BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Strategic Debt Solutions, LLC.

Phone: (877) 332-8131Fax: (877) 799-7094

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

27 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 20 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Billing / Collection Issues4
Delivery Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service15
Total Closed Complaints27

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (27)
03/01/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company had called me in the last 5 days at least 10 x...when I called back, I asked to be removed form their calling list and was hung up on...t
Take them out of business!
Our government does not protect consumers from these bastards!

Desired Settlement
These people are obviously ******** and ****** and need to be taken down

Business Response
February 10, 2016

RE: ****** ********

Complaint Case# XXXXXXXX
(Ref#XXX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX)


Dear Sirs,

Thank you for bringing this situation to our attention. We done a very thorough investigation into this matter and client has been removed from our call list.
In addition, the client wishes she can contact our Offices at her convenience to discuss the matter in more details.

We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Thank you for your continued assistance.

Sincerely,

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They only took me off their robo call list after threatening them with Police and a lawsuit! The law states, nobody can cold call anyone without permission and if asked 3 x not to call and they keep calling, they can be sued.I am on the do not call list for 10 years + and I update my info every year on ALL my phone #'s.
Companies like that are scammers who take advantage of peoples vulnerability and elderly are usually the ones getting spammed the most.
Shame on SDS and all other so called debt consolidators etc....nobody can fix your credit but one self. There is government online help with debt consolidation free of charge.
These are criminals and should be put into jail!
There are 20 complaints currently with the BBB.
I won't accept an apology since these people can care less! I want them prosecuted and their business close!

Final Business Response
February 27, 2016

Case# XXXXXXXX
(Ref#XXX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-XX-XXXX)

Consumer: ****** R*******

Dear Sirs,
We have removed the consumer from our calls list and apologize for any inconvenience that might have occurred. Therefore, as we have adhered to the consumers request we are closing this case. We wish the consumer all the best in her future endeavor. We appreciate your assistance in regard to this matter and are therefore closing this case.

Sincerely


Dave G****
Manager
Strategic Student Solution
dg****@strategicstudentsolution.com
Tel: XXX-XXX-XXXX, ext 1

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
They are still screwing people out of their money. They write a cute letter of apology but that means nothing.
They know, there is NO company in the world who can help clean ones debt. They are praying on the elderly and vulnerable and naive people.

Time to get these crooks of the streets and into jail where they belong!
I close this case since the BBB can't do anything about this anyhow.
What a waste of my time.

12/24/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Strategic Debt Solutions took two payments of $399.99 each from my account without authority or right to do so.
Two payments of $399.99 was taken out of my bank account from Strategic Debt Solutions. One on 11/20/15 and one on 11/23/15. No payments where schedule to come out. One payment was for a contract that was void in October. Another payment was one that wasn't suppose to come out until December 21, 2015. I have been in contact with them since 11/23/15. I have been in contact with Global Client Solutions and they have returned the money from them, but SSD has not. I have been hung up on several times. I have e mailed and received no response. I have talked to representatives and have gotten nowhere. I have called to leave messages and will not be called back. I can't even leave a message because their mailboxes are full. I have called to cancel my contract within the three day limit and received no help. They left me with $11.00 in my account over Thanksgiving break. I usually have all my Christmas shopping done by Cyber Monday. I wasn't able to save any money this year because I had no money at all. They literally cost me money. I can't afford the new tires I needed to put on my car. I can't afford to buy groceries. I can't afford my electric bill. I had to borrow money from my parents to help me get to and from work everyday since I commute 20 miles each way to work. I can't afford anything because they have yet to replace my money. I have been fighting with this for 9 days. The money I am owed comes directly from Strategic Debt Solutions and I can't get a phone call back, an e mail response or any assistance whatsoever. I am a teacher. The only business hours they offer is when I teach. I have had to stop my lessons to call them. I've had teachers cover my class because I have been dealing with them. I'm losing my patients. I need help.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking to be refunded the remaining $417.70 from Strategic Debt Solutions. I also wish to be compensated for being stranded with only $11 in my bank account over a holiday. I had to borrow money from my family just to get to and from work. I had to put money on credit cards because I don't have any out right. I wish to be compensated for the damage they have caused and the utter chaos that was placed upon my life because this company has not refunded the money that is rightfully mine and wrongfully taken out of my account. I did speak with them this morning, but have had no success again.

