BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Mobile Device Protection Association, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

122 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues25
Guarantee / Warranty Issues46
Problems with Product / Service48
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints122

Additional Complaint Information

Our files contain a pattern of complaints from consumers that allege they received an email informing they were no longer a member of Mobile Device Protection Association as of 12/31/13. However consumers allege that Mobile Device Protection Association, LLC fails to refund them of monies paid after their contract was terminated, and they were still being billed. In some instances consumers state they are currently still being charged.

Our files indicate most of these complaints close unanswered.

On March 28, 2014 BBB sent correspondence to Mobile Device Protection Association, LLC requesting their voluntary cooperation in resolving complaints on file with BBB and providing steps it will implement to eliminate the pattern of customer complaints.

As of April 28, 2014 BBB has not heard from the company.

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (122)
03/10/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I filed a claim for my Samsung Galaxy Note II that was stolen on 1/26/14, the company refuses replacement due to insinuated insecure location clause.
On 1/26/2014 approximately 6:10 p.m. My White Galaxy Note II Acct # XXXXX meid XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX was stolen from me at the Hilton Gardens Inn while I was at an event. The phone was placed on the table right next to me as I filled out some paperwork. As soon as I completed it I reached to pick up the phone and it was not there.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting that my Samsung Galaxy Note II be replaced by the company and shipped to me overnight due to the theft that occurred. The phone at no time was placed outside my presence. I did not walk away from it or anything. Due to the extended discussion over this it has been over 2 weeks I am without my phone.

Business Response
The member has been in direct contact with us regarding this case.

The member has provided us a police report regarding their request for service. The member's wireless carrier is not a mainstream carrier so we are working to identify a replacement device for the member.

We thank the BBB for its assistance in this matter.

03/07/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company charged my credit card under false pretenses. Subsequently they denied me any refund whatsoever.
Their charges were misleading when purchasing phone equipment for personal use. When applying an "equipment protection" charge under the pretense of going through my carrier rather than being a completely separate additional charge to my current carrier's equipment protection. They vehemently decline to refund a single charge even though they misrepresented their fee. Even when requesting this refund for at least the current charge, I was declined then told to contact a seemingly different company- the same company I emailed who told me to contact the people I was speaking with. I feel fraud has been committed and unethical business practices were performed in order to steal from people.

Desired Settlement
I'm requesting a refund of all charges since August 2013 at 9.99/month totaling $69.93.

Business Response
We have reviewed this member's case and are issuing a refund in the amount requested of $69.93.

We thank the BBB for their assistance in this matter.

01/15/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
on 12/16/2013 I filed a report with this vendor because my cellular phone was stolen out of the bathroom at work while in my presence
On 12/15/2013 My phone was taken from the bathroom stall at work. I went in to use the bathroom and set my phone down on the dispenser. When I finished I went to the sink to wash my hands. When I turned around to get it the phone was gone. There were several other coworkers in the bathroom. I immediately went to the office supervisor and told them what happen. They questioned the other staff and no one claimed to have it. My supervisor gave me a company card because I told them I would need to report it stolen. I reported my Samsung Galaxy III ESN # XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX Stolen on 12/16/2013 to the Denver Police department. The phone was never left unattended it was right behind me on the dispenser in the stall the sink was across from the stall. Someone picked it up while i was lookint down washign my hands. This company is trying to avoid paying out ligitimate claims even when you follow there protocal. They did not even ask me for the police report I filed!

Desired Settlement
I want them to honor my report and replace my obviously Stolen Phone

Business Response
MDPA will be happy to reconsider this matter upon receipt of, and based upon, the detailed narrative included in a current police report.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I would like to submit my police report to them and await a response from the business acknowledging they will replace my stolen phone.

Final Business Response
We have received the police report from the member and will be issuing a replacement device upon confirmation of the shipping address.

We thank the BBB for assisting in this matter.

01/06/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased an annual plan for coverage of my cell phone for 12 months. Apparently your plan is "terminated" if you get it fixed once.
I purchased my phone from newegg.com and was offered an insurance plan through the Mobile Device Protection Association. A couple weeks after I bought the device i dropped it, and needed for the screen to be replaced. They honored the fix, and that was that. Later however, I dropped it again, and returned, thinking that I was able to still be covered. They said that i had exhausted my number of times that it could be repaired, and that my account then was no longer active, regardless of the initial length of the agreement. I thought that I would have a full year of coverage, not a "one fix" coverage.

Desired Settlement
I would like for my year long agreement to be honored as it was stated when i originally purchased the coverage. Nowhere was it stated that you only get one fix, which would then terminate your account. Unacceptable.

Business Response
On 12/23/2013 the following email was sent to this customer: "Dear xxxx, we have reinstated your annual account and apologize for the confusion. Please note that we have sent you a repair approval letter to your email of record and will be happy to have your phone (Nokia Lumia 928) repaired.

Annual pay contracts may, in fact, be cancelled for several reasons, all of which are listed on the terms and conditions of coverage published by both MDPA and the cellular retailer.
In the case of this customer, however, the cancellation was not appropriate. We apologize for any inconvenience caused. We thank the BBB for its assistance.

