BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

StenoWorks, Inc

Phone: (561) 642-2862Fax: (561) 641-5196

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
04/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
StenoWorks sold me a defective steno machine and would not honor their warranty
I purchased a refurbished Stentura Fusion steno machine from StenoWorks in July 2013 (order 6633, paid by Visa, machine cost $2,395). To begin with, StenoWorks did not ship me something that was listed on their website as being included in the package. One of the machine accessories they sent me did not work. When using the machine I noticed there was something wrong with the key tension. I contacted them about it with no response; and only after repeated attempts did I get a curt response that there was nothing wrong with the machine.

The key tension problem gradually got worse. I contacted them about it in January with no response. They only responded when I emailed again to question their standing behind the two-year warranty and their customer service (or complete lack of it). The manager/owner/liar strung me along but eventually opened a service ticket for it. He said I could send the machine to them at my expense and they would look at it; and he said he would have his in-house tech shorten the key-tension spring.

He was fully aware I could not be without a machine, especially for an unspecified duration. If their response time to emails was any indication it would've taken months for me to get the machine back if I sent it to them. Plus their in-house tech is not trained or certified by Stenograph, the manufacturer of the machines, as ASP's (authorized service providers) are required to be. And there have been complaints in the past of people sending their machines to StenoWorks and either not having any work done on the machines despite being charged for services, or they would switch out parts or even entire machines without informing the ********. When the negative reviews and complaints started piling up - including with you at the BBB - the owner changed the name of the company

I found a local ASP with 20 years of experience who was directly trained and certified by Stenograph (manufacturer), and who has all five-star reviews on Yelp. I told StenoWorks that I would rather take it to him to get looked at, which they were fine with (i.e. authorized); although they seemed hesitant and wanted me to send it to someone they knew in San Diego instead (with the same issue of me having to send the machine away at my expense for an unspecified duration). In hindsight they did not want me to take it to a reputable ASP because he might discover that they knowingly sold me a defective machine. Besides, right after buying the machine the manager told me I needed to take it to an ASP for any service or repairs.

I took the machine to the local ASP, and after checking the key tension he said that shortening the key tension spring should fix the problem. And which is the exact same thing StenoWorks said they were going to do if I sent the machine to them. He shortened the spring which did solve the key-tension malfunction; but when he re-attached the machine's components and closed the outer casing the machine would not turn on. It would power on with an adapter plug, but the on/off button and the entire row of function buttons would not work. He detached and re-attached the function-button circuit cable three times and the machine still would not work.

He asked me if it was still under warranty, and when I said that there was a two-year warranty on the machine he told me StenoWorks needed to repair it because it was defective. When I told StenoWorks this they immediately refused any responsibility and blamed the ASP for breaking the machine (and said he was incompetent). They would not honor their warranty and told me I was on my own.

I stood right next to the ASP and the machine the entire time and he did not do anything that would've caused the circuit cable to malfunction. StenoWorks is just using this as an excuse to avoid responsibility yet again.

Furthermore, the owner - when he actually would respond to contact - was condescending; and he even apologized once for sending me an email after drinking too much.

Desired Settlement
After basically telling me to s**k it and not taking any responsibility for the obviously defective machine they sold me, I bought a new Diamante steno machine from the manufacturer. I told them that this is what I was going to do because they left me no other option, since they refused to honor their warranty and left me with a defective machine that I couldn't use.

I offered to return the machine with a deduction, but they shot themselves in the foot on that so I will only accept a full refund for a return.

03/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company debited card for payment 02/15/15 after product returned in January and company stated via email balance waived (account Paid In Full)
I contacted company in October 2014 to order a Stenographer Machine as I was going to college to become a Court Reporter. I paid the initial deposit of $400, received my machine in a timely matter. I ended up withdrawing from school due to financial issues, had to get additional part-time job and could not work and go to school. Returned writer (via UPS) and contacted Company to confirm receipt of the writer. Company sent me a return label in which I knew that amount would be deducted from my deposit along with the restocking fee. When contacting the Company, I questioned several times about what I would receive back from my deposit and got different answers via phone vs what the company decided to send via email. Within that email, Company stated that I still had a balance owed on the account of $177.78 which they would waive as a courtesy. I again questioned why I owed money if they were keeping my entire $400 deposit and Company that stated I was obligated for 6 months of payments even after returning my writer. I informed company that I did not see this statement in my contract, because I never received a copy of my contract and was considering taking them to Small Claims Court for the return of the portion of my deposit, I felt was owed to me. Company then emailed me stating that because I was considering taking them to court regarding the return of what I felt should have been returned from my deposit, that they now wanted the $177.78 and debited my account on 02/15/15 for $83.25. I never received an invoice, email or any literature from the company after 01/07/15 regarding this balance nor did they have permission to debit my account for this amount or any amount since the writer had been returned (in good condition) as stated by them via email and they agreed to waive the balance but got angry because I questioned my deposit, ask for their Representative Payee information as I was considering taking them to Small Claims Court for the portion of the Deposit I felt was owed to me. As a ********, I have every right to question any money I felt is owed to me and as a Company, all they had to do was remind me that it was in my contract that I was responsible for 6 months of payment in the amount of $177.78 but instead they got angry and now is debiting my account without permission and for an amount that was settled on 01/07/15 via email from them as that email states "Paid In Full!"

Desired Settlement
Request that company honors the waiver of the balance owed on the account($177.78) as previously stated via email from the company on 01/07/15 and the account is closed, finalized and we go our separate ways. They have their product and as stated in an email from them (received it in excellent condition). At this time, I am not asking for the $83.25 in which the company debited from my account without my authorization, because my bank is helping me with that, however, if for some reason my bank is unable to recover this $83.25 or my dispute and funds are not credited through my bank in a timely manner, I am asking that the company be responsible of returning that amount to me and any overdraft fees that may occur due to this unauthorized transaction done on behalf of the company (Stenoworks).

12/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Brought my Stentura 6000 for overhaul and new shell. Paid in advance. Machine was shipped back in my broken shell and nothing was done.
Nothing was done. I paid over $500 for service. I shipped the machine to my regular service dealer in St. Petersburg and he called me wanting to know where my machine was. The one inside the shell had different serial numbers. So basically I paid Steno Tech $500 to steal my machine and I drove a 200 mile round trip for that favor also. I did not know I had a complaint forum like this or I would have written at the time of the incident which happened a few years back. My regular service dealer will verify said statements. **** ******* ******** ******* ********** XXX XXX-XXXX.

Desired Settlement
the cost when new of my ******** **** plus the payment made in advance for services not rendered.

Cost of my round trip to their offices from Miami, Florida and the rental car cost I paid. I did not have a car at the time and had to rent one.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Computers - Dealers, Office Furniture & Equipment, Computer Software Publishers & Developers, Computers Hardware, Software & Services

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.