BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/28/2013

Kings Electricians

Phone: (866) 592-4161Fax: (954) 753-9103View Additional Phone Numbers12075 NW 40th Street, Unit 6, Coral SpringsFL 33065View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/28/2013

BBB has determined that Kings Electricians meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Kings Electricians' rating include:

  • 7 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Kings Electricians' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Kings Electricians

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
04/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After completing work in 2004, Kings Electricians failed to close the permit by scheduling a final inspection preventing/delaying the sale of my home.
During Hurricane Wilma in late 2004, my electrical panel in my home stopped working. I found Kings Electricians (aka Kings Electrical Contractors) in the Yellow Pages. I hired them and they repaired/replaced the panel (including placing their sticker with their company information on the panel).

The work required a permit from the City, which **** ******* *******, with Kings Electricians, pulled. **** applied for the permit on Nov. 24, 2004, and it was issued on Nov. 29, 2004. However, **** nor anyone from Kings Electricians, called the City of Boca Raton for the final inspection by the City to close the permit after they completed the work.

The city closed the permit on May 29, 2005, without a final inspection.

I was unaware of this oversight until I had a contract to sell my house and the title search found the open permit on Nov. 20, 2013. I cannot sell my house with this permit open.

On Nov. 20, I called the city to find out what happened. They explained that Kings Electricians never closed the permit, and hasn't been licensed to do business in Boca Raton since 2011. So, in order to close the permit, Kings Electricians needs to bring their license current in the City, pay to reopen my permit, and call for a final inspection. (When I paid for the work it included the cost of the original permit.)

On Nov. 21, I called I contacted Kings Electricians. ****** at the company instructed me to email her the permit and she would help. I did as she asked and I never from her. I followed up with a call to ****** and she said they aren't the same company. Of course, they have the same logo, address, and electrician. Therefore, I sent a certified letter explaining that they are the same company and need to finish the project I paid them for. **** called leaving a message that I needed to provide a paid receipt for the work or they would not help. This work was done almost 10 years ago. I cannot locate a receipt. However, they pulled the permit and did the work and now will not finish the job.

On Jan. 3, 2014, I sent **** ******* and ****** and email with all of the information from the City showing they are the company that pulled the permit.

I will be forced to pay the City to reopen the permit and hire an electrician to close the permit in order to sell my home.

Desired Settlement
I would like for Kings Electricians to finish the job ... open the permit ($107) and schedule the final inspection to close the permit. And to do this ASAP so I may sell my house.

Business Response
The complaint Mr. ******** filed with the Better Business Bureau ....



I explained to Mr. ******** that the permit would have to be re-opened. This permit is 12 years old. All our records are archived.

I explained to him we would take care of it and charge him exactly what the "City Of Boca Raton" would

charge us. He was extremely arrogant , rude, nasty and obnoxious and insisted we take care of it... immediately. For no cost to him.



I would be more than happy to close this permit for him .

If we have to pay for the re-opening and closing of the permit. ...We will..... in order to close this complaint.

03/29/2016Advertising / Sales Issues
12/07/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had an electrical problem in my kitchen and found this company on line. Called and made an appointment, and King employee showed up 3 days late. When he finally showed up, he advised that he was only here to give a quote! The issue I had was a 3 way switch problem. He said he would give me a deal and would charge me only $ 516.34 dollars. So now that I've spent all this time with this company, give them the OK to show up 2 days later at 10:00 AM. He shows up alone, point out the problem with 3 way switch and he responds by saying in 35 years he has never seen this type of switch. He states that my home is not wired for 3 way. Long story short, for the next two hours, all I hear is complaints about how bad this work effort will be and the cost would exceed $500 and would at least a days effort. At this point I could not take the complaints and asked him to leave. I felt threatened by him and called the local police dept. I was able to get most of my deposit back ($60 did not recoup). Called another electrician, repaired it in two hours for $175. this was an extremely stressful situation and hoping my complaint will help others from going through this nightmare with this company.
Order_Number: Work oder 3906

Desired Settlement
Their customer service really needs to improve !

