BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southeast Florida & the Caribbean

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Great Expectations

(561) 393-66664800 N Federal Hwy., Ste. E100, Boca RatonFL 33431http://www.gesouthflorida.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Great Expectations is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Great Expectations' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Great Expectations

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
05/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Signed a Membership Agreement. Their Services are NOT what they claimed they would be. Requested a Pro-Rated Refund. They are REFUSING to refund.

When I met with ******* at South Florida Introductions she claimed that her service would do several things for me.

a - yield dates - And after 3 months i have Not had One Date. Her actual comment was "my men will take you on dates not just talk to you on the phone".

b - there are plenty of potential suitors using our service. Another lie there are very few men using her service in the age category AND that want to be in a relationship with someone that has children. We discussed All of my criteria Before signing the membership agreement.

c - Contract states: 3 months of Personal Shopper. They have Not selected Anyone that met my criteria. Age Category and Children are the Isseus.

d - Contract states as follows: you may cancel this contract if: the services cease to be offered as stated in this contract. Price will be pro-rated. I have officially cancelled their contract and they are REFUSING to refund any monies.

Membership Number: XXXXX
Purchase Date: 12/21/2013
Date my profile went up on their website: 1/27/2014
Payment Method: ******** ******* Credit Card
Total price: $2800.00 for membership / $400.00 for photos.

**I am expecting a Pro-Rated Refund on the $2800.00. The date my profile went on their website is officially the date I was 'live'.

Desired Settlement
The cost of this service was $2800.00 for 6 months. I've officially cancelled this contract as of April 14, 2014. 3 months of this contract has NOT yielded One Date. Refund of $1400.00 is due back to me.

Business Response
We do not believe Ms. **** is entitled to a pro-rated refund.

On 12/21, Ms. **** came to our offices and decided to become a member. She paid $2,800 for a nine month membership, $400 for an outdoor professional photo shoot, and $29.95 for the first month of online access. On 12/30 she came and met with our Member Service Manager. She had her photo shoot in mid January. She came in on 1/22 to sit with ******* and our Member Service Manager to select the photos for her profile. We edited her profile and on 1/27, we entered all her information into our system. On 4/13 (Sunday), she emailed our Member Service Manager a letter of cancellation. On 4/14, she came to our office cancelling her membership and requesting a refund. Later that same day, our Member Service Manager e-mailed her explaining that we could not refund her monies and asked that she come in and discuss options with us. ******* followed with a telephone call later that night and we agreed to provide the online service for free and told her: 1)she could come in and meet with us to discuss which men to select and whether we should change her profile, 2)freeze her membership until she was ready to resume, or 3)cancel her membership without a refund. She said she would let us know her decision. Her letter to the BBB may have been written before that last conversation, and if so, the matter has been resolved.

1. We have invested money and staff resources to start Ms. ****'s membership.
Ms. **** has completed the photography session and profile editing at our expense. In addition to the above, online management fees and staff salaries have been paid on her behalf. We have spent a considerable sum of monies on her membership.

2. Ms. **** has used her membership.
Ms. **** selected 13 members and received two Yes responses, whereby last names and contact information were exchanged with both parties. Similarly, she was selected by 10 members and she said Yes to two of them, and again we provided last names and contact information to both members. It is clear, she has used the service and we performed as agreed. We don't know why none of these four men turned into dates, but are happy to help.

3. We lived up to our end of the agreement and did everything promised in the agreement.
We put Ms. ****'s profile and photographs in our member library. She had unlimited access to our library. We contacted her when she was selected. She received personal shopping from our Member Service Manager. In January, we recommended two men, both met her criteria, she selected both, and one of them said Yes. She placed her membership on inactive status for most of February, so there was no personal shopping that month. In March, we sent her three members, and none of them met her criteria. In April, we sent her three men; two met her criteria and one did not. She told us that one of them lived too far away (30-45 minutes away).

We were available to help her in any way. Furthermore, when Ms. **** joined, we explained our service pledge, and it was signed by her and two of our employees. We performed everything outlined in the pledge. We work hard for every member and did so in this case as well. We believe Ms. **** would be successful if she gave our service more of a chance.

