BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Elite Matchmaking

Phone: (800) 931-9305Fax: (954) 332-3792

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
07/12/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Service did not come through as promised. After only 2 dates, they both turned out to live in other states and one wasn't even a citizen.
Elite Matchmaking initially seemed professional and very interested in finding me a match based on my criteria. They assured me they had many men that would be a good fit for me. After signing up and paying the hefty fee, I waited a few weeks to receive a match. Many of the matches that were sent were either well beyond my age criteria, or out of my local area. I finally went on a date and although he was a great guy it turns out that he lives in New Jersey and only comes to Florida to see his ailing Mother. My second date was great too but after talking with him it turns out he's not a U.S. citizen and needs to marry to get his green card so his son with special needs can receive services here. After telling **** about this and asking for more matches I was told to wait two weeks but a month went by and then two. I was told that a background check on all applicants shows that these men did live in Florida but by the men's own admission, they don't. **** said she was working on more matches but they never came. Elite Matchmaking has taken my hard earned money and not delivered what they promised. I am disappointed and feel that Elite Matchmaking owes me at least a partial refund for not delivering what they said they could deliver.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking at the minimum, at least a fifty percent refund. The service did not deliver what they said they could.

Business Response
The core of Ms. Barnett's complaint is that we did not deliver as promised. Ms. Barnett signed a 4 months contract with Elite for which during that time she received 10 suggested matches, 4 of which she approved to meet.

Background checks are conducted on every client that is active in our database, all results remain on record and can be provided at any point. Claims of a client needing a green card are solely assumptive and both men have full time residents in Florida spending more than 50% of their time here and addresses have both been confirmed.

Ms.Barnett joined on 6/1/2015 and received her first match on 6/9/2015, a week from her join date even though the contract clearly states that the first match is to be expected within 2-3 weeks. The second match was sent on 6/20/2015 less than two weeks later. With 10 suggested matches sent, that is an average of a match every 2 weeks.

Additionally, Ms. Barnett has been presented with 10 potential matches in which Elite Matchmaking felt were compatible and exceeded several other qualities. Clearly Elite Matchmaking has followed all contractual obligations set forth in the contract signed by the company and Ms. Barnett.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
While background checks may be completed on every client, there are easy ways around this that in my case, have occurred. The first gentleman I went out with did have a Florida address however, it was a temporary address that he was using while he rented a house to care for his ailing Mother. I had multiple contacts with this client and he lives and runs a business out of state and only visits Florida every 3 months to see his Mother. The second gentleman I went out with also had a Florida address however, this was a home he had for his young children and nanny and his permanent residence was out of the country. He later called me and admitted that he is seeking a wife so that he can obtain his green card to allow his son with special needs to continue to get services here in Florida. Most of the matches I was sent were either too old for my age criteria or too far. I was always treated with respect by the agency but I still feel misled that there really were not many eligible matches for my criteria. As a single Mother of three children, I feel that there was no regard for how valuable my time and money were.

Final Business Response
We appreciate the clients response that we always treated her with respect bc as a professional company dealing with the emotions of thousands it is important to conduct ourselves as such. Unfortunately, we can not control what clients discuss but do our due diligence to ensure clients are representing themselves as honest and truthful and records of background checks secure to us as such. All clients are given the right to accept or deny matches, Ms. Barnett chose to accept many of these dates given the opportunity. We are happy to consider future matches but Elite has met and exceeded all contractual obligation, continued communication and even considered matches after the contract time was up.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It's true that Elite Matchmaking cannot make anyone be honest however, when you tell ladies that a background check is done, then women assume they are safe and it was thorough. In my instance, this was clearly not the case.

12/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was not provided with the service that was promised. Calls weren't answered and I was treated disrespectfully.
I was promised that I would be matched up with a great guy, one that would be a good fit for my personality and needs. The two sales people; Nicole and **** would match me up with men that were totally opposite of what would be a good fit for my personality. When trying to work with them I would be promised this or that and nothing came about. I disputed it twice on my credit card but no luck. I had 3.5 weeks left and was introduced to someone (as the rest) over an hour away, was promised another match but **** never called or came through until the end when she said that was it.....as per the contract I am suppose to get a new match every two weeks. It appears to be a spam and the "men pool" that they claim to have is horrible-they even tried to match me with a biker! To conclude services promised were NOT fulfilled and I feel something should be done as others have complained too, these two women are rude and obnoxious to say the least.

Desired Settlement
I want my credit card either credited the $3,400.00 or a check made out to me for said amount

Business Response
Ms. ********* signed a Non-Refundable contract on June 25, 2015 that clearly states she agreed to 3 months of service with only 2 matches guaranteed. However, in that time she has received 8 suggested matches, all of which were in the age range, income level, geographic area and met the qualities discussed.

As for the clients personal claims against staff, all emails have been replied to within 24 hours and all calls have been returned within 48 hours. We have never disrespected our clients as their happiness and success is a priority to us.

