BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/25/2011

Brace Shop, LLC

Phone: (954) 574-9720Fax: (954) 574-9343

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

26 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service22
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints26

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (26)
05/12/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I received the knee brace based on their measurements. Arrived too big. I returned it using their UPS label. They won't refund my money.
Friday, 3/11/2016: I received the knee brace. Too big, uncomfortable.

Monday, 3/14/2016: I called The Brace Shop (Rebecca) XXX-XXX-XXXX X208
I told her that I followed the measurement instructions for the knee brace per their website and I verified it by my phone call to their Customer Service. The brace that I received was is too big and uncomfortable. Rebecca said she will have the manufacturer email me a return label.

Monday, 3/14/2016: I received an email from TRULIFE (manufacturer of the knee brace) Melissa Williams XXX-XXX-XXXX x3223 with a UPS return label.

Tuesday, 3/15/2016: I shipped the knee brace back using the UPS return label they provided.

Wednesday, 3/16/2016: I called Melissa (TRULIFE) and told her I sent back the brace yesterday using the return label she sent me. She said I should call The Brace Shop (Rebecca) for my credit. Then I called Rebecca and asked when my credit of $179.08 would appear on my credit card. She said in about 2 weeks after the inspection of the returned brace they will refund my full amount of $179.08.

Tuesday, 4/20/2016: Tamara called from the Brace Shop saying that they never received the return brace. I gave her the UPS Tracking no. 1Z7TTXXXXXXXXXXXXX showing proof of delivery on 3/18/2016. She checked and verified the proof of delivery and she said she will take care of my refund.

It is now 5/9/2016 and I have still not received my refund. I called The Brace Shop (XXX-XXX-XXXX). After talking to Rose, who couldn't help me, I got the owner's name, Ken *******, and I left two voice mail messages (over 2 days) for him to call me back. He never called me back.

Desired Settlement
Give me a refund of $179.08 on my credit card.

Final Consumer Response
The vendor has refunded the $179.08. No further action is needed. Thanks.

07/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Item does not fit. Size was selected according to the size chart and is WELL with the size range.
Item XX-XXX-X Comfortland Plantar Fasciitis Support. Size M.

Size chart states size M is appropriate for womans shoe size 911.5

My shoe size is 9.5 I ordered a size M brace. It is too small. I called customer service to ask if they would exchange without charging their stated fees, because I am well within the range of the supplied size chart. I'm not sure why one would use a shoe size to decide the size of an ANKLE brace in the first place, but that's what was provided on the web page. Why would you not measure the ankle?? Regardless, my ankles are not overly large and with my shoe size being closer to the smaller end of the range, I didn't suspect that there would be a problem.

I called customer service to ask if they would suspend their charges for exchange/restocking and postage to send me a size L brace. I agreed to pay postage to send the size M brace back. Honestly, I think that should be their responsibility, as well, because the size was misrepresented. The representative was curt and told me that size charts are provided by the mfgr. of the item and the Brace Shop assumes no responsibility for sizing issues.
I have taken this matter up with my bank (credit card) and they are also pursuing a complaint on my behalf.

Desired Settlement
Replacement of the size M brace with a size L, shipped free of charge OR a refund of the price I paid for the brace $29.99.

Business Response
When a customer orders from The Brace Shop they are aware of the conditions of sale including our policy for returns and exchanges. This customer ordered three items from the Brace Shop on May 1,2015. At that point she took advantage of our free shipping over $100.00. She also used a $10.00 discount code to reduce her costs.
When one of the items did not fit her properly she wanted us to exchange and pay for shipping both ways. As this was going to be an exchange we would not charge a restocking fee as a courtesy to our customers who are willing to work to get the proper fit. We don't pay for shipping either way for the exchange as that is cost prohibitive for a small company and that is stated in our return policy. If the customer wants to return an item they may in the original packaging with a 15% restocking fee as we are charged that by the manufacturers. We distribute for 56 different manufacturers and each one has a different sizing chart for their products due to cut and material. We seldom get that product back - and almost never for size. However, we are happy to make an exchange or a return under the above mentioned parameters.
We believe in good customer service - but not to treat any customer different than another. Braces are like other forms of apparel where fit is often an issue due to cut and variables in measuring technique. We are sorry that your experience did not live up to your expectations but we are firm about this policy.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I respect the company's policy and understand why it is what it is. However, when size charts are INCORRECT or misleading,in this case grossly, I believe it is the right thing to do to accommodate the paying customer. If, indeed, The Brace Shop is a small company, I would think they would be more customer service oriented than a large company. To accept the offer of return or exchange as stated would not be cost effective for me, the consumer. I would pay nearly as much either way, as I did for the original brace. As for the mentioned discount, it was offered to me and I accepted. That should not be an issue... the size chart was misleading, at best, and I ordered in good faith according to the information that was presented by The Brace Shop. I would expect they would treat every customer as I am asking to be treated in this case...when size ordered was based on erroneous information. I believe it is disingenuous to hold a customer accountable for errors in a size chart. I realize the size chart was provided to them by their supplier. However, since The Brace Shop is the seller of the item, I believe they are ultimately responsible for the accuracy of information related to items for sale on their website.