Business Response
Unfortunately, , the technician we sent to the customers home, was totally out of line.
He is no longer with the company and I would be more than happy to refund the 59.95 for the "Uncalled" for experience he had with our company. Please provide us with a mailing address if this option will satisfy his complaint

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
For all that i went through ,yes I`ll take my $59.00 back.After your Ex employee left my home ,I was worst off,For the sake of your company,I hope your telling the truth about ,he no longer working their, never met any body so unprofessional. Please send Check to *** NW *** Ave ******** ***** Fl XXXXX.

Final Business Response
This was settled in the amount of 59.95 to settle the complaint

07/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Breaker broken. Service call quoted $59.95.Man came did not have part.He bypassed ******* and connected to a live wire.New part would cost 600.00.
Saturday, May XX XXXX.We discovered breaker broken.Power was out.Air conditioner not working.Found Kings electric # on the internet.Called 1 o'clock pm."******" quoted service call would be 59.95.Man showed up at 6 0'clock.He went right to outside box ,not ringing my doorbell.We saw him and went outside.He did not have part.He disconnected wire and connected it to a live wire bypassing **** breaker.He said he would return with a new breaker price 600.00 dollars.He asked for a 300.00deposit . I gave him a check.He left.We thought that was kind of too much.Upon research we found that the part retailed about 60.00 dollars.I called office and told ****** to cancel order.I told her to charge me with service call and return check.I told her this was Price Gouging.She refused to return check.I am 81 years old, disabled vet with health issues.I said I would call the Elder abuse Department.She gave me a nasty answer and hung up on me.This turned out to be home repair fraud,ripoff, and price gouging. I am also writing to the Florida attorney general.Their license should be revoked.I was advised to stop the check.I thought maybe we could negotiate.It turned that no matter what Iwas not getting my money back.

Desired Settlement
I expect to be charged only with service call.Refund my deposit and just charge me with service call.A gross disparity in the price. A clear case of fraud ,elder abuse, and price gouging.

Business Response
Mr. ***** called for service at his parents house at approximately 5: P.M. They had NO AIR CONDITIONING. I sent our technician ...AFTER HOURS..
We GAVE THEM "TEMPORARY" power to their air conditioner unit. We ordered the "Breaker" that was needed to fix the unit.
Mr ***** cancelled the work order...His parents had "Temporary Power"..The customer decided to allow it to run that way until it breaks down again.
I actually should have charged him more... 129.95 for my emergency call, Plus for the work that was done to get him power....232.22

The total cost of the job should have been 362.17.
He should be thanking Kings Electric & A.C. instead of writing to you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Their response is complete .They were called at 1:00 pm and were told that we needed a new circuit breaker.Man returned call and said he would be at my house about 20 minutes.He showed up at 5.He bypassed ******* and rigged an illegal connection(fire hazard).He did not have part "DUH " He said rebuilt circuit breaker would cost about $600.00.He asked for a $300.00 deposit which I gave.Within an hour after he left upon researching the part, I learned it cost $71.00.I called office to cancel order and to charge me advertised price of $59.95 and to refund me balance.Sec.refused.We ordered part and repair was done within a couple of days (I have receipt)A gross disparity in price,gouging,elderly abuse,

Final Business Response
We are licensed insured electricians.
This is our price to give him temporary power.
He was very happy when we left since it was 98 degrees.. and we gave him air conditioning. He was not complaining that we did anything that would be a "fire hazard" That is obsurd.
We are not a charity company...This customer will like us to work for almost nothing.
Once again.. he should be thanking me... Not complaining.

Final Consumer Response
See attached.

12/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company damaged our existing equipment with their shoddy installation
Kings Electrical was brought in for an estimate and gave us an initial quote of approximately $1400 to ensure that our commercial property's lighting would function properly, as some of the units had faulty/burned out light bulbs and/or bad ballasts.. When their technicians arrived on site, and after receiving a deposit, they continued updating their quote and it ballooned nearly 300%. We understand that the lighting could not be as thoroughly inspected as necessary at the time of the initial quote to provide accuracy, and we expected the subsequent quote to increase, but a 300% increase is blatant incompetence. That it was delivered to us after we made a $500 deposit is also telling, considering that if we backed out of the repairs at that point, we would forfeit our deposit as their cost of bringing out a bucket truck to do the inspection.

To make matters worse, the owner, ****, uses unqualified and unprofessional technicians to perform work, including his own son. His son and another tech dug a terribly constructed trench on the southeast corner of our property which was not according to code. Within 2 days, the trench exposed the piping containing dangerous electrical wiring. If **** is going to use untrained workers to do haphazard work, he should come inspect the job himself to see what an embarrassment his techs are making of his company.

