BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/25/2012

Green Smoke, Inc.

Phone: (888) 224-1345

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
08/10/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Green Smoke advertises special pricing for limited amounts of time, but you can't get access to the sale on their site.
On July 14, 2015, I tried to order products from Green Smoke's website. They were having a special promotion and pricing sale. When you try to order one of the sale items, you can't get access to the page to order. This is the 3rd time this has happened. I clicked on their customer service chat & spoke with Taylor & Sarah who asked questions that had nothing to do with the problem. They were of no help. I then called your customer service number and spoke with ***** who disconnected me. Green Smoke tries to lure customers to their website for these special sales, but then you can't order the items.

Desired Settlement
I would like to know why they offer these sales and then customers can't get access to them on the website. I would like to place an order for the products that were on sale, also.

Business Response
This customer experienced difficulty placing the order online using the promotion link. He contacted our customer service department via chat and the order was placed with the advertised discount on July 14, 2015.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Respectfully, the response ignores two key facts:
the company advertises specials that the site does not allow you to take advantage of without contacting them. Then, the chat function is slow and you get numerous questions that are irrelevant. It took 30 minutes to complete one transaction. A normal sale can be effected, without help, in less than five minutes.

Final Business Response
We test every web promotion for online functionality prior to release. We do not advertise specials and make it impossible to take advantage of them.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
This has become a waste of time. they have back tracked into a simple denial.

02/18/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Not satisfied with product. Returned product. informed refund would be issued within 7-10 days.That was over five weeks ago.they don't honor guarantee
I purchased an "Express Kit" on the GreenSmoke website roughly 2 weeks before Christmas. I have yet to receive a full refund,or any at all.I have copies of all of the emails,phone calls,back&forth between myself and their company.Upon receipt of the kit I was unsatisfied with the product,contacted them, and returned it in pristine condition,tracking it all of the way to their facility(arrived-12/26@11:16AM).I am getting ready to place what will be my 9th call (that's only since 1/19/2015).Their level of incompetence is staggering and quite frankly,I am losing my patience.It's been 5 weeks since they have received my package,yet my refund hasn't been issued.Their email said "you will receive your refund within 7-10 business days."In the last week and a half,I have made at least 3 or 4 calls to their "customer-service" department,and although friendly, they are the most incompetent companies that I have ever dealt with.At first I was told it would take 7-10 business days for them to process my refund(email).I called to follow up after that time had elapsed and it had not even been RECEIVED YET(they had it but hadn't "processed it" yet).I was polite and have continued to be,but I am steadily losing patience with this company.I was then told over the phone that it usually takes roughly 14 days upon receipt of my return to process refund.1/14 had to cancel VISA because of unauthorized charge.Called GS,told them to hold refund until I contacted them with the new VISA information when it showed up.On 1/15/2015 @ 11:00AM, I spoke to a representative at GreenSmoke and gave them the new VISA info.Was told I would receive a refund on the new VISA within 1 to 2 bus. days.No refund was showing.Called back after 3-4 days,they had no record of my call or VISA #.(I have records).I wasn't notified of ANY of this until I called them.they then told me I would NOT be able to receive a refund by credit car,that they would EXPRESS mail a check for the amount owed ($48.10).I said that was fine if they express mailed it,so I could track it and receive it quickly.i called again;no records of a check being sent out(I was assured that a check would be sent out as soon as the billing department opened again on the following Monday.i called yet again,asking to speak to billing and was informed that the billing department was not open during those hours,nor could I speak to them anyway.I went through this particular process twice.I then called back again(I have most of the names and dates) and requested that a supervisor call me back ASAP.Nobody called me back.The next day,I called and informed them of this, once again requesting a supervisor call me.Several hours later, they did but I missed the call.They left a message(Sara Adams) asking me to call her back. So I did and apparently they were closed because there was no message, nothing but a beep.i left a message letting them know to call me back and expressed my frustration at this entire process.how a company that operates like this can have an A+ rating with the BBB baffles me. I want my money back and I'm tired of being lied to and screwed around with. I have been polite up until tonight when I left a message on (I think) their answering service. No "hello, you have reached Greensmoke and we are unavailable to speak to you at this time please leave your name and number after the beep and we will get back to you as soon as possible...." JUST SILENCE AND A BEEP.I don't even want to call anymore because it doesn't seem to get anywhere. The only time they did call back is when I mentioned that I was getting ready to file a claim with the BBB.This company doesn't care about it's customers. I say this with confidence as a result of my numerous encounters, being polite and getting nowhere. I feel I am no closer to receiving my refund from what I can tell than I was when I returned the item 5 weeks ago.Customers shouldn't have to go through this in order to receive a "promised refund."