Final Business Response
We believe the information regarding sizing is accurate as the manufacturers supply the sizing parameters. In the case of the night splint - shoe size is used to determine the night splint size as the measurement of the foot plate determines the length of the brace. The ankle opening is based on a range of average ankle circumference - but if an individual is above the range that may not fit there. The male head of shipping tried on the brace and the fit was fine. If we were to exchange for a large in that brace we would have an instance where the foot plate was much too long. I instructed my head of customer service to contact the customer to get better measurements so that we could determine a better alternative for her. The phone number we have on record is not connected to an answering machine and we have sent an email. If the customer will contact Colleen in customer service and send back the brace which does not fit - I will waive the outgoing shipping charge for the exchange of a comparable night splint which will provide the same level of support with dimensions which will work for her. If not call for a return authorization - send the brace back to us and we will be happy to refund the cost of the brace.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Evidently, there was confusion regarding which item I was asking replacement for. It was not the night splint; rather an ankle support with a strap to support the plantar fascia. I was contacted by the customer service manager and once the confusion regarding the proper fit of the plantar fasciitis strap was solved, a replacement was made. She was very understanding regarding the actual situation and I appreciate her help very much...the new item fits well. Thank you!

04/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered a shoulder brace on 12/30/2014 for $229.00. Did not fit so I returned it as instructed by The Brace Shop. Received an RA# per customer service on 1/12/2015. Item was received by the Brace Shop before Feb 1. I have talked to customer service on three separate occasions. The answer I get from them is "we will expedite it" or "let me see whats going on". I just would like my $229.00 less 15% restocking fee refunded to my credit card.
Product_Or_Service: DonJoy Shoulder Stabilizer Brace
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Refund $229.00 less 15% restocking fee for total of $194.65 back to my credit card.

Business Response
The customer was refunded in full in the amount of $229.99. Typically there is a restocking fee - but the refund took too long and the customer should not have had to wait.
This was an oversight and not the way we like to operate.

03/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Returned item in perfect condition and confirmed receipt on 1-15-15. Have followed up twice requesting a refund - no action.
Order #XXXXXXXXX for a Soft Form Posture Control Brace in the amount of $39.99 pay via Paypal on January 6, 2015. Returned in original packaging on 1-13-15. FedEx delivered on 1-15-15. After 2 weeks contacted the company and they advised refund forthcoming. Followed up again mid February and was told they were behind processing refunds. March 1, 2015 - still no refund.

Desired Settlement
Refund in cash or to my Paypal account.

12/12/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Brace Shop missed delivery dates 4 times and delayed my refund on the cancelled order
I orderd 2 braces totaling $ 959.98 only 1 arrived on time. After inquiring when the other left brace would arrive, one that I needed for an upcoming ski trip I was told the brace on back order. I would not have purchased if I had know that at the time of the order. The Brace Shop then missed (4) promise deliver dates. I cancelled the order on November 25th and my bank card has still not been credited. I was told this was being taken care of on the Nov 25, then again on the 26th and again this morning Dec. 1st. I would return the brace I did receive but I want nothing more to do with the Brace Shop..just want my money returned.

Desired Settlement
an apology for their poor service and especially for my time(hours) wasted over the past month and for all the inconvenience they caused me.

Business Response
The first brace of the two was delivered on time without issue. The manufacturer of the brace, *** *********** initially failed to let us know that the 2nd brace was on back order. We were given 4 different ship dates by the vendor *** and the brace was never shipped. We tried to offer alternatives which we believed to be workable with the other ski brace but the customer did not wish to change the brace. We would have refunded the brace - but we were told by the manufacturer that the brace was shipping. We are sorry that the customer had a bad experience - we were trying to make it right on many occasions. On 12/1/14 the customer was refunded in full for the second brace in the amount of $474.99.

