BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/16/1998

American Writers & Artists, Inc.

Phone: (561) 278-5557Fax: (561) 278-5929

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
04/07/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company makes it a practice to offer 100% Customer Satisfaction Guarantee on all of their products. However, I was enrolled in their Wealthy Web Writer program at a discounted price of $29.00 last year. In September of 2015, my credit card declined, and AWAI did not contact me to let me know the payment did not go through. I found out when I checked under member services that the Wealthy Web Writer insignia was not displayed.

I contacted AWAI and gave them a new credit card number. After a month or so, I happened to go through my credit card statements and found I was charged $49 per month (which I did not authorize). I had signed up for the $29 promotion. However, when I called about the higher costs, I was told the price went up because I had the credit card decline for September. No one bothered to let me know the cost would be $49 especially the lady who took my new credit card information. If I had known it was $49, I would have canceled, and that would have been the end of it.

In December, I called to cancel several of their programs because I realized I wasn't interested in becoming a copywriter. There was no problem receiving refunds for those programs. However, when I mentioned the Wealthy Web Writer membership, the customer service lady, Taya, agreed with me and said she would refund the amount I paid for October and the "others." I took that to mean November and December payments also. But she did not refund for those months.

In January and February of this year, they have charged me again, and I would not have known anything about it if they had not called asking for a new credit card number for March. I told them I had canceled last December. Long story short, they refused to refund me for Nov, Dec, Jan or Feb ($196) and said they would cancel me NOW and refund $49.00.
Product_Or_Service: Wealthy Web Writer Subscription

Desired Settlement
I want them to refund me for November, December, like Taya said she would do...and for January and February of 2016 because I had canceled this membership in December. The total would be $196.00 that they owe me.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Dir Mem Svc
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@awaionline.com
******* contacted AWAI on March 14 via email, we responded with a secure link to provide the credit card number to be refunded, we received the secure data on March 16, we processed the cancel on Mar 18. In review of our billing software, we applied refunds for Carlyon's credit card account on 18 March in the amounts of $49.00, $49.00 and $98.00, this is equal to the four payments made on Nov, Dec, Jan and Feb. The amount of $196.00. The Wealthy Web Writer was canceled and fully refunded as communicated by Taya (AWAI Member Services Representative), and our 100% money back guarantee.
The refunds processed by AWAI were complete through our Merchants Solution Software and may take up to 7 days for the customers bank to process the refund on the customers card.

Refund
18-Mar-2016 07:19:03 ********, ******* M XXXX5859 USD (49.00) 18-Mar-2016 18:53:28 USD (49.00)

Refund
18-Mar-2016 10:45:48 ********, ******* M XXXX5859 USD (49.00) 18-Mar-2016 18:53:28 USD (49.00)

Refund
18-Mar-2016 13:44:13 ********, ******* M XXXX5859 USD (98.00) 18-Mar-2016 18:53:28 USD (98.00)

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept their response and find it sad that I had to take it to such measures before simply receiving the refunds that were owed to me.

Thank you for your help,

******* ********

07/06/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I want to cancel my subscription to Accelerated Program for 6 figure Copywriting.
I have left many messages on all contact pages and get no response.
I have left email messages, online Chat messages, and phone messages, but I get no response. I want to cancel my subscription to Accelerated Program to 6 Figure copywriting. I also want a SECURE and RELIABLE way to contact you with any and all future concerns. thank you

Desired Settlement
I want to cancel my subscription to the Accelerated Program to 6 figure copywriting.

Business Response
Member purchased program on 6/23/2015.
She contacted us on 6/29/2015 via email asking that her program be cancelled.
On 6/30/2015 we emailed her back confirming cancellation.
On 6/30/2015 she also contacted us thru 'live chat' at which time she was again told her account was cancelled.

Member Services is available M-F 8:30am-5:30pm ET.(Phone/email) Our live chat feature is normally available during the morning hours. When live chat is offline, customers can send messages to our email account. We typically are able to answer emails within a 24-48 hour window, depending on volume.

Consumer Response
Yes I am satisfied. Thank you for your help.

06/20/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charges made to my credit card almost two months after cancelling my subscription.
I have been dealing with having my subscription cancelled with this company since the beginning of April, and was assured that it had been cancelled on April 7, 2016. Imagine my shock then when I received a message from the company in May stating that they were unable to charge my credit card for the monthly fee.
I then contacted the customer service department, and was told by the representative that he re-confirmed the fact that the subscription had been cancelled and that there would be no further attempts to bill my credit card.
This turned out to be a false statement, as my credit card was charged for the monthly fee well over a month after the stated cancellation date. I immediately emailed the customer service department once again to have the issue dealt with, and received no immediate response. I called the customer service department the next business day to have the issue resolved. The refund was posted to my account, however it was immediately rescinded, and I then received an email back from the customer service representative who falsely claimed that it wasn't a charge to my account on May 24, but a refund. Money withdrawn from my credit card is not a refund for the cancelled subscription, and it's horrible that the representative would even attempt to lie about the fact when I have the bank statement to prove that the money was fraudulently taken by this company from my account.

