BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/20/2010

MovieTickets.com, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (561) 322-3200Fax: (561) 322-32222255 Glades Rd., Suite 100E, Boca RatonFL 33431

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/20/2010

BBB has determined that MovieTickets.com, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised MovieTickets.com, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 20 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues7
Billing / Collection Issues2
Delivery Issues3
Problems with Product / Service8
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 20

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on MovieTickets.com, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (20)BBB Closure Definitions
02/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charged me in full for movie tickets they did not remit. When I made them aware they said it's a bug and still did nothing about it.
I just attempted to purchase tickets on this site and after taking my billing information their system told me that particular theater did not accept online ticket purchases, however this company still proceeded to charge me in full. I've called their customer service team and they were extremely rude and told me it was a known technical issue on the site and they would send it to their supervisor. There's nothing else they could do. Now I'm out the full amount of the ticket prices and have no tickets, no receipt, no confirmation email. Just a charge on my account. Beware to others, I would NOT trust this site. It appears they are fully aware they are scamming people out of their money with no intention of providing any service.

Desired Settlement
58.00 refund immediately

Business Response
The accusations contained in this complaint are false. Programactically, our site will not collect billing information for a theater that does not offer online ticketing with our service.

Our automated detection devices flagged the email address used for this order as potentially fraudulent and the order failed. The account was authorized only, not charged, the authorization was immediately reversed, allowing the funds to be available.

If this has not happened, please contact me immediately. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and will ensure the matter is resolved to Ms. ********'s satisfaction.

12/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Malfunctioning website and poor customer service.

I purchased movie tickets online with for 12/2 7:00 pm showing of Horrible Bosses II at the ******************** Cinema. However, when I reviewed my confirmation email, I noticed it was for a theater in Cedar Rapids, IA. Also the date was for 11/25 instead of 12/2. I emailed customer service, but did not hear back from them, so I called and spoke to a woman named ******. She said I would have to call the cinema in Iowa for a refund. I then sent a complaint through MovieTickets.com's website about the fact that they had no process in place to correct mistakes or provide refunds. If MovieTickets.com can take my money, the should have a process to refund it. I did call the theater in IA and the person on the phone said he would do the best he could to refund my credit card. Apparently, they can refund the cost of the movie, but not the service fee that Movietickets.com collects. I have not had this bad of service in years. What are the people who run this place thinking?

Desired Settlement
I spent $12.00 on two tickets for a Tue special movie night. I would like that back.

Business Response
When tickets are purchased for ****** ******** on MovieTickets.com, the processing of the credit card is handled at the theater. For that reason alone, MovieTickets.com is unable to process a refund. A merchant is unable to process a refund for a card that the merchant did not originally charge.

It is unclear from the complaint whether or not the refund was handled at the theater, please provide that information.

We would be happy to send Mr. ******* a promotional code good for two free tickets (including the service fee) if that would be an acceptable resolution to this matter.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In my opinion, if I purchase tickets on MovieTickets.com, then MovieTickets.com is responsible for providing a full refund when circumstances call for it.

First of all, the website never should have switched my city from Sheboygan to Cedar Rapids. Apparently this happens often because the theater in Cedar Rapids said they get this all the time. They were able to credit my account for ten dollars, but the two dollar service fee was not refunded. I don't want 84% of my costs refunded. I want 100% refunded and an apology with a sincere desire to correct the issues of a faulty website and lack of a return process.

I didn't set up the process for transactions through MovieTickets.com, but if I did, I would be ashamed of my work. To treat customers like this is unimaginable.

Finally, if MovieTickets.com wants to comp me two tickets, I will not pursue this matter further, but I strongly suggest they look at their transaction process and return process for future purchases.

Final Business Response
As mentioned in our prior response, we detailed the reason for the refund process being the way it is and apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.
We will provide Mr. ******* a promotional code good for two free tickets, it will be sent to his email address listed on the complaint.

11/03/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My wife, ******** ***** received an email from movietickets.com inviting her and a friend to attend a private showing of an yet to be completed movie, stating that she and her guest would receive $10.00 for viewing the show. she was told to arrive before 6:30, witch we did, and we would be seated for the showing. Well we were given forms to fill out with our personal info. so we did and it was collected by their staff. Then we were told that they were sorry but the theater was already full and we were told to leave the area. When we asked for our info. back they, could not find it. They were at best deceiving about the arrival time and the $10.00. I fell we were cheated out of our time and the expense of traveling there, as well viewing a movie.

