BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Baer's Furniture Co, Inc. (Headquarters)

Phone: (954) 946-8007Fax: (954) 946-8006

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

78 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 24 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues11
Problems with Product / Service60
Total Closed Complaints78

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (78)BBB Closure Definitions
12/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Baers sold me and my wife an unstable headboard which cannot be attached securely to the adjustable bed frame also sold to us by Baers.
On July 7, 2014, my wife and I ordered from Baers an adjustable bedframe, mattress, headboard and brackets to attach the bedframe to the headboard. On July 31, Baers delivered the mattress and adjustable bedframe. We were told the headboard we ordered was no longer available. In August of this year we ordered a different headboard. That headboard was delivered on October 9, but could not be attached on that date to the adjustable bedframe because the delivery technicians were provided with the wrong attachment brackets. On November 11, 2014, Baers service technicians came with the proper attachment brackets but, when the headboard was attached to the bedframe, it was unstable and wobbled at the slightest touch. The wobbling was immediately obvious and openly acknowledged by the Baers service technicians when they attached the headboard to the adjustable bed frame. They refused to take back the headboard and frame but made various notations on their delivery invoice describing our dissatisfaction as well as including specific references to the "too wobbly" headboard and a suggested Baers "plan" to "reselect" a headboard with side rails and footboard which would be stable rather than wobbly. The service technicians at that time also telephoned store personnel to inform them of the wobbly headboard and why we were dissatisfied. Since then I have had numerous telephone conversations with the store sales person and manager asking them to reselect a headboard which can be securely attached to sideboards and a footboard so that the headboard would not wobble. I told the sales person and manager in frequent and separate telephone conversations that, in the absence of Baers offering me and my wife a reselected headboard with side boards and frame at a reasonable price, with a credit for the faulty merchandise, we wanted a refund. This complaint goes beyond faulty merchandise. Baers sales person and management have been unresponsive to obvious problems with the furniture they sold me and my wife and dilatory in resolving those problems.

Desired Settlement
Replace the current unstable and wobbly headboard with a new headboard and matching side rails and footboard, acceptable to us in style and price, and give us a credit for the current headboard and attachment brackets. Absent that, my wife and I seek a refund for the current headboard and attachment brackets.

Business Response
Ms. ************ has reselected a complete bed that is scheduled to be delivered on 12/8 and we will pick up the headboard.

Thank you

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Baer's current response is incomplete. At the time we purchased the original headboard, we also purchased from Baer's an adjustable bed base and mattress. An adjustable bed base when properly installed has a metal mattress retainer bar attached at the foot of the bed base to prevent the mattress from sliding down when the top of the mattress is elevated. At the time we informed Baer's of the wobbly headboard problem we also informed Baer's that the mattress retainer bar as installed on our adjustable bed base was unstable and flopped around severely. I discussed the unstable retainer bar with the Baer's delivery/installation men at the time they installed the wobbly headboard. They observed and acknowledged that the retainer bar had been inserted into two holes in the mattress base and was unstable but did not explain why that occurred and offered no solution. I have had repeated discussions with the Baer's sales person, as well as the Baer's store manager, complaining about the unstable mattress retainer bar asking them to explain and respond to the problem. Neither the sales person nor the store manager attempted to resolve the problem or explain its cause. They have since ignored the problem with no effort to determine the cause of the unstable retainer bar or offer a solution. When my wife and I reselected a new headboard on Saturday November 29, we took some time to examine in the Baer's store the retainer bar on the adjustable base of the same kind we purchased from Baer's and learned that plastic grommets were installed on the Baer's floor sample adjustable bases. The adjustable base we purchased from Baer's does not have plastic grommets installed which obviously explains why it is unstable. The adjustable base installation manual directs the installer to insert the mattress retainer bar into plastic grommets. In short, the adjustable base we purchased was not properly assembled by the Baer's delivery/installation men who should have installed plastic grommets before inserting the retainer bar into the base. The obvious purpose of the plastic grommets is to stabilize and secure the retainer bar so that the mattress will not slide when the adjustable bed is elevated. We called the necessary installation of plastic grommets to the attention of the Baer's sales person on Saturday, November 29 when we reselected a headboard and asked her to arrange for the delivery/installation men to bring with them at the time they deliver the reselected mattress the plastic grommets and to properly install them in our adjustable base. The sales person told us she could not do so and that we must ask Baer's service representative to arrange for the installation of the plastic grommets. In an email dated Sunday, November 30, scheduling the delivery date for our reselected headboard on December 8, my wife informed the Baer's representative handling this complaint that, through our serendipitous examination of adjustable bed bases on the Baer's floor samples at the time we reselected a headboard, we learned about the improper installation of our retainer bar and that we wanted at the time of delivery of the reselected headboard also to have the delivery/installation men install the plastic grommets. We have not yet received a response from Baer's assuring us that the plastic grommets will be installed as we requested.

