BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Tom's Glass Works

Phone: (561) 301-8684Fax: (561) 784-3806

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service12
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints14

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (14)
06/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Theft
Ordered item 12/6/13,,, never received. Called about order. We were told vital order info was not included. Submitted said info. Items never arrived. Called several times. Never received order even though we were promised we would. Simple enough to refund a purchase. Yet *** is unable to get this done.

Desired Settlement
Refund and abject apology. It's not the money as much as the principal.

Business Response
Customers order was refunded. Customer was never promised anything. It is amazing how you hear what you want to hear. There is a big difference in I will try to and I promise. After being in business for over 40 years I have learned to never promise what you may not be able to deliver.

05/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Wrongly charged 2nd shipping for broken items and promised refund that was never received, *** called me an ******* when I complained.
Order# XXXXXX, Purchase Date 8/18/14, Problem Date 9/24/14, Agent was *** ********* the company president at XXX-XXX-XXXX, ***'s email ***@**************.com, Refund owed $89.65. Order arrived with 8 glasses broken so *** charged 2nd shipping cost to replace and said via email that once damage claim was issued he would refund the shipping on 9/30/14. Emailed *** 12/16/14 but he did not respond. *** said today he would not refund the shipping as promised and called me an "*******".

Desired Settlement
$89.65 refunded to ****** account used for order payment

Business Response
TO Whom it may concern
We value every customer and pride ourselves on customer service. We appreciate their business and we do our best to accommodate every customer. Fifteen years of repeatable business is our proof of customer satisfaction.

****** **********
President
***'s glassworks

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No resolution offered and no apology offered for the vulgarity used by the business

05/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Did not receive what was originally ordered. Incorrect engraving and no communication prior to shipping that I would receive a different product.
My first email was from ******** on Nov 28 and it stated: "The shopping cart did not correctly take your engraving information. I will need you to confirm this for me"

I am not sure why you think I chose Old English. It is not a font I would choose - and admittedly by ******** - even if for some reason that had been captured as a choice - there were other reasons to believe my engraving information had not been captured correctly.

******** then went on to say:
"We can engrave 4 lines on the decanter in either style."

No one ever stated my text was too long.

On the same date I confirmed with ********
"I will go with hand etching on the decanter and glasses.

Just bill my credit card for the difference."

And then my reply from you said: "OK, will make the corrections to your order".

I was billed $76.95 on Nov 28th and $10.40 on Dec 10th. This further led me to believe that there was no issue with my hand etching request.

I was under the impression that everything was fine and never heard differently. I never "confirmed" Old English (honestly I do not think I ever requested it) - my last request was for hand engraving for which I apparently was billed.

I am very disappointed with the product I received, with the lack of communication (or errors therein) and the lengthy shipping delay.

I have received many rude and dismissive emails from the company stating that everything was my fault and not providing answers to any of the simple questions I had about the order.

Desired Settlement
I would like to receive the product that I had ordered, or if it is not something that this company is capable of providing or producing, then a COMPLETE refund will be the proper resolution.

I have received a product that did not arrive as ordered.

Business Response
TO Whom it may concern
We value every customer and pride ourselves on customer service. We appreciate their business and we do our best to accommodate every customer. Fifteen years of repeatable business is our proof of customer satisfaction.

****** **********
President
***'s glassworks

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This response is not a resolution. There is no attempt to rectify the problem and no apology for the product errors. This is a stock answer which answers no questions, and treats the customer complaint as unimportant and unworthy of the business owner's time. It is indicative of the earlier emails I received from *** after I reported an issue with the product I received.

15 years of business does not equate to 15 years of customer satisfaction.

It seems that after 3 months, *** still has no answers to my questions, will not admit that my order was processed incorrectly, and still will not do the right thing by issuing a refund.

Buyer beware. This is a business with no regard for their clients, despite any claims on their website or any responses you may see here.

Actions speak louder than "cut and paste" responses to complaints. Do the right thing *** - and perhaps the "customer service" you apparently pride yourself on - will actually become a reality and a factual business claim.

Until then it is just a delusion.