11/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I reported a claim to Mobile Device Protection to replace my lost/stolen mobile device and I was told I was not covered.
My member number is SXXXXXXXXX mobile number XXXXXXXXXX. My mobile device(Samsung Galaxy S III) was lost/stolen on 11/15/2013. I reported it to Mobile Device Protection and I was told it was not covered due to it being an "unexplainable disappearance".

Desired Settlement
I am requesting my mobile device to be replaced due to it being stolen.

Business Response
On 11/16/13 this customer sent the following email: "On 11/15/13 I went to dinner and when I returned home I noticed I did not have my cellular phone. I lost my telephone and don't remember where I left it." In accordance with the terms and conditions of coverage, this plan covers accidental damage and theft from a reasonably secured premise. It does not cover an unexplained disappearance or a loss such as was described. Such a loss is both an "unexplained disappearance" and negligent. We regret to be able to issue a replacement unit. We could, however, send this customer a full refund of all paid monthly membership fees.

Page 1 of 4
05/12/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I received an email 3/15/14 that my account had been cancelled as of 12/31/13. I have continued to be charged; Jan, Feb and March.

All contact numbers that I can find state "office is currently closed".
XXX-XXX-XXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
$20.97

Business Response
We regret to inform you that MDPA has gone out of business. Your monthly account has expired and cannot be renewed. We're sorry for any inconvenience this has caused.

We understand your concern about payments being drafted from your account. Mobile Device Protection Association, LLC, does not, nor did it ever, have access to your credit card. Simplexity handled the billing of your account and we instructed them to stop all automatic withdrawals pertaining to our device protection. We do not have any control over the fact that they did not stop billing. For billing issues you can contact them directly or their owner, Versa Capital Management, LLC.

Versa Capital Management, LLC
**** ******
**** **** ******
***** ****
************, PA XXXXX-XXXX

************ - Telephone
************ - Facsimile
email: ****@versa.com

*********** ***
********** ******* **********
************
********** ************
************
*********** ***
XXXXX ********* *****
***** ***
******* ** XXXXX


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They need to pursue the billing company to refund my money.

04/14/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
MDPA sent me refreshed & tested devices instead of a new device per my membership & our written agreement. I have documented proof of insurance fraud.
1/29/13 I filed a claim for a lost/stolen phone and it was denied for UNSECURED & NEGLIGENT LOSS. On 1/31/13 I filed a police report and the claim was approved on 2/1/13. I e-mailed several times about shipment status and on 2/6/13 MDPA replied if your replacement was in stock it would have taken 2-3 days for delivery but since we did not have that phone in stock the delivery time is a little longer, we are sorry for the inconvenience. We do apologize, your phone is on back order but once we receive your phone it will be shipped out to you immediately and your account will be updated with tracking information. I replied per your website, if a covered item is not available for replacement, I will be offered a model of similar value. Can you recommend what in stock model of similar value is available for immediate shipment? I also called to speak with an account manager but was told they didn't speak with customers; I had to use the online system. MDPA replied per our phone conversation. You concerns have been forwarded to your Account Manager. Unfortunately your phone was on back order and we expect to be able to ship it on Feb 8, 2013. As an alternative we can offer you a cash settlement of $130 which is equal to the current ASDA replacement value of your phone. If you opt for the cash settlement, it will be processed with the next check run which **** be Feb 7, 2013. Please advise us of your decision. I called MDPA attempting to discuss the claim and declined the settlement and the phone was shipped.

1/10/14 I contacted MDPA to inform them the device they sent was refurbished not new per my membership or their policy. I received a call and e-mail that contained MDPA's FAQ's from **** Barbarino who stated I was told MDPA was unable to procure a new device because none were available in the supply chain and I was given the option of a cash settlement or a refreshed device and I elected the latter which MDPA fulfilled. I replied and provided a copy of the entire claims history and pointed out there was no mention of a refreshed device. I stated MDPA failed to honor the Terms and Conditions of my membership when a "refreshed" device was sent without my approval. I've asked her to send me all the text listed under the member control panel several times; however that request has gone unanswered. 1/17/14 **** replied she sent the FAQ's and again stated I was told I was receiving a refreshed device. I replied asking for documented proof I was told I was receiving a refreshed phone. 1/23/14 **** called me but I didn't take her call at which point she e-mailed again stating I was told I was receiving a refreshed device. I replied again asking for documented proof and suggested MDPA honor the original $130 settlement. 1/29/14 **** replied asking for a time to call me. I replied I was only reachable by e-mail. I provided the phone original purchase date per Verizon Wireless and asked MDPA to honor my paid membership. **** replied MDPA couldn't honor the $130 settlement and offered to send an HTC Rhyme as a courtesy swap. I agreed provided the device was NEW. **** replied it's a new device and we negotiated shipment terms. **** also offered to pay for repairs at a local store. 1/30/14 **** offered a $75 settlement if I didn't accept MDPA shipment terms- I declined. 1/31/14 Carson from MDPA called my mother to reason with her because I wasn't working with ****. After Carson spoke with my mother; **** e-mailed MDPA was sending the device. 2/4/14 I emailed **** to ask why the accessories were missing to a new device. She stated they purchased a tested device not a bundle package. 2/5/14 **** e-mailed and said by "new" we mean that it has not been used on any wireless network. I replied I learned from HTC the device is no long manufactured and likely not available new. **** replied the device was in their inventory for over 1 year. 2/6/14 I replied I was seeking legal counsel for insurance fraud and would not reply to future e-mails.