Desired Settlement
At the very least I want my $48.10 returned to me immediatedly along with an explanation from the supervisor (by phone) as to why I have had to go through this arduous process in the first place. I also believe that they should offer me a additional monetary compensation for all of the trouble I have had to go through over the last 5+ weeks as a result of their incompetence and lack of communication. My entire life does not revolve around making phone calls to a company that "by their own admission" owas me money. I have done everything in my power to this point in order to try to hold their hand along the way which I should not have to to do in order to get my money back.Thank you. SIDE NOTE: The explanation of what happened that I wrote above is actually much longer and more detailed yet I was limited to 4000 characters so I had to cut out several sections. Thank you.

08/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
July 10, 2013 Requested RMA and mailing label to return starter kit. I've made contact 3 times by phone and 3 emails. No response to emails or phone.
June 30, 2013 Placed order for starter kit for $89.97, charged to my *****
Order Number:XXXXXX-XXXXXX-XXXX Pro Starter Kit which included Item #: starter kit
Options: Pack 1-1 - Red Label Tobacco - Strong(2.4%) Pack 2 -1 - Absolute Tobacco - Full(1.8%) Battery -1 - Long White Glows Green Battery-1 - Short White Glows Green Case Color-1 - Black
Quantity: 1
July 10, 2013 called X-XXX-XXX-XXXX, spoke with ****. She gave me RMA #GSXXXXX-XXX and said shipping label would be sent to me in my email.
July 12, 2013 sent email requesting RMA- NO RESPONSE.
July 14, 2013, called again, ***** said could take a few more days for RMA shipping label to be sent.
July 16, 2013, email requesting RMA shipping label- NO RESPONSE
July 17, 2013 called spoke with *****. Said shipping label was sent to my email ******@att.net. I did not rec. same. checked junk mail They are on my safe senders list. Said she would resend, but would be a couple of days.
July 17, 2013 followed up with an email - NO RESPONSE.
I, also, told them I would be filing a complaint with the BBB if I had no response.
I have a call log and copies of emails I sent.
Thank you for your time and attention to this matter.

Desired Settlement
I want to return this product ASAP and a credit issued back to my **** account in the amount of
$89.97, per their 30 day guarantee for full refund on starter kits if returned within 30 days.

Business' Initial Response
It is not clear to us why the free return shipping label never reached Ms. *****, so we went ahead and processed the refund even though she still has the product. I left a voice mail and sent an email to Ms. ***** to let her know.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I appreciate the fact they issued a refund, however I am still waiting for the return shipping label, so I can return the kit. GS indicated on - July 30, 2013, Responses were definitely sent to your emails and I will try to find out why they were never received.

I will also try to send you the shipping label from my email address once I get a copy of it from customer service.

Regards,

***** *****
I advised him I would be happy to return the kit as soon as they send me the return address, which I still haven't received. Thank you.

Business' Final Response
On Monday I sent the return shipping label to Ms. *****.
Please advise if there are any outstanding issues.

03/04/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to fulfill monthly reoccurring order.
As a customer since Dec 2010: Since Altria purchased Green Smoke their service has degraded and they appear to hide behind marketing claims and deny or lie when challenged. Their marketing was always over-stated, when put to the test it fails miserably.....there was a time when marketing of this nature was illegal.

As a long term Altria shareholder this is disappointing. From a business ethics perspective I will most likely sell my position in MO.

Desired Settlement
As an investor I would like to be contacted by a representative of the parent company Altria as I have much more money invested with them. I talked with a customer service supervisor who had been with Green Smoke two months and had obviously had little training or past customer service experience.

Business Response
If you are trying to reach the parent company, Altria Investor Relations can be reached directly by calling XXX-XXX-XXXX.