Page 1 of 4
06/29/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Brace shop debited my account before order was complete and then cancelled.
On 6/5/16 I ordered a cooling cube on line. On 6/6/16 a rep called and said I needed to email or fax prescription, told her I was going to the doctor that day. I ended up buying same device from doctor office 64$ cheaper. Next morning my acct was debited by Brace Company, no order number, receipt or email. I called and said I purchased somewhere else and wanted my refund. I was told it would be emailed to accounting and I would be refunded in 3-4 working days. On 6/14 I called and was told it takes 7-10 days but then put on hold and she came back and said it was refunded on 6/716. My bank never received it. On 6/15/16 I was told it takes 14 days and account manager would email proof it was credited on 6/7/16. Several times I was told it's going to take longer and it's already been done in same conversation. They refused to let me speak to a manager and gave me a bogus transaction number (Shae). Never received email. The amount is 213.94, I'm on disability and can't afford to be scammed by these people. After digging I found several complaints of folks not receiving refunds even after 6 months. Please help.

Desired Settlement
Please let business know a complaint has been filed and let this affect their credit rating. People are getting ripped off by this company and their lies, literally stealing people's money. I just want my 213.94 refunded.

Business Response
Customer was credited in full - within 10 days of purchase - before this complaint was received. We state on the website that a prescription is required prior to the item being shipped. After the customer placed the order she was contacted for the prescription. When she was decided to buy the product from her physician we agreed to a refund. The request was put into accounting and the refund was made the next week. We are sorry that it took longer than the customer expected - but the refund was put back on her credit card.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did receive refund only after several phone calls and each person told me something different. Once I told them I had filed multiple complaints against company did I receive a quick refund. There are many negative reviews on this company. Consumers should be aware.

Final Business Response
As I stated the refund was made prior to any complaint being lodged. All orders are charged before shipping and we state on the website that a prescription will be required. I am sorry that the customer feels so strongly regarding the refund policy but the request was sent to accounting and followed up within the time restraints. We are a company which values our customer experience and we apologize for any experience which was less than satisfactory.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My account was charged before order was complete, I hadn't sent in a required prescription and never received an order number. Shady business practices. I just want other consumers to be aware.

07/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been played with for the past two months this company is refusing to refund my money for a disgusting package I gott..
Order # IdXXXXXXXXX
Order date. 4-24-15 order total 196.16
Marriatta Bastien Representative

I received a package suppose to be back brace I opened box it's a nasty sweaty wrap. I emailed vertaloc the company that sent it they ignored me I called them they told me to call brace shop since I ordered from them I did I have been back and fort for two months and I even came out of pocket sending the nasty thing they sent back to them they said they didn't send that instead of doing a claim with ups they are refusing to refund my money back and if anything are saying they are going to charge me an extra $20 for sending me the item that doesn't even belong to me. I never told them to send the item but they did it's not mine I told them so many times I even have emails I sent to vertaloc brace shop is so rude making me seem like I did something. Worst company I have ever worked with and not only that I told them I have medical problems on so much medications that they are adding more stress which is making my health worse... I want my money back and I want them to know that I am not a joke and im not a criminal they make me feel like that and they are stealing my money for something I don't have