Within 5 calendar days of the job being "finished," we had 2 failures of ballasts. These ballasts had previously run for 6 months without failure, yet as soon as Kings Electrical finished their shoddy electrical installation, we began having these failures within days. **** was quick to blame the failure on old equipment. No chance his own employees, with an already proven track record of gross negligence, could have caused the damage. We wanted the repairs completed however, so we paid for the replacement ballasts and had them installed.

Within days of the work being "finished" for a second time, another lighting fixture on the corner of the property failed. ****'s new tech came out to inspect and found that the work done by ****'s previous tech (who was recently fired) was done improperly, leaving electrical wires exposed to the rain/elements. Additionally, ****'s new tech stated that the housing was broken, and that water was getting into the housing directly as well. His company checked all the lights on the property, yet this information was never disclosed to us. As a result, his company's negligence in providing us the inspection we were promised and have grossly overpaid for, has caused additional damage to our equipment. Of course, a conversation with **** reveals no intention to repair the damages, even though his tech (a poor hire apparently, which shows that his hiring ability is no better than the installation abilities of his own employees) is the one who caused them.

I won't pay them another dime to fix the damage they caused themselves. Not to mention, if I got this "repair" done, their track record indicates that they would manage to break something else and they would ask us to pay for that too.

In addition to this complaint, we are processing legal action against his company. Fortunately, we have discussed this situation with his previous employee who confirmed that this could have been prevented, and that it's not the first time it's happened.

Desired Settlement
I do not want this company coming back out here for additional service because I'm afraid it would cost us more money when they manage to damage something else like they've already done twice. The only resolution we are looking for is a refund of the cost of a new lighting fixture, which was estimated at approximately $500.

Business Response
Customer called our company for service. We we scheduled out technician to go to the property. We agreed on a price . Customer signed the contract.
Wer have completed all the work and custor signed our contract

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The work was not completed and the company has not returned any payments for the unfinished work. There are still lighting fixtures which have never functioned properly which we paid for.

Final Business Response
If the customer is asking for a refund in the amount of 500.00..Ito purchase a new fixture...I will discuss it with the owner and call the customer directly by Friday, December 12th, 2014.

10/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
200 $ was paid for a false diagnosis. The owner tried to charge me 650 dollars to replace two wires that had notHing to do with what was wrong.
the owner came out on saturday july 27thto fix my air conditionhe shows up and says that it will be a 60 dollar service fee even though the secretary said it would be wavedI agree he proceeds to check out the air conditioning and then comes to me and says I owe him 200 dollars for diagnostics..he claims that what is wrong with my air conditioning is to faulty wires that he has to charge me 650 dollarsso I give him 200 dollars and he is supposed to send two people on monday...nobody comes I have to call b office in reschedule for the next dayso I brought a friend over to pull the wires himself in he told me there is nothing wrong with the wires meanwhile I have a friend repair my ac and there is nothing wrong with anything electrical it was just out of freon

Desired Settlement
I would like for fraudulent businesses that prey on the defenseless to get shut down. ...but I'd be happy with a refund of the fake diagnostic fee .....650 dollars to run 5 feet of wire that isn't damaged is crazy..

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@kingselectricians.com
Customer called Kings Electricians & Air Conditioning. He already had 2 other A.c. companies out to his home. The first one wanted to sell hima new unit. The 2md one said there was no power to the A.C.unit on the roof. he then called "Kings
I sent my electrician to his home. We didi a "level 1 " Diagnostictp cofirm the findings the the 2nd A.C. companny. We diagnosed the issues.. and confirmed there was power to the roof... but the control wiring was compropmised. and the disconnect switch was in "Dis-repair"
We quoted him a price and he stated that he did not have the funds at that time to pay for the repair.
He paid for the dignosis.. $200.000 and said he would cal us to do the wirk.
He came to my office to schedule the work the following day. I sent our electrician to his home the following and he did not answer the door and did not let him in.