Business Response
Delivery is scheduled to go out tomorrow to correct the problem.

I did not realize this was still open

Thank you

*** ****

12/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
For the month of************** Furniture store had a big special I was interested in buying a bedroom set which I did. furniture was delivered by some rude delivery man which I Complaint. Two weeks after having my bedroom set my mattress was losing its shape I also brought the mattress set at ****** furniture store with my bedroom set. I called************* at ****** she the one who helped me and my wife with our purchase. I told her about the problem with the mattress and she gave me the phone number for customer service XXXX-XXX-XXXX within a week or so someone came to the house took measurements and pictures and said the mattress was defective and that he would give the information to cooperate and they would make the final decision. A week or so I heard from cooperate to go back to ****** and get my mattress set, in error he told me that they were giving me $799. dollars in store credit. I told him I paid $999. dollars plus tax. I went to ****** spoke with************* and she told me they were only going to replace the mattress not the box spring I was not going to take the same mattress set because of my bad experience with the set I previously brought. I told them I brought a set I was told if the mattress doesn' t match to put a cover on it no one will known. I told them to refund my card for the mattress set and to go pick it up. it was not my fault it was defective. I was told I have to use the credit at there store only. I asked to talk to one of the managers I was told to come back tomorrow. the next day I show up no manager show s up. I asked when are they here. I was told they show up when ever, they are the owners. to make a longer story short I had no choice but to used the $799. Plus Tax to buy another set because the mattress set I was sold at *****s was impossible to sleep on I had to pay the different for another set. which will be delivered on 10/16/14. ****** Furniture will not refund me $200. dollars for the box spring of the first set.
Product_Or_Service: ***** Mattress Set

Desired Settlement
I would like ****** Furniture to take the box spring and mattress of the defective set and refund my account for the different they charge me for the box spring. it was not my fault it was defective. I had to buy a cheaper set because I couldn't afford to chose the the same value of the first set because they with held $200 hundred dollars for the box spring. Now when the new set arrive on 10/16/14 I will have two box spring. please can you help. I brought a set not a mismatch set.

Business Response
Mr. ****** purchased a bedroom set and bedding in August 2014. In October he called in to say that the mattress was very uncomfortable and he felt it was defective. A service man wnet out and did an inspection, it was later determined by ***** that the mattress was defective and a RA (return authorization) was issued.

***** will only issue the RA for the mattress if the box spring is not defective. This is standard in the industry.

If you have any further questions please don't hesitate to contact me.

Thank you

*** ****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In my original complaint I stated I brought a mattress set, by no fault of my own it was defective this product was sold to me by******* furniture store. Their solution was to throw a blanket over the new mattress no one could tell they were not a set. My anger is I had a box spring at home from my other bedroom set if I wanted a mismatch set I could of just brought the mattress only from the beginning and not what was sold to me at*******. To make matters worst they gave me credit to pick another mattress minus $200. dollars for the box spring that could only be use in their store no refund. they do not have a large selection of mattress at this store.Out of frustration I ended up buying another set from them and paid the different out of pocket. today I have an extra box spring that I did'not intend to buy thanks to the poor customer service of******* furniture store. what I brought was not free I have to paid for it. My wife and I put a lot of effort in finding the perfect bedroom set that we both liked. every piece was what we pick our choice not*******. our hard earn money is going to paid for it. We set out that day to buy a bedroom set and mattress set and******* furniture did'not delivered on all of it's commmitements to its couctomer. will I buy there again, no. I did'not even have a choice to buy else where because they would only give me the credit to buy from their store. this was my money and they were telling me where I had to spend it you tell me was I being treated fairly. I'm very dissapointed

Final Business Response
Baer's Furniture policy is "NO REFUNDS ON DELIVERED MERCHANDIS".

The mattress was deemed defective by********nd a RA was processed. The box spring was NOT defective so they would not authorize replacing it.******* Furniture follows the guidsline and policies of the manufacturer when replacing bedding.

