BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Southeast Florida & the Caribbean

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/11/2010

Florida Power & Light Company (Headquarters)

Phone: (800) 226-3545

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

276 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 90 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues170
Problems with Product / Service104
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints276

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (276)BBB Closure Definitions
07/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: never received overpayment rebate
Customer **** ***********, 1671 NE 179th St., NMB, Fl XXXXX

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Duke Extra
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Please note that FPL's records are confidential and the customer's account may only be discussed with the customer of record. Therefore, please accept this as confirmation that FPL did receive Mr. **** ***********'s's complaint on July 3, 2014 and the issue has been resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

07/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: Negligence and unprofessional actions of FPL emergency service led as result to fire in my backyard and property damage
June 11, 2014 at 2:25 pm I reported about a power outage in my house as a result of thunderstorm in the area. A few minutes later I found a torn electrical wire dangling down from the electric pole in a neghрbor's backyard and laying on my truck and van. I call to FPL immediately - 2:31 pm - and made a live report about WIRE DOWN. Representative said: "Don't approach to the wire! It's danger. Stay inside the house, don't come out and wait for our crew. They come soon". I was waiting for crew 4 hours!! I saw sone FPL crew was working down of the street. Then they finished there and gone - passing my house! Then, at 6:29 pm I call them again and reported about WIRE DOWN again. I guess all my reports were recorded. I asked them when they come, take off the wire and fix a power. Representative said I have to be patient because 28 more properties have no power as well. I told him this is a big difference between "no power" and "wire down". Especially that this wire is placed on a truck with full gas tanks! He started a demagogical speech about "stay away, wait for crew, we are working, blah-blah-blah..."
A few minutes later wire exploded fire.
At 6:54 I call 911. (All my calls are fixed in a log in my phone) Police and Fire fighters came fast and extinguished fire before gas tanks exploded. Both vehicles with staff were burned. If Fire crew came a little bit later and tank exploded - all my house and possibly next near properties could be burned down completely.
After the fire down the FPL repair crew came and fixed wire line.
Also they cut a lot of trees around and near the wire line.
They left all bunches and debris laying on my backyard. They told me it's to late to pull it out. It was about 10 pm. They said they come tomorrow morning and clean my backyard out of them.
They NEVER CAME AGAIN. I called them a few times next day - 6/12, I called them next other day - 6/13. I told them - all my backyard is full of terrible smell debris and burned tree bunches. All this takes all space in my backyard. I can't move in. I can't breathe. I called them a few times a day every day. They alwais answered "We are so sorry. The crew come to your backyard soon. Wait." Today is 6/14 already. Nobody came and it looks like they don't intend to do that.
I am 63. My heart and nervous are not strong and healthy anymore. I can't battle with this big company with thousand representatives who absolutely don't care of people.
I insist that FPL employees are unprofessional indifferent persons. The company has to be responsible under the law. Please help me. FPL should be responsible for these actions.
I took pictures of a result of fire and my backyard crowded of bunches and debris. I can send them as needed.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* *****
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXXX
This is a confirmation FPL acknowledged receipt of Ms. ********'s concern. FPL has been in contact with the customer to address her concern and is working on a satisfactory resolution.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: On May 1 and 2 I contacted customer service and Project Department concerning various attempts from FPL to unauthorized use the north side of my lote.
The person on charge of Project Depart, promise to contact my phone and not to try unauthorized violations on my property, continually the FPL contrators has been attempting to create other easment on my lot.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Please note that FPL's records are confidential and the customer's account may only be discussed with the customer of record. Therefore, please accept this as confirmation that FPL did receive Mr. ***** *******'s complaint on May 16, 2014, and the customer has indicated satisfaction with FPL's resolution and action plan.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service estimate or agreement

Complaint: I am active duty military stationed in Florida. I was informed that my deposit would only be $100, and now I am being charged an additional $292.
On 4/17/2014, I contacted FPL in regards to the increased deposit placed on my account, and the notice of termination of my service. I had paid my previous month's bill, minus the increased deposit. I called the customer service line to attempt to get my deposit increase removed, and I was informed that it could not be. Nor was I able to set up a payment arrangement with the company to allow the payment of the deposit. Now my electricity is set to turn off in several days, and I have no way of paying the increased deposit, when I was informed that as military, my deposit should only be $100.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Please note that FPL's records are confidential and the customer's account may only be discussed with the customer of record. Therefore, please accept this as confirmation that FPL did receive Mr. ***** *******'s complaint on April 22, 2014, and has made multiple unsuccessful attempts to contact the customer by telephone, email, and postal mail. If and when the customer contacts FPL, their concern will be addressed.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/11/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: Coercive Force to accept smart meter by dishonest practices. Demanding recuperative costs when the system was paid for with a $200,000,000 US grant
On 3/11/14 I received a "letter" from FP&L which made us feel like we were being blackmailed. It is demanding that I either:
A). Accept a smart meter, with all of the known issues therein (selective billing for peak and off peak use, lack of substantial data security, invasion of privacy, and lack of medical studies to determine long term effects.)

B). Pay $95 as a one time fee and $13 a month for having a "non-standard" meter. Which is a deliberate lie as my meter has been standard for 40 years.

All of the sudden my meter is "non-standard" because we refuse to allow anyone to replace a perfectly functioning meter for one which is for all intents and purposes a spy which can tell how many times my fridge turns on, when I microwave a cup of coffee, and when I take a shower. I believe that the ultimatum we received constitutes unlawful force, coercive business practices, and an invasion of my basic right to privacy. This data is completely insecure. Yes, its encrypted in transmission. How is the data secured in FP&L's computers? Are they connected to the internet? Can any government agency access this data? How protected is it from hacking? One hacker could turn half of the state off with a mouse click.

I have no way to change providers. They are a monopoly. This is abusive and disrespectful activity. They claim that they need to "recoup the costs of rolling out this program", which is strange since they received over $200,000,000 from the federal government to roll out this "option". It is NOT mandated by the government. Now if they did a phased implementation where they replaced BROKEN meters with the new type (everything breaks eventually, even a meter), and had real medical testing by a reputable laboratory which CONCLUSIVELY proved that people would suffer no ill effects from the placement of these devices, and if they only received usage data as a daily report eg.: "house X used 35 kilowatts today" instead of a constantly powered telephone which I suspect we are footing the communication bill for (meaning it would be deliberately wired AFTER the meter which would cause the consumer to pay for the "negligible" usage of the device.

Smart Meters are, by definition, surveillance devices which violate federal and state wiretapping laws by recording and storing databases of private and personal activities and behaviors without the consent or knowledge of those being monitored. It is possible, for example, with analysis of certain smart meter data for unauthorized and distant parties to determine medical conditions, physical locations of persons within the home, vacancy patterns, and habits and personal data of occupants. why should I have to pay in order to have the power company NOT violate my 4th amendment rights?

Every one of my neighbors which had one of these installed has reported an increase in their bill.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Please note that FPL's records are confidential and the customer's account may only be discussed with the customer of record. Therefore, please accept this as confirmation that FPL did receive I. ******'s complaint on March 17, 2014 and has made multiple unsuccessful attempts to contact the customer by telephone and mail. If and when the customer contacts FPL, their concern will be addressed.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 55
12/02/2013Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electric Companies

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.