The Contract signed by client states (paragraph 6) understands Client Obligations that they understands and agrees "the first introduction will be presented within two to four weeks after the execution of this agreement. Subsequent introductions will be presented on average of every four to six weeks unless Client has asked for specific qualifications that may be more challenging to locate, which would increase the length of time between presented profiles."
Client received her first match on July 6, 2015 less than 2 weeks after joining whom she declined to meet based on her lack of physical attraction to the gentleman.

No where in the contract does the company guarantee to match client with a list of requests made by the client or guarantees to do so.
Ex: religion, age, ethnicity, marital status, etc

Ms. ********* has received 7 additional matches since joining. All she refused to meet; 1 she agreed and decided not to meet after a phone conversation. One match, Howard we received no explanation or response then months later decided she wanted to meet him which was too late. The matches and services are consistent with contractual obligations that matches will be sent every few weeks, hence, services being rendered accordingly. As you can see, matches have been sent on a much quicker average then the contract states.

Match sent to Ms. ********* within 2 weeks after she joined the Elite service, following contractual obligations to present a suggested match with two to four weeks of joining. Ms. ********* received consecutive matches every 1-2 weeks since joining, exceeding contractual obligations. The total of matches presented to Ms. ********* was 8 matches in less than a 3 month period.
Again, Elite does not contractually guarantee to match by a set criteria that a client determines. Matches are suggested based on expertise of the matchmakers.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
While their response is "well written" it appears to have come from a corporate office- standard response. None of my matches were in a geographic area and not all qualities were met even after discussions. For example I am a professional woman and after one discussion/questioning their abilities to find someone with ****, she sent over a "biker" to match with me. That clearly appeared as an uninterested and disrespected action towards me regarding my questioning.....my best interest were not in the forefront. At one point **** sent over a match and I stated that there was no chemistry followed by another match that I liked and she replied that he state there was no chemistry- another example of non-interest and disrespect towards me (the client-making me very uncomfortable). Most but not all correspondence was replied in a timely fashion however the level of respect, concern and interest declined greatly after I complained that the service I signed on for was not being provided. Elite has a long list of complaints on line which I did not find out about till after I was talked into signing.....with all the promises they proclaimed. Now during the interview with Nicole I was told otherwise regarding to the amount and frequency of matches. She said I would be getting one every two weeks even though the contract states otherwise and not to worry about it. Again please review the long list of the complaints online regarding Elite and their services.

Final Business Response
One complaint is clearly one too many but the accusations in this complaint are completely false. Elite representatives have never disrespected a client, including Ms. *********. We have followed all contractual obligations found in the contract in which was signed and read by the client. The time of matches clearly shows that Ms. ******** received a match every 2-3 weeks which is exactly what the contact and our statement says will be done.
As for the biker, Elite is unclear of whom she is referring to as all the clients sent had an income level of over $150,000 and none are "bikers".
Ms. *********'s claim of disrespect of us being honest letting her know that a client has respectfully declined meeting is in no way being disrespectful but only stating the response, one of which as she claims she also gave.
Please find below the last email exchange, this clearly shows there was no disrespect and Elite was continually reaching out to client even with NO response from her regarding matches sent:
On Oct 6, 2015, at 2:34 PM, **** <*********@elitematchmaking.com> wrote:

I am sorry to hear and hope your feeling better. I let him know already you passed.

Sent from my iPhone

On Oct 6, 2015, at 1:45 PM, **** ********* <*************@gmail.com> wrote:

****
I have been very sick and would like to meet ******.


regards,
**** *********
XXX-XXX-XXXX

On Wed, Sep 30, 2015 at 7:17 AM, **** ******** <*********@elitematchmaking.com> wrote:
Morning ****, hope all is well.
I never heard back from you following sending ****** as to why you decided to pass?

Warmly,
****

Client received 8 matches in a 3 month period, averaging every 2-3 weeks as the contract states and which was explained in her face to face meeting.

Elite has always been kind and respectful to Ms. ********* and her credit card refusal on her chargebacks clearly shows that Elite has followed all contractual obligations.

We are happy to schedule a call to discuss further as we are still unclear why she felt she was disrespected as there is no where in her statements that explains.

08/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Advertises personalized matchmaking and doing background checks. 1st match a fake. None of the matches met my criteria and one had criminal brother.
Signed contract for personalized matches that fit my criteria.
First match was a fake: she couldn't provide any photos except those ripped of a linkedin and fb profile. These were in tiny small format one uses when copying off a public linkedin page, not sent by a person. When asked for photos, received 3 different excuses by email.
Next matches: I asked for:
1. very well educated/sophisticated. received community college drop out.
2. asked for well traveled, but not through the military. Received smne who traveled only through military.
I was offered a match who was opening an office in the UK (it fit my interest) before I paid. That was false and when I pressed the matter, the story was retracted.
Claim background checks: set me up with someone whose brother had just been arrested for sexual deviance/attacks, twice. Visiting this person's family therefore didn't seem safe for a girlfriend.
Her helped in DC lied about the office and her own background.
They excuse everything with "perception" ignoring facts.
The agency is really just one person on a permanent basis, Roni ********, not a team of matchmakers.
Last guy I met didn't pay them. Didn't even know their names.

