BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

GY Telecom Inc.

Phone: (305) 358-0245 (Disconnected)Fax: (305) 358-0243

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
03/05/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I sent them my cell phone which they said was valued at $35 received a check from them for $3.75. I deposited the check and it bounced. Cost me $15.75
Their bank "The Bancorp" check #XXXXXXXXXX $3.75 Issued 10/22/2013 Issued to ****** ******. They give the internet a bad name. "Crooks". Remittance #USXXXXXXXX-X

Desired Settlement
Want my phone returned

Business Response
On 10/03/13, customer placed an order to send a Blackberry Bold Touch 9930 (Sprint) valued at $60.80. On 10/11/13, we received a Blackberry Tour 9630 (Sprint)from the customer. The phone received was not the phone indicated in the original order, therefore a Revised Offer was issued in the amount of $3.75. The Revised Offer was emailed to *************@yahoo.com, the email provided by the customer. As per our policy, we allow customers 7 business days to reply to the Revised Offer, after which if there is no reply payment is then processed. Payment for the customer was mailed out on 10/19/13. On 10/21/13, we received an email from the customer declining the Revised Offer. On 10/24/13, customer called to have payment canceled and phone returned. Customer was then advised via phone call and email on the procedures to have the phone returned. Customer's check was then voided. As of 10/24/13, we have not received the postage fee from the customer to have his phone returned nor have we received any follow-up correspondence from the customer.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I called the as soon as I received their check. I couldn't get through to them, I tried for 3 days. They are not telling the truth about the phone I sent them it was almost brand new. From what I can tell from their message is that I will get $0 from them for the phone I sent them, quite a SCAM.
$3.75 check bounced + $15.00 charged to me by BofA for their bad check.

Final Business Response
As per our company policy, once a Revised Offer is mailed out, we allow the customer 7 business days to reply to the email. If there is no reply on the customers behalf, payment is then issued out. Order USXXXXXXXX-X was received on 10/10/13 and a Revised Offer was mailed out on 10/11/13. Since there was no reply, payment was then made on 10/18/13. We then received a phone call and email from the customer on 10/21/13 declining the Revised Offer. We also explained to the customer the discrepancy in the order was due to the customer sending us a different model phone then the phone they initially agreed to send to us. There was no issue with the condition of the phone. We then explained to the customer during this phone call that there was a postage fee to have the phone returned. On 10/24/13, we received another phone call from the customer with instructions to cancel the $3.75 check they received in the mail and where we again explained the the different ways they could pay the $5.70 postage fee. On 12/2/13, we sent the customer an email reminder of the postage fee. We failed to receive payment for the postage fee and further correspondence from the customer.

01/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company promised $65 for my phone. Instead, they told me it was worth $11. They refuse to send my phone back to me.
I submitted a request for purchase on November 11th. The website shows a picture of my exact phone, the Samsung Galaxy Nexus. Within the website, there was no stipulation of cell phone carrier or model number. The model number is not displayed on the phone at all. The company offered me $65.

I sent my cell phone to this company, only to get an email that they would pay $11 dollars rather than $65 dollars because it was a different "model" number. I told them I did not understand, to please provide clarification, and either re-imburse me the quoted price, or send my cell phone back. I've dealt with rude representatives from this company. They explained that Verizon has a different model cell phone, which is the one I submitted and it was worth less money. I would expect a reputable company to disclose this information on their website. In addition, my brother in law sold his phone (exact same phone as mine from Verizon) and received $100.

When I called this company after dealing with an endless cycle of email, I was told there was only one rep, no management. The rep was incredibly rude, spoke over me the whole time, told me I was wrong, and then eventually hung up on me.

When I asked for them to send my cell phone back, they suggested that I need to pay them roughly $6 for shipping. I refuse to give this company my credit card or any of my financial information as they've demonstrated they don't operate in an ethical manner. All I'm requesting is that they put my cell phone in the mail immediately.

I think this company does not operate in good faith and I think they take advantage of their customers. I demand my cell phone back immediately.

Desired Settlement
This company is not holding their end of the deal by giving me the quoted price of $65. I will not accept their revised offer and as a result, all I'm asking is that they mail me my cell phone free of charge.

I look forward to resolution.