Desired Settlement
I want the money back that the company stole from my account and I want written reassurance that this will not happen again. Also, any fees that I incur due to the company not ensuring that they are not continuing to bill my account for their activities need to be reimbursed as well.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Director
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@awaionline.com
We have communicated with this member about the charge and refund posted on May 24th and May 26th respectively. AWAI has not taken back the refund in the amount of $30.45 that we provided on May 26th.
From the communications below, we have made every attempt to resolve this concern. On May 31st we requested a copy of the statement showing the reversed refund which has not been provided to date. For the sake of good service to our members and previous members, we will cut her a check and mail to her address on file.

May 31, 8:15 (AWAI)
I truly apologize for this inconvenience, please send us a copy of the charge that you are seeing, we have checked all our systems and can only find the refund that was posted to your visa in the amount of $30.45.

We want to resolve this issue for you; however, it has become difficult as we cannot find the charge you are questioning.


May 28, 10:34 (Member)
when exactly can I expect my refund, and not have your company steal it back?

May 27, 10:42 (Member)
The refund of the May 24, 2016 charge was posted to my account, and apparently taken back by your company immediately. This is getting ridiculous. The charge to my card was done by your company on May 24, 2016; I called in to customer service to deal with the issue, which apparently was resolved for a total of a minute before I was re-billed for another monthly fee for a subscription I cancelled in April.
Please let me know when this issue will actually be resolved, because it shouldn't be this much of a hassle to get my money back from your company.

May 27, 8:31 (AWAI)
Are you seeing the refund that we posted to your account? We have not charged your account but we did post a refund in the amount of $30.45 on May 24th.

May 26, 6:02 (Member)
Hello,
Even after being reassured that the cancellation from April 7, 2016 went through, I found the subscription charge to my account that was posted on May 24, 2016. When exactly will my money be returned to me, as this is a fraudulent charge that your company posted.

May 19, 12:04 (AWAI)
My apologies, I have completed the process of cancellation that was started on 4/7/2016. There will be no more attempts at charging your card.

May 19, 11:57 (Member)
Hello,
I already cancelled my subscription, so I ***'t know why you would be trying to charge my credit card. Please correct this issue immediately. Thank you.

04/04/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have never been able to access the website, and they won't send a password ***** to me.
I paid a fee to join this site, and I have never been able to access it, and I never received a password, and they will not send a password ****** I requested a refund because this does not appear to be a legitimate business, and they have been harassing me daily sending emails and will not respond when I even try to access the website.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund of the fee I paid, and I want to be completely removed from receiving anymore e-mails from them. You cannot access the website member page at all and when you ask for a password ***** it says it will send a password ***** email but it never does. This appears to be a scam website.

Business Response
We have reached out to Ms ***** to apologize and see if there is anything we could do to resolve her concerns and the request was to cancel her membership. We have canceled Ms *****'s order and fully refunded effective 3/22/XXXX X:XX PM. We have also removed her from all of our marketing promotions.
The refund may take 5 to 7 business day depending on the banks transaction process.

12/01/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
10/08/XX XX:XXpm ordered $49 membershp
10/08/XX XX:XXpm request cancel
10/08/XX XX:XXpm 2 requestcancel

No reply charged my acct today.



10/8/XX XX:XX $49 **** email
10/8/XX XX:XX CANCEL **** request email SIXTEEN MINUTES AFTER I ORDERED I REQUESTED A CANCELATION


Order ID: XXXXXXXXX
Date: Wed Oct 08 14:06:18 -0400 2014
Payment Type: ****
Order Status: Accepted

*********** The Barefoot Writer $49.00 X 1 = $49.00
-
Product Total $49.00

10/10/14 ***** ***** - process payment to:
American Writer XXX XXX XXXX FL


When I started calling and trying to chat their phones were on record, with no messaging ability, chat lines down. I sent numerous CANCEL my order emails, which I know they received, because they immediately sent me two to get my to buy more.
I'm embarrassed and very upset.

Please help me.
Thank you,
******

Desired Settlement
I want my card credited for the $49.00 order that I cancelled within 16 minutes.

They refused to contact me.

They had my bank account charge me and it went through today.

I want an apology.

Thank you,
******

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Barbra ****, Director
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@awaionline.com
Ms. ********* ordered an online program which was imported into our database on 10/8/2014 at 2:06pm The platform used (a shopping cart) for placing this order charges customer immediately The phone number that is shown on her Wells Fargo statement for AWAI goes directly to voicemail allowing customer leave a message. Member Services checks messages several times daily. No messages were received by Ms.*********.

On 10/10/2014 we replied to Ms ********* assuring her that the charge of $49 would be refunded. The refund processed on our end on 10/10/2014 - Depending her bank, refunds can take up to 5 business days to show on customers account.

We strive to provide the best customer service and take it very seriously. Customer service is available to our members from 8:30am-5:30pm ET, thru email and thru phone. Email responses can take up to 48 hrs. Customer receives a pop up message giving our toll free number to use if situation is an emergency. Our phone lines are open during business hours mentioned above, and if all lines are being used for incoming calls customers can leave messages for us. Again, we did not receive a message from Ms. *********.
We're sorry Ms ********* experienced any frustration.

08/01/2016Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Desktop Publishing, Internet Marketing Services, Resume Service, Graphic Designers, Copywriting, Publishing Consultants

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.