This is standard throughout the industry.

If you have any further questions please feel free to contact me.

Thank you

12/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
BOUGHT FURNITURE ON 8/17/2014 IN THE SHOWROOM . IT WAS DELIVERED ON 8/26/2014. I NOTED A TWO TO THREE INCH GAP IN SOFA & CHAIR AND YOU COULD SEE WALL
FIRST TIME CUSTOMER . PURCHASED 8/17/2014 .I WAS TOLD IT CAME WITH A ONE YEAR MANUFACTURER WARRANTY BY **** ****** ********** .I ASKED THE MANUFACTUER AND SHE DID NOT KNOW. PAID IN FULL WITH AN A&E CARD . CUSTOMER ******************** UNDER THE NAME ***** .VENDOR CHEERS CH50 RECLINING SOFA AND RECLINING CHAIR .MODEL UXW8507M-63-2M MODEL UXW8507M-61-15PAYMENT OF 1675.DELIVERED ON 8/26/14. THAT NIGHT I TURNED ON A LIGHT ANOTICED A TWO TO THREE INCH GAP ON ONE SIDE OF BOTH SOFA AND CHAIR AND YOU COULD SEE TO THE BACK SIDE OFTHE WALL.******** IN POMPANO NOTIFIED ON 8/27/2014. TECH NAMED ******* OUT ON SEPT.3RD.TOOK PICS. OF IT BUT KEPT TELLING ME IT WAS FROM WEAR AND TEAR . ITOLD HIM TAHT WAS IMPOISSIBLE IT JUST GOT DELIVERED HE TOLD ME HE WOULD TURN IT OVER TO HIS CORPORATE OFFICE . WHEN I DID NOT HEAR FROM THEM FOUR DAYS LATER I CONTACTED ******** AT CORPORATE WHO TOLD ME HE SHOULD HAVE NOT CLOSED THE TICKECT OUT .HE CLOSED THE TICKECT OUT AS CUSTOMER SATISIFIED WHICH I WAS NOT .SHE HAD IT RE-OPENED .WHEN I DID NOT HEAR FROM ANYONE AGAIN I SHOWED UP IN THERE SHOWROOM ON 9/17/14 AND SPOKE TO MY SALES REP **** . SHE DIRECTED ME TO THE MAMANGER OFTHE STORE . WENT AND AGAIN LOOKT THE FURNITURE , HE SHOOK THE SOFA TOP AND SAID THIS WHERE YOUR GAP IS AND I SAID NO THE GAP IS AT THE BOTTOM OF THE SOFA . HE THEN SENT AN EMAIL TO ******** IN CORPORATE AND SAID SOMEONE WULD CONTACT ME . WHEN I D NOT HAERD ANYTHING I CALLED ********* TOLD ME STE WOULD CALL ME BETEN 4-7 TO SET UP ANOTHERPPOINTENT .***** SHOWED UP ON 9/20 14 , TOOK MORE PICTURES AND LDME TO SIT ON IT FOR ABOUT 6 THS AND THE PROBLEM SHOULD RESOVE ITSELF . I REFUSED TO SIGN THE TICKET AS A RESOLVED ISSUE ANTOLD HIM I CONTACTED MY PAYOR AND REQUESTED THEY TAKE BACK THE MONEY I PAID UNLESS THIS GETS REOLVED WHICH THEN HE HAD ME SPEAK TO A ***** AND I TOLD HIM THE SAME THING . AAGAIN I ASKED WHO THE MANUFACTUER WAS AND TWICE I WAS TOLD TO LOOK IT UP ,AS FOR THE ONE YEAR MANUFACTUER WARRANTY I NEVER GOT ANY PAPERWORK ON IT AND ***** TOLD ME IT WAS ON THE BACK OF MY RECIEPT . I LOOKED ON THE BACK OF THE RECIEPT AND IT TELLS YOU WHAT THEY WONT COVER NOT ANYTHING ABOUT A ONE YEAR MANUFACTUER WARRANTY AND WHAT IT DOES COVER . AND WHEN I ASKED FOR A REPLACEMENT WAS TOLD ALL OF THE MANUFACTUERS FURNITURE COMES THAT WAY . AND I TOLD THEM I LOOKED TWICE AT THE FURNITURE THE SHOWROOM AND THERE WAS NO TWO TO THREE INCH GAP IN IT . AND IF THAT WAS THE CASE AND THEY KNEW IT THEN I SHOULD OF BEEN TOLD UPFRONT AND WOULD OF BOUGHT SOMETHING ELSE OR WENT SOMEWHERE ELSE . I STILL DO NOT HAVE A MANUFACTUER WARRANTY THAT STATES WHAT IS COVERED AND NO INFORMATION WAS GIVEN TO ME ON HOW TO CLEAN THE PRODUCT UNLIKE ANOTHER STORE THAT DELIVERD A BRAND NEW DINETTE SET THE SAME DAY THAT *** WITH BAERS WAS IN MY HOUSE TELLING ME ALL THIS STUFF . I TOLD ***** WHAT *** HAD SAID AND I SAID I KNOW ALL ABOUT REBOXING .IF THAT WAS FROM WEAR AND TEAR THEN IT CAME OUT OF SOMEONE ELSES HOUSE AND REBOXED AND SENT TO MINE . AND THEN ***** OF COURSE SAID ITS NOT WEAR AND TEAR ITS JUST FROM BEING NEW SIT ON IT FOR 6 MONTHS AND THE PROBLEM SHOULD RESOLVE ITSELF

