BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/31/2004

Draperies 'N Such

Phone: (561) 737-0933Fax: (561) 737-09355850 Cadillac Dr, Lake WorthFL 33463-6818

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/31/2004

BBB has determined that Draperies 'N Such meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Draperies 'N Such

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
03/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Company did not originally hang draperies properly and refused to fix the problem. Now they are about to fall because of improper installation.
We had a flood in our home and the draperies got water stained at the bottom. We had them removed for cleaning and then hired Draperies 'N Such to cut off the damaged portion of the drapes and rehang them (as well as having bedding custom made for our bedroom).

When ***** (the owner) of Draperies 'N Such hung the draperies we were unhappy with the way they were hung. We noticed that the poll, which is wrapped with the drapery fabric, was positioned all the way out at the end of the bracket which caused the drapes to be 6" away from the wall. We pointed this out to him at the time but he refused to do anything about it stating "Well, I'm not going to rehang them". Not only did we not like the way that it looked but over time the weight of the draperies caused the brackets to bend and now the draperies are dragging the floor. We called ***** to come out and take a look at the problem. His response was that someone must have pulled on the drapes to bend the brackets. We responded by pointing out that the brackets on both sides are bent and it is a result of the way they were hung. These drapes hung on the same brackets for 10 years without a problem. It seems to us that Draperies 'N Such's installation caused the current problem because of the way they hung them.

Draperies 'N Such refuses to stand behind their work to correct the problem and *****'s remedy to the situation was to charge us a trip charge of $85 plus $60 per hour to rehang.

Even though we believe the draperies were not hung in the same manner as originally, we didn't want to argue with ***** and thought we had to live with it. But now that they're hanging on the ground and could possibly fall off the wall, we have no choice but to seek a remedy for this situation.

Desired Settlement
Repair properly or reimburse the cost of getting someone out to do the job correctly.

Business Response
About a year ago as stated by Mrs. ***** we remade some bedroom treatments as well as fix her living room swag as she stated. As she stated the treatment had been hanging up there for approimately 10 years. We did not do the original installation. The treatment does stick out away from the wall approximately 6 inches as she stated because it is mounted on a 4 inch pvc pipe plus the width of the gathering of the treatment makes it about 5 inches wide. There is only one way to put it on the existing brackets and that is what we did. We didn't move any brackets. We cut off about 16 inches off the bottom of each side of the side panels because of water damage. This would make the treatment even lighter than originally hung. There was 3 steel angle irons that it was mounted on. Angle irons DO NOT bend all by themselves. Something has to exert pressure on it to make that happen. She did fail to mention that a flexible playpen had been put up around and in front of both sides of the side panels that hung to the floor. It is my GUESS that what was in the playpen pulled on and bent the brackets. They hung there for a year and didn't bend. Again something has to cause steel brackets to bend. I did tell her I would correct the problem for a service call of $75.00 plus $60.00 an hour which is our standard service call rates for fixing blinds and treatments that we are not responsible for.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As we stated before, when Draperies n' such (*****) hung the drapes we brought to his attention that he didn't install them properly as the rod was at the very end of the bracket. At that time he REFUSED to do anything about it! Over the months it seems the weight of the pipe together with the weight of the drapescaused the brackets to bend at the end.

It is disheartening that Draperies n' Such would blame a little puppy for the inadequacy of his installation. Besides, the panels hang outside of the pen and even if they were inside, a little pup of 7 lbs. could not bend steel brackets by pulling on the drapes. It is an absurd notion!

In the time it took Draperies n' Such to come to our home to see the problem, respond to our BBB complaint and make ridiculous excuses, they could have corrected the problem and had a satisfied customer.

We telephoned BB Workroom in Boca Raton who gave
us the name of a drapery installer, ***** Gass. On Monday, February 17, 2014 we had the draperies
reinstalled properly at a cost of $100. The installer also couldn't figure out why the drapes had been installed like that. We believe it was because Draperies n' Such didn't want to drill new holes in the pole and used the existing holes. The problem was that he reversed the pipe rod and therefore the holes were not in the correct place.

We ask that Draperies n' Such reimburse us the $100 we paid for the "correct" installation. If they refuse, we will seek other remedies.

Final Business Response
First of all I didn't refuse to fix the problem. I went back out two additional times to adjust. Also when I was out to their house there was nothing in the playpen. As far as I know it could have been a childs playpen. In addition a small dog yanking and pulling on the draperies definately could have caused the problem. As I stated before STEEL angle irons do NOT bend without some force applied. As I stated originally I hung it back up exactly how it was when we took it down so why would I have to drill new holes. We never removed the swag off of the pole because we only cut off the stained part from the side panels. So if we reversed the pole as she stated the backside of the swags would be facing the room side. As you can see that makes no sense. I would have gladly fixed the problem had it been something that was our fault. She knows and everyone else knows that metal just doesn't bend without some force. We shall be sending her the $100.00 she is requesting, not because of any wrong doing on our part, but as a gesture of good will. We have worked many years to earn our good reputation and standing in this business and community.

Consumer Response

I haven't heard anything back from my last communication, nor have I received the $100 check from Draperies 'N Such.

Thank you,

***** *****

Business Response
The check will go out in the mail today. 3-10-2014.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Draperies & Curtains - Retail & Custom, Window Shades, Vertical Blinds, Venetian Blinds - Dealers, Drapery Installation Service

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 12/12/2003Business started: 09/01/1989
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Palm Beach Tax Collector
PO Box 3715 301 N. Oliver Ave, 3rd Flr
West Palm Beach, FL 33402-3715
(561) 355-2264

BBB records show a license number of 200915167 for this company, issued by Palm Beach Tax Collector. Their web address is

Check License Status:

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven Lageson (President)Ms Carol Lageson
Business Category

Draperies & Curtains - Retail & Custom, Window Shades, Vertical Blinds, Venetian Blinds - Dealers, Drapery Installation Service

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Draperies 'N Such

5850 Cadillac Dr

Lake Worth, FL 33463-6818

To | From


1 Locations

  • 5850 Cadillac Dr 

    Lake Worth, FL 33463-6818

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Draperies 'N Such is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.


Industry Tips for Draperies & Curtains - Retail & Custom


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.