BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/31/2004

Stopzilla

Phone: (877) 877-9944Fax: (561) 368-5344

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

33 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues18
Problems with Product / Service12
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints33

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (33)BBB Closure Definitions
02/11/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
charged my card 4 years after I stopped using their product WITHOUT my knowledge
I was a happy user of this antivirus for 5 years then I ha a friend start using the product because her pc was acting crazy the product wouldn't fix her issue they told her it would take an extra fee of 200 bucks to resolve it she paid it they made 7 attempts to fix her pc never getting it to work as they promised even though all of this had gone on during the very first week after she first started using their service she wasn't refunded the 49.99 for the 1 year antivirus nor the 200 for the repair that never was fixed ... so I ended my business with them that was 4 years ago and today out of the blue I was charged for a 1 year service for antivirus ... how can this be legal ???

Desired Settlement
I did not make the purchase for your product you charged me without my knowledge I WANT a REFUND !!!

Business Response
This customer already called in and a refund was issued as shown below.

2/4/XXXX X:XX PM
NEW TRANSACTION
Transaction ID: XXXXXXX
Payment Type: Refund
Payment Account Type: Avangate
OrderID: XXXXXXX
PaymentAccountID: XXXXXXX
Amount: ($49.95)
Sales Tax Amount: $0.00
Status: Complete
Reference Number: AVNGT
Comments: Avangate Refund
User ID: AVNGT
Merchant: Avangate

Sorry for any misunderstanding. At this point a refund has been issued and the account has been deactivated. No further billing should occur.

02/09/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
StopZilla has continued to charge for service that is no longer being used and against a confimation e-mail to an expired e-mail account.
(Same as above)

Desired Settlement
Please do not charge for this anymore and close the account. This was already conveyed to the company via a phone call. The main complaint is the way StopZilla handled the refund request. They made us contact their billing company (Avengate) to get the refund processed. Avengate was very hard to contact and we eventually had to get the credit card company to contact Avengate (as we couldn't get any response from them).

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX x 202
Contact Email: *****@is3.com
The customer called on 1/23/15 requesting a refund. It was also stated that they had already filed a dispute with the credit card company. We did in fact receive a chargeback notice on 12/29/14 from Avangate stating that the customer was disputing the charge. The chargeback is now under review by the chargeback department and at this point we can not issue a refund. Had we been contacted before the chargeback had been filed we would have been able to refund the charge at that time.

01/02/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been a longstanding customer of Stopzilla and have been happy until now. On September 19, 2014 , I was up for a renewal so I agreed to 3 computer auto subscription. Since I was already a customer, I did not install a basic Stopzilla upgrade right away.



When I installed the upgrade on my laptop, I kept receiving a "blue screen" error. I called Stopzilla in November and was told that it wasn't their upgrade doing this, it was my computer. I wasn't sure what to do so I had a professional technician look at my laptop. He said the memory from the upgrade was too large and that it was causing the blue screen. He took it off of my laptop and it is now fine.



I realize that I responsible for the time from September 19, 2014 to today December 19,2014 for Stopzilla services and should pay for this (4 months). But I am not responsible for the full prepayment of $70 for the whole year since I cannot use Stopzilla. The charge per month is approx $5.83. Therefore, I would like the reimbursement of $46.68



If you could help in anyway, I would greatly appreciate it.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX x ***
Contact Email: *****@is3.com
On December 19, 2014 we processed a 100% refund as shown below. We also sent an email stating that the refund has been processed.

12/19/XXXX X:XX PM
NEW TRANSACTION
Transaction ID: XXXXXXX
Payment Type: Refund
Payment Account Type: CreditCard
OrderID: XXXXXXX
PaymentAccountID: XXXXXXX
Amount: ($70.00)
Sales Tax Amount: $0.00
Status: Complete
Reference Number: XXXXXCBBD4CFXXXXXXXE7FD117FXXXXXEEXXXXXX:X
Comments:
User ID: dporter
Merchant: ORBITAL_IS3


You should have received a refund on the credit card that was originally charged for the subscription. If you have not received the credit please contact your credit card company to check on the status.

11/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased Stopzilla software and support services on 10/19/2014 which caused PC configuration problems which were not resolvable.
Stopzilla Security software and support service was purchased for $399.90 and installed remotely and caused configuration problems on my computer. Multiple attempts with Stopzilla service confirmed the software as the problem. A full refund was requested since the software was not functional without causing configuration problems on my personal computer and the services rendered were in support of trying to get the software to work. ON 11/10/14 a partial refund was offered for $149.00 I believe the company is involved in a scheme to defraud consumers by installing defective software, charging for services and evading communication.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting the BBB inquire and make a request on my behalf or a full refund. I believe this company is frauding internet consumers by installing software and charging whether it works or not and only offering partial refunds. My credit card company is working the dispute, I have filed with IC3 for criminal inquiry and contacted local Boca Raton Police authorities. I have no license SW on my PC, configuration problems have been corrected independent of the company and all services rendered by the vendor were in support of fixing their software on my PC so it would work.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX x ***
Contact Email: *****@is3.com
The customer has been refunded 100% of his purchase price as shown below. We have not evaded contact with the customer. We assisted him on several occasions.