4. Ms. **** did not cancel within the prescribed time period specified in the agreement.
Ms. **** signed a nine month membership agreement with our company. Our three-day cancellation policy is very clear on our agreement, as it is written in bold, capital letters directly above the member's signature. Additionally, we verbally discuss it with all prospective members when reviewing the agreement prior to signature, and it is the last item discussed before they sign the agreement. It is obvious, she was clearly aware of the cancellation policy as her initials are directly above it and her full signature is below. (We use a three-part form and she received the yellow copy of the agreement.) We would have had to receive her cancellation in writing by 12/26 for it to be valid, and this was not done.

According to the membership agreement, we can only issue a pro-rated refund if our services cease to be offered (if our business closes). As we are still in business and offering our service, Ms. **** cannot receive a pro-rated refund of her membership. If a member decides not to use our services anymore, as Ms. **** states, they are not eligible for a pro-rated refund.

We don't believe she is entitled to a pro-rated refund for her membership, as we delivered the promised service to her, we invested monies to start her membership, she used our service, she never cancelled within the prescribed three day period according to the terms in her signed agreement, and our services are still available to our members.

Our mission is to help Ms. **** meet a single man for a one-on-one committed relationship, and we look forward to the opportunity to do just that. We hope to continue to work with her to make her successful, and we welcome her to continue her membership.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
NO - I am owed a Refund. I was pushed into signing their Membership Agreement. In fact, I called the very next day to cancel and was told there is NO cancelling. *******'s tactics of pushing people into contracts are Not Ethical.

The service they describe was NOT provided. The deal was I was to have Men contacting me within the age range i specified (several times to them), Men they we're interested in ladies with young children and last but not least, Men that would ask a lady on a Date. NONE of the above criteria was met.

I have No problem paying them for the few months of trial for their service. However, I'm NOT in agreement of them keeping my money. Pro-Rate the fee of $2800.00. Any Ethical firm would offer to do this.

******* ****

Final Business Response
Again, we do not believe Ms. **** is entitled to a pro-rated refund.

Ms. **** came to our office and joined on Saturday, December 21, and was not pushed into signing up for our service. She spoke with ******* on Monday, December 23, when we reopened. She was concerned that she would not be successful, so we agreed to extend her original nine month membership for another year if she was unsuccessful (at the end of the nine month period) and to continue the personal shopping as needed. We never told her she couldn't cancel, as it is in bold letters in the agreement that members have three business days to cancel. (Monday, December 23 was the first business day, so if she asked to cancel her membership, we would have processed a full refund.)

There are two ways members can meet one another. One is when they select and the other is when they are selected. When a member selects, members have control and can choose their criteria. However, when members are picked by members, we have no control and they may not meet their criteria. In that case, all a member has to do is express they are not interested. When Ms. **** was doing the selecting, she picked 13 men based on her criteria; two of them said Yes, and we exchanged last names and contact information. When she was selected by 10 members, she felt two met her criteria and she responded Yes; and again, we exchanged last names and contact information.

We delivered the promised service to Ms. ****, we invested significant monies to start her membership (the majority of what she paid us has already been expensed), she used our service, she never cancelled within the prescribed three day period according to the terms in her signed agreement, our services are still available to our members, and thus is not entitled to a pro-rated refund.

03/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This Company had me enter into a contract that they have not fulfilled on their end,they disappear,I paid $5,200.00 and refuse to allow me to cancel.
I wrote into a company called South Florida Introductions. ******* ********* returned my call and we set up a meeting. I was shown 20-40 members in her club. I have specific names of these "members" as well. I was forced into a contract in which I would receive 1 on 1 service. I signed up on 1/28/2014 and it is now 2/20/2014 and I have yet to receive a date and my calls and emails are ignored. I was finally set up on their website and it has come to my attention its Great Expectations. The contract, business card.... everything only has South Florida Introductions. If I would have known they were a part of Great expectations I would not have joined. I have been name called from ******* as well. Today I sent an email and certified letter cancelling my membership and online subscription. With the online access you pay monthly so with days notice you can cancel at any time. I received a call and voicemail from ******* refusing to cancel my membership. Now I am not only scammed out of $5,219.95 BUT I am terrified for my credit and what these people are capable of. Please help and help others falling for this SCAM!!!!!!!

Desired Settlement
I want my money back, my membership canceled, my profile removed and no further contact and harassment.

