BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/29/2009

Southern Coast Electrical Services, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (954) 495-8040Fax: (561) 584-85021804 NW Madrid Way, Boca RatonFL 33432-1733

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/29/2009

BBB has determined that Southern Coast Electrical Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Southern Coast Electrical Services, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Southern Coast Electrical Services, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
10/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
ON JUNE 25TH,MY AC WAS NOT COOLING. I CALLED THIS COMPANY AND THE SERVICE MAN WENT ON THE ROOF,PUT INA PART AND FREON. AFTER HE CAME DOWN,HE TOLD ME
AFTER HE CAME DOWN,HE TOLD ME THAT HE DID NOT KNOW HOW LONG THE AC WILL WORK. ON JULY 3RD,IT DIED. I FEEL THAT HE SHOULD HAVE TOLD ME THAT HE DID NOT KNOW HOW LONG IT WOULD WORK BEFORE HE DID THE WORK. I WOULD HAVE CHOSEN TO GET A NEW UNIT. IN FACT, WE DID TALK ABOUT THIS AND I TOLD HIM TO SEND ME A PROPOSAL, WHICH HE DID NOT DO. I PAID HIM $300.00 WHICH I COULD HAVE APPLIED TO A NEW AC. I WAS WITHOUT AC FROM JULY3RD TO JULY 9TH IN IN HEAT THAT I AM LUCKY TO HAVE SURVIVED.

Desired Settlement
I WROTE THEM AND AM REQUESTING THE FULL AMOUNT OF $300.00 THIS PERSON MADE THE CHOICE FOR ME AND SINCE THIS WAS MY AC AND MY MONEY, HE SHOULD HAVE GIVEN ME THE CHOICE.

Business Response
On July/25/14 we were called for an AC not working.
There was a service call to come out for $89.00. This was to come out and diagnose the system.
We had to get the unit running and told her we had to charge the system and replace a bad capacitor. we charged $211.00 to do this work. we told her that she had an old unit and did not know when it would break down again. we told her if she wanted a new unit we would credit her the $300.00 toward a new unit. She did not want a new unit at this time so we charged $300.00 for the work that was performed. we have a signed document that she approved these charges. It also states that her unit is is going bad.

Consumer Response
THE STATEMENT SOUTHERN MADE IS NOT TRUE. I WAS NEVER TOLD ABOUT A $89.00 SERVICE CHARGE. ALSO. AS I STATED BEFORE, I WAS NOT GIVEN THE OPPORTUNITY TO DECIDE WHETHER TO FIX THE UNIT OR GET A NEW ONE. AFTER HE DID THE WORK, HE TOLD ME IT WAS OLD AND WOULD BREAK DOWN AGAIN. HE DID NOT, NEVER NEVER NEVER SAID THAT IF I WANTED TO GET A NEW ONE,THEY WOULD CREDIT ME FOR THE $300.00. THIS STATEMENT FROM SOUTHERN IS MADE UP TO COVER THEIR MISTAKE. IF SOUTHERN WANTS TO BE PAID FOR THE CALL,I WOULD SETTLE FOR THE $89.00. HOWEVER, IF THEY PERSIST IN GOING FOR THIS FABRICATED STORY, THEN NO.


Business Response
All calls when taken are told of our service call that $89.00 This is for the call an to diagnose the issue.The Ac was not working when we got there and it was working when we left. On the invoice it is noted that she needs a new AC because we didn't know how long it would last. She signed the invoice and paid us for our work that we performed. Also she has disputed these charges on her credit card and they have already been return to her. You can see from the file attached.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electricians, Electrical Power Systems Maintenance, Auto Electric Equipment, Generators - Electric

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/07/2009Business started: 11/10/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
https://www.myfloridalicense.com/wl11.asp?mode=0&SID=

Palm Beach Tax Collector
PO Box 3715 301 N. Oliver Ave, 3rd Flr
West Palm Beach, FL 33402-3715
(561) 355-2264
http://www.co.palm-beach.fl.us

Boca Raton, City of
201 West Palmetto Park Road
Boca Raton, FL 33432-3795
(561) 393-7789
http://www.ci.boca-raton.fl.us

BBB records show a license number of EC13004081 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is https://www.myfloridalicense.com/wl11.asp?mode=0&SID=. The expiration date of this license is 08/31/2016.

Check License Status: https://www.myfloridalicense.com/LicenseDetail.asp?SID=&id=C9C1D6E4B583C366A7F28CCD641DFB8E

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 200911665 for this company, issued by Palm Beach Tax Collector. Their web address is http://www.co.palm-beach.fl.us.

Check License Status: http://pbctax.manatron.com/Tabs/BusinessTax/AccountDetail.aspx?p=200911665&a=1837210

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 15-00099354 for this company, issued by Boca Raton, City of. Their web address is http://www.ci.boca-raton.fl.us.

Check License Status: http://c2g.ci.boca-raton.fl.us/Click2GovBLP/businesslicensesearch.html

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 15-00058890 for this company, issued by Boca Raton, City of. Their web address is http://www.ci.boca-raton.fl.us.

Check License Status: https://c2g.ci.boca-raton.fl.us/Click2GovBLP/businesslicensesearch.html

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Leonard S Cipolla (President)
Business Category

Electricians, Electrical Power Systems Maintenance, Auto Electric Equipment, Generators - Electric

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Southern Coast Electrical Services, Inc.

1804 NW Madrid Way

Boca Raton, FL 33432-1733

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1804 NW Madrid Way 

    Boca Raton, FL 33432-1733

  • 3809 Australian Ct. 

    West Palm Beach, FL 33407

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Southern Coast Electrical Services, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Electricians

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.