****** Ste-***** (**********)

03/08/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We ordered engraved glasses for our boss for Xmas that were supposed to match the glasses we had purchased the year prior. Logo placement is off!
On November 18, 2015, we ordered 3 sets of glasses with our company logo to be engraved on them. The important part was to match them exactly to the glasses we ordered a year prior to complete our boss' sets. We were asked to provide photos of the glasses at hand to make sure the logo size and placement would be the same. We were assured by Moriah that this would not be a problem at all. Well, we've received the glasses in a very timely manner but the logo on two of the sets do not match the placement on the glasses we already have AT ALL. They are smaller and much higher up on the tall glasses and stretched out on the rocks glasses. With that being said, we were not able to give these glasses to our boss and had to buy a back-up present, which cost us another $100. The worst part is that we emailed Tom's Glassworks immediately upon receipt with photos comparing the glasses we have to those delivered but never received a response. We called and emailed again (without a response) and then decided to file a dispute with the credit card company. The result was that the credit my credit card company had originally given me was reversed after someone from Tom's Glassworks sent a detailed email to my credit card company telling them that the logo placement was correct but that we had been informed before ordering that perfect placement couldn't be guaranteed anyway. This is a LIE, which I can prove with emails we've exchanged. I am also mind blown about the fact that they put in the time to put this detailed email together to send to my credit card company but weren't able to reach out to us once to resolve this issue. What kind of customer service is this?

Desired Settlement
I am asking for a full refund for the tall glasses and the rocks glasses. We are more than happy to pay for the shot glasses since they came out beautifully.

Business Response
This customer had not created a website user account which means there is no previous history. We do not advertise that we can replicate previous orders. We build to the artwork or image files sent to us with each order. If we do have an image on file and the customer has no image file to serd us there could be minor differences since every order is handmade.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When I emailed with a rep about our order, she made it seem like it wouldn't be a problem at all to replicate the past order as long as we send in a picture, which we did for each of the glasses. The difference between the past order and the ones we've received are not MINOR. Also, if they needed measurements from us as well, they could have simply asked for them. I could have measured the exact position and size of the logo for them. They know their trade better than me though, so I could have not known whether that would have helped or not.

06/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered custom engraved mug. Did not receive mug with correct placement of design.
I made a design for a coffee mug that I really liked. I uploaded the design and left my instructions in the 'special instructions' box when I uploaded my design. I also had many email communications with ***. He was personable and communicative. The work that he did was second to none. The problem I have is the design was applied incorrectly to the mug I ordered. I requested *** send me the design before he made it and he said he would. After several attempts to see the design before it got made, he made it anyway. Of course it was wrong. When I contacted *** about rectifying the problem, he basically told me it wasn't his problem that he didn't confirm the design (even though I have MULTIPLE emails from him stating he would). I will probably not order from this company ever again because their customer service is lacking. The work is amazing. Just pray they don't get it wrong.

Desired Settlement
I would like the same mug with the logo correctly placed like I originally asked for it to be.

Business Response
I viewed the customer emails and order information and as I have email and talked with the customer about the placement of his logo, there was no indication of whether the handle should face to the right or left of image in any emails or on the order confirmation. Our default placement is always to the right unless indicated which it was not. I would without hesitation replace this item if it was truly my fault. I ask customer to produce were it was written to have the handle facing to left of logo image. I have not received any confirmation or written proof where it was stated to place image to the left of logo to date.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I typed my preference for placement into special instructions box on the website when I ordered. Also asked business to confirm placement of design before order was made. Business said they would provide PDF of placement. Never received confirmation of placement from business as asked repeatedly. Business said they would provide confirmation and I never got it. Have emails from business stating that confirmation would be provided.

Final Business Response
You will need to pay the 50% off discounted pricing and will need to call with new payment information along with an email confirming the placement of the logo with relationship of which way the handle should face when looking at the mug.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I cannot provide proof because I typed it into the special order box on the website. Never got any receipt of my special instructions. I do however have the emails where business says they would send me confirmation of placement before the order was made. I also have emails from myself to the business requesting said confirmation before the order was actually made. I can provide these if necessary.

02/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Tom's Glass Works did not deliver our glasses on time or correctly engraved, and has refused to correct the order.
We ordered two glasses to be engraved as our toasting glasses for our wedding reception, and seven glasses engraved as groomsmen's gifts.