Business Response
December 17, 2015
RE: ****** ********
BBB Complaint Case# XXXXXXXX
(Ref#XXX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX)


Dear Sirs,

We are a little confused by this client's complaint has she has been refunded 100% of her payments to Strategic Debt Solutions as well as her banking fees from Global Client Solutions. The Bank with which the client had a FDIC insured bank account that was opened in her name. Client upon speaking with the Bank stated that she was very satisfied by the outcome of her request for her refund.
Client client's account has been closed per her request and we wish her all the best in her future endeavors. Your kind assistance would be appreciated. Thanks.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I made this complaint the day before they finally returned my money. It took them ten days to return my money. They left me with $11 in my account for ten days. I made the complaint because nothing was done about it for that length of time. Customer service was HORRIBLE! I never got a phone call back, I got hung up on SEVERAL times. I appreciate the refund, and I'm grateful the issue has been resolved. I made the complaint because I feel this business needs better Customer Service. Waiting ten days for a mistake to be corrected is nonsense.It caused mass chaos in my life and I felt that I was alone in this. I felt the urgency of my situation wasn't being taken care of seriously. This should have been resolved the day it was reported. I just hope this never happens to anyone else. Thank you.

04/06/2016Problems with Product / Service
04/27/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I needed help removing student loans off my credit and I trusted them to get the job done. They been taking my money but NOT doing they job.
I got with the company in October 2015 to remove students loans off my credit. The company started taking money off my debit card November 9, 2015 of $100 twice a month. I was promised that my credit will be fixed during the process and the calls will stop but I notice my credit did not get better and I was still getting phone calls from students loans. I was recommended by a friend to Google the company. I observed they are not BBB and had over 100 complaints from others. I called the company today (3/23/16) to cancel my account and to get a refund from 11/09/15 - 03/15/16 but they hung up in my face. I called them four times before assuming them of hanging up in my face and observed they been sending me to voice mail ever since.

Desired Settlement
I want ALL my money back that they took from me and I want the company reported and shut down due to them being a fraud to people just to get there hard earning money.

Business Response
April 8, 2016

Case# XXXXXXXX
(Ref#XXX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX)

RE: ****** ********


Dear Sirs,

The client entered into an agreement with Strategic Student Solutions for us to assist her with document preparation of either the discharge, or reasonable and affordable repayment plan, or a loan consolidation; for whichever option the client qualified. The client enrolled in our Rehabilitation Program as her loans were in default for nonpayment.

Service was provided to the extent of the Service Agreement signed by the client. Client chose to opt out of the Program prematurely before the full fruition of the process. All of which was explained to the client in details by her Representative, as well as a copy sent for the client's review and records. Therefore, this client does not qualify for a refund at this time.

For any further questions or concerns the client may contact our Resolution Dept. at telephone number XXX-XXX-XXXX, ext 104 or 106, to discuss the matter further.

We wish the client all the best in her future endeavors. Thank you for your kind attention to this matter.

Sincerely,

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do NOT accept because I was NOT told that the company was BBB accredited and that's my fault as well for not digging deeper for information about this program. Yes I was told that my payments were in default but was lied to about my income tax being tooken from me if I don't get with the program. I contact the student loans and **** I was clear of any money being tooken from me. All I had to do was make a payment plan with them. I was scared at the time, so I didnt think before I act with Strategic Solutions. I was told by the representative that my credit would show improvement with the student loans, but it didn't. I even tried contacting the representative numerous of times to ask questions and all I got was a voicemail. I did NOT opt out prematurely, I contact the office and explained what I saw about they company on ****** AND BBB.com. After I ask to cancel,they prematurely hung the phone up in my face and sent me to voicemail numerous of times after trying to call back. I have proof of that. If the company is legit, they would have not stated this on they response to BBB, 'The client entered into an agreement with Strategic Student Solutions for us to assist her with document preparation of either the discharge, or reasonable and affordable repayment plan, or a loan consolidation; for whichever option the client qualified'.. I joined the ***** student loan forgiveness program to remove student loans off my credit. I stated that clearly when I called to join, so why they not stating it clearly?? It's like they are giving options or guessing why I got with them. The program didn't help me, it made things worst for me. I hardly heard from them and didn't get any information emailed about any improvement. I was better off doing this myself.