Desired Settlement
I want MDPA to purchase a new device directly from ******* Wireless or the device manufacturer to ensure the replacement device I'm entitled to per my membership policy is actually new. I would like the device shipped directly to my address on file unless it's purchased from a ******* Wireless store close to my home. I don't want MDPA shipping me another device from their inventory for fear it will be yet another refreshed, tested or MDPA defined "new" device missing standard in-box accessories. Considering MDPA's history of sending refreshed and tested devices instead of new devices per their membership replacement policy and our written agreement via e-mail I don't trust MDPA to act in an ethical manner; not to mention their adjusted meaning of "new" per ******* e-mail.

Business Response
We have reviewed the member's case, both the original Request For Service filed in January 2013 and then the reported charging issue with the replacement device in January 2014.

This member had a device (a Samsung Brightside) that when the Request For Service was filed in January 2013, the Samsung Brightside model was no longer in production.
We source replacement devices from a variety of vendors and since the Samsung Brightside was no longer in production, we offered a cash settlement equal to the value of the Samsung Brightside or our waiting until we could locate a Samsung Brightside in our supply chain. The member refused the cash settlement and opted to wait until we could locate a device. We located a Grade A refreshed device and shipped it to the member once we had device undergoing a full quality assurance test. Sourcing refreshed devices is standard mobile device protection industry practice, especially when new devices are no longer available in the market.

The replacement of the entire covered device in February 2013 reached the limit of liability (the replacement value of their device) and thus the membership was cancelled.

In January 2014, the member reached out to us to let us know that the device was having charging issues and the manufacturer warranty on the Samsung Brightside had lapsed.
In January 2014, the membership had not been active for 11 months and we had no obligation to assist the member. We did, however, offer to work with the expired member in offering to facilitate the local repair of the Samsung Brightside; offered another cash settlement despite the member having used the replacement device for 11 months; and offered to issue an HTC Rhyme as a replacement, which is a considerable upgrade over the Samsung Brightside. The expired member was adamant that a new device, not a refreshed or refurbished device, be issued. The HTC Rhyme that we shipped to the member is a new device that we purchased in January 2013 that had been in our inventory since its purchase.

The member received the HTC Rhyme on February 4, 2014 and we are awaiting the return of the Samsung Brightside shipped using a prepaid FedEx label that we provided to the member.
As of February 12, 2014, FedEx tracking does not show that the member has dropped off the Samsung Brightside in a FedEx shipment location.
We are awaiting the member to transfer her mother's content and data from the Samsung Brightside to the HTC Rhyme and then shipping the Samsung Brightside back to us via a prepaid shipping label that we shipped her.

We thank the BBB for its assistance in reviewing this member's case.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
If MDPA honestly believed they had honored the terms and conditions of my cancelled membership they wouldn't have sent me another device in an attempt to correct their wrong. This company does not have a history of graciously working with current paid members so to suggest they would eagerly work with an expired member of 11 months is utterly absurd.

I do not accept MDPA's response because it is not a true response to my case; nor are their comments a true and accurate depiction of my claim history. I have a copy of the claim notes and at NO time did MDPA state the device wasn't in production and I was going to receive a Grade A refreshed device. In fact MDPA's exact words were: By MDPA on February 6, 2013 at 10:23am If your replacement was in stock it would have taken 2-3 days for delivery but since we did not have that phone in stock the delivery time is a little longer, we are sorry for the inconvenience. By MDPA on February 6, 2013 at 11:23am We do apologize, your phone is on back order but once we receive your phone it will be shipped out to you immediately and your account will be updated with tracking information.

After I asked MDPA to recommend what similar device was available for immediate shipment per their policy I was offered the cash settlement. By MDPA on February 6, 2013 at 1:26pm Per our phone conversation. You concerns have been forwarded to your Account Manager. Unfortunately your phone was on back order and we expect to be able to ship it on February 8, 2013. As an alternative we can offer you a cash settlement of $130 which is equal to the current ASDA replacement value of your phone. If you opt for the cash settlement, it will be processed with the next check run which will be February 7, 2013. Please advise us of your decision.

Yes, I opted to wait because I was under the assumption the device would be new as I was told and per MDPA's policy. The cash settlement was offered 2 days before the anticipated shipment date therefore it made sense to wait instead of accepting a cash settlement that wouldn't cover the cost of purchasing a new device. The manufacturer warranty on the refreshed replacement device expired approximately 5-6 weeks after I received the device because it was a refreshed device. If the device was new per MDPA's policy it would qualify for replacement via the manufacturer and it wouldn't have cost me or MDPA anything to replace it. Per Verizon Wireless, the replacement device initially purchased on another Verizon Wireless account on 3/30/12 and was active on that account until 4/26/12. This meant the warranty expired on 03/30/2013 and I received the device shortly after February 8, 2013.