Desired Settlement
REPLACE WITH NEW NO GAP FURNITURE AND PRODUCE A ONE YEAR MANUFACTUER WARRANTY WITH IT THAT STATES SPECIFICS AS TO WHAT IS COVERED FOR THAT ONE YEAR .
ISSUE A REFUND
OR TAKE IT AS A LOSS - SINCE I HAVE SPENT 6 OR 7 PHONE CALLS AND TWO SERVICE CALLS LATER ANDI HAVE HAD TO GO OUT OF MY WAY BEEN INTO SEE THE MANAGER AT LEAST ONCE SINCE THEN . THEY SHOULD BE PAYING ME AT THIS POINT .

Business Response
See attached

Consumer Response
Please see attached

Final Business Response
Ms. ***** agreed to accept a exchange of the 2 pieces.

We have been trying to reach her by phone with no return call, the latest being today. We will continue to call her to schedule.

Thank you

10/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bought $3200 sectional, 6 weeks delivery, lasted 1 week. 1 week for repairman, told it was a knockoff, 6-8 weeks to repair, still no help after a week
We paid $3200 for a sectional and waited six weeks for delivery. Once delivered, one of the power recliners broke after one week. Called customer service and was told to "work around it". We then waited one week for a repairman to show up, trying to reschedule our 8-10 time slot for a 2-4 but was never called back. Repair man then said our set was a "knockoff" and that it would be 6 - 8 weeks for repair. Called my sales person and she was no help, telling me to ".. Call us back to let us know what happens with customer service." Really? I now work for them? Its now been 5 days with no call back and no help. I live in a new developement and have turned away three neigbors and two co-workers from Baers - all people looking to furnish their new homes. Ive since moved on to the competitor to furnish the rest of our new home. I'll also add that two of my new neighbors (HOA board members) have had similiar experiences with Baers.

Desired Settlement
Full refund of purchase price if not resolved by 9/15/14.

Business Response
The switch has arrived and we have set Mr. ***** up for service on October 7, 2014

Thank you

*** ****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
10/7/14 - I sit here with a "Sorry we missed you ..." tag on my door. The technician came and left without calling us as instructed. I just spoke with customer service and he said he called but neither my wife nor I received a call. Cx service also said that they have sent the wrong part and will have to send another one then reschedule. Really? ... In what, another 6 - 8 weeks? This is unacceptable service and we are requesting a full refund of our purchase price and to cut ties with this horrible, horrible company. We will also be following up with our credit card company to have the charges turned around.

Final Business Response
Baer's Furniture is exchanging the piece in question on October 17, 2014

Thank you

*** ****

09/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
INSTALLED DAMAGED BED FRAME, CAUSED DAMAGE TO HARD WOOD. COMPANY REFUSES TO ACCEPT RESPONSIBILITY FOR ANY OF THE DAMAGES.
We purchased a master bedroom set October 2013 from them. They installed the over $5,000 set in our bedroom, and left. In March, we discover when replacing the mattress, that their installation team had put together the bed improperly, warping the bed slats, and placing screws where castors should have been. As a result of their faulty installation, the screws bore into our brand new hardwood floors, causing substantial damage.

We called their corporate offices, spoke with their head of customer service, and then *** ***** Both REFUSED to come out, look at the install, look at the damages, and refused to take ANY responsibility for what happened, citing continually that we had passed *** allowable date to have any formal complaint acknowledge or heard.

