BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Southeast Florida & the Caribbean

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

BBB Accredited Business since 09/06/2012

Advanced Tech Support

Find a Location

Phone: (800) 978-4501Fax: (561) 948-4442700 Banyan Trl Ste 200, Boca RatonFL 33431-5610 Send email to Advanced Tech Support

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/06/2012

BBB has determined that Advanced Tech Support meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Advanced Tech Support's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised Advanced Tech Support's rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 178 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

174 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 122 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues21
Billing / Collection Issues4
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service147
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 174

Additional Complaint Information

Our files contain a pattern of complaints from consumers alleging that after they contact Advanced Tech Support for service, a representative from the business will attempt to repair their computer for a fee. After the fee was paid the computers were still not fixed or more damage was caused. Consumers state that additional fees they were not aware of are required before Advanced Tech Support will make further repairs.

On March 10, 2014, BBB sent correspondence to
Advanced Tech Support requesting their voluntary cooperation in resolving complaints on file with BBB and providing steps it will implement to eliminate the pattern of customer complaints.


Advanced Tech Support responded to BBB and explained the following:
After much internal training on our new system, we officially launched Nexus internally on Tuesday February 11, 2014. Even with training you can never be 100% ready for what happens in the real world so our reps were spending longer than expected on the phone calls to help our customers. This was because the new interface had new buttons that they were not used to and certain parts of the CRM were in different locations. With that said, our average handle time went from 19 minutes per call to 25 minutes per call. Although this sounds like only 6 minutes, at 3,000 calls a day this is actually 18,000 more minutes that we spent on the phone when compared to the average handle time before the launch. Because of this, our phone lines got backed up as we were not able to answer as many phone calls and many customers were calling back over and over because they were unable to reach us.

In addition, when we launched the new Nexus backend, some of our custom built IP, that helps us fix computers was not included (a bug). This IP helps to speed up the time that our technicians spend on fixing our customers machine as it is in the form of automation. Because of this, our Microsoft Certified technicians had to manually do some of the work that our automated tool normally did. Because of this, we were not able to fix as many machines as we normally did and we got backed up on doing the work on our customer machines. Some of our customers had to wait several hours for us to start the work on their machine, whereas in the past, prior to the launch, we were able to start the work in minutes. Because of this, many of the customers were calling back into our customer service department to get a status update as we were taking longer than normal to work on their machine. This backed up our customer service call lines even further.

Because of the above, we had many customers that were unable to reach us due to our customer service lines being backed up and they became upset. This led them to filing BBB complaints. Which we don't blame them for as this was not a great customer service experience.

We worked diligently with Support.com as they had their technicians fly down here in mid-February to help to fix the bugs that were in the Nexus system which were causing the problems for us. By March 1st these problems were fixed and by early March were back running smooth. I can say with certainty that right now, things are running better here than they ever have, although there may still be some backlash coming into the BBB in early March as some of the customers may have taken to the BBB a few weeks after they had trouble getting a hold of us.

In summary, we made a massive investment in doing a deal with Support.com for their Nexus platform and although we had some issues rolling it out, we are in a much better place right now as this system is allowing us to do an even better job fixing computers when compared to the work that we were doing before the launch.

We take calls 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and 365 days a year. There is no down time, so there really is no good time to roll out something big like a new back end system like Nexus. That said, experiencing a few bumps and bruises is to be expected.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

10 Customer Reviews on Advanced Tech Support
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 3
Negative Experience 7
Total Customer Reviews 10

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/21/2012Business started: 06/29/2011
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Boca Raton, City of
201 West Palmetto Park Road
Boca Raton, FL33432-3795
(561) 393-7789
http://www.ci.boca-raton.fl.us

Palm Beach Tax Collector
PO Box 3715 301 N. Oliver Ave, 3rd Flr
West Palm Beach, FL33402-3715
(561) 355-2264
http://www.co.palm-beach.fl.us

BBB records show a license number of 14-00054769 for this company, issued by Boca Raton, City of. Their web address is http://www.ci.boca-raton.fl.us. The expiration date of this license is 09/30/2014.

Check License Status: https://c2g.ci.boca-raton.fl.us/Click2GovBLP/licensedetail.html?OWASP CSRFTOKEN=9XS7-6FL4-EMYC-FDGV-5KG7-6IBO-598G-MU5J¢ury=1&year=14&number=54769&searchType=6&consolidated=N

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 201360278 for this company, issued by Palm Beach Tax Collector. Their web address is http://www.co.palm-beach.fl.us. The expiration date of this license is 09/30/2014.

Check License Status: http://taxcollectorpbc.manatron.com/Tabs/BusinessTax/AccountDetail/TaxDetail.aspx?p=201360278&a=2626147&b=B40221918&y=2014&t=16057512

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 14-00055732 for this company, issued by Boca Raton, City of. Their web address is http://www.ci.boca-raton.fl.us. The expiration date of this license is 09/30/2014.

Check License Status: https://c2g.ci.boca-raton.fl.us/Click2GovBLP/licensedetail.html?OWASP CSRFTOKEN=9XS7-6FL4-EMYC-FDGV-5KG7-6IBO-598G-MU5J¢ury=1&year=13&number=55732&searchType=6&consolidated=N

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Deignan (CEO)Mr. Paul Herdsman (COO)Mr. Justin Wright (President)
Business Category

Computers - Service & Repair

Alternate Business Names
Inbound Call Experts, LLC
Industry Tips
PC Technical Support: Great When You Need It, But At What Cost?
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.