Business Response
We do not believe our customer is entitled to a return of monies, and we have met her demands by cancelling her membership, removing her profile, and stopping all future billing.

On 1/28, our customer came to our offices and decided to become a member. She paid $4,790 for a three year membership, $400 for an outdoor professional photo shoot, and $29.95 for the first month of online access. She had her photo shoot on 2/3. She came in on 2/13 to sit with our Director and our Member Service Manager to select the photos for her profile, provide a first draft of her written profile, as well as work on her personal shopping. We edited her profile and on 2/18, we entered all her information into our system. On 2/20, she emailed us a letter of cancellation, not a return of monies. Without seeing the letter, Our Director called her and left a voice mail asking what we could do, and that she couldn't cancel her membership (our Director assumed she was asking for her money back). She emailed us again asking to cancel the membership. We immediately replied that our Director misunderstood her intention and that she could cancel, we removed her profile, and there wouldn't be any more online service charges. We never said she could obtain a refund, nor did she ever ask for one, until we received this BBB letter. All of this back-and-forth, from receiving her initial e-mail cancelling to our last email, occurred within a few hours on 2/20. We have not contacted her since or harassed her in any way.

We disagree with our customer's comments. We fulfilled everything we said we would. We did not disappear and have answered every one of her phone calls and e-mails. We did not force her into a contract; she spent over an hour and a half with us on 1/28 and decided on her own to join and what membership to select (there was a less expensive membership). She has had contact with at least one member and maybe a second (we asked her in our last 2/20 e-mail if we should ask the second member not to contact her as she earlier consented for us to give him her contact information). We explained to her that we share the Great Expectations website. We didn't scam her, we have nothing to do with her credit, we have not contacted her since the day she cancelled (2/20), and we are only capable of helping her meet a man for a committed one-on-one relationship.

1. We have invested money and staff resources to start our customer's membership.
Our customer has completed the photography session and profile editing at our expense. In addition to the above, online management fees and staff salaries have been paid on her behalf. We have spent a considerable sum of monies on her membership.

2. Our customer has used her membership.
Our customer was selected by six members, and agreed to exchange contact information with two of those. It is clear, she has used the service and we performed as agreed. We do not know if she is currently dating these members.

3. We lived up to our end of the agreement and did everything promised in the agreement.
We put our customer's profile and photographs in our member library. She had unlimited access to our library. We contacted her when she was selected. She received personal attention from our Member Service Manager. We were available to help her in any way. Furthermore, when our customer joined, we explained our service pledge, and it was signed by her and two of our employees. We performed everything outlined in the pledge. We work hard for every member and did so in this case as well. We believe our customer would be successful if she gave our service more of a chance.

4. Our customer did not cancel within the prescribed time period specified in the agreement.
Our customer signed a three year membership agreement with our company. Our three-day cancellation policy is very clear on our agreement, as it is written in bold, capital letters directly above the member's signature. Additionally, we verbally discuss it with all prospective members when reviewing the agreement prior to signature, and it is the last item discussed before they sign the agreement. It is obvious, she was clearly aware of the cancellation policy as her initials are directly above it and her full signature is below. (We use a three-part form and she received the yellow copy of the agreement.) We would have had to receive her cancellation in writing by 2/1 for it to be valid, and this was not done.

We are sorry for our earlier miscommunication in our 2/20 voicemail message, but we don't believe she is entitled to a refund for her membership, as we delivered the promised service to her, we invested monies to start her membership, she used our service, and she never cancelled within the prescribed three day period according to the terms in her signed agreement. We have cancelled her membership, but she is not entitled to a refund for the reasons explained above.

