BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited


Phone: (888) 788-1474Fax: (888) 578-49192101 Vista Parkway, West Palm BeachFL 33411

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Akopia is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Akopia

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
08/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

My wife and I are older and I am the sole provider to our home. Business has been slow and like most people I struggle paying our money bills. We had hoped that a modification of our home loan would reduced our monthly expenses. On or about August 2013, we submitted our application with fees in the amount of ********* to Akopia for services that were never fulfilled.The service allegedly guaranteed that using a pre-screening program specially developed by Akopia owner, **** ***** our home loan would be modified and approved by bank. The application was filled by an Akopia representative and supporting documentation was submitted in support thereof along with a fee in the amount ********** We were told that our loan would be modified using the Obama Home Refinance Program and that should the bank deny our application they would take care of answering any questions on our behalf. Further, the Akopia representative guaranteed, on various occasions, that should bank not approve the modification, our fees would be returned. The bank denied our application for a loan modification after two attempts for further review. To date, we have not received any response by Akopia. We requested our funds be returned for failure to properly provide services but have not received any communication. We believe that Akopia took advantage of us. The Akopia representative came to our home, made false promises guaranteeing their services, took our money.
Product_Or_Service: Loan Modification Pre-Approval

Desired Settlement
We would like our money back. Akopia charged us ********* as fees performing no function.

Business Response
See Attached

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This will confirm that we wholeheartedly DISAGREE with AKOPIA's Response Letter dated July 9, 2014. To say that they offer "a 30-day - 100% money back guarantee" (under paragraph 4) and then contradict themselves under paragraph 6 - where they state: "Our sales representatives are fully trained and know that we do not offer any other many back guarantee whether in writing or verbally" proves that there is no consistency to the service offered by Akopia. We have been trying to communicate with representatives for Akopia since the beginning of this transaction dating back to August 2013. Further, on August 12, 2014, we provided **** Anastacio, an Akopia Representative, our Cashier's Check No., XXXXXXXXXX in the amount of $1,495.00. Since the inception of this matter, we have never had solid answers for anyone at Akopia other than to say that a "dispute" was entered with the bank to review the modification. It is not until this Complaint was launched to the BBB that Akopia representatives have reached out to find resolutions. We are simply tired and request our money be returned. Pursuant to our email dated July 4, 2014, to Mr. **** ****, eleven (11) months is far too great of a lapse for anyone to await a response. Thank you for your kind attention to this matter.

Final Business Response
Pls see attached.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Computers Hardware, Software & Services

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 06/25/2014Business started: 03/22/2007
Business Management
Principal: Mr. Paul Elliott (Director of Operations)
Business Category

Computers Hardware, Software & Services

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Akopia

2101 Vista Parkway

West Palm Beach, FL 33411

To | From


1 Locations

  • 2101 Vista Parkway 

    West Palm Beach, FL 33411(888) 788-1474
    Fax: (888) 578-4919

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Akopia is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.


Industry Tips for Computers Hardware, Software & Services


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.