07/20/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company lied and told me that if I cancelled their contract, I probably wouldn't be able to get in another program for debt forgiveness
Here is the letter I sent explaining complaint:

This is a notification informing you, Strategic Credit Solutions, LLC, CANNOT and DO NOT have permission to use any information in relations to me, ****** *******, also identified by your case number *****.

I have been in communication with ******* ***** and **** ***** since *** 27th, 2015. On *** 29th, my email to ******* indicated I would like to cancel any contract made with Strategic Credit Solutions. Due to the delayed response and the company's 3 day cancellation rule, I was denied a refund of my processing fee of $266.33, which was taken on *** 27th, 2015.

Please be advised that your unethical practices will be publicized via miscellaneous review sites over the next few days/weeks/months until my money is refunded. Also be aware that your employee, **** ***** has implied cancellation of this contract would hinder me from obtaining debt relief through other channels. I communicated this information to ****** *** and Navient and they indicated this was a blatant lie and proceeded to afford me debt solutions ABSOLUETELY free. I will be making this known to the Department of Education, Federal Trade Commission, Better Business Bureau, and other various consumer protection agencies.

Desired Settlement
A refund of $266.33 and cancellation of any of their implied services

Business Response
July 5, 2015
Case# XXXXXXXX
Ref#XXX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX

Dear ****,

The Client retained Strategic Student Solutions services to assist her in consolidating her student loans after speaking with one of our Representatives, who explained the Program in its entirety to her.
The client opted out of the Program prematurely and as such did not allow for the complete fruition of the process; thereby, dissolving the agreement between both parties. Therefore, client is not entitled to a refund at this based on the terms of the Contractual Agreement.
We wish this client all the best in her future endeavors. Your kind patience and assistance would be appreciated in regards to this matter.
Thanks.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
emails and U.S. Mail indicates I questioned the company's representative **** ***** 2 business days after the contract. I was misinformed by this person and told I would not be eligible for loan forgiveness if I cancelled my contract with strategic debt solutions. The company was notified via U.S. mail 3 business days after the communication. I am entitled to a full refund.

03/17/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
No return phone calls after numerous faxes and voice mails.
I have tried so many times to contact this company regarding the balance on my contract. I believe this should have been paid off in Oct, 2015 and they are still taking the payment out of my account each month. I can get no response from them at all, by any means.

Desired Settlement
I want a copy of my original contract with terms of months and ending date emailed to me. I would also like a phone call with this information

Business Response
February 17, 2016
Case# XXXXXXXX
(Ref#XXX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX)
Client: ***** ******

Dear Sirs,

We have contacted the client and resent the necessary information in order for the client to speak with the Representative that is handling her account. We apologies for any inconvenience that this might have caused. We thank you for your assistance in this matter and will address have addressed it accordingly.

Sincerely,

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They sent me the representatives email address. No other contact has been received from company

Final Business Response
March 16, 2016

Case# XXXXXXXX
(Ref#XXX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXXX

Consumer: ***** ******

Dear Sirs,
The client has cancelled and we have confirmed receipt and returned the balance in her FDIC insured account to the client via the address on file. We have sent the client a copy of her contract, per her request, as well as a copy of her agreed schedule of payments.

Client's account is closed and we will no longer draft or negotiate on the client's behalf. Thank you for your continued assistance in regards to this matter.

Sincerely,

**** *****
Manager
******@strategicdebtsolution.com
Tel: XXX-XXX-XXXX, ext 103

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I never asked that my account be closed unless the terms had been met. I did get part of my contact although no where on the contract does it tell me the end date of my terms. I still do not know if my total terms of agreement have been settled. I have still received no phone calls or emails from my client rep only her assistant.

02/23/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I entered into a contract with Strategic Debt Solutions (SDS) back in July 2013 to help resolve my debt. At this time I was not late with payments just very high interest on credit cards & high balances. SDS said they could pay these all off in less time then it would normally take me to do it. I agreed to join aboard. Since that time 1) SDS has allowed my debt to increase double, some triple its amount as they sat on accountants doing nothing and ignoring my creditors 2) they have damaged my credit score by ignoring my creditors and not paying thus 2 accounts sent court summons to me and now I have judgments on my credit which SDS never fixed even though they have charged me every month a "Credit Repair" fee 3) SDS very rarely responds to emails nor do they return phone calls 4) SDS hangs up on when I get their operators 5) I have been charged $1765.75 the past 29 months for credit repair that never ever have has been done 6) SDS terminated me from their program for no reason and now is trying to keep money that is not theirs including SETTLEMENT FEES of $1072.27, they didn't produce services, terminated a contract, aren't available for questions and then want to keep unearned money 7)I have asked SDS several times in the past year for a complete list of my creditors that have been paid in full with the amount paid and a complete list of creditors with outstanding balances still needing to be paid, they refuse to produce this and 8) SDS refuses to release power of attorney so that I may deal one on with my creditors.