Business Response
The seller visited our website November 11, 2013, placing an order to sell a Samsung GALAXY Nexus i9250 Working Condition $65.12 - (Please note link to price has change but the model is stated i9250)
www.topdollarmobile.us/samsung-galaxy-nexus-i9250.html#.UpyiAOJtXd4

The phone received was a Samsung GALAXY Nexus i515 which is not the same model as Samsung GALAXY Nexus i9250. Note that phones may look the same but the models are different. Please see attached photos. As stated, if the models do not match, we will offer a price on the model sent in which was a Samsung GALAXY Nexus i515. Phone was received November 20, 2013 and a revised offer of $11 was emailed November 22, 2013.

As stated on our website,the seller is responsible for sending in the correct phone.If the revised offer is not accepted, the seller is responsible for return of the phone as we have made good faith in paying the shipment to us assuming we are receiving the correct phone. Please read our customer support link: http://www.topdollarmobile.us/support/#.UpykE-JtXd4

We are one of the few cell phone buy back companies that offer a customer service number that can be called Monday-Friday 8 am to 5 pm eastern standard time for sellers to call and ask questions if they are not sure of the model number of their phone.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There is no proposed resolution here. Send me my phone back. This has carried on way too long, you falsely advertise payment amounts for cell phones with the hope people will ignore your pathetic counter offer. This is such a scheme. You've now had my phone in your possession way too long, send me my phone today.

Final Business Response
Our site offers prices for 7 different Nexus ModelS. Link to Samsung Nexus Models: http://www.topdollarmobile.us/catalogsearch/result/?q=nexus#.UrG2vOIgjd4

Each phone on the Samsung Nexus Models has the MODEL NUMBER next to the name and the CARRIER from which we buy from such as (example: ***** ******** etc)Please see the link: http://www.topdollarmobile.us/catalogsearch/result/?q=nexus#.UrG2vOIgjd4

Some models may not show CARRIER but MODEL does show.

The seller also received a welcome letter and email that shows the BRAND - MODEL - CONDITION - PRICE of the buy back: http://www.topdollarmobile.us/catalogsearch/result/?q=nexus#.UrG2vOIgjd4

As stated on our website,the seller is responsible for sending in the correct phone.If the revised offer is not accepted, the seller is responsible for return of the phone as we have made good faith in paying the shipment to us assuming we are receiving the correct phone. Please read our customer support link: http://www.topdollarmobile.us/support/#.UpykE-JtXd4

11/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sent phone on 9-18-13 still havent received payment and its 10-15-13.they said itd take 5 business days.
They received my phone on 9-18-13 and said they would pay me for it in 5 business days. It is now 10-15-13 and no payment ha ab been recieved. Ive sent 9 emails with only one response that basically said "sorry" with no resolution to the problem. This is a terribly run business.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be paid my full price offer for all of the trouble and delay. I couldve taken it to a pawn shop and gotten close to the same amount and been paid that day. More than anything I would just like payment period!

Business Response
Seller's phone was received September 30, 2013. The payment was issued October 4, 2013. After further investigation with our accounting department, we were having delays in Paypal payments. Payment was reissued October 16, 2013. October 22, 2013, our accounting issued the difference of the Paypal fee for the inconvenience.

09/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
all the contact info is fake and no return ever sent no check ever sent
order # XXXXXXXXX promis of payment of 95.27 for galaxy nexus phone

Desired Settlement
payment or return of phone site should be removed because all contact info is fake

Business' Initial Response
******** requested to sell a Samsung GALAXY Nexus i9250 - Condition - Working. Our agreed price was $95.27 on August 13, 2013. The ******** sent in Samsung GALAXY Nexus SPH-L700 which is a different model. The price for Samsung GALAXY Nexus SPH-L700 is $10.00. The ******** sent in different phone model, if the ******** would like the phone back, our policy is that the ******** must pay for the return shipping $5.70 ******************. Attached are the pictures of the phone and model that the ******** sent in : SAMSUNG GALAXY NEXUS SPH_L700

Consumer's Final Response
they are now requesting 5.71 to send my phone back when i have an email asking for 5.10 which i sent them and have a receipt

Business' Final Response
The policy has recently changed from 5.10 to 5.70 recently due to **** postal charges. We will honor the $5.10 but no payment is has been received. If ******** can show a receipt that she made the payment, we will send phone back once return fee has been paid. Pleas show receipt of postal paid.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Cell Phone & Tablet Equipment, Supplies & Repair, Internet Selling Services

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.