Due to the flooding here in Boulder, we had several obstacles in the month prior to our wedding on Oct. 3rd. The order did not get placed until the week prior, but we contacted Tom's Glass Works to see if at least our toasting glasses could be completed in time. I guessed on the shipping speed when placing the order, and when we followed up to make sure that they could be completed, I asked to have the glasses overnighted if necessary and that we would pay the extra shipping charges. The groomsmen's glasses were not as important and could wait - we see all of them frequently enough that it would be simple enough to delivery them after our wedding.

The first issue we had was that our toasting glasses arrived the day after the wedding and with gaps in the engraving. When I contacted Tom's Glass Works afterward, Tom told me that he had upgraded our shipping to Two Day for free and that we should be thankful to have received them in time. I'm not sure how the date was confused as it was engraved on the glasses he sent. The were obviously ready in time to be overnighted which we had told him up front we would pay for. I also received an email lecture on not getting our wedding planning done in time and that we should have ordered them sooner - not really an option when your house becomes an island with no power, cell service or internet for communication.

The second issue was that one of the groomsmen's glasses was delivered with the engraving only on one side. When I contacted Tom (at the same time as the above complaint), I was told that our order had been placed incorrectly - specifically that we hadn't ordered engraving on both sides. I'm not sure how they got six of the seven right (ie. engraved on both sides), and the last one only half done, if we had placed the order incorrectly.

I asked for a refund for the toasting glasses we were not able to use at our reception, as well as the the groomsmen glass. I also asked that the engraving be fixed on the toasting glasses and the groomsmen's glass. Tom has stopped responding to my emails, we have not received a refund, nor have our glasses been fixed.

I am looking for someone locally to fix the glasses. We still need to deliver the last groomsmen's glass, and would like to have the toasting glasses with our wedding date on them - we'll just toast life's next big occasion with them instead.

Desired Settlement
We would like a full refund for the shipping on the toasting glasses, as well as the three cost of the three glasses that they have refused to fix.
Toasting Glasses: $42.90
Groomsmen Glass: $13.50
Shipping Total: $60.78 - this isn't broken out

I can forward a copy of our original order if it would be helpful, as well as any email correspondence.

Business Response
Our policy is that we will ALWAYS replace any item that our customers are not please with the engraving. Customer was told to return the item or items that she was not please with and I would be more than happy to replace any item.

As for the shipping the customer paid for ground transportation and after placing order asked for a certain delivery date. Tom's Glass works upgraded her shipping to 2-day air and at no cost to the customer and paid the shipping cost that exceeded the total amount of her order so that her order would arrive on the date she requested.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Hello,
I find this response completely unacceptable as it simply isn't true. Tom offered to fix one of the glasses that had a gap in the engraving if I sent it back - no offer to take care of the shipping for his error. This did not address the glass that was delivered on half completed (six of seven groomsmen's glasses were done correctly - I cannot believe he tries to place the blame on us for this one in error).
We offered to pay for the additional shipping - at whichever speed was necessary to get it to us in time. Tom did not have to foot this bill - and the glasses were received after our wedding in any case.
I was upset with the customer service we received from Tom's Glass Works - now I'm disgusted by this response. I am happy to forward the email correspondence regarding the errors in engraving, as well as the shipping label with delivery intended for the day after our wedding.


Final Business Response
Tom's Glass Works will ALWAYS pay the shipping cost to replace any item which was not properly engraved. I never asked the customer to pay the shipping so not what the customer is talking about.

Tom's Glass Works apologizes for any inconvenience due to an engraving mistake which was not intentional. If a engraving mistake is make we will always replace the item FREE of charge to the customer and ship the corrected item at no cost to the customer. If a mistake was made I have no problem in replacing it for all of my customers which includes paying the shipping. All I ask is proof of the error with emailing a picture of the item.

