BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/15/2002

South Beach Cruises, Inc.

Phone: (305) 531-8200Fax: (305) 531-7705View Additional Phone Numbers8350 NW 52nd Ter Ste 103, DoralFL 33166-7706

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/15/2002

BBB has determined that South Beach Cruises, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised South Beach Cruises, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on South Beach Cruises, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
03/04/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Did not receive what was promised. No calls are being returned. No e-mails are being responded to.
I scheduled a club cruise with Nancy J. ****** MCC at cruise shopping .com. She promised our club members $100 on board credit regardless of how many cabins were booked. We have this in hard copy. Four of us couples booked. We ALL have her promise on hard copy. Later just before the cruise (Jan. 23rd, Carnival Conquest, out of Ft. Lauderdale) she said we would NOT get the $100. She even denied promising us even though we reminded her we had it in writing. My assistant with the club (and also one who booked), called her boss. He promised us we would each get the $100 on board credit since we had it in writing. When we boarded the ship, we checked and we did NOT get the $100. We have called, no response. We have e-mailed them, no response. When my asistant finally got a hold of someone, she was told the man who promised us the $100 is no longer working with the company and now they say we will not be re-imbursed. People who were promised the $100 are....Tony & Pat Carter, Mark & Mary Jones, Ralph & Peggy ***** and Clifton & ******** ***** (me). Thank you in advance for whatever you may be able to do

Desired Settlement
A check for $100 to be sent to each of the four couples mentioned.

Final Consumer Response
The complaint has been corrected by the party. Thank you so much. We all received our checks.

10/03/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Trip insurance requirements were misrepresented when placing a deposit for a cruise 14 months in the future costing us a $200.00 penalty.
On October 16, 2012 Ms. ***** of South Beach Cruises (Have booked many cruises with her in the past) informed us that the Oceania cruise we desired, sailing on 12/2/13 only required a $750.00 deposit to book a cabin and that a TRIP CANCELLATION POLICY COVERING PRE-EXISTING CONDITIONS NEED NOT BE PURCHASED UNTIL FINAL PAYMENT IS DUE! On 8/2/13 final payment was due and payment of $4048 was made along with purchase of the trip cancellation policy for $640. Upon receipt of said policy it stated that in order for pre-existing conditions to be covered, the policy had to be purchased within 14 days of INITIAL DEPOSIT. When I called Ms. ***** about this she said that it was not true, we were covered. I called the insurance company and they confirmed the policy statement. Ms. ***** finally confirmed this fact. I immediately cancelled the policy and cruise.
Since we were within 120 days of the sailing date, the cruise line withheld $200.00 as a cancellation penalty. I feel that South Beach Cruises should refund the $200.00. Had they told us last October we needed to purchase the Trip Policy none of would have occurred and we would have been able to enjoy our long awaited trip.

Desired Settlement
South Beach Cruises should be responsible for the lost deposit. We are not interested in a credit on a future Oceania cruise.

Business Response
The information that was provide to Mr. ******* at time of booking is that the insurance can be purchase up to the final payments to have the pre-existing condition included with one of the policy we offer to our clients. When Mr. ******* called to pay his final balance he was given a lesser product which does not include the pre-ex once that was brought to our attention we immediately called the insurance rep to upgrade his policy. Mr. ******* advised that he had a numerous procedures that he and his wife have scheduled prior to the cruise therefore he must have pre-ex coverage. The insurance rep advised pre-ex would not cover him for these circumstance. The only option left was for Mr. ******* is to cancel his booking which was already in a $750 cancelation penalty which the agent had the cruise line waived the penalty less a future cruise deposit of $200 which can be used for a future booking. Mr. ******* is not out of $200 since the cruise line gave him a good will gesture of a future cruise credit.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There are errors in the response by South Beach Cruises.
1. There was no $750 cancellation penalty-only the $200 penalty ($100.00 per person within the 120 day period prior to sailing)
2. I have NO procedures scheduled!
3. My wife needs carpal tunnel surgery on her wrist, which would have been scheduled AFTER the trip!
4. It only prudent at age 83 to have trip insurance when going on a cruise.
5. All of the above dispute would have been avoided had we been PROPERLY advised at the time of the initial deposit. South Beach Cruises misrepresented the facts and should be held responsible.
6. Again, Ms. ***** clearly stated that trip insurance need not be purchased prior to final payment and still have pre-existing coverage. She even argued with me after 8/2/13 that we did have this coverage with *******.