11/10/XXXX XX:XX PM
NEW TRANSACTION
Transaction ID: XXXXXXX
Payment Type: Refund
Payment Account Type: CreditCard
OrderID: XXXXXXX
PaymentAccountID: XXXXXXX
Amount: ($149.95)
Sales Tax Amount: $0.00
Status: Complete
Reference Number: ******************************************
Comments:
User ID: *******
Merchant: ***********
____________________________________________
11/10/XXXX XX:XX PM
NEW TRANSACTION
Transaction ID: XXXXXXX
Payment Type: Credit
Payment Account Type: CreditCard
OrderID: XXXXXXX
PaymentAccountID: XXXXXXX
Amount: ($100.00)
Sales Tax Amount: $0.00
Status: Complete
Reference Number: ******************************************
Comments:
User ID: *******
Merchant: ***********
_______________________________________________
11/10/XXXX XX:XX PM
NEW TRANSACTION
Transaction ID: XXXXXXX
Payment Type: Credit
Payment Account Type: CreditCard
OrderID: XXXXXXX
PaymentAccountID: XXXXXXX
Amount: ($49.95)
Sales Tax Amount: $0.00
Status: Complete
Reference Number: ******************************************
Comments:
User ID: *******
Merchant: ***********
_______________________________________________
11/10/XXXX X:XX PM
NEW TRANSACTION
Transaction ID: XXXXXXX
Payment Type: Refund
Payment Account Type: CreditCard
OrderID: XXXXXXX
PaymentAccountID: XXXXXXX
Amount: ($100.00)
Sales Tax Amount: $0.00
Status: Complete
Reference Number: ******************************************
Comments:
User ID: *******
Merchant: ***********


We emailed the customer the refund requests.

11/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid this company 99.99 to get into my computer and fix it, guaranteed for 30 days. It still doesn't work properly and asked for a refund.Co said no
At my request I was able to talk to the manager and I felt he was very rude. I told him I had gone to my computer's Action Center and saw that Stopzilla was turned off. I tried to turn it back on but couldn't. This alone made me distrust them. I was told that the service I purchased was guaranteed so when I found out it was still not working properly I called them. The first person I talked to was of no help so then I was able to talk to the manager who sounded like he was asleep and just didn't care about their service. I told him there was still a virus on it and he asked me repeatedly over and over what is the name of the virus and how do I know it is a virus. Now I really didn't have any faith in this company because 1. does anyone know the name of their virus? and 2. you know when something is wrong with your computer. He did not ask me if it was the same problem I had been having. He did get upset when I asked him if he had been asleep because he sounded like it. At this point I knew he didn't have any customer service training and asked for a refund on the work since it was guaranteed for 30 days and I paid for it on October 10. 2014. He abruptly said "well you're not getting one".

Desired Settlement
I would just like a refund of my payment of $99.99. I now have to change all my passwords ** they are still able to take over my computer and change or steal whatever they want. By the way I am complaining to you on a different computer.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX x ***
Contact Email: *************
I am unable to locate an account for this customer. We have attempted to reach her at the two phone numbers in the complaint and via email with no response. I believe that she may have done her transaction with a reseller. There is not a way for me to issue a refund on this account at this time. If the customer will contact me directly and I will help her get in touch with the proper party in order to receive a refund.

Page 1 of 6
08/20/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company has been charging for 5 years without notifying me properly.
This company was charging me every year for 5 years on my credit card without notifying me. This company said they sent e-mail notification but it turned out to be my previous email address that I had not been using for 5 years. They said they didn't receive returned email from the wrong email. I tried to check my previous email which this company had on their file. But the email address didn't exist at all. They should have gotten returned email from my previous email address. They had my correct telephone number. They did not call me even once to verify the email address. I am complaining about their practice of billing to their customers.

Desired Settlement
I want to get the refund that have been charging on my account which is 5 years of $49.95.

Business Response
When the customer contacted us on July 24, 2014 we issued a refund for the current 2014 charge. We send several emails prior to it renewing. As per our terms and conditions on or website it clearly states that payments are billed in advance at the beginning of the applicable year. All payments are completely refundable within 30 days of the initial subscription date and 60 days of any renewal date. You agree to provide iS3 with a valid payment method and accurate, complete and updated information required by the subscription registration form. Failure to comply may result in the immediate termination of the subscription.

You agree to notify iS3 about any billing problems or discrepancies within 90 days after they first appear on your account statement. If you do not bring them to iS3s attention within 90 days, you agree that you waive your right to dispute such problems or discrepancies.