After going back and forth via e-mail with **** ********* I directly asked her if the HTC device would be new before agreeing to move forward and she stated yes, it will be a new device- instead it's a tested device missing all the standard manufacturer in-box accessories. Industry standards is all new devices come with the manufacturer issued in-box accessories. ******* explanation was MDPA didn't purchase the bundle accessories package; just the tested device. Per HTC, new devices automatically come with the missing accessories. When I asked **** about the missing accessories for a new device she defined what "new" means to MDPA- I'm left to assume their definition of new exempts them from the traditional definition of new.

Yes, I received the "tested" HTC device and was very clear with MDPA that I wasn't accepting another refreshed or tested device; especially after being told by **** ********* on Jan. 29, 2014 at 3:55 PM the HTC device would be new. On February 5, 2014 at 3:26 PM **** e-mailed The HTC Rhyme that we shipped to you is a new device that was shipped in its original factory box. I emailed **** and stated I wasn't transferring to the HTC and would be seeking legal advice.

Again, my goal is to get a new device per my policy from an unbiased party (i.e., ******* Wireless or HTC) and return both the tested and defective devices at the same time. I'm hoping we can resolve this matter without the need for legal intervention via small claims court however I stand firm in my position and will not activate tested HTC device. In the meantime; the HTC device will be kept safe and secure in the event this actually becomes a legal matter at which point it will become evidence.


Final Business Response
The member has been in contact with MDPA management directly and below is a timeline that we have provided the member in a response to her:

1/30/2013 - the member filed an RFS
1/30/2013 RFS denied for not falling within the terms and conditions of coverage
1/30/2013 - the member requested a cancellation of your membership fee
1/30/2013 - Customer Service Representative requested an Account Manager look over the member's account again. This was done and a Police Report or contact information was requested.
2/1/2013 Police contact information was received and a replacement Samsung Brightside was ordered for the member.
2/6/2013 Our vendor was unable to get the phone out in a timely fashion, so we asked the member if the member preferred to wait for the phone or take a cash settlement equal to the value of the phone. The member declined the settlement and requested to wait for the phone.
2/7/2013 Phone was shipped to the member

One year later, almost to the day, you contacted us again.
1/10/2014 - The member called our offices regarding charging issues with the replacement phone issued in February of 2013. The member was informed that the member no longer had device protection through MDPA - per the member's request to cancel her membership. The member continued to call and email. The next issue that the member had that the phone the member was sent a year ago wasn't new. Since we hadn't heard from the member in a year, we believe that the phone worked just fine.
1/10/2014 - The member spoke to MDPA the phone not being new.
1/17/2014 We sent the member a letter explaining our FAQ's and after a phone conversation we offered the member to take the phone for local repair or a phone that we had in our inventory.
1/23/2014 More phone calls and emails
1/31/2014 We sent the member another phone with a prepaid label to send the first phone back to us we are still awaiting that return. The member has two phones right now.
2/12/2014 - The member filed a BBB.

We believe that we have done our best to assist the member, even after the member was no longer a paying customer. As a courtesy and in view of the member's mother's health and lack of a primary phone in her senior living residence, we made a good faith exception in issuing the member a new device prior to receiving the previously reported broken device, that is still in the member's possession.

Another issue the member has is that the phone the member received was not new. We do not promise brand new phones; however in this case, both phones sent to the member were new. They were tested for quality assurance. To be fully tested, they need to be activated, so they were activated for testing, and then deactivated so we can send our customers replacement phones that are not attached to an existing wireless service account.

Our company has been in business over 30 years. We handle millions of dollars worth of claims a year. We do our best, at every turn, to assist those in need. We feel that we've more than fulfilled our obligation with this membership for our Device Protection product.

We hope that this clears up any misunderstandings and thank the BBB for their assistance in this matter.

04/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sent my phone in for repair several times, MDPA will not replace it, cannot repair it, and will not refund my money.
I purchased a new Blackberry Q10 in June 2013, and 1year's insurance (paid in full) at that time. On Dec 1, my phone was dropped and the screen turned black and could not be used. This drop was covered under MDPA's repair/replacement warranty, so I sent it in to be repaired (to MDPA's parts and labor company called Wholesale Wireless), expecting a full analysis to be done on the phone and for all repairs to be completed. They sent the phone back with a new screen that I was satisfied with, but I noticed the phone would power itself down and back on again once every few days. This powering down would happen randomly when the phone was not in use, when I was in the middle of using the touch screen, and during phonecalls. I thought this was something I could live with, but it started increasing in frequency to once or twice a day. I made a new claim with the insurance company, and sent my phone in for repair for the second time (Jan 6, 2014). After they "tested" the phone, they sent it back and I received it Jan 10. I did not observe the phone powering down that day, but on Jan 11 it happened once that I observed, and by Jan 15 the phone was turning on and off on a constant cycle for over an hour. On that day I sent the phone back to the repair facility for a 3rd time, saying the power issue was not fixed and that I would like a replacement phone. On January 21, MDPA replied that they turned off a setting on my phone that stops pocket dialing, and that they were sending my phone back to me. I received it back on January 23, and within hours the phone powered itself down. I made a complaint to the company that their solution to my problem was not in fact a solution at all, and that I need a replacement phone and the number to customer service. When I called this number, they told me they were sending over my complaint to a case manager. I called the 2nd number I was given, and they told me to call the repair company (Wholesale Wireless)rather than talking to me about my problem. I did not want to talk to the repair company, as they seem incapable of repairing my phone. I wanted to talk to the insurance company to ask them to send me a new phone, as is possible according to their rules and regulations. Despite the fact that I did not want to talk to the repair company, I called Wholesale Wireless (on my house phone) because MDPA was not giving me any solutions to my problem. When I called Wholesale Wireless, they said they did a few tests and never saw the phone turn itself off. However, the phone turns itself off randomly, and unless the phone was watched for 6 continuous hours, it would not have been witnessed. Wholesale Wireless told me to call back MDPA to ask for a new battery as the next possible solution because they never tested my battery (isn't that the first thing you should do to a phone with power shortage issues?). I called MDPA at 4:13 (I was told they would be open until 4:30) and was informed that the case manager had called my cell phone at 4:08 (when I was calling the repair comp.), then left for the day and would not return until January 27. My cell phone had no indication of a missed call and no voicemail was left, but the phone may have been powering itself down when the case manager was attempting to call(this is the problem!). So now I have to wait until Monday (it is Friday) to get a response from the case manager. In summary, my problem is as follows: I first sent my phone for repair on December 1, and the power issue was not detected, and the phone was sent back still damaged. After 7 weeks of back and forth, the power issue is still not resolved. I have driven in several bad storms with either no phone or an unreliable phone. I only ask for a replacement phone, but MDPA will not send me one and does not seem to care about the situation as the case manager could not wait just 5 min for my return call. They will not refund my insurance, so I cannot go through another company w/out paying double insurance.

