BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/11/2010

Hot Miami Styles, Inc.

Phone: (866) 464-2641Fax: (954) 742-7281View Additional Phone Numbers10301 NW 50 St., #109, SunriseFL 33351-8009 Send email to Hot Miami Styles, Inc.View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/11/2010

BBB has determined that Hot Miami Styles, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Hot Miami Styles, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues3
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Hot Miami Styles, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 5 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)
03/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Tried to cancel order prior to shipment. Advised I could not cancel and had to refuse unopened package Even though site claims contact them to cancel.
I placed an order # XXXXXX March 3, 2015 at 3:45 pm from hotmiamistyles.com. It was to be shipped USPS priority within 2-3 business days. I realized that the event I needed the dress for was a day sooner than expected. March 6th instead of March 7th. I checked the status of my order and saw it was still processing. I ordered after 12 pm so according to the site it was not shipped today. The website also states that orders are shipped between 1 and 4 business days from the date of order. So potentially the item could arive quite a few days after the event. The website also states if you need to cancel an order contact them as soon as possible. I sent an email earlier that day because I realized I had omitted my apt # from the shipping address. When I got the response from Laela about the adress around 9:20 pm I informed her if I needed to cancel the order because I didn't want to risk the dress arriving too late for the event. She advised it could not be canceled because it was already marked for shipment. However, the item had not been shipped yet and may not ship for 3 whole days. If they can email me and have a conversation about this item they can clearly cancel the order. Especially if it may not ship for 3 more days. She responded at 10:23 pm and advised I could wait until it is shipped and refuse the unopened package. However, based on the horrible reviews I have read online about their return policy (not issuing refunds on returned items, claiming they weren't received, etc.) I am very skeptical about having to return this item. I find it odd she can reply to me at 10:23 pm EST But she cannot contact the shipping dept to cancel an order. I would like the order canceled and a refund. I do not see why this is so hard to do. I shop online regularly and I have canceled orders prior to shipment with numerous businesses without any problems. I will be calling the customer service department first thing tomorrow morning to see If I can get this matter resolved.

Desired Settlement
Full refund applied to my credit card. Order cancelation and no shipment. I don't know why you all would ship an item that a customer has tried to cancel prior to shipment.

Business Response
Hello,

Thank you for your inquiry.

We truly apologize for any inconveniences we may have caused you.

The day after the order was placed our shipping department did catch the order and we fully refunded you for the order on March 4, 2015. Refunds can take about 2-5 business days to appear back into your account.

I also called and spoke to the customer and relayed this information as well and she is satisfied.

We also issued you a $25 gift certificate due to the inconvenience.

Should you need further assistance, please feel free to contact us.
You may reach us anytime by e-mail, or by phone at ************** (Monday-Friday 9am-5pm EST).
Thank you for shopping with Hot Miami Styles where your satisfaction is our priority!
******
www.HotMiamiStyles.com

01/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Will not let me return my dress!
I ordered the nude sequin dress for a Christmas party which turned out not to fit. First off I paid for 2 day shipping which didn't arrive until 4 days later. I received the dress and it did not fit. I returned the dress and they sent it back stating there were signs of wear???!!!! The total cost of the dress was $289.00 and there are no signs of wear and the tags were still attached hanging from the sleeve. I contacted customer service and they said there was nothing they could do.

Desired Settlement
I want my money back

Business Response
Hello,

Thank you for your inquiry.

We truly apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused you.

We are working with the customer to resolve the issue and we have been in contact with her.

To print out our return instructions, please click on the following link and fill out the information provided: http://www.hotmiamistyles.com/returns.asp

Please ship your return to the following address:
Hot Miami Styles Inc.
XXXXX ** **** *** ***** ***
Sunrise, FL XXXXX

Upon receipt of your return and/or exchange package, it can take up to 5 business days to process your transaction.
Once your return and/or exchange has been processed, you will receive an email notification from the Return Department.
We hope you find this information helpful.