Desired Settlement
Settlement for travel time and cost also for waiting time . $20.00 ea.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *****
Contact Email: ******@movietickets.com
Please provide more information about the screening. The MovieTickets.com role is to invite users to see free movies as a benefit of being a member, we work with numerous partners to prepare these screenings. Please send the time, date and movie title along with any other pertinent information and we will look further into this matter.

05/12/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Tried to use movietickets.com gift card. First time worked, now it does not work. No answer on phone support. No reply to email complaint.
I was given a $35 movietickets.com gift card. I used it once, then tried to use it again a few days ago. Website says card is invalid. Tried to call customer service, but line rings only once and then hangs up. Tried to email customer support, but did not receive any reply.

Desired Settlement
I would like the card to work. Failing that, I should be given a refund of the $35 paid for the card.

Business Response
Mr. ****** - please try the card again, if it still does not work, please contact me directly at ******@movietickets.com.

Thank you,

****

02/28/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Cashed in C.C. rewards points for a $35 gift card (through third party) for MovieTickets.com, learned afterwards redemption is limited. What a scam.
Cashed in rewards points for a $35 gift card for MovieTickets.com. Prior to getting the card, I went onto MovieTickets.com and confirmed that I could buy tickets for my local movie theater through the site. Well after redeeming the card, it told me I could only use it at 2 different movie theaters that 1) are 45 minutes away from me and 2) Are in BAD neighborhoods. I got this to get tickets from a movie theater they sell tickets for. Little did I know, unlike every other gift card I had ever gotten, MovieTickets.com limits what you can buy with their gift card. This is my issue!!! If you call it a gift card, it better be able to be used to purchase anything you sell. Otherwise you need to call it a movie pass for "Participating Theater's Only".

I also want to share that others have had the same problem, please see comments at: http://www.sitejabber.com/reviews/www.movietickets.com

Also, see comments at: http://www.epinions.com/webs-Web_Services-All-Merchants-MovieTickets_com/display_~reviews?sb=1

Desired Settlement
I would like rewards points refunded, my $35 back or $35 to use at the AMC Theater in Columbia, MD.

Business Response
AMC theaters recently joined MovieTickets.com after a 2 year hiatus. The use of our gift cards is expected to be available within 20-30 days, at that time you will be able to use the gift card at any AMC location. If you prefer not to wait, just let us know and we'll refund the $35.

Page 1 of 4

Industry Comparison| Chart

Entertainment Bureaus

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/15/2010Business started: 01/01/1993
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Palm Beach Tax Collector
PO Box 3715 301 N. Oliver Ave, 3rd Flr
West Palm Beach, FL33402-3715
(561) 355-2264
http://www.co.palm-beach.fl.us

Boca Raton, City of
201 West Palmetto Park Road
Boca Raton, FL33432-3795
(561) 393-7789
http://www.ci.boca-raton.fl.us

BBB records show a license number of 200417235 for this company, issued by Palm Beach Tax Collector. Their web address is http://www.co.palm-beach.fl.us.

Check License Status: http://pbctax.manatron.com/Tabs/BusinessTax/AccountDetail.aspx?p=200417235&a=1716835

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 201254633 for this company, issued by Palm Beach Tax Collector. Their web address is http://www.co.palm-beach.fl.us.

Check License Status: http://pbctax.manatron.com/Tabs/BusinessTax/AccountDetail.aspx?p=201254633&a=2610923

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 14-00055111 for this company, issued by Boca Raton, City of. Their web address is http://www.ci.boca-raton.fl.us.

Check License Status: https://c2g.ci.boca-raton.fl.us/Click2GovBLP/licensedetail.html?OWASP CSRFTOKEN=F1NK-77HI-1552-MV3S-TB6Z-NF82-V0B7-BQT0¢ury=1&year=14&number=55111&searchType=6&consolidated=N

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 14-00055113 for this company, issued by Boca Raton, City of. Their web address is http://www.ci.boca-raton.fl.us.

Check License Status: https://c2g.ci.boca-raton.fl.us/Click2GovBLP/licensedetail.html?OWASP CSRFTOKEN=B597-GN3T-7VMW-0ZH4-73LD-P8RZ-UQA8-YI6K¢ury=1&year=15&number=55113&searchType=6&consolidated=N

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joel Cohen (CEO)Customer Contact: Mr. Melissa Orlen (EVP)Ms. Barbara Campogiani (Executive Assistant)
Business Category

Entertainment Bureaus

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for MovieTickets.com, Inc.

2255 Glades Rd.

Boca Raton, FL 33431

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 2255 Glades Rd 

    Boca Raton, FL 33431

  • 2255 Glades Rd.
    Suite 100E 

    Boca Raton, FL 33431(561) 322-3200

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*MovieTickets.com, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Entertainment Bureaus

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.