Our mission is to help our customer meet a single man for a one-on-one committed relationship, and we look forward to the opportunity to do just that. We hope to continue to work with her to make her successful, and we welcome her to continue her membership.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response by Great Expectations of boca is false.
Yes, I did go to their offices on 1/28 and I had a photo shoot with "*******'s son (which she does not disclose).... that's about the only statement which is true.
Each member has 3 days to cancel their membership, which would be 1/31 for me. I received a call on 1/30 with a guy she wanted to set me up with. I didn't have pictures taken nor did this guy. She probably pushed him on me to make it look like her product works. After that there was no second guy.... NEVER!!!!! It wasn't until 2/20 when I cancelled did they mention this second guy. I did not buy into this and I did not respond to this email. I believe the first guy was a fake and it was to make me think ******* and her "personal shoppers" would actually work.
I have emails that were not answered and text messages as well.
On 2/13 I NEVER met with the director. I met with someone else in her office that was not interested in setting me up with members, she actually wanted to introduce me to non members. I thought that was odd.
******* HAS harassed me, name called me and she is the most unprofessional person I have ever met. She showed me pictures of other members and called these women fat and ugly.
I was also shown members that are well known in the community - if they are really members?!?!
AGAIN this is a scam. Not once was Great Expectations, a scam company, ever mentioned. Not once was there help, dates, etc. in just about a month. They get you to sign up, exceed your 3 days cancellation period then DISAPPEAR!!!!! Ogh and show you pictures of member that ARE NOT MEMBERS! Maybe 20 years ago they were but they are not.
Do not let these people get away with this, I am not. Fight for what you think is right and what bad people are doing. They take vulnerable people, looking to meet someone, and attack! STAY AWAY from them!!!!!

Final Business Response
Overall, we believe in our service and hope we can resume our relationship with our customer. We are a people business and pride ourselves on our service.

Everything we said earlier was true and this addresses the customer's latest comments.

Our customer is correct that neither she or the other new member we set her up on 1/30 had completed their photos. However, we thought they would be a good match (given their ages, physical appearances, and personalities), so with both of their approvals, we exchanged last names and contact information. They went out on a date. The second guy does exist and we told her about him before 2/20 as she stated. We emailed our customer his profile on 2/6 and she responded via e-mail the same day.

We have answered all emails that were sent to our office. The texting is between our customer and director, and she did respond.

We have not harassed our customer, called her names, or referred to our members as fat or ugly. Every member we showed is real. We did not disappear and don't understand why she feels that way.

We hope that she will resume use of our service. We harbor no ill will and are willing to restart her membership time. We hope she feels the same way and we can move forward.

08/02/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My complaint is multifold. High pressure sales presentation, misrepresented women's profiles, lack of service after the sale, and negative follow up.
The night of the sales presentation I was shown the profiles of 20-30 very attractive women. The discussion included statements like - "she would be a good match personality for you", "your careers and outlooks on life would work well together". Next was the high pressure - "buy it tonight for this price but if you do not buy tonight it will be $1,000 more tomorrow".
The next problem was in the service - or lack therefore. It was explained to me during the sales presentation that a big part of the value of this service was the team approach of the staff. "The three of us will work together to find the right woman for you". My second meeting at GE was with a different person than from the sales presentation. It was obvious that she knew nothing about me or what I am looking for. She kept asking me for a list of women that the sales presenter had selected for me. There was no list and so it was a complete waste of time and obvious that there was no teamwork going on.
The next issue was that during the sales presentation I asked to look through the catalog of women's profiles. I was told that it was not possible due to protecting the privacy of their members. Ends up it takes 2-3 weeks minimum to get all of the paperwork, pictures etc completed and then you are given access to the profiles. Company policy says that you have 1-2-3 days to change your mind and rescind the membership. Once I finally was able to go through the profiles I knew immediately that the quality/quantity of the women was completely overblown. Of the 30 or so profiles that I was shown during the sales presentation I only saw 2-3 in the catalog. I immediately asked to rescind my membership and I was completely ignored on this topic.
My last issue is that if done correctly the service and positive presentation of a member to other members is crucial. Since the staff at GE are quite aware that I feel that they made misrepresentations and that I feel that they have done a very poor job in working with me I don't think that they will make the effort to present me in a positive way to potential women members. Even though I am still a member, despite me not wanting to be, it appears that they have steered women away from me. Which makes this membership a waste of time.

These are the various reasons that I have been trying to get out from under this membership since it will be of little to no value to me.

Desired Settlement
I do not want to be involved with this company. I think that at this point the employees of Great Expectations have a negative impression of me and will not present me in a favorable way to potential women at the agency.

Business' Initial Response
This addresses Mr. ******'s issues with our service. Overall, our goal is to help Mr. ****** fulfill his reason for joining Great Expectations, which was to find a committed one-on-one relationship. We hope he gives us the chance to do that.