Desired Settlement
Either complete replacing or repair of the damaged frame, and reimbursement for the damaged to our brand new floors cause by the careless installer.

Business Response
I am answering under separate cove

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They have come out and repaired the bed frame. Their delivery crew even stated to me that management had NO DESIRE TO SEE PHOTOS of the damage their fault install caused. Attempts to speak with any member of the management team about the damage to our floor as consistently been swept under the rug or met with a complete disregard for the actions of their original installation team.

Until they compensate us for the damaged floors, I will consider this still an open issue.

This is not how a customer service based company is supposed to operate!

Had I not paid off 90% of the furniture, I would have requested a full return and full refund and sued for damages months ago. We have been trying to find resolution since March.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It is obvious that Baer's furniture is attempting to rewrite history and FACTS, and spin this occurrence to fit their own purposes.

FACT #1
When we spent over $5,000 on bedroom furniture, we EXPECTED it to be of the HIGHEST QUALITY. When it was delivered, it was far from it, with scratches on a series of pieces, including the bed, meaning my 8 month pregnant wife and I had to sleep on a mattress on the floor while they found replacements for the damages furniture back in November.

FACT #2
My wife, ******** ******* begun calling this about this problem in MARCH, not June. Only in June, did I personally get involved. Any attempt to take liberties with this is a GROSS DISTORTION of FACTS.

FACT #3
Baer's states the CAPS CAME OFF. This is hugely incorrect, as the caps or castors were never installed in the first place. There were no broken fragments of a cap, or snapped off castors anywhere, it was negligence by the installer who installed the frame. Further, when the team came out a couple of weeks ago to repair the bed, the installers themselves stated that it was installed incorrectly, using wrong screws, and you could clearly see it was not capped. So again, this is an absolute LIE in how Baer's is choosing to account the facts. The fact is that due to their improper installation, our brand new hardwood floors were damaged.

FACT #4
The furniture has NEVER BEEN MOVED. Perhaps the company is not familiar with the ongoing of the 3 months following your wife having a cesarean section, but she was not even capable of moving, much less lifting or relocating any furniture. This ridiculous assertion further speaks to the fact the Baer's has chosen time and time again to disavow ANY RESPONSIBILITY for the damages incurred.

When I finally got involved, I spoke with ***, and left MULTIPLE messages with ***, and neither gave me the courtesy as a customer of even coming out to view how it was installed and the damaged that was caused. This is insulting, and further speaks to the fact that they choose to HIDE behind desks and not work directly with customers in a CUSTOMER SERVICE business, to ensure quality when paying the PRICE FOR QUALITY AND EXCELLENT SERVICE.

Baer's response is grossly inadequate, erroneously speculative, and completely without merit or ownership of the facts and the events detailed herein.

We have taken photographs of the damage done and how the bed was installed, that we will be happy to forward to the BBB to review. We sent photos to Baer's months ago, and the result was a resounding nothing.

This is not how a high end business is supposed to conduct itself, and I find their proposed resolution insulting.

Final Business Response
i will be responding to this via written letter by 8/25/14.

Thank you

*** ****

Page 1 of 13
11/25/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a Broyhill night stand for $279.00 from Baer's Furniture & it was delivered on Sept 23, 2014. On Oct 13, 2014 I went back to purchase another night stand at the same price. As I drove away from Baer's I saw the digital sign that said 50% OFF BROYHILL...COLUMBUS DAY SALE. I got home & called Baers's manager Tony & he told me the furniture was already 50% OFF. If it was 50% off I should have ONLY paid $139.50. I consider this false advertising !!
Product_Or_Service: BROYHILL night stand
Order_Number: sku XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I want the 50% discount that was advertised. I want my Broyhill night stand at $139.50 not at the $279.00 price. Thanks

Business Response
please issue a extension, this complaint was misplaced.

Thank you

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yes I will accept an extension but I want a definite answer. MISPLACED is not an acceptable answer. Hope to hear from you soon.. ***** *********

Final Business Response
Baer's Furniture advertising clearly states 50% off RETAIL price. It is not 50% off SALE price.

The $279.00 that Mr. ********* paid at out Columbus Day Sale was 50% off the retail price of %558.00

If you have any further questions please do not hesitate to contact me.