Desired Settlement
I would like a replacement phone, and do not want to send my phone back to the repair company who has had the phone 3 times and cannot diagnose the problem. The repair company (Wholesale Wireless) told me to buy a new battery because they never tested mine to see if that was the cause of the problem. I switched out batteries with my friend who has the same phone. Within 1o minutes my phone powered itself down, hers did not. My battery does not need to be replaced, the entire phone does, as there is no diagnosis after 3 attempts and switching batteries does not fix the problem.

Business Response
We spoke with this member prior to receiving this BBB case on January 27th. We advised the member to ship the device to our headquarters so we can review the device as proceed to repair or replace the device.

We emailed the member directly with the instructions to ship the device to our headquarters and are awaiting to receive the device in our headquarters.

We thank the BBB for assisting us in resolving this member's issue.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The business did not contact me until late in the day January 30, not on January 27 as they claim. This process was very long and drawn out. They have finally diagnosed the problem on the 4th attempt, and have said they are returning my phone. I will not know if this is satisfactory until I receive my phone back in the mail yet again. I am still upholding my complaint that it took almost two months and four attempts to diagnose one simple problem.

Final Business Response
We have reviewed this member's case along with the last repair. We had the device tested a series of times after our repair and no longer experienced the reported issues.

If the member is experiencing another issue such as the camera no longer working as reported, we ask that the member contact us directly to send the device to us so that we may fix that issue.

We thank the BBB for their assistance in this matter.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I received my phone back Monday, 2/10/14. On Tuesday 2/11/14 I saw that the phone was still not repaired. MDPA's solution to all of this was to replace the battery, despite the fact that I already replaced the battery and told them the problem was still occurring. The phone still randomly shuts itself off and shuts off when trying to use the phone. The camera is broken as well. I called MDPA and they refuse to talk to me. They say I can only contact them through the BBB. Please help expedite this process, as I have now been without a properly working phone since December 1, with much of that time having no phone at all while it was sent away.

When I talked to the case manager on 1/3/14, he told me to send my phone to them in Boca Raton, they would look it over to find the problem, and get Blackberry involved. If a solution could not be found by Blackberry, he said they would send me a new phone. Well Blackberry clearly could not diagnose the problem, as it was not the battery. So according to the case manager and the conversation we had around 4pm on Monday 1/30/14 on the phone, they should be sending me a new phone. This is all I've been asking for all this time. It is clearly not time nor cost effective to keep trying to repair this phone which is beyond repair. The cost of parts, labor, and shipping has already exceeded what it would have cost them to simply replace my phone.

04/03/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company is a complete SCAM. Please check the internet to see all the bad complaints.They need to be shut down immediately.Something must be done.
My phone was lost/stolen at my sons school so i filed a claim. Paid $10 a month for a 7 months for them to tell me "this plan covers accidental damage and theft from a reasonably secured premise or vehicle. it does not cover an unexplained disappearance or loss such as you have described. " Make sure you ask and read the fine print! I just did a random check on Google and found nothing but bad reviews about this company. Wish i would have checked back then.

Desired Settlement
A replacement cellphone like they promised. $10 a month is way more than I was paying` at Sprint and they give me NO hassle. They automatically take money out of my account just to find any excuse NOT to replace my phone. This company needs to be shut down.

Business Response
We have reviewed the member's case.

The member reported that they purchased duplicate coverage through both Sprint and MDPA. Duplicate coverage is not permissible and the member's MDPA account was cancelled.

We have issued a refund for the full amount of $79.92 which the member should receive shortly.

