue a prepaid shipping label and after a dozen or more emails going back and forth I stopped the email communication; as the stress was adversely affecting my health and nothing was being resolved. I then called PF's customer service number and asked for ****; but was told she left for the day and this was in the morning hours around 10:30am!? I was transferred to a ********** another supervisor and he did offer me prepaid shipping label, but I didn't get that for another 2 days! ********* was totally indifferent to how abusive **** had been towards me with her email responses. PF's received the returned shipment on 11/12/15 @ 1:36pm and they did not issue my refund through pay pal for order XXXXXXXXX; as they stated would! Pay Pal has PF's comments documented stating as soon as the order was received - the refund would be issued - but they lied and when confronted by phone and in emails! Ironically enough PF's did process a refund for one other item that was returned with this same shipment that was under the a different order number with no problem!? At this point in time I was advised by pay pal to escalate the dispute to a claim - since the order had been returned and was no longer "an order not received"; but an order not as described; as one of the items in this order was not shipped. I have spent countless hours emailing, posting on face book page and calling and still at this point in time I am only receiving nothing but more excuses and outright lies! I am a senior citizen and this is abusive inappropriate unethical behavior that these employees have exhibited towards me and are still doing so! I need my refund processed in the amount of $53.08 promptly and an apology and discounts extended for all the time, trouble and stress this situation has brought to me! This type of abusive practices should not be allowed to go on! What these people have put me through is horrible! I am going to report them to the Florida Attorney General's Office! I will not stop until the appropriate actions and recompense are given! Shame on you ***********, ********** **** and **** for the inappropriate ways you have treated me as a customer regarding this order!?

Desired Settlement
I expect a full apology from each one of these supervisors: ****, ********** *********** and ****. I expect recompense in the way of discounts given with no expiration. I expect all PF's employees (they are definitely not the "happiness team members" they brag about being - by a long shot - in fact all they have given me is stress, pain, time lost and misery!) to treat me with courtesy, respect and in a professional manner - stop making excuses and being dishonest! Thes employees have not one over them to make them be accountable - there use to be man in times past that I could email when I had issues with alleged "happiness team members" but he has ceased to exist? I want to talk to a person who is over this group of people - as they bascially just do what they want - pass *** buck and take no responsibility for their actions! These people need to be held accountable and responsible for what they have done to me and are probably doing to others!?

Business Response
Thank you for contacting us ******, our records show that the refund in question was processed on the date of November 16 to your PayPal account.We have done everything that was agreed upon regarding the return of this order and the refund.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
PF's is still unwilling to be accountable for their actions in this matter and I have already listed that information in this complaint process. PF's refusing to sell to me or service my account was their final response to me after I opened this complaint. I am still requesting that the BBB keep this complaint open; so that anyone who wants to check on this company will know how I was treated as a long time customer. As of this date nothing has been resolved - except that PF's sent me a no name email stating that they refused to sell to me - that was their customer service remedy - Oh and they failed to mention in their response that the only reason my refund was processed on 11/16/15 is because pay pal ruled in my favor in the dispute/claim process; as they had still not followed through and issued my refund; even though I was told by Francisco; that they would! Sooner or later whatever actions have been taken or withheld - will come back around - it is a universal law that governs all things in this world we live in!

Final Business Response
Our company has issued a full refund on the customers Paypal account. A voicemail has been left for the customer to determine if there is anything else she would like us to do. An e-mail has also been sent with the apology.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Please see below the email communications that I have received from pure formula's representative: Mildred *********** VP, Business Development and my email responses back to her:

Jan 13 (5 days ago)
Hello ******,

I would like to apologize for the negative experience that you had trying to get a resolution from our team. Please accept my sincere apologies.

I have read your e-mails and looked at the notes in your order and I will apply disciplinary action on the employees involved to make sure that none of our customers ever feel the way that you did when doing business with us.

I will also ensure that the team is trained thoroughly so this does not recur. My records indicate that a full refund was issued back on your pay pal account - if this is inaccurate please let me know and I will follow-up with Paypal.

If there is anything else that I can do for you, please let me know.

Kind Regards,

Mildred ***********
VP, Business Development

****** <**********@gmail.com>
Jan 13 (5 days ago)

Mildred, Hi
You need to read everything in the BBB report - the only thing I was given from pure formulas was an email - refusing to do business with me and that I needed to look elsewhere for my supplement needs and that's how it was left!? Pay Pal was the one who gave me my refund; as they ruled in my favor regarding the dispute case that had been opened - see those notes on pure formula's pay pal account info - under closed disputes/claims? It's clear you do not have all the facts in this matter?.