About a year ago, I contacted SDS to see where I stand in getting these payments down bc their site was never up to date and still to this is not. The person I spoke with gave me a run down and and said it looked like I only had 3 more creditors to be paid and I would be finished, most likely March 2016. I asked about fixing the credit especially the marks SDS put on it and she said they would do that at the end. Funny because that's not what I was told when I signed up nor what they advertise. That's when I really started to looked at this company thoroughly and things were not adding up.

If you should need any documentation of emails or anything else please let me know.
Product_Or_Service: Credit Consolidation
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
There are a couple of things I would like to see happen to resolve this matter & finally move on after almost 3 years of dealing with SDS.
1) 25 payments of $49.99 and 3 payments of $129 for so called "Credit Repair" be refunded
2) $1072.27 in settlement fees
3) power of attorney released back to me
4) complete list of my creditors that have been paid in full with the amount paid and a complete list of creditors with outstanding balances still needing to be paid
5)SDS be put on the fraud list

Business Response
see attached

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First, SDS on sent me a refund (which I can upload the check) for $352.64. They have yet to refunded me the 25 payments of $49.99 and 3 payments of $129 for their so called "Credit Repair" and $1072.27 in settlement fees.

In their termination letter (which I can upload as well) they blantly state they effectively terminated our contract. It was not me who did this and in their contract if the client terminates they are not privileged to funds returned but I didn't terminate. Also, SDS hasn't worked on my credit so services were not rendered.

Second, SDS gave me some of the creditors paid but still are missing information 3 accounts.

Third, power of attorney still lies in SDS hands because the last account will still not work with me. I need a letter to be written and all ties to be broken.

SDS plays games, has called me incompetent and all their customers basically disabled. They give little and take what does not belong to them.

Final Business Response
February 10, 2016
Client: Nikki ********
Case# XXXXXXXX
(Ref#XXX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-XX-XXXX)
Dear Sirs,
The client enrolled 7 accounts, a total debt load of approximately, $10,000.00 in our Debt Settlement Program. We settle debts based on the client's monthly payments and balances in their account, this was explained in detail to the client prior to her signing the Agreement with us and she indicated that she understood.

We have settled and paid 6 of the 7 accounts as the client cancelled the contract prematurely and as a result the balance in her FDIC insured account was returned to her. A client's credit is updated once a debt has been settled and paid which we send out request to the three major credit Bureaus and they act accordingly.

In addition, there are other factors that affect a client's credit score as well, all of which was explained in detail to the client and her advocate. (Please see the attached correspondence)
It is unfortunate that the client was not satisfied with our services however; we wish her all the best in her future endeavors.

Thank you for your continued assistance in this matter.

Sincerely,

**** *****
Manager
Tel: XXX-XXX-XXXX, ext 1
******@strategicdebtsolution.com

02/15/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
misrepresentation of services provided
My friend was contacted by this company in Aug of 2015 and told that his student loans were in default and they would provide him loan forgiveness under the Loan Forgiveness act approved by Congress. They stated they would consolidate his loans and if he paid them $2000 that his loan would be forgiven. They stated they would take $266.33 for three months and then $50.00 per month starting on 8/28/2015. My friend paid 2 payments and ws told they would be going towards his loans. The payemtns were not applied towards his loans and my friend was told by his student loan company that not payments have been applied, no paperwork has been submitted and that his was past due and not in good standing. My friend contacted me and I called the company with him. We were told by a rep named Donette that the fees were for document preparations. The CSR could not provide me with the name of the documents prepared nor could she send me any confirmation that any paperwork was ever submitted to the DOE or the loan company. I was finally able to make the CSR send me a copy of the contract. t

Desired Settlement
I want a refund of all monies paid to this company or I want proof that they did in fact provide the services we are being billed for by written documentation

Business Response
February 1, 2016

Re: ******* ********
Case# XXXXXXXX
(Ref#XXX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX)

Dear Sirs,

This consumer is not a client of Strategic Student Solutions and as such we are unable to investigate this matter. All clients receive a copy of their signed contract which includes information on the exact services being offered by our Company. If at any time a client wishes to cancel, it is their right and once they qualify for a refund based on their agreement the client receives one.