We thank the BBB for its assistance in resolving this matter.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This company is ran by liars. I called and cancelled my own account the second after I got the FIRST reply saying you wouldn't cover my phone. That above statement is a blatant LIE. I cannot believe you came up with this "professional" LIE for the BBB. Where's my refund that you failed to mention to me until now??? It is now March 10th, it takes you less than 60 seconds to take my payment out of my account every month, its been almost 2 weeks now. I hope that's not another LIE for the BBB.

05/06/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Although I got the E-mail below on March 15, 2014 I'm still being charge US$7.99 monthly for the services that were cancelled on 12/31/2013.
Although I got the E-mail below on March 15, 2014 I'm still being charge US$7.99 monthly for the services that were cancelled on 12/31/2013.
So by my calculations someone owe me US31.96.Who should I charge?????


**** E. ****
Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Mobile: XXX-XXX-XXXX

Glendale, AZ XXXXX


A


Dear ****
RE: Member# SXXXXXXXXX

This is to inform you that you are no longer a member of ************************ Association as your online retailer cancelled your Device Protection as of 12/31/13. We regret any inconvenience this has caused you. We suggest you contact your online retailer for all billing issues.

********** Billing Department
************

********** Headquarters
************

**********, LLC
XXXXX Parkridge Blvd.
Suite 200
Reston, VA XXXXX
******@**********.com
-****
USA

Desired Settlement
Although I got the E-mail below on March 15, 2014 I'm still being charge US$7.99 monthly for the services that were cancelled on 12/31/2013.
So by my calculations someone owe me US31.96.Who should I charge?????Dear ****
RE: Member# SXXXXXXXXX

This is to inform you that you are no longer a member of************************* Association as your online retailer cancelled your Device Protection as of 12/31/13. We regret any inconvenience this has caused you. We suggest you contact your online retailer for all billing issues.

********** Billing Department
************

********** Headquarters
************

**********, LLC
XXXXX Parkridge Blvd.
Suite 200
Reston, VA XXXXX
*****************.com
-4519
USA

Business Response
We regret to inform you that **** has gone out of business. Your monthly account has expired and cannot be renewed. We're sorry for any inconvenience this has caused.

We understand your concern about payments being drafted from your account. ************* ********** Association, LLC, does not, nor did it ever, have access to your credit card. ********** handled the billing of your account and we instructed them to stop all automatic withdrawals pertaining to our device protection. We do not have any control over the fact that they did not stop billing. For billing issues you can contact them directly or their owner, ***** Capital Management, LLC.
*****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
**********, LLC
********** Billing Department
************
********** Headquarters
************
**********, LLC
*************** Blvd.
Suite 200
Reston, VA XXXXX



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I called all those numbers already, no answers! Who **** refund my money? Somebody has to take responsibility!

03/17/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My phone was stolen from my back pocket I filed a claim and they refuse to pay. When signing up for the service they state they cover lost or theft
I went into a store to pay for gas while standing in line someone stole my phone out of my back pocket. My wife filed the claim for me assuming I put the phone down on the counter...I never did. I have since rectified the mistake with them; filed police report that along with security cameras prove that I never sat my phone down which they are claiming is neglect. The police report case # is XXXXXXXXX.

Desired Settlement
A new phone as promised with contract

Business Response
This member reported that on January 21, 2014 that her husband left the covered device down at the gas station while paying, which was then left unattended while he left the gas station. The member's husband then returned to the store and was unable to locate the covered device. This is considered an unsecured loss and not covered by the published Terms and Conditions of the member's MDPA plan when the plan was purchased. The member indicated that a police report as well as video from the security cameras were provided that support a different narrative that was provided after the above narrative was denied for unsecured loss. We have yet to receive the police report and video from the security cameras.

We thank the BBB for its assistance in the this matter.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have asked to send police reports and the company refused stating they didn't want them as they were denying claim.

Final Business Response
We have reviewed this member's case again and stand by our decision. If the member provides the previously reported video from the security cameras along with the police report that supports a different narrative than what was reported, we will review this member's case again.

Furthermore, we checked with ******* ******** and the device's ESN has not yet been reported stolen. Once we receive the video from the security cameras and the police report, we will also need confirmation that the device has been reported as stolen to Verizon Wireless.

We thank the BBB for their assistance in this matter.

02/28/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
WIREFLY SOLD INSISTED THE PROTECTION PLAN THROUGH "Mobile Device Protection Association, LLC" WELL PROVIDE COVER OR REPLACEMENT NO MATTER WHAT.
I RENEW MY SPRINT SERVICE THROUGH WIREFLY, AND WAS SOLD THE PROTECTION PLAN FROM "Mobile Device Protection Association, LLC" WHEN I FILED CLAIM FOR MY LOST PHONE, THE COMPANY CLAIMED THAT THEY DON'T COVER ANY "LOST OF PHONE IN BODY OF WATER". THE PROTECTION COMPANY PROVIDE NOMORE THEN "******" OF CLAIM ON NO REPLY EMAIL. THE LIMITED HOUR OF PHONE IN CONTACT IS ONLY FOR A CALL CENTER, PROVIDES NO MORE INFORMATION THEN "DO IT YOURSELF" WEBSITE. THERE NO POSSIBILITY TO GET IN CONTACT WITH ANY PERSON FROM THE PROTECTION PROVIDER. IF NO PROTECTION WAS OFFERED, THEN WHY WON'T THEY LIST ALL THE "EXCLUTION" FROM THEIR PROTECTION PLAN, SO THE CUSTOMER CAN MAKE DESICION OF PURCHES BASED ON THE "FACTS" NOT HEAR SAY.