03/04/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
placed order using coupon given by company. website accepted coupon and order processed. then they cancelled it saying invalid coupon
On 1/28/16 I placed an order for a free pack of cartridges using a coupon that the company issued me. the website accepted the coupon and the order went into process. when I checked to see if the order shipped it had been cancelled. I chatted in with a rep named "*****" to see why it was cancelled and he said the coupon was invalid. Green smoke issued that coupon to me for the inconvenience of their age verification process since I was going to cancel my first order because they required me to send in a copy of my ID. Now they are saying that the coupon is invalid even though the website accepted the code as valid.

Desired Settlement
I want the free pack as promised back when I received the code for the huge ordeal it was to get age verified with them and I would like an apology

Business Response
The customer was shipped a free pack of cartridges on December 14th of 2015 for the inconvenience experienced during the age verification process.

03/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Mocha Mist carts 'burn out' after 2 hours. using 5 carts a day at a cost of £72.20 (UK Pounds ) for TEN DAYS vaping!
after 30-50 puffs, the MochaMist carts taste bad and 'burn out'. Have been in touch CONSTANTLY with greensmoke Uk and have had several packs replaced. this problem has been consistent for months and the problem with the carts remains unresolved. there are obviously manufacturing/ transport/ storage problems with these products BEFORE they get to me! i believe it is unreasonable for greensmoke to expect people to pay 72.20 BRITISH POUNDS for only TEN DAYS VAPING!
I began using greensmoke in 2010 with the original carts and had no problems, with a cart lasting a whole day. I am now getting through 5 carts of the 'LONG LASTING' product. I have had problems with batch no's 040, 071, and now with batch no 131.
i have now been waiting a whole week for greensmoke to deal with my latest request for replacements. A suoervisor was supposed to be emailing me last week, no response. i have gone online again this morning to live chat, and been told that a supervisor would be contacting me very soon. No response!
last week one of the customer services personnel put my request through to the engineers AND the supervisor in an attempt to resolve the issue. NO RESPONSE, AGAIN!
I have been sent new chargers and new batteries ( which I dont actually NEED! )
I am fed up and very frustrated at having to send carts back at such an alarming rate and i wish that greensmoke would accept full responsibility and sort the problem out instead of selling defective carts and expecting people to put with it!
I have literally HUNDREDS of carts that I have not complained about that have burned out very quickly, but I am made to feel as if i am being a real nuiscance in standing up for the consumer. the product is really good, and i have been unable to find an equivelant taste with other competitors, but there is obviously an issue with carts being underfilled or evaporating quickly, therefore rendering the product 'not fit for purpose'
I have NEVER had a problem with the menthol or the Tobbacco Gold until recently, when a batch of the gold tasted TERRIBLE and i sent them back immediately without trying any more.

Desired Settlement
I would like Greensmoke to accept that there are problems with the carts and refund or replace or reduce the cost of these defective carts instead of continuing to sell them at 'full price' when they last only a quarter of the normal time for a cart!
I would also appreciate a response from Greensmoke regarding my patience and tenacity in this matter. i have recommended the product to MANY MANY friends, and, they too have had problems and found it far too costly to continue and have gone over to V2 products instead. Unfortunately, being BRITISH, we never complain about anything or stand up for ourselves - and i know for a fact that an American Citizen would NEVER, EVER tolerate this problem without placing a complaint!!

Business Response
The dialogue between **** ******* and our Customer Service team is ongoing. We have replaced many of the products in question at no cost to Ms. *******. Ms. ******* continues to be a valued customer and we appreciate her continued patronage.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I agree that greensmoke most definitely havereplaced many products for me at no cost to myself. Sadly, this is due to the fact that the product has deteriorated to an inaffordable and frustratingly poor quality since I first used the product in 2010. Greensmoke are deceiving people by claiming that one of their carts are equal to 30 cigarettes when in reality they last only the equivalent of FIVE cigarettes!- I am no longer a customer of greensmoke As they have not accepted that they have a problem, and are not prepared to rectify the production/transportation problems they are having. They must be losing a lot of business through this which is a real shame!- they were SO GOOD when they first began selling the product.

Final Business Response
The customer has acknowledged that the company has replaced many products for her. The customer's opinions regarding our pricing and shipping methods are her opinions and she has articulated them. We respectfully disagree.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Cigar & Cigarette & Tobacco Dealers - Retail

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.