BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/1987

LaRue Furniture, Inc.

Phone: (561) 496-2300Fax: (561) 499-8824

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
08/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a dining room set on July16,2013.
This was a floor model and was sold as is.
I was assured that there was no fracture of the marble top.
Delivery next morning the fractured top was not noticed. A few days later,I noticed a break on the marble top. I immediately called La Rue and spoke to ********* **** came out to house to inspect crack. He took pictures and noticed it could not be repaired.
LaRue suggested I call Uniters. As I purchased their insurance. They sent *** out. He observed a bracket under the table was missing and is the cause of thebreak. I have been trying to resolve this problem for several weeks but no resolution has been reached. In addition, LaRue has not been cooperative. Although this was a floor model, there was no fracture at time of purchase. Most likely the fracture occured during transport of the table by LARue.

Desired Settlement
I want the table top replaced with a new one.

04/06/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The material on sofa arm is peeling away.
Purchased Sofa color phoenix stone vendor Pall
Purchase date 8/4/2012, Order no. XXXXXX,Sales rep Dennis, Payment amount $899 plus tax, payment American Express.Called La Rue on 2/8 and 2/19/2016 regarding the material on the arm peeling away. Spoke to Mary ***** on telephone and also sent an email picture(2) of the problem. She called me on 2/23/2016 saying they were not going to do anything as the sofa was in my home for 2 1/2 years. No one has even sat on the sofa. There is only my husband and I in the home. We are senior citizens and we did not spend over $900 for a sofa not to last. A sofa at any price should last a lot longer than that. I also purchased two items at that time for a order totaling almost $2500.

Desired Settlement
Either an exchange or they can take it back and return my money. I happen to love the sofa.

Business Response
The customer received this merchandise on 8/9/12 and as explained the manufacturer has a 1 year warranty, which has expired. I have attached a copy of the signed sales order which states the policy.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
An item should last more than one year. They should back up their merchandise. I did not spend over $900 for a sofa not to last. We are on a fixed income and cannot afford to buy a new sofa after 3 1/2 years of wear. They are in business for so many years I do not understand how they do not back up their merchandise.
I enclosed pictures and just looking at the condition of the sofa should make a difference.

12/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
9/26/15 my Son & I went to ***** Furn.to see about an adjustable bed for me. I was just home from Hospital after my 2nd spout with congenital heart failure and water in my lungs. I was told I needed to elevate both my head and feet which made it necessary to purchase that type of bed. After trying 2 beds that were not good, my Son asked if he had any other beds to suit my needs. The salesman took us to another room where he had a "Serta" adjustable set. When I tried it out I said the "Wave" motion on the remote did not work. He replied that it did and he could actually feel it! Being tired I took his word for the remote doing the "wave" motion as he said. I then asked about the Warranty. He replied there was at least a 5 year warranty for this set. I then asked how long it was in the store. His reply was "only 2 or 3 months". I also asked where it was made. Told it was made in USA. Being in dire need of an adjustable bed, I said O.K. The salesman said he would sell me the set at a great price. Unfortunately, he LIED about EVERYTHING! I did not know this until I did some research after the bed was delivered! The 1st Lie was that the Box Spring was made by ERGOMOTION,INC. AND because it came from LA RUE's floor I lost my warranty of 25 years down to a 1 year warranty. The top of the Mattress and Box Spring had tags that were attached and both had date of manufacture & origin. The Box Spring was made in China, Aug.18th,2011. The Mattress was also made in China Aug 26,2011. Therefor it could have been @ La Rue's for many years & not 2 or 3 months! Also, there is NO WAVE Motion for that Box Spring. The Wave indicator on Remote is for "Vibration" only which I told salesman I did not want! It gave me a headache! Spoke to **** ***** who asked me what ***** can do to please me? I said I want some money returned since I overpaid on a 4yr. old set!. She RUDELY said there would be NO Credit. I feel I was taken advantage of. Please help! Thank you.-**** *******

Desired Settlement
I feel I overpaid for a 4 yr.old product when I was told it was only 2 or 3 months. I would appreciate a "Credit" for half the purchase price placed on the card it was charged with!

Business Response
On 10/5/15 customer called stating that one remote was not working properly. A technician was sent to inspect the remote as a courtesy and discovered that it was working correctly, explaining the functions of the buttons to the customer.This item was sold as Floor Sample/Clearance/As Is which is stated on the sales order signed by the customer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The Salesman lied about everything. He told me that this item was only a couple of months old. Turned out yo be 4 years old! He also stated that I have a guarantee from Serta for at least 5 years. Turned out that I have NO warrantee from Serta! Also I paid for a new bed and did not receive such! The Salesman lied and that was deceptive or a scam to get me to purchase bed! I do not intend to accept their way of doing business.
This was deceptive and shameful! I will continue to report their deceptive way of doing business to "Consumers Protection" and all other agencies
that will help me to resolve this matter to a fair & correct solution. Thank you for your continued help.

Final Business Response
Our customer came into the store and tried several mattresses selected the bedding that was delivered to them in a timely manner. After delivery of the mattress which was sold as Floor Sample/Clearance/ As Is. The customer called stating service was required two times. as a courtesy we sent our technician, provided information to the customer on the bed functions and operations and corrected the issue.

Complaint Response Date bumped because: Thanksgiving

Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I still feel I was OVERCHARGED for a mattress & Box Spring that was 4 years old. When I purchased it last month I was told it was 2 or 3 MONTHS OLD & THAT i HAD A Guarantee for at least 5 years -which is not true! I have NO guarantee because this set was sold to me under false information from Salesman! For the records the box spring motor BROKE last week. Yes they sent a service man who supposedly replaced the MOTOR wich raises & lowers the top part of bed. I did appreciate that but I still feel I overpaid! I was under the impression & was told by their Salesman that I was receiving NEW merchandise. As stated previously, this was a downright LIE! Thank you for your continued help. Perhaps I should complain to Consumers Protection about the overchrge if they will not refund any amount? However, I do appreciate their fixing the "old" boxspring.
Thank You,
**** *******

09/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Back leather cushions damaged after less than normal use in a two year period.
We were misled to believe that the cushions on our two year old sofa are real leather. The sofa receives minimum use. The back cushions where they meet the seat cushions are wearing out. There are spots where the leather is wearing out!!! Real leather should NOT be doing this which leads us to believe it is fake leather which is not what we paid for.
Problem date: 7/16/15. Purchase date: 4/29/13.
Model number: Lanza Queen Sofa Bed.Order number: XXXXXX
Account number: n/a. Sales rep: Rick ******** Payment amount: $1,675.00. Payment method: MasterCard.
We purchased a five year accident policy for $149.00. We went to the store explained the problem with photos to the original sales person who sold us the sofa and he said that we would get a call back from Mary *****, the store representative who handles problems. She did call back the following Monday, and advised us there was nothing the store could do about it because the sofa was two years old. We also tried to contact them on Facebook without any response so we felt we had no alternative other than to contact BBB.

Desired Settlement
Replacement or repair of the back cushions and guarantee against any future of the same damage.

Business Response
On 7/20/15 I called the customer and advised them that this item was purchased over 2 years ago and is no longer covered under the 1 year warranty. I then proceeded to provide the phone number of the extended accidental policy purchased along with 2 leather specialists.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
LaRue should stand behind their product for this kind of damage which should not have happened to LEATHER, especially since we had paid extra for insurance. We feel that we were mislead at the time of purchase into believing that the cushions were REAL LEATHER.

02/29/2016Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture Designers & Custom Builders, Furniture - Wholesale, Furniture - Retail

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.