Should you need further assistance, please feel free to contact us.
You may reach us anytime by e-mail, or by phone at 1-866-464-2641 (Monday-Friday 9am-5pm EST).
Thank you for shopping with Hot Miami Styles where your satisfaction is our priority!
******
www.HotMiamiStyles.com

04/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Website do not show swimsuits cannot be refunded until you try to return an item.
I placed an order for two swimsuits for a total of $139. When they arrive neither of them fit me so I printed out the form to returm them for a refund at which time I find out that there are no refunds on swimsuits. Why do I have to wait until I choose to return something? At no time during check out or in the process of ordering do the site state that these items are non-refundable. It's not until you try to return something that it's in print ways down that you can't. That is not fair to a customer. I understand they are trying to keep the moeny in their store but it has to be somewhere where we would know before we order that there is no option of returns on certain items can't just throw in in your returns form and hope people go there before checking out. That's not good for business. I online shop a lot and everywhere I shop it states no refunds on items before checking out or even before purchasing. I don't even shop at this site now I am out $139.

Desired Settlement
I just want my money back and for them to post on their sections no refunds or exchanges only somewhere order than their returns form. No one goes to the form unless they are reurning. No one intends to return unless it comes damaged or something.

Business Response
Hello,

I called ******* and spoke to her regarding the dispute and I informed her to return all of the items that she purchased with us after she redeemed her store credit. She agreed to send them back as she stated that they did not fit her and we will refund her through her original form of payment.

Should you need further assistance, please feel free to contact us.
You may reach us anytime by e-mail, or by phone at ************** (Monday-Friday 9am-5pm EST).
Thank you for shopping with Hot Miami Styles where your satisfaction is our priority!
******
www.HotMiamiStyles.com

05/04/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company collected payment and then refused to send goods; untimely/no refund.
On 3/30 I placed an order online with the Company and received a confirmation. One day later, I received an email from the Company saying they wanted photocopies of my Identification and photocopies of my credit card to complete my purchase.

I refused to supply this information as it is a completely unreasonable request given my billing and shipping addresses are the same, and to provide these personal items via email is not a secure transaction, and commonly known to the general public as practices always to avoid.

After refusing to provide my personal identification documents and credit card numbers via email, to "verify" my identity, the Company refused to fulfill my order. I told them to cancel my order.

However, the Company went ahead and charged my credit card the $500+ amount of my order--even though they supposedly needed to verify my order to charge me...?

I requested that my money be refunded right away, and the Company has refused to refund my money in a timely way even though NO GOODS were ever exchanged. It should not take 2 weeks to "process" a refund given that it only took 2 seconds to charge my credit card, and no goods were sent to me to process their return.

The Company refuses to expedite my refund. They have stolen $524.72 from me.

At this point, I think the Company is just an online scam.

Desired Settlement
I want my money refunded and in a timely fashion. The Company should change their practices to include a notice on their website that they will require the remittance of personal identification information from their customers through an non-secure fashion.
For orders that require this completely absurd privacy invasion, the Company should not process the payment until the customer agrees to provide the information---NOT the other way around. This is a very shady business practice.

Business Response
Hello,
Thank you for your inquiry.
We truly apologize for the inconvenience.
We have fully refunded her for a total of $524.72 on April 1, 2015.
Refunds can take about 2-5 business days to reflect back into her account depending on her financial institution.
We have contacted the customer via email to make sure that she has received her full refund.
We have also issued her a $50 gift certificate due to the inconvenience.

To redeem your store credit please follow these steps:
1. Please place your order on our website as normal.
2. Then once you are ready to check out you must click on your shopping bag and
click on "Proceed to Checkout".
3. Login with your email and password.
4. The store credit amount will be automatically deducted from your total.
We hope you find this information helpful.
Should you need further assistance, please feel free to contact us.
You may reach us anytime by e-mail, or by phone at 1-866-464-2641 (Monday-Friday 9am-5pm EST).
Thank you for shopping with Hot Miami Styles where your satisfaction is our priority!
******
www.HotMiamiStyles.com

