BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southeast Florida & the Caribbean

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Modani (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (305) 403-1838Fax: (866) 570-8430View Additional Phone Numbers2898 Biscayne Blvd, MiamiFL 33137-4536View Additional Email Addresseshttp://www.modani.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Modani is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Modani's rating include:

  • Failure to respond to 8 complaints filed against business.
  • One complaint filed against business that was not resolved.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service5
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Modani

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)BBB Closure Definitions
10/01/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues
10/15/2012Billing / Collection Issues
03/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: Modani has refused to rectify a defective couch problem. The New York-based managers, **** and *****, refuse to rectify the situation.
Approximately one year ago, I made a very large purchase at Modani. Since then, my white couch, which has had very little wear, is tearing at the seams. I expressed my concern to **** and ***** at Modani NYC and they offered a mere $50 to make up for the $1000+ couch problem, not offering to send anyone out to look at the couch or any other way to assist.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

01/17/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Advertised terms not honored

Complaint: Modani distributed flyers for a discount on purchase and it was not honored.
My wife and I went to make a purchase at Modani on 40 East 19th Street along with a flyer advertisement we received from a woman on the street last wednesday december 11,2013. We needed to purchase some furniture for our daughter who is attending NYU and wanted to give her apartment a boost. We looked at what appeared to be nice looking furniture although some looked like really nice fixtures was done to them. My wife and I agreed on some pieces that she wanted our daughter to have. We asked about the discount of $100 advertised on flyer and we were greeted rudely by some women with cold eyes and mean voice that came straight from the back saying if you don't like the policy buy elsewhere we are a huge well known corporation. I asked her name and she said names are not important but if you must know ***** or **** she sounded french. The advertisement on the flyer she was not willing to honor although we were in the midst of purchasing $2300 worth of furniture for our daughter I told my wife after that treatment we can go elsewhere because that is false advertisement.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

10/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: I bought a sectional leather sofa and the cushion where we seat is becoming a deep hole.
I bought a Monaco Sectional leather sofa black (new Madison) on 03/03/2013 and I picked it up 3 weeks later when it was available. The sales order number is XXXXXX, the salesperson was ****** ********* I paid $1457.55 with my credit card *****
On side of the sofa, the cushion is becoming deep hole. Every time that I seat there for a while, the whole becomes deeper and deeper.
I think that the cushion is either cheap quality, or it doesn't have enough support under it.
I have another leather sofa for 10 years and nothing like this have happened to it, but this one that is not even 6 months old is becoming damage.
I called them and explain the problem, also I send an e-mail with pictures on 9/03/13; but they said that they only could give me a $100 credit store.
I don't want to buy anything else, all I want is that they fix my sofa.
This shouldn't be happening in a new sofa. We don't even have kids that jumps on the sofa, is just my husband and I at home.
They must be responsible for the product that they sell, even if they don't offer warranty this product is less than 6 months old.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

04/01/2013Problems with Product / Service
02/18/2013Delivery Issues
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture - Retail, Furniture - Outdoor

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/17/2009Business started: 05/14/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Miami-Dade Tax Collector
140 W Flagler Street, 1st Flr
Miami, FL33130
(305) 375-5452
http://www.miamidade.gov

BBB records show a license number of 657252-4 for this company, issued by Miami-Dade Tax Collector. Their web address is http://www.miamidade.gov.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Nathanael Cohen (Managing Member)Mr. Steven Athea (Managing Member)Mr. Yonel Fallous (Managing Member)
Business Category

Furniture - Retail, Furniture - Outdoor

Alternate Business Names
Modani Miami, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Modani

2898 Biscayne Blvd

Miami, FL 33137-4536

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 8873 W Sunset Blvd 

    West Hollywood, CA 90069-2107

  • 2898 Biscayne Blvd 

    Miami, FL 33137-4536

  • 40 East 19th Street 

    New York, NY 10003

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Modani is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (212) 780-1800
  • (800) 606-7319

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (305) 403-1838
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Furniture - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00-5.99
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.