Desired Settlement
I DEMAND FOR THE REPLACEMENT OF MY PHONE AS WHAT I WAS TOLD BY THE SALES, AND NO LESS.

Business Response
This member reported his device as being lost while attempting to send a text message while fishing in a lake. As published in the Terms and Conditions, when the member purchased their device and MDPA plan, loss in a body of water is not covered.

We thank the BBB for their assistance in this matter.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The sales rep whom works for wirefly promote the warranty service as ''they'll replace your phone in case of lost, theft or damagewith out issue'' there phone was a water proof militery spec. I even asked the sales rep to clearfy the turns and limtations of warranty and confirmed the info. When comes time to honer the warranty service, the company provide a remote call cwnter, and delay email response of refusal. Further invistigation discovered said warranty company evaded many other customers under different situations, result in ''deniel'' of service. I've only received response from BBB ONLY since my complain of this warranty company. Aside all matter, what difference in between ''LOST'', and ''LOST IN BODY OF WATER''? Lost is lost, should matter not the location where it occured. Their response are the same in most case ''denied'' due to the fact most customer whom used such service were not aware of any thing they can do when not able to replace their phones much like myself. Except I demand no less then the promiss to replace as I was told.

Final Business Response
We have received the member's case of having his Request For Service denied as a result of his losing his covered device in a lake while fishing. Loss in a body of water is not covered by the published Terms and Conditions of the member's MDPA plan when he purchased his MDPA plan.

We stand by our decision based upon what the member reported and what is covered (malfunction, accidental damage, and theft) by the Terms and Conditions of the member's MDPA plan.

We thank the BBB for the assistance in reviewing this member's case.

02/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Have a cellphone insurance with company.That cellphone was stolen and company refuse to replace cellphone.
I purchase phone back in September of 2013,the company was recommended by radio shack .I did not receive any information on what was required.I was only told in the event of lost ,stolen or damaged of the product i.e the cellphone it will be replace.So i submit a form of the cellphone stolen and was told they will not replace the phone was taken in an unsecured area.I went on line to look at the review of other costumers and found they do not seem to honor their agreement.

Desired Settlement
I just want a replacement cell phone for my husband

Business Response
On December 28th, 2013; the member initially reported their covered device as having been left on a table at his workplace unattended. This is considered an unsecured premise and not covered under the published Terms and Conditions of the member's MDPA plan. On January 9, 2014 the member then reported that the phone was stolen out of a locker. Our decision is based upon the initial narrative as provided by the member. Our decision stands in this matter.

We thank the BBB for their assistance in this matter.

02/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Warranty contract to cover stolen phone is not being honored. Contract purchased on 1/16/2013, phone stolen on 1/16/2014.
I had my cell phone stolen on the last day of my warranty/insurance coverage. I have been told by a person representing herself as a member of management and is speaking for the company (******* ******)by telling me that my request for coverage of my stolen phone is not being honored because a purchased a 1 year contract to cover my phone against damage, theft, etc. on 1/16/2013 and since the phone was stolen on 1/16/2014 I did not have the ability to get coverage under the contract that I purchased.

Desired Settlement
I would like to have my cell phone (Samsung Galaxy Note II) replaced as the contract stated, since it was stolen within my contract dates. According to MDP Assoc. website I have 30 days to file my claim from the incident date. I do have a police report to validate my claim.

Business Response
This member had an annual membership that began on January 16, 2013 and expired 365 days later on January 15th, 2014. The member reported to us on January 20th, 2014 that on January 16th, 2014 that their covered device had been stolen. Unfortunately, the member's coverage expired 1 day prior on January 15th, 2014 and thus their Request For Service cannot be processed.

We thank the BBB for their assistance in this matter.

Page 1 of 6
06/19/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 3/15/14 I received notice that as of 12/31/13 my device would no longer be protected by this plan. I have continued to be billed for 3 months!!
Email received on 3/15/14 informed me that as of 12/31/13 my device was no longer covered by this company's protection plan. However, they have continued to **** my credit card for 3 months at $6.99 per month. The email I received today informed me that they were going out of busines.

Desired Settlement
$21.00 would be adequate. Unless they keep charging me before I get a chance to get a hold of my credit card company to stop their fradulent behavior.

04/21/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Warr. Claim for ***** ********* with the acc.#SXXXXXXXXX, I do not have my phone service working. The cell phone is an HTC ONE ESN# XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Monthly Device Protection coverage is been automatically renewed for the device listed below. My MasterCard credit card account ending in 1221 is been charged $9.99 on 2/28/2014. and before. This charge appear on my credit card statement as either "CellStores" or "CellPhoneProtectionPlan"

Account Name: ***** *********
Account Number: SXXXXXXXXX
Address: Po box 4627

City, State, Zip: Woodbridge, VA XXXXX
Protected Device: HTC One Stealth Black (XXXXXXXXXX) - Protected

Desired Settlement
Replace my HTC One smart telephone

04/18/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Notified on 03/15/14 that service was cancelled as of 12/31/13. Last bill received on 02/22/14. No response from VM/email.
Notified on 03/15/14 that service was cancelled as of 12/31/13. Last bill received on 02/22/14. No response from VM/email.