Final Business Response
There is no lost deposit since the cruise line waive the deposit and offer a future cruise credit. If the next cruise vacation is on another cruise line other than Oceania South Beach Cruises will apply a credit of the $200 toward the next booking.

06/30/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Did not provide the onboard credit in the amount advertised.
In purchasing a cruise ticket the advertisement said that for cabin costs of $100 - $1499 there would be $100 ship credit applied. After purchasing the cruise a $50 credit was applied. I contacted the company and they said it only applied to the the cost of 1 person in the cabin although the advertisement clearly stated it applied to the first two passengers in the cabin. Each ticket was $649 without taxes and other charges for a total of $1298. A $100 credit shold be applied, but the company refuses to honor the ad.

Desired Settlement
The full amount of the credit be applied to the cabin assigned for the 4/20 cruise.

Business Response
The disclaimer stated that the rates are per person and the on board credit is per cabin, since Mr. **** booked as a single his only entitle to half the credit

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did not book as a single. My cabin booking included my wife as staying in the same cabin and I was charged for the cost of two individuals. I've included the actual email received from the business that clearly shows I did not book as a single.

Dear Mr. ****

Thank you for booking your upcoming cruise with CruiseShopping.com.

Your cruise reservation and payment are being processed by the cruise line. Once the payment is processed you will receive an invoice confirmation, usually within 24-48 hours. We will notify you if there are any complications with your payment.

Your cruise information is as follows:

Invoice #: XXXXXXX
Confirmation #: 96MRN4
Cruise Line: Carnival Cruise Lines
Ship Name: Carnival Legend
Departure: Sunday, April 20, 2014
Arrival: Sunday, April 27, 2014
# of Nights: 7
Itinerary: Tampa, Cozumel, Belize, Roatan, Grand Cayman, Tampa
Passengers: *** ******* ****, age 53
Ms. ***** ****, age 52

Invoice Total: $1,551.76

For questions regarding your trip please contact a customer service representative at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Thank you for choosing CruiseShopping.com.

Enjoy your Cruise!


Final Business Response
Mr. **** received $50 Cabin credit below is the term and condition of the credit and the attach file is Mr. **** paid invoice.

FREE Onboard Credit Receive a FREE Onboard Credit when you reserve the above date(s) with us. When the price per person is


$399 to $499, receive: $25 FREE Onboard Credit per cabin


$500 to $999, receive: $50 FREE Onboard Credit per cabin


$1000 to 1499, receive: $100 FREE Onboard Credit per cabin


$1500 or higher, receive: $250 FREE Onboard Credit per cabin


Combinable With This offer is combinable with all other offers.


Details Offer is for new bookings only. Must book at least 14 days prior to departure. Onboard credit amounts are per cabin. Prices are per person 1 & 2 in the cabin only, excluding government fees and taxes, hotel, transfer, airfare, insurance and other fare items are excluded. No Free Onboard Credit for prices below $399. Not redeemable for cash. Applies to specially marked Bonus dates. Offer applies also to Senior, Resident, Military, and other rates and fare codes. Offer is based on double occupancy. This offer may sell out and is not guaranteed until cruise has been booked.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Just returned from the cruise and np credit was ever applied. Carnival says it was never forwarded by the business.

04/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I booked a cruise online. The premiums offered are not being provided and the business is unresponsive to email and phone contacts.
On 26-Feb-2014 I booked a cruise for two passengers with invoice number XXXXXX. I kept screen shots of four successive pages from their website which I encountered and carefully read before booking my cruise. I can provide BBB with copies of each and have already provided copies to South Beach by email. Page1 shows that the premiums in question were in fact included as part of the $549 fare for a IF cabin. Page2 shows the terms of the excursion, wine and portrait credits ($180 total value). The language includes the express statement "combinable with all other offers". Page3 shows the a credit of "up to $250 bonus credit" which, as applied to my cruise, is $25 the only credit South Beach now seems willing to provide me with. Page3 language also states "combinable with all other offers". Page4 is a screen shot of my booking at the time I booked a IF cabin. This led to their invoice sent to me the same day which shows the booking for a IF cabin, but omits the promised additional credits ($100 excursion, & $80 wine / portrait)

In the one and only phone conversation they have been willing to engage in relating to this dispute, they claimed they could not perform because Princess does not allow it and required a change to a "regional incentive", different than the one I bargained for. Their agent, ********, (extension **** asked that I speak with Princess to confirm. I have spoken with Princess and they indicate travel agencies often offer credits which they do not nor do they limit the incentives travel agencies offer.