10/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Poor poor customer service, not helpful, ships damaged items. And not willing or even to compromise . Ordered this item to wear for my engagement.
This site gets no stars but have to put one in order to post, 1 star is wayyyyyyyy too much,, no stars like I said..., the clothes looks so cute on this website but I was so Wrong, I received my item, but due to the fact that I had a family emergency I didn't get to open my package on time.. One of my close friends is dying, so I called them saying that I finally opened my package Recently and I noticed under the skirt which is the lining is ripped on both ends. So in that case when you hold up the skirt, or even if you were to try it on the lining from underneath is hanging longer than the skirt itself...and the skirt is really long and I'm like how is that possible after spending $141.02 . Also how could i forget it had stains , this is an offwhite 2 piece top woth long skirt.. how nasty is that...So like I said earlier I called explained my situation to them and the rep goes unfornately you are passed the 30 day exchange policy, and I said yea I know but is there anyway that you guys can make an exception. I work in the customer service field as well , so I know what policy is. Understandable yes, it's my fault I opened it up late but wasn't thinking anything of the item would be sent to me damaged as a first time customer and spending 141.02 dollars on that note, On one item. So they stuck with there policy rule but there is a way you could make a one time courtesy waiver, being that I just wanted an exchange. I said I was willing to pay whatever the shipping was to go and for it to be shipped back . I was not asking for a refund I said I liked the item but didn't pay for something to be damaged and sent at that damaged.. What! don't y'all inspect **** before its sent out. All I was asking is for an exchange even though it was after the past days.. It was my first time ordering and will be my last .. I feel as though customer service goes along way. And if you want to keep ur customers you should able to go above and beyond . Also they had me on hold forever just to speak to a manger. Then they came back and said " oh the mangers are all on a phone call and if I could leave my number so they could call me back." I left my number I would have still been waiting for the phone call from * manger. I had to call back myself again ,finally spoke to a manger she was not helpful nor any of the reps that helped . Very unprofessional and laid back like oh well. But like I said its all good.. Never will I ever open up there site again or even shop on it.. Also will warn my friends and family about the website not to shop on there. And warn them not to contact customer service because they are not helpful. Very disappointed. We could bend policy just a bit if it sounds logical, and not hurting the company. But this def did $141.02 for a damaged item that I never even worn. Smh... Item number XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I just would like an exchange for the product that I thought I purchased. Yes, I miss the cut off dates but have a heart, had a sick family member, who would be thinking about clothes then, it's materialistic we only live once. But now I opened it I didn't expect for it to be damaged after spending $141.02. I was willing to pay whatever shipping costs. Just an exchange that's all, once again I know I miss the exchange dates but come on be reasonable missed it by a few days.. They are acting like its an entire year. I work with policy all the time yes , advise me, but I believe in a one time courtesy could be in place. I work in the airline industry. Deal with everyday. I didn't even get a chance to wear it to my engagement party..

Business Response
Hello,

Thank you for your inquiry.

We truly apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused you.

We will allow you to return the item back to us for an exchange or store credit only.

We have also issued you a $25 gift certificate due to the inconvenience. You may use this gift certificate on your next purchase.

We have called you and left a message as well as emailed you with this information.

Should you need further assistance, please feel free to contact us.
You may reach us anytime by e-mail, or by phone at ************** (Monday-Friday 9am-5pm EST).
Thank you for shopping with Hot Miami Styles where your satisfaction is our priority!
******
www.HotMiamiStyles.com

09/29/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
items not received
I called and advised the items was delivered according to usps. I was then advised to wait 10 business days for a tracer. I then opened up communication via ****** and start communicating that with with ******. She advised the last day of the tracer was 09/05/2014 and to contact them then. I call today and this rude idiot lady tells me I have to wait for ****** to give me my money back. I could have been opened up a claim with *****l. The Customer Service is horrible. These people care nothing about there customers and ****** was truly rude and had no empathy whatsoever.

Desired Settlement
refund and customer service training to Manager or supervisor ******

Business Response
Hello,

Thank you for your inquiry.
We truly apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused you.
We have contacted the customer on behalf of the dispute she opened as she stated that she did not receive her package.
She informed us that she is unhappy with our customer service and did not receive her merchandise therefore, she would just like a full refund.
Our company fully refunded her for the order to resolve the issue with her.