Desired Settlement
I have asked them to refund all services charged after the retro-active cancel date and pro-rate any remaining.

04/15/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have filed a claim over two weeks ago. I have provided a police report to verify that my phone was stolen out of my LOCKED car. Nobody has responded
I reached out to MDPA to file a claim. After the claim was filed there were several days in which they asked for information that they already had. They asked for a police report which I have sent. I have e-mailed, called and sent a letter via USPS. I have yet heard from them. It has been two weeks since I have filed a claim and according to their website and information that was provided to me when I signed up they claim to process and resolve the claim in 48 hours. Two week later and I am still waiting.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to replace my cellular device. I pay a monthly premium that insures me against damage or theft. I have proven by a police report that the phone was stolen.

04/15/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I signed up for mobile device protection in 2013 paid my bill on time every month. on 3/15, I received notification my membership had been cancelled.
March 15, 2014, I received an email from Mobile Device Protection notifying me my account was cancelled on December 31, 2013. Conveniently two days after they collected payment. This company along with Simplexity billing has consistently been taking payments in the amount of $7.49 out of my account monthly. I have tried contacting them at XXX-XXX-XXXX, XXX-XXX-XXXX and XXX-XXX-XXXX. All i get is push back from MDPA. Today I get another email as i do every month letting me know my payment will be withdrawn on 3/29/2014, then someone finally responded to my email saying they don't have anything to do with my billing and that they have gone out of business and the other company has filed for bankruptcy.

I don't really care what their situation is. i just need them to stop taking money out of my account and issue me a refund for the last three months ($22.47).

Thank you,
*******

Desired Settlement
I want my money back - $22.27 and i need them to stop stealing additional funds from my account.

Page 1 of 4
10/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
called company for insurance of cell phone coverage and company indicated phone number has been disconnected. Out of business
Tried to contact company on 10/12/14 regarding the contract I had enrolled in making my phone purchase on 8/13/2013, due to insurance coverage for my phone device regarding my phone not working. Phone number was disconnected (XXX-XXX-XXXX)
member # SXXXXXXXXX charge of 9.99 per month drafted from checking account

Desired Settlement
I would like a complete refund of monies deducted for this coverage and reimbursement for fraudent activity
for the total of 12 months , which the amount incurred each month was for the amount of 9.99 per month

09/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
When my cell phone malfunctioned I was unable to contact the company that I paid 79.99 for a year.
I purchased this warranty at ***'s **** on November 29, 2014 for a Samsung Galaxy 4s mini.I paid $79.99 per year. On September 15, 2014 I called ***'s Club as well as going into a store because nobody had any answers for me.

Desired Settlement
I would like my $79.99 that I paid for the year returned. It would be nice to have the phone replaced but I am afraid that I would be ripped off again.

09/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid up front for a full year of servie and found out last night when I broke my phone that none of the contact info exist, the Company is closed!
This protection plan was offered through Target when I purchased my phone from them. I paid on 03/02/2014 for a full year of renewed service (phone protection)through 03/03/2015. My phone has broke, and when I tried last night to contact their website to file a claim, there was no longer a website. All of the phone numbers I found online don't work. Everyone is stating that the company went out of business, but legally they should still be responsible for services already paid for, or refund/comphensate those people. I had no idea that they went out of business. Some people are saying they received notification sometime between Dec 2013 and March 2014, if this is the case and the company was going out of business how could they not notify me, much less contact me to renew my accountand accept my payment for a full year? I have all e-mail correspondence from the March timeframe dealing with notification of renewal due, confirmation of payment received (includes New Coverage End Date) Member#, Authorization#, Amount Paid), and Membership Verification which give a short summary of what is covered/not covered through the plan.

Desired Settlement
I believe the company should refund me the money paid for a full year of service, and the amount to purchase a new phone. considering I was not aware that they were no long protecting my phone, therefore did not seek coverage from another company prior to my phone breaking. There is no company that will provide coverage to a phone that is now already broken! Had I known the company went out of business I would have gone through Sprint to insure my phone! The company should not have requested, nor accepted a renewal fee for one year knowing they were out or in the process of going out of business.

08/27/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
service charged, none provided
Billed 49.99 per phone for annual ************* protection.
purchased 4 phones.
a phone is now broken, within the coverage year, and neither the telephone number or website is active.

Desired Settlement
would like a refund for the amount of money i paid into a false warranty.
would like to have the phone replaced.

08/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
MY CELL PHONE NEEDS TO BE REPAIRED OR REPLACED
443-386-0280
my cell phone is in need of service or replacement. there is no contact information for MDPA. WHAT CAN I DO? WILL I BE REFUNDED? SINCE MY CONTRACT STARTED AGAIN IN FEBRUARY 2014.

Desired Settlement
$700.00 TO REPLACE MY CURRENT SAMSUNG GALAXY III CELL PHONE.

Page 1 of 12

Industry Comparison| Chart

Cellular Telephone Service & Supplies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.