BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/31/2011

Care Wellness Center, LLC

(954) 586-22735576A W. Sample Rd #1A, MargateFL 33073

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/31/2011

BBB has determined that Care Wellness Center, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Care Wellness Center, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Care Wellness Center, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
11/03/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Care Wellness Center, LLC provided me with the false information regarding their acceptance of my insurance. They denied to admit their error.
On September 15th I received the first bill from Care Provider - Care Wellness Center, LLC located on ****** ****** ***** ******** FL XXXXX - for $125 for the acupuncture treatment that was performed on August 19th. By this time I had had total of 5 treatments done within a 1.5 moth period (August 13th, August 19th, August 26th, September 5th, and September 12th). I immediately called Care Wellness Center with my concern of getting billed a full amount versus 20% co-pay as I was advised by their receptionist prior to starting the treatment.
Previously, I verified with my insurance that my plan covers 20 acupuncture visits per year and my responsibility is 20% co-pay. Before I even scheduled my first visit for treatment, I gave Care Wellness Center a call to verify that they accept my insurance (**********************) and that they are "in the network". I was told that they do accept my insurance and also participate in the network.
So now, when I asked the lady from Care Wellness Center why I am being charged full amount she replied that my insurance is charging me this amount towards the yearly deductible. I met my deductible of $1300 about 3 months ago so I knew that it wasn't true. I then told her what I was told by my insurance in regards to getting billed for acupuncture treatments. She said that the different information was given to her by my insurance but she will call them again.
I then called my insurance to try to get to the bottom the issue. Within 10 minutes I was told that the doctor who is billing me from Care Wellness Center (****** ******) is not "in the network", that is why I am being charged full amount. The insurance agent also clarified that the practice (Care Wellness Center) is "in the network", however, the doctor who is treating me is not. When I explained the situation to the insurance agent she advised me to appeal to ********************** and also informed me that it could take some time before it gets investigated and resolved.
After the phone call to my insurance, I called back Care Wellness Center. I was told by the person who was handling my case that she could not get in touch with my insurance about this issue. That did not seem true because I had just called myself and got everything figured out right away. I then explained that I am getting billed from the doctor who does not participate in the network as I was told before I started my treatments. The lady still insisted that they are in the network. I then asked to be billed as if they are in the network. To which she replied that they understand that it is a lot of money that has accumulated for my visits, so they are willing to treat me as a cash patient without insurance and give me discount that will bring each bill from $125 to $75 should I continue treatments. I disagreed with this proposal because I did have insurance that I pay for every month and was given false impression that they accept my insurance. I believe I am only responsible for 20% of the bill for my co-pay as was agreed prior to treatments. I cancelled my future visits and said I that I was advised to file an appeal by my insurance. The lady then told me that she would call me back the next day after she speaks with the billing manager. On September 17th I received the promised phone call from Care Wellness Center with the voicemail stating that they "cannot do anything on their end and my best route is to go ahead with the appeal".

Desired Settlement
The whole issue could have been avoided if the billing department verified correctly their participation in the network with my insurance. If I was told from the beginning that I would be responsible for the full amount per visit I would have never started the treatments as there are many practices offering acupuncture under my plan. In this case, I was lied to about their participation (it matters if the doctor is in the network, not the practice) which reflected on the way I was billed for the treatments.
It also took them 1.5 months to send me the first bill. If I discovered this issue earlier I would have discontinued right away. The way this matter is being handled is not very professional either. They never admitted that an error was made on their end (someone did not do their job and did not verify the participation in the network). Instead they blamed my insurance of giving them the wrong information. Therefore, I do not agree to pay for the mistake made by Care Wellness Center, LLC. I believe I have done everything right on my end. I think it is only fair to honor the agreement we had prior to starting the treatments and collect 20% co-pay from me for the services provided as if they participated in the network.

Business Response
This issue should be able to be resolved rather easily. We have reached out to the patient after receiving this complaint and agreed to waive any current balance that she has incurred. Unfortunately we were given the wrong information by her insurance company, BCBS, that her treatments would be covered by her plan. In reality she did not have coverage and had a deductible as well. There was a break down between staff members in our facility in regards to receiving the accurate information from the insurance provider and relaying this information to the patient. So she was getting treatments here believing she was covered. She was not covered so she was very surprised when she received the bill from us. This is not something that usually happens at our facility. We pride ourselves on assisting patients every step of the way and that includes verifying insurance benefits and communicating that information to our patients. The way we handle verifying insurance benefits and communicating this information to patients has since been revised to avoid any confusion or conflict in the future. New processes and procedures have been implemented so this kind of thing does not happen again. Luckily we were able to reach out to the patient and clarify this issue and her treatments have resumed. We pride ourselves on building strong relationships and always doing the right thing for our patients, so we were satisfied that we were able to reconnect with this patient, rectify this situation, and continue helping her with her treatment.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Chiropractors D.C., Physical Therapists, Acupuncturists

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/31/2011Business started: 07/18/1985
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Dept of Health
4052 Bald Cypress Way
Tallahassee, FL32399-7017
(850) 488-0595
http://www.doh.state.fl.us/

Broward County Business Tax
Broward County Governmental Offices 115 S. Andrews Ave.
Fort Lauderdale, FL33301-1818
(954) 357-7235
http://www.broward.org/Pages/Welcome.aspx

BBB records show a license number of AP2502 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Health. Their web address is http://www.doh.state.fl.us/. The expiration date of this license is 02/28/2016.

Check License Status: http://ww2.doh.state.fl.us/irm00Praes/PRASINDI.ASP?LicId=2914&ProfNBR=3801

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of Ch4917 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Health. Their web address is http://www.doh.state.fl.us/. The expiration date of this license is 03/31/2016.

Check License Status: http://ww2.doh.state.fl.us/irm00Praes/PRASINDI.ASP?LicId=3846&ProfNBR=501

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of AP1704 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Health. Their web address is http://www.doh.state.fl.us/. The expiration date of this license is 02/28/2016.

Check License Status: http://ww2.doh.state.fl.us/irm00Praes/PRASINDI.ASP?LicId=2107&ProfNBR=3801

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of CH6667 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Health. Their web address is http://www.doh.state.fl.us/. The expiration date of this license is 03/31/2016.

Check License Status: http://ww2.doh.state.fl.us/irm00Praes/PRASINDI.ASP?LicId=5576&ProfNBR=501

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 310-4556 for this company, issued by Broward County Business Tax. Their web address is http://www.broward.org/Pages/Welcome.aspx.

Check License Status: https://www.broward.county-taxes.com/public/business tax/accounts/92604

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of MM27495 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Health. Their web address is http://www.doh.state.fl.us/. The expiration date of this license is 08/31/2015.

Check License Status: http://ww2.doh.state.fl.us/irm00Praes/PRASINDI.ASP?LicId=27414&ProfNBR=1402

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Dr Kirk Whitten (Managing Member)Dr Landon Agoado (Managing Member)Dr Abraham Freeman (Managing Member)Dr Robert Herbst (Managing Member)
Business Category

Chiropractors D.C., Physical Therapists, Acupuncturists

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Care Wellness Center, LLC

5576A W. Sample Rd #1A

Margate, FL 33073

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5576A W. Sample Rd #1A 

    Margate, FL 33073(954) 586-2273

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Care Wellness Center, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Chiropractors D.C.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.