05/29/2015Problems with Product / Service
05/25/2015Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
08/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Tom's Glass Works has not provided me with the product that I ordered, in the font/script that I ordered and refuses to work towards a resolution.
On June 11th I placed my order, reluctantly on line with Toms. I ordered 10 silver heart jewelry boxes, personally engraved to give as gifts to my Father's friends at his up and coming Funeral. I intend to put some of my Dad's ashes in these boxes. I was very specific in my order about what script I wanted and font. After I placed my order, they contacted and said, they didn't have the heart boxes that I wanted. They sent me a picture of a replacement suggestion, NEVER mentioning anything about their being an issue with the engraving. I agreed on the replacement. When I received the results, I was in tears. Not only is the engraving hideous. not centered, it is not in the fonts that I ordered and paid $183.01 for! I called and spoke with a women, that has never given me her name. She told me she would speak to her manager. I am guessing, "Tom". She NEVER returned my call, I've had to follow up with her every time. I told her I wanted a replacement item sent to me, it could be a round silver box, a square, whatever would look acceptable with the inscription I ordered. The store has an answering machine that apparently you can respond to a message so she doesn't have to actually pick up the phone and call me. She left me a voicemail today, with no missed calls, saying they will NOT replace the items, they are sorry. So, I am stuck with an unacceptable product and I am out the $183.01. The times I have talked to this woman, she's made excuse after excuse about why they didn't turn out right. What gets me the most is, I received a confirmation email from Tom's, dated 6/12 that says "We are not responsible for incorrect information", regarding the engraving, and yet they will not BACK UP their product now that they have made the mistake. I still have time before the memorial to resolve the issue with the company, but it seems they are not interested in working with me. Filing this complaint is my only recourse.

Desired Settlement
If in fact the heart box they replaced my original order with prevented them from engraving it to my specifications, then I will take a replacement product.
I am happy to settle for a round silver box, a square silver box. But I want it engraved the way I ordered it. This is a copy/paste of my order confirmation from THEM!

Thank you for your tomsglassworks.com on-line order, PLEASE look over your emailed order confirmation for correctness to ENGRAVING INFORMATION and shipping address, any errors or changes please email us and we can make the corrections. WE ARE NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR INCORRECT INFORMATION ON YOUR ORDER. Please take the time to look your order over. Your order is in line for engraving and here is when you can expect it.

10 Choose Font Style Item XXXXXX - Heart Jewelry Box 3 Engraving Method: Metal Engraving $16.45 $164.50
Choose Metal Font Style: Choose Font Style
Text Line 1: Dr. Stuart D. Fleitz
Text Line 2: Benevolent Heart
Add 3rd line text: Yes
Text Line X: XXXX-XXXX
Special Instructions: Line 1 - Dr. Stuart D. Fleitz - Font Roman Outline Bold Line 2 - Benevolent Heart - Font Script Line X - XXXX-XXXX Font Roman Outline Bold

As you can see, I was very specific in what I wanted and they responded in kind with a confirmation. I want NEW boxes, engraved the way I want them engraved.

07/29/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
product was not what i ordered
expectations were not met
company has been unresponsive after many attempts to resolve
Prior to placing my order I was assured that I could see a proof of the glass design to ensure it matched my existing glasses. This did not happen and the product I received did not match. I contacted the company and at first they seemed responsive to resolving the issue but I have not heard back from them since April and it is now June. (The order was originally placed in February.) At this point I would just like a refund of the $89.69 I paid for the unacceptable glasses.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be refunded the $89.69 as I did not receive the product I was told I would and I do not wish to deal with this company any further.

06/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Did not receive the exact product we ordered and 1 glass was broken in shipment and has not been replaced.
On 3/11/15 we ordered through ***'s ***** ***** online, (Order number XXXXXX)XXX-X ******* ******* Engraved Decanter Set including 4 glasses engraved with a personal brand. Paying a sub total of $114.95, shipping of $19.17 for a Total of $134.12. On 4/7/15 we received 332-5 ******* ******* Engraved decanter set. Upon opening package, 1 of the glasses was broken. We contacted *** through e-mail of the damages and that we did not receive the product that we ordered. He acknowledged his regret for the damage but total ignored the fact we were sent the incorrect item. I asked for the reason we were sent a different decanter and again there was no acknowledgement. I asked if we could exchange the decanter for the one that we ordered and that we would keep the glasses with the replacement of the one broken in shipment. Again ignored with the wrong product, but he did respond that he would get a replacement glass shipped out right away. We order this for a wedding gift. We have not ever received the replacement glass. I have since then seen several complaints regarding problems with this business and feel that something needs to be done to STOP this from happening to anyone else. We did go ahead and give the gift and told them we would get the replacement glass. This gift had their brand on it.

Desired Settlement
I want them to send the proper decanter (349)engraved and the replacement glass engraved to us at no additional charge. No exchanges. Businesses should not be able to advertise, take orders, take your money and not send exactly what is ordered. Then ignore that it was their mistake that they did not send the right product. I want him to make it right.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Glassware Decorators, Merchandising Service, Trophies, China & Glassware - Retail

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.