A few hours later he came to my office.. threatening and demanding his money back for the "Diagnosis Fee". he finally left , but I did call the police. Ther is a record of this incident available to you.
Please advise if I can be any further assistance and a confirmaetion that this complaint has bee satisfied.
Thank-you
****** ********
Office Manager

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This was a false diagnosis! I was charged by this company to fix something that was not broken. I signed what i thought was their receipt for a diagnosis and deposit on work that did not need to be done. I cannot stress this any more than I have. When I found out that this was a completely bogus/fabricated diagnosis and I was about to be ripped off, of course I was upset and went to their office to demand my money back. If their reaction to an upset customer is to call the police. .. that's a lack of customer service. I threatened to go to the police fraud dEpartment and bbb, not physical threats... and the police of course did not Contact me. I could just as well call the police for fraud if that's how this company sees fit to treat consumers. If this is how this company makes its Money. .by misleading consumers into spending a lot of Money on things that aren't broken. .taking advantage of consumers Just because they have no electrical or hvac knowledge. ...they should be shut down. They should be investigated and shut down. I will continue to try every avenue to get my money back but was hoping they could just be decent people and acknowledge their mistake. . But apparently this was no mistake But a deliberate attempt to swindle me. ..I have made an offer for this company to return to my home and inspect the so called faulty wires. . And my knockout box that supposedly was broken. ... if this was an honest company they would take the twenty minutes it would take for this guy to return here and verify that they were wrong. ... but instead they choose to spend all this time going back and forth on here and refuse to correct their mistake- despicable practise. ... I will continue to write bad reviews in the meantime and document this in my business classes and spread this to some of the journalist students at my school. ..... please return my money. .. and close your business until you learn about ethics

Final Business Response
Please review the copy of our contract that the customer signed.
He decided not to do the work. No problem. We did not charge him.
We charged him for the diagnostic fee which was completed on the first and l only visit to his home.
He came to the office threatening me to the point that i had to call the police.
Please advise me when this case is closed.

Thank-you

05/09/2016Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electricians, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Contractor - Electrical, Electricians - Commercial, Lighting Consultants, Heating & Air Conditioning, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Heating & Air Conditioning - Filters, Landscape Lighting, Air Conditioning Repair, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Electric Companies, Electrical Power Systems Maintenance

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/22/2004Business started: 11/07/1990
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
https://www.myfloridalicense.com/wl11.asp?mode=0&SID=

Broward County Business Tax
Broward County Governmental Offices 115 S. Andrews Ave.
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301-1818
(954) 357-7235
http://www.broward.org/Pages/Welcome.aspx

BBB records show a license number of EC0001133 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is https://www.myfloridalicense.com/wl11.asp?mode=0&SID=. The expiration date of this license is 08/31/2016.

Check License Status: https://www.myfloridalicense.com/LicenseDetail.asp?SID=&id=F08AD9BD219FF7A2480F3EB7C842E2A0

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 181-243242 for this company, issued by Broward County Business Tax. Their web address is http://www.broward.org/Pages/Welcome.aspx.

Check License Status: https://www.broward.county-taxes.com/public/business tax/accounts/98449

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of CAC1817390 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is https://www.myfloridalicense.com/wl11.asp?mode=0&SID=. The expiration date of this license is 08/31/2016.

Check License Status: https://www.myfloridalicense.com/LicenseDetail.asp?SID=&id=B066769CAF92F78250A35E4A8BCAE32E

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management
Principal: Mr John Gallina (President / Qualifier)
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Lauren Kirshner (Secretary)
Business Category

Electricians, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Contractor - Electrical, Electricians - Commercial, Lighting Consultants, Heating & Air Conditioning, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Heating & Air Conditioning - Filters, Landscape Lighting, Air Conditioning Repair, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Electric Companies, Electrical Power Systems Maintenance

Products & Services

We are Kings Electricians, the full-service South & Central Florida electrician for all of your home and office electrical service needs.

Alternate Business Names
Electrical Service Pros LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Kings Electricians

12075 NW 40th Street, Unit 6

Coral Springs, FL 33065

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 12075 NW 40th Street, Unit 6 

    Coral Springs, FL 33065(954) 753-9436
    (877) 840-5464
    (561) 922-5047
    (866) 592-4161

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Kings Electricians is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (954) 753-9436
  • (877) 840-5464
  • (561) 922-5047
  • (954) 899-0559
  • (561) 444-9221
  • (305) 907-6223
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Electricians

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.