Should you need further assistance, please feel free to contact us.
You may reach us anytime by e-mail, or by phone at ************** (Monday-Friday 9am-5pm EST).
Thank you for shopping with Hot Miami Styles where your satisfaction is our priority!
******
www.HotMiamiStyles.com

08/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They debited the money from my account and didn't process the order.
I attempted to place an order, it said my order couldn't be processed because the billing address was incorrect. I corrected the billing address and tried again. This time it denied the transaction. I checked my debit account and saw that they had indeed debited my account in the amount of 295.36 and yet would not process my order. I attempted speaking to them on the phone and they said they hadn't officially taken the money, they would send it back in a few days since they didn't process my order. Nor could they just use the money they already had debited from my account to actually place my order. So I have been charged 295.36 and received no order, which was being shipped express. I cannot wait for 10 plus days for them to possibly put the money back and then attempt to make the order again. Unacceptable.

Desired Settlement
Just want them to understand this isn't acceptable.

Business Response
Hello,

We have just received this dispute today. The customer attempted to place an order with our company on July 17, 2014. She attempted 4 times however, each attempt was declined. Whenever a transaction declines on our website the funds are held by the bank or credit card company for about 2-5 business days depending on the financial institution. I contacted the customer today to ask her if she has received her funds back yet. She stated that she has not yet received her funds back from the declined transaction. We will attempt to resolve the issue with the customer and her credit card company so that she may receive her funds back into her account.

Should you need further assistance, please feel free to contact us.
You may reach us anytime by e-mail, or by phone at 1-866-464-2641 (Monday-Friday 9am-5pm EST).
Thank you for shopping with Hot Miami Styles where your satisfaction is our priority!
******
www.HotMiamiStyles.com

07/11/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I never received my order and requested a refund to my card and the store only wants to give me store credit this is not it states in their policy.
I contacted the customer service number to advise my order was never received. I then get a email that they will issue me a store credit. They stated that USPS states they delivered it but I never received the product. Why should I be charged and only given a store credit when this is not my error in it not being received. The ladies were very rude and refused for me to speak to a supervisor or manager.

Desired Settlement
I would like the credit of $184 back to the credit card that it was originally purchased on.

Business Response
Hello,

Thank you for your inquiry.
The customer did not receive an order that she placed with our company on May 3, 2014. We placed a tracer on the package to locate the whereabouts and informed her that we will be sure to further assist her once the investigation has been completed. Once the tracer expired, we issued her a full store credit of $184.97. The customer was unhappy with that so to resolve the situation, we called her and issued her a full refund for the order which was for $184.97. The customer was happy and is now satisfied.

Should you need further assistance, please feel free to contact us.
You may reach us anytime by e-mail, or by phone at ************** (Monday-Friday 9am-5pm EST).
Thank you for shopping with Hot Miami Styles where your satisfaction is our priority!
******
**********************

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Clothing - Retail, Boutiques, Hats - Retail, Lingerie, Shoes - Retail, Sunglasses, Swimwear & Accessories, Womens Apparel - Retail, Fashion Accessories, Clothing - Online Sales

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/10/2006Business started: 04/18/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Sunrise, City of
10770 W. Oakland Park Blvd.
Sunrise, FL 33351
(954) 746-3230
http://www.sunrisefl.gov

BBB records show a license number of 16-00019739 for this company, issued by Sunrise, City of. Their web address is http://www.sunrisefl.gov.

Check License Status: http://sungov.sunrisefl.gov/Click2GovOL/licensedetail.html?OWASP CSRFTOKEN=H80N-Z808-QCXJ-GCI9-L8M2-MWEY-IEPL-VRKJ¢ury=1&year=14&number=19739&searchType=6&consolidated=N

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 16-00017321 for this company, issued by Sunrise, City of. Their web address is http://www.sunrisefl.gov.

Check License Status: http://sungov.sunrisefl.gov/Click2GovOL/businesslicensesearch.html

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. A Lee
Business Category

Clothing - Retail, Boutiques, Hats - Retail, Lingerie, Shoes - Retail, Sunglasses, Swimwear & Accessories, Womens Apparel - Retail, Fashion Accessories, Clothing - Online Sales

Alternate Business Names
Hot Miami Styles Inc

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Hot Miami Styles, Inc.

10301 NW 50 St., #109

Sunrise, FL 33351-8009

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 10301 NW 50 St., #109 

    Sunrise, FL 33351-8009(866) 464-2641
    (954) 742-7724

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hot Miami Styles, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (954) 742-7724
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Clothing - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.