Our cancellation policies and procedures are included in the contract that the client signed. We are requesting that the client do so as soon as possible. We wish the client all the best in their future endeavors. Your kind assistance would be appreciated.

Sincerely,


02/09/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Credit Opitimization
I enrolled in debt program and paid extra monthly for the credit optimization program. After each debt was settle a letter was suppose to be submitted to the creditors to have the missed payments removed from my credit report as long as I was entered in the program. Half of the creditors still say miss payments, which should have been resolved. I emailed the person D Livingston several times, since my credit report hasnt been fixed, to resend out letters and I never get a response back. I paid for this and I should get what I was entered into.

Desired Settlement
I would either like a partial refund for that program, since it wasn't corrected on my report nor did D. Livingston ever respond to my emails.

Business Response
January 26, 2016
RE: Consumer: ******* ********
BBB Complaint Case# XXXXXXXX
(Ref#XXX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX)

Dear Sirs,

This consumer is no longer a client of Strategic Credit Solutions. However, when the client was enrolled in the Credit Optimization Program letters were sent out on the client's behalf to the three major Credit Bureaus requesting that they update the client's file. There are a number of factors that affect a consumer's credit and while the client's credit reflects the updates based on the number of accounts we have settled on the client's behalf, twenty in total, in our debt settlement program.
We encourage our clients not to engage in actions that can also affect their scores and give suggestions on how to stay on track. We wish this client all the best in her future endeavors and continued success on staying debt free. Your kind consideration would be appreciated. Thanks.

Sincerely,

02/08/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I applied for this company's Student Loan Forgiveness program, but then I realizing it's a SCAM and not a BBB accredited company.

On December 18, 2015 I saw an ad on Facebook about Student Loan Forgiveness. I thought they would be affiliated with Department of Education. So I put in my info (SSN and name) and got a call from a representative named Adrian Gordon who took all my information such as; SSN, debit card and ID Number. The company offered me to pay off my loan and reduced my loan to such terms: I pay $199 for 3 months, after the third month I pay $49 for 36 months and then $0, which seemed to good to be true but I was foolish enough to fall for it. He sent me an agreement, I signed few pages electronically and said he would send a letter in mail regarding this request. After not hearing back from them for 2 weeks, I typed in their company's name on google and ended here, now realizing this company is not BBB accredited.

Desired Settlement
I WANT TO TERMINATE MY CONTRACT WITH THEM, I DO NOT WANT ALL MY INFORMATION GIVEN OUT OR USED FOR ILLEGAL PURPOSES. THEY ALREADY HAVE CHARGED ME $199.97 AND WILL CONTINUE CHARGING EVERY 5TH OR 4RTH OF THE MONTH, I WANT THIS MONEY REFUNDED BACK TO MY ACCOUNT. I AM REALLY WORRIED ABOUT MY INFORMATION BEING ON THEIR HANDS AND WOULD NOT WANT TO SEE THIS HAPPEN TO ANYONE. PEOPLE WATCH OUT FOR SUCH SCAM, THEY ARE REALLY SMART ADN WILL FOOL YOU IF YOU'ER NIEVE ENOUGH.

Business Response
January 22, 2016
Consumer: **** *********
BBB Complaint Case# XXXXXXXX
(Ref#XXX-XXXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX)

Dear Sirs,

Client chose Strategic Student Solutions to assist her consolidating her Student Loans. She spoke with a Representative, who explained the process and what that would entail in detail. In addition, client also received a copy of her signed Contractual Agreement for her perusal.

Strategic Student Solutions is a private for Profit Organization that charges a fee for our services. This client enrolled in our Program and subsequently changed her mind. Client cancelled the contract and requested a refund which was granted based on our contractual agreement. It is unclear as to clients issue as there was no incident of fraud perpetuated by Strategic Student Solutions. This client's request for a refund has been processed (copy will be provided). If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us. Thank you in advance.

Sincerely,

Page 1 of 5

Industry Comparison| Chart

Debt Relief Services , Credit - Debt Consolidation Services

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.