Sincerely
****** *******

<*******@pureformulas.com>
Jan 13 (5 days ago)

Hi ******,

My apologies - on my system it showed a refund through PayPal which as you described was issued by PayPal.

Again I am sorry for the experience that you had and I will put the corrective action I described in my previous email.

Thank you for your response.

Regards,
Mildred ***********

As of this date I have not received any further communications from Mildred. Nothing has been made right as far as I am concerned - this company refused my business, no apologies have been extended to me, except through Mildred in her emails. Mildred did place one phone call and left a message and she sent 2 emails that; I responded to; which I have copied and pasted above for the record. No letter was ever sent to me from pure formulas and i believe they stated in one of their past responses that they did send one? I am still requesting that this complaint stay open; as it has not been resolved for me as a long time customer
Thank you

12/28/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Order not received
I purchased two items on 19 Nov. On 1 Dec, I responded to a "customer feedback survey" from PureFormulas by informing them that I never received the item in question.
I have called and emailed this company repeatedly, to no avail.
The product was shipped around the Thanksgiving timeframe and may have been lost in the shuffle. In any event, I live in a condo building so this delivery may have been put outside my mail box. No attempt by this company was made to reach me and deliver this package to me personally.

Desired Settlement
Either replace the item or refund the money to my credit card.

Business Response
Thank you for contacting us, I see here that we have sent out a replacement to you. The original package and replacement have both been verified as delivered to you. We will await the return of the original package. Have a great day.

11/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Order made, order not delivered, order not replaced.
I ordered an important item from this company for a medical condition. Order Date: 9/30/2015
Order Number: XXXXXXXXX. The order was set for delivery on Oct 3. I received notice the post office had it. I take my notice on the 5th to the office, they dont have it. It has not been delivered, I have repeatedly checked with the post office locally and nationally, registering complaint and investigation. Pureformulas has not answered multiple voicemails or emails. When I did speak to them, they said they would do nothing about it. I even called them back to tell them I received an incorrect request that the package be shipped back to them, so if so why is this not replaced- they did nothing and were exceeding rude.

Desired Settlement
To hold them accountable for not delivering a package, not sending a replacement, acknowledging they have not dealt with this. They claim customer satisfaction guaranteed on their site. I think delivering an order or sending a replacement or apologizing and making it right are all reasonable business expectations.

Business Response
Thank you for contacting us ****,

We have researched your order and see many discrepancies. Upon researching the tracking information for both the original order and the replacement order, we see that both orders show they were delivered to you. The first order was delivered on October 7 and the replacement delivered on October 9. Our customer service team has worked very diligently in making sure you received your package. We take missing packages very seriously and have done everything in our power to make things right. Thank you again for taking time to contact us.If any further questions remain please feel free to contact us @ X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. Have a happy and healthy week.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I find many discrepancies as well. I did EVENTUALLY receive my order because I called and called and complained and went to the post office multiple times when it should have been delivered to my door. I was not dealt with efficiently, as shown in the MULTIPLE e-mails that went unanswered and Multiple calls and messages that went unanswered. When I finally got a human on the phone, plus a manager, I was still treated poorly and told nothing would be done. I didn't even receive acknowledgement that you all messed this up until I filled with the BBB and left poor reviews. The way you all dealt with this was extremely poor and I've never had an online order dealt with like this or such terrible customer service. I did not receive a second bottle of the $11 supplement replacement you all were so slow to deal with. If it is in my post office box I will assuredly return it to sender. You did not do everything in your power, answering a phone or speaking to someone with kindness or even remote concern that their important package went missing would have been the very least to do, and it was not done. Hopefully you all will learn customer service.

Final Business Response
Thank you for contacting us. Please understand that your original package was placed on the date of September 30. Your original package was delivered on the date of October 7. This is 4 business days after the order was shipped from our location. Our ship time is 5-7 business days regardless of tracking information. A replacement was sent on October 6 and delivered October 10. You now have in your possession two packages with payment for only one package. You may keep the extra package as our courtesy to you. This case is now closed and we thank you for your patience, have a great day :)

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Herbs

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.