Desired Settlement
I want a refund for the items I don't have

Business Response
The Customer ordered 3 products from us on April 24th 2015. Each item was shipped from a different warehouse. She received the first Item a few days later - which she claimed was an empty box without a brace. Though this is highly unlikely we called the vendor that shipped the product (DJO Global) to send out a replacement. The second item was an FLA Wrist brace - the customer claimed that she never received the order even though the tracking number shows delivery. It was USPS tracking #XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX, delivered X-XX-XX @2:59PM at the front door.
Even so we authorized customer service reship the item. Customer said that she wanted a refund instead - we requested a copy of her Identification prior to issuing a credit.
The 3rd shipment was for a VertaLoc back brace. The customer called and stated that she received a product that she did not order - she claimed that it was a belly band instead of a back brace. She was sent a call tag to pick up the incorrect product to determine what she had received. The Warehouse that picked up the brace called us to tell us that the customer had sent back vitamins or medication in the package and not any bracing. She admitted to making a mistake and another call tag and the vitamins were sent back to her. The Warehouse received the "belly band," which was also not one of their products and had not shipped from there. To confirm this - they weighed the box containing the band that she returned. This weighed in at 6.4 oz. The package that they sent to her weighed 3.2 pounds - the correct weight of the VertaLoc Pro back brace. The warehouse returned the "belly band" to the customer. Now our company has been charged by these warehouses an additional $20.00 for shipping - as the error was not on their part.
It is impossible for 3 companies to have made such errors on the same order. We have already replaced a DJO Global brace which she probably received and after this series of events - we believe that her perception of the events is clouded.
This customer is clearly confused, as we believe that she has received the correct items. We have asked her not to shop with us again as she has reported situations which have not occurred. We will not refund her further.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This company just called me confused!!!! This horrible company has done nothing but mess with me I don't have the items I didn't even receive the nasty brace that belongs to a stranger God knows if it's someone sick or not all I know is opening the package my hand touched it the stuff in the package was wet it's not what I ordered. I never got the other items till I was sent the second one I will take this company to court if I have to get my money for something I never got. They never even paid attention to me stating I received some nasty brace or band not the back brace they thought this whole time even when I clearly stated to them what I had actually received was sweaty used looked nothing like a brace. After two months of me getting that nasty thing back to them after all the mix up I am told that I am lying! I am not lying this company is calling me a liar and I want them to prove that when I don't have the items how can a person be lying. I have all kinds of medical problems this company is making me worse. The reason this mix up happened was because vitamins that were outside my house next to the door was suppose to be picked up and I was told by Marietta 7 in the morning she talked to vertaloc they are sending someone to pick up the box I told Marietta im couple minutes away from work I have the package in my truck due to the item being wet I was not going to keep it in my house she said she called them and they scheduled it tomorrow so I can have the package outside the shipping company was never contacted that day because they came same day picked up a package that was already infront of the door. Because of their mistake I had to go thru **** with two companies trying to get my package that was picked up by the wrong company.... I will fight for my money I don't have the items and I will not take a loss I will fight till the end!

Final Business Response
This customer is now becoming abusive. We have bent over backwards to answer her claims. She sent to VertaLoc 2 packages which were not what was sent to her. They do not sell medication and are a back brace company and do not sell any items that she described. Yet that is what she sent to them. She is clearly confused. Though she has cost us additional shipping for this unfounded issue we are not passing **** cost on to her. She received all the braces that she paid for and maybe more. We checked weights of packages sent for accuracy. We replaced the DJO brace even though we are sure that they did not send an empty box. We always do what is right which is what we did in this case. We are not suggesting that the customer is lying - but only confused. We will not reply further.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This customer is not confused this customer had a terrible experience with this company and I want everyone to know and I only received one brace from a total of 3 I have ordered. If it was anyone else that works for this company that this happened to they would do the same if not worse. When you don't have an item you push till the end to either get the item or the money back. This company has not refunded a penny back to me and wants to charge extra for the item they never sent back. I came out of pocket not only for the braces I clearly don't have but for shipping to send back the item from the start that I stated I received in an email and on the phone. I have a lot of health problems I have been worse since I ordered from this company.

06/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a compression short for my hip problem, I wear a pants with 32 waist, so I ordered the same size, but when I received the product, I realized that it is too small without wearing, and I wanted to exchange but company said that is non-returnable product, it is really misleading statement because I am not returning, I am exchanging with the medium size, also in their website, the compression short is non-returnable item, I thought that means, it cannot be returned but it can be exchanged, I never thought, I can't exchange a product which does not fit. Also in their website, it says that they can always help exchange it for another size if they cannot get the right size at the beginning with customer is responsible shipping both ways. I was ok with that but I had a really a bad customer experience with this company. what I am going to the with this product which cost me $94.99
Product_Or_Service: compression shorts
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
exchange with medium size

Business Response
I have already answered this customer's complaint when he left a negative statement about the Brace Shop on the BBB Site. This customer chose a size based on his pants size not his overall measurements. He was between sizes and knowing that this item runs small we have it marked on the site to go up to the next size We also have a note on this product on the website that it is non-returnable due to health and hygiene issues. It is a tight fitting compressive pair of shorts which comes in contact with the groin area and like underwear once worn can not be returned or exchanged for those reasons. It is an item which is pricey and we warn our customers ahead of time of the conditions of the sale of this item. More than 90% of our items on sale on our website may be tried on and returned but this is an exception that the customer should have been aware. We sell hundreds of Compression Shorts and all customers that purchase buy them aware that they cannot be returned or exchanged once worn. If there was a mistake on the order or the customer had a warranty issue the response would be different.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did not ware the product by just looking from outside, realized that it is too small. And my pant size is 31 and based on the size charts, i did order small but because of the material, i need size medium. And also it is confusing that it is not returnable, i can understand that what return means, i am not returning. I am exchanging. They have to put their website. 'Not returnable and not exhangeable' . I think they are misleading customers. I also saw one person bought the same product and he was able to change the size in website.
Thanks

Final Business Response
Because it is a tight material we tell our customers who are between sizes to go to the next size - we warn about no returns on this item prior to purchase due to sanitary concerns. Our customers are important to us - but we will not treat you differently from our other customers with a second set of rules - just because you made a choice which did not work out for you.
This is our final answer!