Had the customer contacted us within the proper time frame for the previous years then they would have been eligible for a refund. At this point the customers account has been refunded and deactivated and not further actions can be taken.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In their response, they said they sent several email to me which was wrong email address. They should have gotten returned emails on those several email. I also tried to send email to my old email, then I recevied returned email stating "Delivery failed permanantly" It dosen't valid to me that they had sent me e-mails that I never recieved. If they sent mail to wrong address, they should have tried to my phone which has been same over 10 years and has been on their file.
I didn't receive any billing info through any corresponces from them, I think their charges to me is not valid. So, I think I am entitled to receive all the refunds.


Final Business Response
As previously stated:
When the customer contacted us on July 24, 2014 we issued a refund for the current 2014 charge. We send several emails prior to it renewing. As per our terms and conditions on or website it clearly states that payments are billed in advance at the beginning of the applicable year. All payments are completely refundable within 30 days of the initial subscription date and 60 days of any renewal date. You agree to provide iS3 with a valid payment method and accurate, complete and updated information required by the subscription registration form. Failure to comply may result in the immediate termination of the subscription.
You agree to notify iS3 about any billing problems or discrepancies within 90 days after they first appear on your account statement. If you do not bring them to iS3s attention within 90 days, you agree that you waive your right to dispute such problems or discrepancies.


Had the customer contacted us within the proper time frame for the previous years then they would have been eligible for a refund. At this point the customers account has been refunded and deactivated and not further actions can be taken.

If we had the correct or incorrect email address, it is the customers responsibility once they got their statement to contact us. This year the customer contacted us within the proper time frame so we issued a complete refund. No further action can or will be taken.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I know they refunded this year's charge because I happened to review my card spending very carefully. My point was that they did not properly sent me the charge invoice. Though they claimed to send the email (which I had closed several years ago. They should have gotten returned mail.) It is just like that any off-line business send their paper statement to their customers into the old address. When they receive the returned mail, they do contact their customers by phone to verify the address. This company didn't make any efforts to contact me to verify the address.
They also had fault as I did not update my email address to them (because I even did not remember the existence of the service they claimed to provide)
I think I am entitled to receive full or even partial money back.

09/03/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have called 3 times about them getting a hold of my card info, continuing to get a run around.
I was looking on my online bank account and noticed IS3charge.com had taken out $49.95 of my account, called asked to speak to a supervisor, never received a call back; but did receive my $49.95 back within 2 days, however I looked back 2 more years as they had said they have been taking money out, and the trace # date and time was all there (6/15/11 @ 3:45pm $39.95Trace #XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX) (X/13/XX X:XXpm $39.95 Trace #XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX) So I called back 6/27/13 asked for a supervisor, was told once again I'd be contacted within 24-48hrs, called back 6/28/13 asked for a supervisor once again, the guy I spoke to ****, I do believe was the name was very rude, was finally able to leave a message to the supervisor, received a call within 10-15 minutes told her what was going on. She proceeded to tell me that she could not refund my money because it was past the 30-60 day mark. However I asked her why it was when I googled IS3charge.com it popped up Scam, she replied that it wasn't them that they were Stopzilla Antivirus, but the number led me strait to them and also popped up as Stopzilla. So she said she doesn't understand why it would say that when they had been in business since 1991, then changed it back to 2001,(did that twice) and said well sometimes customers get upset because we automatically withdraw from their account. She also said that she had my IP number that shows it was downloaded and then purchased a few hours later.(I don't even know what my IP address is.)I informed her that i was contacting the BBB, and she quickly got off the phone.

Desired Settlement
All I want is my 2 payments of $39.95 back; which equals $79.90.

Business' Initial Response
The two charges that she is speaking about are from 6/14/11 and 6/13/12. Those charges are from the past and we will NOT be able to refund them. As per our terms and conditions that can be found at http://www.stopzilla.com/about/legal/terms/

We have issued a refund for the charge from this year that occured on 6/13/13. No further action will be taken.



Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have no recollection of this software, at that time I didnt have an online bank account set up to check things like this. As I have told the people working for this website, I DO NOT buy/download software from the internet, if I want software I will go to my local ******** or Electronics store for this very reason, you dont know who is a Scam Artist and who isn't. I have asked a good number of people if they have heard of this place and they said they haven't. (This includes friends, and people that are in the electronic business.) This place is a joke, I NEVER RECIEVED ANY CALLS UNTIL I THREATEND TO CONTACT THE BBB, if you will type in Stopzilla in the google search engine it will pop up all kinds of complaints, and what a SCAM they are! I DO NOT APPRECIATE almost $80 being stolen from me!

12/05/2012Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Computers - Dealers, Computer Software Publishers & Developers, Computers Hardware, Software & Services

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.