Desired Settlement
I paid $6900. I got zero out of it. I am willing to leave $1500 on the table, but I expect a refund.

Business Response
**** ******* is not a client of Elite Matchmakings Florida office located at *** NE *** ****** #1500, Fort Lauderdale FL XXXXX.
Ms. ******* will have to contact her local office for any complaints.
Please remove.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My contract, see attached, is explicitly with Broward County office and all my interaction beyond initial interview was with owner Roni ********, of Borward COunty. Every email I have received has been from Roni in Florida. I will also file a complaint in Virginia (not DC) where the credit card was processed, but my CONTRACT is with Elite of Florida. The "DC" office is a temporary space that is rented by the hour, and not incorporated or a real office.

Final Business Response
Thank you for your reply. As noted we have all evidence on file including clients contracts, drivers license, cc info, etc which by law is required to be kept confidential. I am sure Ms. ******* would not want her information shared with others.
Elite does not guarantee to match clients based on specific requirements according to the contract signed which is why a client hires an expert to work on their behalf.
We have presented Ms. ******* with matches that as experts we feel were a good fit and meet the suggested criteria.
We are happy to move forward and provided further service.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I would like to proceed with my complaint. No evidence has been presented and all my complaints still stand. I now have an additional complaint with the business saying that I am not their client (but of per-hour hired DC office) until I had to prove I am a client. They tried to ignore my contract signed with the Florisa office.

06/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The services delivered by this company do not rise to the level represented at the initial consultation. Second, the amount for services varies.
Sometime in February 2014, I met Ms. ******** for an initial consultation. At that time, she explained the process, including the quality of the individuals that were a part of this service. Further, I was advised that a background check was conducted of the individuals. Last, I was quoted $4500.00 for a three month subscription.

I signed the application and a few days later a family member passed away. I advised the company to process the payment on a date certain sometime later.

On or about April 2014, I commenced receiving services from the company. At some point in June 2014, I advised Ms. ******** by e-mail that I was disappointed with the process employed by the entity.

For one, there were two individuals that were in-between jobs, had been fired or unemployed. If the appropriate level of due diligence had been conducted, the company would have known of these circumstances.

As for pricing, it came to my attention that the price structure was different depending on the individual and that did not seem fair.

As a last point, when your term expires, there is absolutely no follow-up by the company and that speaks volumes in terms of customer service.

In conclusion, I was dissatisfied with the services rendered by this company. I do not wish to receive any further services from this company and request that they issue a refund of the amount paid by me to the company in the amount of $4500.

Thank you for your attention to this matter.

Desired Settlement
A refund of the amount paid, $4500.

Business Response
Clients claims from almost one year prior are correct in terms of Elite working with clients initial financial commitment due to death in the family and postponing accordingly.
Beginning April 2, 2014 Ms. ********* has had complete services rendered in which she contractually agreed upon.
Ms. ********* signed a non-refundable contract that clearly states she agreed to 3 months of service with unlimited amount of matches. Non-refundable statement is made very clear directly above clients name and signature dated April 2.
Client also (paragraph 6) understands Client Obligations that they understands and agrees "the first introduction will be presented within two to four weeks after the execution of this agreement. Subsequent introductions will be presented on average of every four to six weeks unless Client has asked for specific qualifications that may be more challenging to locate, which would increase the length of time between presented profiles."
Client received her first match on April 11, 2014 less than 2 weeks after joining whom she decided to pass ** meeting. May 2, 2014 she received another match whom she was interested in meeting but unfortunately he respectfully passed ** meeting her. May 15, 2014, less than 2 weeks later Ms. ********* was sent another match with whom both parties approved and met but decided to remain friends. Ms. *********'s feedback was as follows, "Jose and I spoke on the phone about three times before going out Friday. Jose is intelligent and has the capacity to engage in good conversation on a number of topics including current events. Jose picked me up at about 7:30. We went to Graziano's in the Gables. We were there for over 2 hours. He is nice and attentive. However, I felt more of a friend vibe.
1. Chivalrous
2. Nice
3. Intelligent
4. Good conversation
5. Educated
I just did not feel any attraction or chemistry." Elite can not of course guage or predict such chemistry to exist.
June 2, 2014 another match was sent who respectfully declined meeting Ms. ********* and a following match was sent on June 18, 2014 where both parties agreed to meet. As well as July 14, 2014 where both parties agreed.
All clients go through the same screening process, background checks and pay a fee. However, fees are designed based on length of time, number of matches and qualifications of match. Matches are suggested based on expertise of the matchmakers.
Client states that 2 clients were in between jobs which is incorrect as all employment status is confirmed and clients invest thousands to ensure their financial stability.
As provided the charged amount was authorized by client with a signed contract and proof of identity.
The contract states Elite Matchmaking agrees to make " unlimited introductions of potential Candidates to Client within 3 months of the date first set forth above." Elite has match Ms. ********* within contractual obligations over a year ago.
Elite would have been happy to continue sending suggested matches if Ms. ********* was open to receiving and would be happy to do so at this point as our only priority is her success and happiness.

02/11/2014Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Dating Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.