Thank you

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have photos of Baer's ad on their LED screen in front of their store states on one side " 50% OFF BROYHILL" & the other side states " COLUMBUS DAY SALE". That tells me that the sale is 50% of Broyhill. The word retail isn't shown anywhere on the sign.. Clear & simple !!!

11/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Issues with new sofa have still not been resolved more than 10 months after delivery.
Purchased a Rowe sectional in October of 2013. It arrived in January 2014 with defective casings on the cushions, and I placed my first call into Baer's customer service while the delivery driver was still in my home. I scheduled an appointment for a Baer rep to come and inspect the sectional, and he came to my home in Feb. He took photos and he agreed that the casings were defective. He said he would start the process to order 6 new casings, 4 seat and 2 back. Ten months have now passed, and I still do not have the replacement cushions. After countless phone calls with no progress, in August I eventually received 2 back casings, but the 4 seat cushions were not in the order. More phone calls to their customer service number, more excuses, and as of Oct. 28 I still don't have the replacement seat casings. I have never dealt with more apathy. It's clear that I need outside help to resolve th

Desired Settlement
I am simply looking for the 4 seat casings that were promised.

Business Response
THE CASINGS HAVE BEEN REORDERED AND ASKED FOR A "RUSH". THEY ARE DUE BY THE END OF NOVEMBER

THANK YOU

*** ****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Please do NOT close this complaint. Baer's response to the BBB is the same one they've been giving me for the past 10 months. I have been told half a dozen times that the replacement casings were on order, only to find out they were NOT.

Once I filed the BBB complaint, Baer actually called me on this issue, so the complaint got their attention. However they would not provide me any explanation as to why after 10 months I still don't have replacements for the defective casings.

I have no confidence that I will actually receive the correct replacement casings by the promised date of end of November. So until they actually resolve the problem this complaint needs to remain open.

Thank you, BBB. I appreciate your assistance.

Final Business Response
The manufacturer has acknowledged the order for the replacement casings but has not given us a shipping date. The ACK # is XXXXXXX from Rowe Furniture.

We will continue to inquire for a shipping date and update ms. *********

Baer's Furniture apologizes for the delay in this order and will follow up until completion.

Thank you

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Please do not close this complaint.

Baer customer service called me today and they are astonishingly still confused about what replacement parts they need to order for my defective sectional. So 11 months and a dozen phone calls later and they still don't have a grasp on the problem.

My replacement casings are not yet on order, so their earlier response to you that I would have the replacement seat casings by the end of November was not true, and a decent example of what I've been dealing with for the past 11 months.

11/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dining room table received has an overly distressed finish and is not acceptable to me. Service department could not fix.
The table I ordered and received from Baer's looks like it was used or handled by someone with filthy hands...
or sat unprotected in a warehouse and collected a lot of dirty grime. Considering the cost of the table & chair set ($6k), I expected it to arrive in perfect condition. At the time, I did not know I could refuse to accept the delivery. I immediately sent
pictures to my sales representative and she indicated someone from Baer's service department would come out and fix the table. They did,
but indicated to me there was nothing they could do... the blackish looking grime was part of "the distressed finish". I love
distressed finishes, but this is overly dirty and grimey looking.

My Sales representative asked me to take my dissatisfaction with the table to her manager at Baers furniture, Kent Haas, 941.923.4200.
He first told me he would have to look into it with the service department and he would call me back. He never called. I called
him a week later. He told me he would have to take the matter up with the owners of the store and would call me back. This
took two weeks and he still did not return my call. Through the Sales representative, I finally got him to return my call only for him to tell me he had turned the matter over to Baer's Customer Service. They say the table is within the manufacturer's standards. I contacted the manufacturer and sent them pictures of the table and indicated my dissatisfaction. They say the table is under factory warranty and must be handled through Baer's.

I have asked for one of two solutions...either a replacement table with a more uniform finish that doesn't look grimey, or a refund
of my money for the table and chairs. So far, I have gotten nothing but the run around from Baer's even though, according to the manufacturer, it is under factory warranty.

Desired Settlement
I have asked for one of two solutions...either a replacement table with a more uniform finish that doesn't look grimey, or a refund
of my money for the table and chairs.

Business Response
Ms. ****** is not happy with her dining room table, she feels the table top is dirty when there are actually distress makes which is the way the table is manufactured. We also got the representative from Lexington involved and he says the table is UTMS.

