BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southeast Florida & the Caribbean

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/06/2013

Modloft

Phone: (305) 779-9130Fax: (305) 779-9131View Additional Phone Numbers1810 NE 144th St, North MiamiFL 33181-1404

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/06/2013

BBB has determined that Modloft meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Modloft's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Modloft

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
06/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Modloft takes the issues of all eight drawers of dresser and nightstands as result of humidity and mistreatment
I purchased all Modloft furniture through Nationalfurnituresupply.com. I got ************ MD321-DR-***, and MD321-NS-WEN. Since Nationalfurnituresupply has been transferred my problem to the customer service of Modloft. I assume they NationalFurnitureSupply.com has been an intermediate sale relationship with Modloft. Therefore, all the response I receive comes from Modloft.

I purchased all items on 8/30/2013 and received all items on 10/01/2013. The order number is XXXXXXXXX. After using about 1 month, I found out one of the drawers had weird sound when I opened it. Turns out, it was the screws underneath the wood panel that were loosing off. So, when I tried to tighten it, I could not do it since the holes were too big to tighten again. I had to use woodfiller to make the hole small so I could retighten them. All right, problem solved after this one! However, afterwards, turns out more drawers had the same issue. So I sent an email with images about the problems to NationalFurnitureSupply.com which transferred the email to Modloft. The response was due to the mistreatment and humidity, they could not do anything. So I had to use wooldfiller again to solve the problem.

After a couple weeks, more and more drawers indicate the same problem, so I could not deal with it anymore but sent another email to Modloft with more images about the same problem for about all 8 drawers. The response was the same; due to the humidity and mistreatment, they could not solve the problem.

I meant seriously? I just moved into the new-built house in 9/2013. And does it just happen that I would mistreat all 8 drawers including nightstands and dresser? About humidity, I live in Maryland, not in Florida in case if you notice. Talking about humidity, we always control humidity level inside the house so please save the humidity excuse.

Desired Settlement
It was my first time to purchase Modloft furniture and the experience was not so great due to the customer service. I'm looking forward to another solution that Modloft can offer.

Business Response
This customer purchased the dresser and nightstands from National Furniture Supply, who were not advised of any problems until three months after delivery. Also, the customer did not report the initial problem to either National Furniture Supply or to us. Moreover, the customer attempted their own repairs (using wood filler and chemical liquid cleaner) this moistened the wood and caused crumbling, this was the 'humidity' issue that was referred to and was not any reference to humid weather as the customer claims. The customers own attempts at repairs has of course invalidated their warranty. Despite this our Customer Support Team and Damage Assessment Team have tried to work with the customer and were trying to come to some compromise with National Furniture Supply. There had been the expectation that the customer would have allowed us and National Furniture Supply to opportunity to do just that and thus that their complaint to you was somewhat premature.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all, I hope your company indeed contacted with National Furniture Supply after talking with me on the phone on May 16th, 2014. And I did contact with National Furniture Supply through email and phone calls previously. So based on your word, if there is a problem about the quality of the furniture after using 3 months. I cannot address that? Again, let me repeat. I indeed did repair on my own on 1ST drawer. Can you count how many drawers there are for 2 nightstands and 1 dresser? Total of 8! Rest drawers basically demonstrated same problem later on. I took pictures one by one with pencil written number marked and sent them all to national furniture supply. By the way, if your comprise was finding me a furniture Doc, please save it because I have to spend time to take every piece and pay to repair a set of furniture that I have used less than 1 year. If there is a a problem of communication between you and National Furniture Supply, please fix it to get the additional images before judgment and make the correction about your communication system. Now, I really do not expect anything from you or national furniture supply since I'll be your first and last customer.

Final Business Response
We responded to the customer directly and discussed the case with him. Following which the customer advised that he was withdrawing his complaint and confirmed that he would advise BBB accordingly.

03/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Product arrived badly damaged
Product chipped, broken in in 3-4 places

Desired Settlement
Removal of product.

09/02/2013Problems with Product / Service
12/03/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture - Retail

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/02/2006Business started: 08/09/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Miami-Dade Tax Collector
140 W Flagler Street, 1st Flr
Miami, FL33130
(305) 375-5452
http://www.miamidade.gov

BBB records show a license number of 6118277 for this company, issued by Miami-Dade Tax Collector. Their web address is http://www.miamidade.gov.

Check License Status: https://www.miamidade.county-taxes.com/public/business tax/accounts/5866315

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 2005, FL

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Ted Toledano (Managing Partner)
Contact Information
Mr. Steven Schmutter (Managing Partner)
Business Category

Furniture - Retail

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Modloft

1810 NE 144th St

North Miami, FL 33181-1404

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • International Product Marketing, LLC

    1810 NE 144th St 

    North Miami, FL 33181-1404(305) 779-9130

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Modloft is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 766-3563
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Furniture - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.