During Mr. ******'s initial visit, we spent time learning who he is and what he was looking for. Then we showed him profiles of members that we thought might be of interest to him. Obviously, since these women had not seen his profile, we couldn't guarantee which, if any, would want to date him. However, we are able to subjectively say which would be a good match for him.

His comment that only 2-3 profiles were in the catalog was incorrect; as we showed him current members during his initial visit. A small number (no more than five) could have been in our For Your Eyes Only database, which he wouldn't see on our website.

Mr. ****** is correct in stating that we have a first visit discount. In Mr. ******'s case, he was able to save $750 by purchasing the membership that day. Many members choose not to join on their initial visit and Mr. ****** had that opportunity as well. Offering a discount during a limited time is a widespread and acceptable sales practice. It certainly is not high pressure.

Mr. ****** was given access to our membership library on January 29, as stated in section b. "your membership starts today. G/E will make all materials and services available to you today. However, you may make selections when your member profile, photos, and video are complete, and placed in the G/E library and website." We have all the member profiles, photos, and videos available in our member library in our office and he was able to go through that library once he joined on January 29. He could have gone through them if he wanted, but he chose to wait until he had website access.

His second meeting was with our Member Sales Manager, who is responsible for the personal shopping. She spent approximately 1.5 hours reviewing his photographs, his written profile, and his personal shopping profile. We have a team approach and our staff works together to help members.

I learned of Mr. ******'s displeasure on March 26, when he e-mailed us. We called him later that day to address his concerns. We are a service business and pride ourselves on our customer service. He has since continued to use the membership by selecting and responding to selections up until June 14.

Mr. ****** is incorrect in stating that we have steered women away from him or would not work ******* his behalf to make him successful. Our memberships are long term for a reason, as people don't find Mr. or Ms. Right right away. During that time, members can become frustrated, but we understand that, and continue to work for all our members. We believe Mr. ****** remains an outstanding match for some of our female members and will present him in a positive light. No one here has a negative impression of Mr. ******. We would never hold a complaint against someone; that's just not very mature.

Though he hasn't requested it, we cannot refund Mr. ****** his money as:

1. We have invested money and staff resources to start Mr. ******'s membership.
Mr. ****** has completed the photography session and profile editing (he decided not to make a video) at our expense. In addition to the above, license fees, online management fees, and staff salaries have been paid on his behalf. We have spent a considerable sum of monies on his membership.

2. Mr. ****** has used his membership.
Mr. ****** selected nine members and was selected by 17 members. It is clear, he has used the service and we performed as agreed.

3. We lived up to our end of the agreement and did everything promised in the agreement.
We put Mr. ******'s profile and photographs in our member library. He had unlimited access to our library. We contacted the members he selected and also contacted him when he was selected. He received personal attention from our Member Service Manager and he received personal shopping. We were available to help him in any way. Furthermore, when Mr. ****** joined, we explained our service pledge, and it was signed by him and two of our employees. We performed everything outlined in the pledge. We work hard for every member and did so in this case as well. We believe Mr. ****** would have been successful if he gave our service more of a chance, although as stated, "We cannot guarantee a date with another member."

4. Mr. ****** did not cancel within the prescribed time period specified in the agreement.
Mr. ****** signed a three year membership agreement with our company. Our three-day cancellation policy is very clear on our agreement, as it is written in bold, capital letters directly above the member's signature. Additionally, we verbally discuss it with all prospective members when reviewing the agreement prior to signature, and it is the last item discussed before they sign the agreement. It is obvious, he was clearly aware of the cancellation policy as his initials are directly above it and his full signature is below. (We use a three-part form and he received the yellow copy of the agreement.) We would have had to receive his cancellation in writing by February 2 for it to be valid, and this was not done.

We are sorry that Mr. ****** is dissatisfied with our service, but we don't believe he is entitled to a refund for his membership, as we delivered the promised service to him, we invested monies to start his membership, he used our service, and he never cancelled within the prescribed three day period according to the terms in his signed agreement.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Once again GE is showing that they have no interest in trying to do anything to resolve this issue. It is supposed to be a 3 year service contract. In March when I told GE that their service did not measure up to what they had presented to me I asked for a partial refund. $4,000 out of the $5,200 that I paid. That is over 20% of the total fee of a 3 year service contract and it was after 1 month of "service". The fact that GE's response says that I did not request a refund shows how little effort they have put into understanding and trying to resolve my issue. This was done in an email to GE on March 26.

