BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/1987

Atlas Cruises & Tours

(800) 942-3301View Additional Phone Numbers8409 N. Military Trail Ste 106, Palm Beach GardensFL 33410View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/1987

BBB has determined that Atlas Cruises & Tours meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Atlas Cruises & Tours' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

17 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Atlas Cruises & Tours

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 17
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 17 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
09/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Believe I was conned into purchasing a cruise perk that already existed without the purchase.
***** ****** travel agent told me that in order to receive a "guaranteed unobstructed balcony room" I would have to pay $400 more for me and my husband. While on the ship we realized all the balcony rooms were "unobstructed"! So why the extra cost???? When I called to complain to **** ******* general/assistant manager, he deflected the situation as to a misunderstanding on my part.
He went on to tell me about his experience with cruise details. I interrupted him and said "Is this my complaint or yours?" Basically he talked and talked but never really said what he was going to do to satisfy this customer. I finally beat him to the punch and he stated that he needed to start an investigation on the matter.
I understood until he said I needed to provide him with the email of the cruise special that started the whole process. Ultimately, I find that email and send it to him or there can be no investigation. They were the ones who sent it to me first with the cruise specials, so they should have it on file!!! Bad, Bad customer service

Desired Settlement
to have my $400 returned for the guarantee of the unobstructed balcony room. it was already guaranteed with the architect of the ship.

Business Response
We are in receipt of Mrs. ********* complaint and sincerely apologize for any misunderstanding. Our company aims to consistently deliver professional service to our customers.

In reviewing the email sent by ***** to ********** on July 22nd.(see email below,) at no point in this email, did any mention that there was an additional $400 for a balcony room.

________________________________________
From: ***** *****
Sent: Tuesday, July 22, XXXX X:XX PM
To: *********@hotmail.com
Subject: NCL SUN

Thank you ***** for your telephone call regarding the NCL SUN for Aug 25th to Sept 1st, 2014, sailing from Whittier to Vancouver, 7 nights.
The Balcony BX Guarantee is the least expensive balcony at this time, even less that booking the ocean view with the free upgrade. Please see the pricing below.

$979.00 base cruise fare per person for Category BX Guarantee
200.08 government taxes
$1179.20 subtotal per person
89.00 Optional Travel Insurance
$1268.20 subtotal per person

$1029.00 base cruise fare per person for Category BD Guarantee and the other prices are the same.
I have held the BX Guarantee, however there is a possibility of getting an obstructed or partially obstructed cabin so if you wish to upgrade for $50 per person you will be given a BD or better.
If you are interested in a pre night hotel in Anchorage it is $189 per person at the ******* ****** or $199 per person at the ******** ********* Hotel & spa.
Arrival transfers are $59 per person on the day of the cruise and your flight must arrive by 445pm as the ship sails at 9pm.
The air with NCL is $1133 per person and flight are only advised 7-14 days prior to sailing or if you go in a day ahead there is instant purchase airfare with direct non-stop flights for $924.55 per person

Kind regards,

***** *****
Leisure Travel Specialist
Atlas Travel Center
X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Ext ****
*****@atlastravelweb.com

As it turned out, ***** was misinformed by the NCL agent as the BX category is not obstructed on this NCL ship as it is on others. For this misinformation we apologize, we were just passing ** what we had been told by the cruise agent.

However, the price was quoted correctly, and Mrs. ****** chose the lowest priced balcony (BX category). That same day.an additional email was sent by our agent regarding the specific promotion that was applicable for to the category she was considering.

________________________________________
From: ***** *****
Sent: Tuesday, July 22, XXXX X:XX PM
To: *********@hotmail.com
Subject: FW: NCL SUN

I forgot to mention below this category gives you a shipboard credit of $100 for the cabin. You mentioned a $200 shipboard credit, however this varies according to the category booked for example the suites get $200 as the add says up to $200 shipboard credit.
Full payment will be due tomorrow.
Thank you again.
I am in tomorrow at 930am EASTERN STANDARD TIME.

Kind regards,

***** *****

This was to advise the client prior to her booking the reservation that for this particular category the ship board credit would be $100. We had not applied any monies and the reservation was on courtesy hold. July 23rd, an email was sent to the client giving her the final total due and requesting her authorization to purchase the cruise which she did at her choice.

We sent her an Invoice confirmation and at no point did client contact our agency to discuss any concerns.

As it turned out, we were pleased to advise that even though she booked the lowest category guaranteed balcony BX, she was upgraded to the BD category that she wanted at no additional expense. (Stateroom *******)


***** ****
President
X-XXX-XXX-XXXX ext ****
Direct XXX-XXX-XXXX
Email: *****@atlastravelweb.com

Industry Comparison| Chart

Cruises, Online Travel Agency, Travel Agencies & Bureaus, Raft Trips & Tours, Ski Tours, Sightseeing Tours, Vacation Rentals, Vacation Time Share

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/21/1991Business started: 08/01/1987
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Dept of Agriculture & Consumer Services
2005 Apalachee Pkwy
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6500
(800) 435-7352

Palm Beach Tax Collector
PO Box 3715 301 N. Oliver Ave, 3rd Flr
West Palm Beach, FL 33402-3715
(561) 355-2264
http://www.co.palm-beach.fl.us

BBB records show a license number of ST18848 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Agriculture & Consumer Services.

Check License Status: https://csapp.800helpfla.com/cspublicapp/businesssearch/BusinessSearch.aspx

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of ST37122 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Agriculture & Consumer Services.

Check License Status: https://csapp.800helpfla.com/cspublicapp/businesssearch/BusinessSearch.aspx

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 201016008 for this company, issued by Palm Beach Tax Collector. Their web address is http://www.co.palm-beach.fl.us.

Check License Status: http://pbctax.manatron.com/Tabs/BusinessTax/AccountDetail.aspx?p=201016008&a=1859670

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Terry Lobo (President) Alfred Lobo (VP)
Business Category

Cruises, Online Travel Agency, Travel Agencies & Bureaus, Raft Trips & Tours, Ski Tours, Sightseeing Tours, Vacation Rentals, Vacation Time Share

Alternate Business Names
AtlasTravelWeb.com

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Atlas Cruises & Tours

8409 N. Military Trail Ste 106

Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33410

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 8409 N. Military Trail Ste 106 

    Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33410

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Atlas Cruises & Tours is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (561) 687-3301
  • (561) 687-3303
  • (888) 942-3301
  • (800) 306-5595
  • (561) 472-2801
  • (561) 472-2802
  • (561) 472-2803
  • (561) 472-2804
  • (561) 472-2805
  • (561) 472-2806
  • (561) 472-2807
  • (561) 472-2808
  • (561) 472-2810
  • (561) 472-2811
  • (561) 472-2821
  • (561) 472-2812
  • (561) 472-2817
  • (561) 472-2823
  • (561) 472-2813
  • (561) 472-2818
  • (561) 472-2814
  • (561) 472-2819
  • (561) 472-2815
  • (561) 472-2820

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (561) 626-8091
  • (561) 687-9088
  • (561) 687-1577
  • (561) 627-8200
  • (561) 626-8090
  • (800) 349-0573
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Cruises

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.