This was a special order and cannot be RETURNED and Baer's Furniture policy is "NO REFUNDS ON DELIVERED MERCHANDISE"

Thank you

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I immediately notified Baer's when the furniture was delivered and found unacceptable to me. I even sent pictures of the table to their Sales Representative. Baer's should have told me to not accept delivery at that time. Instead, they told me their Service department could correct the issue. A special order CAN be returned since it is still under factory warranty. I sent my pictures to a Lexington representative and have their e-mail indicating this. Also, I asked to see the e-mail from Baer's Lexington representative saying the table was UTMS, and I was NEVER provided a copy by Baer's. Baer's needs to make this right by honoring the manufacturer's warranty, picking up this table and replacing it with an acceptable one.
Thank you.

Final Business Response
The manufacturer warranty is for defects not customer preference issues.

The table Mrs. ****** purchased is UTMS, the distress marks are intentionally put there. Mrs. ****** has spoken directly to the manufacturer rep from Lexington and was told that if he ordered "10 more tables" they would all come in the same way.

Thank you

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was not told... that if he ordered "10 more tables" they would all come in the same way... by anyone! Now, it appears Baer's is making up fabrications about my interactions with the factory representatives. Maybe this is what they were told in the e-mail they supposedly received about my table, but I have never received a copy of this e-mail, even after I requested this e-mail in writing. I have my e-mail from Lexington indicating they would honor the factory warranty, but I have to go through Baer's. Baer's needs to honor the e-mail I received from Lexington and return the table under the factory warranty! Why is this such a big deal? Why is the customer's satisfaction not their goal? If a new table gets delivered to swap with the current one and has similar defects in the finish...I will accept the table and pursue other avenues for getting the finish corrected. Baer's has received quite a few other furniture orders from me with no issues. I can't understand why!!! this is not resolved to my satisfaction.

07/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I placed a special order with Baer's on a leather sectional couch on Dec 6, 2013 because I needed a different color than they had in stock. I placed a deposit of over $900 and it would take about 5 months for delivery. I received my merchandise on April 8, 2014 and tested the manual recliners that i paid extra for and the rest of the quality. I tested the same manufacturer's manual recliner in the store and they were very easy to close. Since, I was spending almost about $4k, I opted for those instead of the power recliner. When I tried them at home, i could not close them and had to discontinue using them. The other issue reported was the open stitching seam that was mismatched and also a quality issue. I immediately called my sales rep and she referred me to customer service hoping they can adjust them because it should be very easy to use and when looking at the picture of the seam it was unacceptable quality that needed to be fixed. 10 days later, the 3rd party repair company came to inspect, when the man reclined he had to jump out like I do and made several attempts to close the recliner before it closed. He claims the seam is normal and left. In over 5 weeks, I have been in constant contact with the Store, they assured me their manager would inspect it and that they would make it right. Customer Service also said they were processing the return of the defective pieces but nothing has happened. I am now paying the financing of my very expensive couch which in just a few days and a little over a month, the leather is sagging and rippling every time you sit and remains that way permanently. Very concerning for such an expensive item and clearly will need replacement in a short of time when it becomes too unsightly. At this point, I believe I am stuck with poor quality merchandise and the retailer I trusted has failed on their promises.
Product_Or_Service: Natuzzi Sectional Couch with Manual Recliners

Desired Settlement
At this point and with very little use, I don't believe this couch will hold up as I thought it would for the amount of money spent. I love the couch but I cannot use the recliners I purchased and the sagging leather will continue to deteriorate and appearance unpleasant for a brand new couch.

Business Response
Ms. ****** purchased a sectional in December 2013 which was delivered in April 2014. This was a special order which is why it took so long. A service was opened the same day because she felt the stitching was out of line with the other pieces and the recliners were hard to open.
A service company was sent out and concluded that these issues were customer preference. Ms. ****** did not agree so the manufacturer was contacted directly. They (*******) sent out a factory authorized repair company (**** ********). They fixed the left side recliner to close easier. The wedge and RSF recliner do not line up properly and will need to be removed from the home for shop repair. They await approval from ******* to do this.
The other pieces are up to standard per the manufacturer. If I can be of any further assistance please contact me