To say that I have used my membership - I tried to make something of this mess that I stepped into. I selected some of the women that were suggested and all said no. The whole selling point of their "service" was that they talk to both parties and come up with matches. If they recommend someone who then says no - what is the value of their service - $0. Their sales pitch is that they do the groundwork beforehand. All they have done is pick a few profiles and emailed them off - nothing more.

This team approach is a joke. The second member of this team - ***** - knew nothing about me, had not talked with ******* (1st member of this team) and so I wasted 1 1/2 going through the same basic information that I did with ******** I have emails from early march where ***** is asking me" what did ******* tell me". "Where is the information that was given to ********** In 2 emails I continued to ask where were all of the profiles that were shown to me the first night. The ones that ******* described as either a (perfect personality match", "woman that would be a good fit for you". No one ever answered my question as to why I was not seeing those profiles in the database.

They have done almost nothing in terms of service. The last non auto-mated email I got from GE was 2 months ago. In total I received 0 emails from ******* until I said that I wanted to end my membership. No phone calls (even though she claims to have called me) and no emails since the night that she sold me the membership. That is service according to GE. I did receive 5 emails in MARCH from *****. No emails/phone calls in april, may and 1 email in June. And GE has the arrogance to call this service. Now it is my understanding that they have blackballed me and steer clients away from me. The first night I was there ******* was saying - you are going to be so busy because you will get selected so often, blah, blah. All part of the sales pitch and now she tells everyone to avoid me. This must be part of that "team service" that she spent so much time talking about. Not a single phone call nor a single email from ******* until I said I wanted to cancel my membership. THAT IS GREAT SERVICE.
I signed up for the service at the end of January. I did not have access to the database until March 2, again I have the email from GE telling me a that point I can access the database.

So the answer from GE is that once we have your name on the contract - and you don't cancel within 3 days - you the customer are screwed. No matter what GE is going to keep your money. GE has no interest in trying to resolve this in a reasonable manner. I am left with no other choice but to file lawsuits against GE and ********

Business' Final Response
We do have interest in trying to resolve Mr. ******'s issues, and we would like to restart Mr. ******'s membership, thus enabling him to start his three year service period over, even though approximately five months have passed.

When Mr. ****** e-mailed us his refund request on March 26, we e-mailed our response on March 28. He e-mailed us again on March 29 and we responded on April 3. In our response we explained that he had just started his three year membership and given his specifications, it may take a while to find the type of woman he was seeking.

As we explained previously, Mr. ****** used our service, so we couldn't agree to a refund. We told him that there is no way to guarantee a member will say yes to you if selected, just as you do not say yes to all the women who select to meet you. The value of our service is the quality of our members and our efforts on behalf of our members.

Once members join, *****, our Member Service Manager, becomes their main contact point. ***** reports to ******** the Director of the center. At one point, ***** had placed a call to Mr. ****** and he hung up on her. Even so, we continued to look for him.

Importantly, we have not blackballed Mr. ****** or have steered anyone away from him. We are not sure where this is coming from, but it is the furthest from the truth. We would like Mr. ****** to resume using the service.

02/22/2013Problems with Product / Service
08/31/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Dating Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/28/1990Business started: 11/10/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Palm Beach Tax Collector
PO Box 3715 301 N. Oliver Ave, 3rd Flr
West Palm Beach, FL33402-3715
(561) 355-2264
http://www.co.palm-beach.fl.us

BBB records show a license number of 200704195 for this company, issued by Palm Beach Tax Collector. Their web address is http://www.co.palm-beach.fl.us.

Check License Status: http://taxcollectorpbc.manatron.com/Tabs/BusinessTax/AccountDetail.aspx?p=200704195&a=1786357

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Margolis (President)
Business Category

Dating Service

Alternate Business Names
Silogram Enterprises, Inc
Industry Tips
International Matchmaking: As Successful As Advertised?
Searching for Love Online

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Great Expectations

4800 N Federal Hwy., Ste. E100

Boca Raton, FL 33431

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4800 N Federal Hwy., Ste. E100 

    Boca Raton, FL 33431(561) 393-6666

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Great Expectations is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.