BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southeast Florida & the Caribbean

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/24/2014

Maurette Construction Company, Inc.

Phone: (786) 506-3322Fax: (305) 438-9195380 Giralda Ave Apt 708, Coral GablesFL 33134-5064 Send email to Maurette Construction Company, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/24/2014

BBB has determined that Maurette Construction Company, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Maurette Construction Company, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Maurette Construction Company, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
06/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
*** *********/Maurette Construction has refused to complete the contracted work on my property. He is citing inaccurate financial records as an excuse
We signed a contract with *** ********* and Maurette Construction to complete a multi-part renovation on our home. The permit date was March 17th, and our contract states that substantial completion will be achieved within 100 days (June 25th). There are still a number of significant items that have not been completed (or started), and *** has stopped work. We have proven to him multiple times that we are currently overpaid on the job - the remaining balance to be paid is $14,078.69, but there is $19,954.65 worth of scheduled work to complete. The actual cost to *** may be even more than $19,954.65, since he underbid the project. First, *** tried to change the scheduled values, placing more money in the items that had already been completed and less money in the items that had not. When we refused to accept those changes, he sent a change order to us for over $6,500 for tile work that was included in the contract. When we rejected the change order, *** said that work would not continue until we paid. This continues a trend from throughout the project. We have been threatened multiple times that work will stop if we don't pay invoices within 12-24 hours, even though our contract (AIA 101 & 201) clearly outlines the payment process. Most recently, *** has said that the initial contract value was too low, and that we "forced" him to include certain things (like materials) that shouldn't have been included. I explained that he was under no obligation to accept the job back in December, but that once he did, he was bound by the terms of our contract. *** has also given us multiple change orders AFTER work was completed.

Delays in the project have been due to poor management and planning on the part of ***. For example, even though he had the specs on the tile for the project on December 31st, he chose not to place the orders until June 6th. *** tried to blame the tile installation delay on us, even though I paid the invoice supplied by him within 24 hours. The same is true of the pavers for the driveway. After including our (travertine) pavers in the contract price, *** spent a week trying to convince us to choose less expensive (concrete) pavers.

*** took $15,500 from us on January 13th to pay the deposit on our impact windows and doors. When the windows and doors hadn't arrived after six weeks, we questioned *** about the order. He blamed the delay on the manufacturer. We asked to see an invoice showing the order date, and he produced an invoice that was supposedly from Vintage Windows with a date of January 4th. On June 5th, my wife and I went to Vintage Windows ourselves and spoke with the owner, ***** ******* ***** explained to us that the deposit had not been made until March 17th, and the shop drawings had not been signed off on until March 22nd. The windows were delivered as promised by the vendor, and there were no manufacturer delays.

Part of our project involved redoing our laundry room. The laundry room was torn up on March 20th and is still not completed.

There has been little to no site supervision by *** throughout the project. Subcontractors have done extensive damage to our wood floors by not taking any steps to protect them. We have been through four different plumbers and three different electricians. *** has stated that he will not take any action to repair the damage his workers have done to our property.

Since May 28th, there has been little work completed. Maurette Construction has done four days of interior work (still not completed) and one day of exterior work. There is no effort being made to complete the job before the deadline, which at this point, cannot be met. We have asked repeatedly for a completion schedule, but *** has not produced one.

Desired Settlement
We would like for Maurette Construction to resume work immediately, and to complete the contracted job within a reasonable time frame, as per our contract. We would like for *** to provide us with a completion schedule, which is mandated by our contract, and a release of lien from all subcontractors that we have already paid for.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Contractors - General, Home Builders, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/14/2012Business started: 09/01/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr

Miami-Dade Tax Collector
140 W Flagler Street, 1st Flr
Miami, FL33130
(305) 375-5452
http://www.miamidade.gov

BBB records show a license number of CGC007467 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr.

Check License Status: https://www.myfloridalicense.com/LicenseDetail.asp?SID=&id=31C2B40C148B65A6456DC89DFF456E4D

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 293236-7 for this company, issued by Miami-Dade Tax Collector. Their web address is http://www.miamidade.gov.

Check License Status: https://www.miamidade.county-taxes.com/public/business tax/accounts/2800143

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Leo Hernandez (President)Mr. Luis De La Pena (Vice President/Qualifier)
Business Category

Contractors - General, Home Builders, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Industry Tips
BBB Warns Spring Time Brings Home Improvement Scams
Buying An Unbuilt Home
Home Improvements
Storm Clean-up Schemes Cause Additional Heartache

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Maurette Construction Company, Inc.

380 Giralda Ave Apt 708

Coral Gables, FL 33134-5064

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 380 Giralda Ave Apt 708 

    Coral Gables, FL 33134-5064

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Maurette Construction Company, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.