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response from Baer's is inaccurate. Both the Store Manager and ******* rep confirmed that the recliner was not set up properly which is why it would not close, it was not customer preference, it would open but not close and when tried, neither person could get it closed and we all had to jump out onto the floor and slam it. An adjustment was available and now it works fine. The other issue was actually highlighted by the ******* rep, there was too much space between the two sectional pieces, so they did remove them took them apart, re-cushioned them and returned them. Again, not customer preference but an issue with the sectionals matching up. I have accepted the seams being off as it is minimal, so that is incorrect too. In addition, when the furniture was delivered, my wood floors were permanently scratched by them dragging the furniture which i told them not too. A repair attempt was made but it is not possible to repair my type of floors that way, they cannot just be painted or patched. So now I am stuck with damaged flooring, no fault of mine and a repaired couch which is of lesser value than the full price I paid. I am agreeable to a credit on my charged AMEX for the amount of $962. in consideration of the three month wait to resolve, personal inconvenience to me, damaged floor and repaired couch. I believe this is a fair settlement considering what I have had to endure during a time of illness for me. In addition, I purchased the ***** protection plan which I was told that if anything got damaged they would replace it not repairable. In discussing with the ******* rep, you cannot simply reorder one section because the leather color will never match up so it was a bit of false advertising since I am not sure how ***** will handle any issues in the future after this experience. I have spoken to ***** Baer two times, please discuss with her to obtain authorization to process the credit. thanks

12/02/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am extremely dissatisfied with my purchase and the fact that a family owned company was so uninterested in helping me solve my problem.
I purchased a plush Kingsdown Legacy Plush Full mattress Item# XXXXXXXXX from ****** on 10/5/2013. I explained to him that I have the beginning of osteoarthritis in my hips and that I was trying to replace an extremely hard memory foam mattress. My friend has a much more expensive Kingsdown mattress, and I loved it so much I searched to see who sold them in my area. Baers is the only place. That should have been my first indication that the mattress is not good quality. ****** told me that Sealy and Serta are **** and that Kingsdown was a much better value. I only paid $500 for the mattress, but ****** promised several times that I would love it and that I would have no problem and that the mattress would be firm enough for my hip problem. The mattress in the store felt great. The mattress they delivered me was totally different. t was so soft that the entire side collapsed when I went to get off of the bed and I am only 145 pounds. It was so poorly made, that my 14 pound dog's panting shook the entire bed. I called the next day because when I woke up, I couldn't walk, because I was in so much pain. I asked for the manager, who answered the phone by saying hello, and was nasty and sounded aggravated the entire phone conversation. He immediately told me that it is illegal to take back a mattress, which is completely false, as all mattress stores give you a comfort guarantee. Then he proceeded to tell me that I have to pay a 25% restocking fee. I told him how unfair that was and he told me to go to the store the next day and speak to **********. Well, that meeting was even worse. Imagine, the owner of the company, as soon as I explained my problem, told me that I have to pay a 50% restocking fee, to which I said that's not what your manager told me (who happens to be his cousin, so obviously when I told him how rude he was, he wasn't very happy). I asked him if they are supposed to be a family owned company, wouldn't they be more inclined to want to make their customers happy? He said they have to take care of themselves. I was so disgusted that I agreed to pay the 25% ($150) to get the mattress out of my house. I would really like to get that back, because I slept on the bed for 1 night, and there is no way that it would have gotten better, if it was already so soft. Later that day I went to several other mattress stores and heard horror stories about Bears and how horrible all of the owners are, coming from people who used to work for them. I will never return to their store and will make sure all of my family and friends don't buy there either. They lie and cheat to make a sale, and don't care how it affects their customers.

Desired Settlement
I want my $150 back for the restocking fee I had to pay for a poorly made mattress that crippled me.

Business Response
Ms. ********** purchased a mattress on October 6 and it was delivered on October 11. The mattress cost was $500.00. She was delivered exactly what she ordered and there was nothing wrong with the mattress. She was advised to purchase a better mattress if she wanted proper back support.

The mattress was picked up as a courtesy since Baer's Furniture has a "NO REFUND" policy o9n any delivered merchandise.

Has Mrs. ********** reselected another mattress a restocking fee would not have been charged.

Thank you

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They are a bunch of thieves and shouldn't be in the business of taking advantage of people. As I said before, they are the only store that doesn't give any kind of comfort guarantee, and that should be changed. Do they think they are scaring me by typing their response in all caps. I still think I should get my $150 back.

Final Business Response
AT THIS TIME BAER'S FURNITURE STANDS BEHIND OUR ORIGINAL RESPONSE.

OUR POLICY IS THAT WE "DO NOT ISSUE REFUNDS ON DELIVERED MERCHANDISE" AND THE MATTRESS WAS NOT DEFECTIVE IN ANY WAY.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture - Retail

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.