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I say this, your website is misleading, because return and exhange are two different things i believe, your website says '
'Below products are not returnable' it does not say exchangeable. Products people are buying are not the everyday products. People buy those products when they have a health problem, how would people know the right size, and product made material. If i did not try this product, that needs to be exchanged. I did not try this product by wearing.
Word of mouth and comments about your company is so important for companies' future sales.
Thanks

05/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I returned a Brace for exchange, but they required a credit card over the phone for shipping. I didn't have tracking info, unable to offer a refund.
Order # XXXXXXXXX, in June 2014 I purchased a Breg plantar fasciitis night splint in a size Medium but needed a large. I shipped the brace back for exchange and I was contacted, stating they received the return but required a credit card number over the phone for shipping. Later, I asked for a refund, as I shipped the brace back to them as instructed. They claimed they had no proof they received the brace if I couldn't provide tracking info, even though I was contacted earlier to process the exchange and on my phone message they stated they received the brace.

I no longer have the brace in my possession, and it was received by the company, so I should be able to receive a refund minus the restocking fee since they received the product. Currently I am out the cost of the product with no product in my possession.

Desired Settlement
I wish to receive a refund minus the restocking fee, per policy. I shipped the brace back as instructed and no longer need the product. I received a phone message stating the brace was received, so I should not be required to provide tracking information to prove that the brace was received.

Business Response
In researching the notes on the account for Mr. *********, it appears that this has been a long process. The original order occurred on June 19, 2014. Mr. ********* called for an exchange beyond the 30 day term and never got a return authorization. Returns turned the order over to customer service to find out who the return was as there was no corresponding number and was never logged in as being accepted. Customer service spoke to him and told him that they needed the credit card information to send out the exchange as they were going to charge the shipping. Two different departments were given only part of the information - and that of course underscores the importance of sending back items with a return authorization.
Nonetheless, we found that the item was returned and we have refunded the full amount of $54.99. We were unable to refund through the credit card since the purchase was close to a year ago - but we have cut a check in that amount and we are sending it out to the customer priority mail.

02/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Shipping rip off.
I ordered a brace based on the measurements suggested. It was too small. When I called to discuss an exchange I was informed that I had to pay to ship the brace back as well as pay to ship the new larger brace to me. This is ridiculous as somehow I didn't have to pay to get the first brace, but now I have to pay 2 shippings. At give me free shipping on the brace I am exchanging for! This sort of shipping rip off is rare these days as online shopping grows. I am having to spend significant extra money just to get the right fit. I would never recommend The Brace Shop to anyone, and I will never use it again.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund on my card for the shipping I am having to pay to get the new brace. I had free shipping on the original brace, and I should have the same shipping on the new brace, especially since I am having to pay to send it back.

Business Response
The Brace Shop offers free ground shipping on original orders over $49.00 within the continental United States. It is listed on our website, on our sales receipts and read to our customers on phone orders, that the customer is responsible for return shipping and exchange shipping both ways.
SHIPPING FEES FOR RETURNS AND EXCHANGES

In order for the Brace Shop to maintain our low prices online, we ask that customers ship their items back to us.

This is listed on the web site under returns and exchanges:

"If you are exchanging for another product, a standard shipping charge of $7.95 within the Continental US will be incurred unless a faster shipping method is requested."

Also on the bottom of every Order Confirmation is a paragraph about returns and exchanges which ends with: "Customer is responsible for all shipping fees."
All measurements for product sizing come directly from the manufacturer - and we cannot determine how someone takes their own measurements.
Because braces are similar to apparel - there is expected some amount of returns for sizing. We are clear upon purchase about all return shipping charges. It would be wrong to treat this customer differently from all of those that read and understand the shipping policies. If they feel that they have been singled out unfairly we would be happy to refund the shipping. We don't however believe that tiis is the case.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Health & Medical - General, Orthopedic Appliances, Medical Equipment & Supplies, Hospital & Medical Equipment & Supplies, Internet Shopping

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.