Somewhere along the way, after my booking, someone at South Beach decided to: 1) upgrade me from a IF to a IB cabin (Princess shows a different cabin than that shown on South Beach's invoice); 2)categorize me under a different offer (the so-called "regional incentive"); and 3) eliminate promised additional credits ($180 total value). I respectfully demanded they honor the promised deal. South Beach has gone silent and won't answer phone or email messages. I am shocked they are trying to unilaterally change the deal after the fact.

Desired Settlement
Honor the additional $180 in credits promised at the time of the booking.

Business Response
Mr. *******, email nor phone calls did not goes un answer, he was advised the rate code he booked is not applicable to the 3 for free promotion. It clearly stated on the terms and condition that this promotion "offer may sell out and is not guaranteed until cruise has been booked." We notify Mr. ******* right away to advise that this promotion is sold out on the cabin category he have reserve online, the upgrade his referring to is a comp. upgrade from the cruise line which have nothing to do with the promotion. he was given the difference in price to received the promotion in question.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Between 2/26/14 and 3/4/14 I placed 4 calls, left 3 voicemails and sent 1 email to them; On 3/4/14 I received a short email response, but no return phone call. I called again, spoke with ******** 3/4/14 and sent additional documentation by email without further answer or resolution. Filed complaint and informed them of my BBB complaint 3/6/14.

Received email response from them 3/7/14 which I answered as follows:
"1) There is no "clear" exclusion in the offer for discounted fares, except for "Alaska cruise tours", which this booking is not."
"2) There is no reference in the offer to this being subject to terms and conditions of Princess. It is clearly your web site and your offer as I read the stated conditions."
"3) Your firm's handling of this matter is a customer service train wreck. Your lack of accepting even a scintilla responsibility to honor your contract is reprehensible to me. It appears you have made no effort in any reasonable way to find a resolution and possibly have no intent to do so. "
"4) Without waiving any legal remedies I may have, I am willing for a neutral third party to review the documentation and mediate the matter."

They have not contacted me since.

The following is quoted from the copied screen shots I retained 2/26/14 as I booked the cruise:
"Available Bonus Offers - ENDS FRIDAY: $100 Deposits + Shore Excursions up to $200 + Bottle of Wine + Framed Photo BONUS: Free Onboard Credit up to $250 $100 Deposits plus Free $650 Onboard Value Booklets"

I checked their website 2/27/14 & 2/28/14 and the offer stayed in place through Friday without any notice the promotion was sold out as they claim.

Their response to BBB states: "he was advised the rate code he booked is not applicable to the 3 for free promotion" That is a complete fabrication. I have documentation in the form of copied screen shots in evidence to the contrary as well as their automated confirming email sent to me following the booking which shows a cabin assignment in an IF code.

Their response to BBB states:" We notify Mr. ******* right away to advise that this promotion is sold out on the cabin category he have reserve online" That is a bold-faced lie. No such notification has ever been communicated to me.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Cruises, Travel Agencies & Bureaus

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/09/1998Business started: 12/01/1993
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Dept of Agriculture & Consumer Services
2005 Apalachee Pkwy
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6500
(800) 435-7352

Miami-Dade Tax Collector
140 W Flagler Street, 1st Flr
Miami, FL 33130
(305) 375-5452
http://www.miamidade.gov

BBB records show a license number of ST18427 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Agriculture & Consumer Services.

Check License Status: https://csapp.800helpfla.com/cspublicapp/businesssearch/businesssearch.aspx

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 3195450 for this company, issued by Miami-Dade Tax Collector. Their web address is http://www.miamidade.gov.

Check License Status: https://www.miamidade.county-taxes.com/public/business tax/accounts/3057692

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Admiel Charlot (Manager)Mr. John Nordquist (Owner)
Business Category

Cruises, Travel Agencies & Bureaus

Alternate Business Names
South Beach Cruises & Cruise Shopping, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for South Beach Cruises, Inc.

8350 NW 52nd Ter Ste 103

Doral, FL 33166-7706

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 8350 NW 52nd Ter Ste 103 

    Doral, FL 33166-7706(305) 531-8200
    (305) 468-1550
    (800) 650-7245

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*South Beach Cruises, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (305) 468-1550
  • (800) 650-7245
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Cruises

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.