BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/28/2014

R & D Stones Corporation

Phone: (561) 585-5815Fax: (561) 585-52405520 Georgia Avenue, West Palm BeachFL 33405-3524 Send email to R & D Stones Corporation

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/28/2014

BBB has determined that R & D Stones Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised R & D Stones Corporation's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on R & D Stones Corporation

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
11/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Kitchen cabinet installed wrong. caulking cracking. Tiles not level. Cabinet doors hit appliances/other. Damaged washing machine. damaged plumbing.
REPRESENTED THEMSELVES AS KITCHEN DESIGNERS.......THEY ARE NOT!
Installed kitchen sink cabinet wrong. Can only be replaced by new cabinet and redoing new countertop. Per independent agent
Damaged washing machine due to frequent movement because they made errors in plumbing Deny doing so. I had to call independent plumber.
I had to hire independent electrician to make range fit against wall, and do finish work.
Caulking cracking. Tiles not level
Seams between counter and backsplash showing white on grey surface.......wrong glue?
All cabinets either hit each other or appliances.
Paid all but aprox. $300 Due to feeling threatened

Desired Settlement
Hire reputable installer to replace sink cabinet, and quartz top around sink.
Replace/repair washing machine
Hire reputable installer to adjust/design cabinets,so cabinet doors don'* hit other cabinets or appliances.
Hire professional to caulk tiles, cabinets, and quartz tops to backsplash.
Make sure BBB lists this business as STONE WORKS, ONLY.....not kitchen design and/or cabinet instillation. NO plumbing or electrical work.
I can not allow these people to enter my home ever again due to their complete lack of respect for my property and self.

Business Response
After visiting our office, Ms. ******* decided to hire us base on our reputation and outstanding record showing us a business rating "A" company with the Better Business Bureau. She expressed that we attended her very cortious, knowledgeable and professional. We review with her all details involved in the process to her project. She selected standard semi custom cabinet and quartz from Caeserstone. Her kitchen cabinets were install professionally, caulk and grout were inspected after it was dried and re-touched to close air pocket, her tile back splash was install correctly and level, all cabinet doors have the proper spacer from factory so doors don't hit one another or appliances next to it.
During the process to connect new sink and faucet to her existing plumbing, we had to slightly move the washing machine. Before moving the washing machine, we noticed the condition of it was very poor and rusted. This machine must be 15 years plus and falling apart.
She's complaining that she hired independent electrician to make range fit against wall, and do finish work. As a professional contractor, is exactly what I do for all my other clients hire a "license Electrician" since I am not one. This type of work was never part of our contract with Ms *******. But again as a courtesy, after her electrician completed the work but did not finish the work, drywall was left open and unfinished. We did all the drywall repair at NO CHARGE.
She's complaining of sink cabinet "install wrong". The cabinet is not installed wrong, but do to how the existing drain pipe comes through the wall on a angle, the backing of the cabinet was cut to accommodate the drain pipe, vales and dish washer electrical out. We make sure to cover cabinet backing with sub-backing of the same or equal material. Even though we went out of our ways of making sure Ms ******* will be a happy customer I received a call from her on a Sunday to tell me she was concern with the findings from an independent plumber, she called; *******'s ***** ******** XXX-XXX-XXXX. I said, as a courtesy to her I answer a business call on Sunday but we will have to deal with this matter on Monday morning. I arrived at her home on Monday morning and asked for the report from the plumber. I called him and he found no problem with our work. His only suggesting to Ms ******* was "he prefers to us dual valves instead of single valves". These valves were replaced with dual valves. We offer to replace the sink cabinet backing. When the panel arrived I schedule an appointment and when we showed up no one answer the door or the phone. I left her numerous messages and until this day I have not gotten a call back to reschedule.
She also called and put a complaint with the stone supplier stating that the labor and installation was not properly done. To my knowledge, Ms ******* is a retired nurse not a stone professional. Thanks to the policy of ************ they sent a representative to inspect the work. He found nothing wrong with our labor or installation and she had to signed off 7/8/14 a "Good will repair certificate of completion" saying "I, hereby declare that the work, as agreed, has been completed. I agree to release *********** ****** from any further liability arising from this issue." A copy of this document was provided to us for our records.
I experienced how Ms. ******* handles her cabinets, when she says "all cabinets either hit each other or appliances, is not the cabinets is how she starts to open all the doors at the same time and yes they hit each other. We call this "abusing cabinets" and no warranty covers this.
Unfortunate, Ms. ******* has a complaint against Any and All Contractors that walks into her home. The last phrase on this complaint she said " I can not allow these people to enter my home ever again due to their complete lack of respect for my property and self." This phrase was repeated over and over about all other contractors, I don't expect that she is going to exclude us. At this time I am not interest in collecting the balance due of $377.00 from her. Do don't want to do business with people that don't have respect for my company and my crew.
Case num# XXXXXXX.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
my complaints can be objectively observed Cabinet doors hit appliances or each other when opened even one at a time. Tiles are not level & caulk is cracking Sink was installed after they rearranged waste line, which has also caused misalignment in all other connected waste water lines. Refrigerator now shakes and clanks against itself and wall, their fix was going to be to" "put a strap on it" which was nothing more than a zip tie!. They changed angle and length of waste line and did not cut out back of sink cabinet to fit, Trying to due a patch job on new wooden cabinets is not acceptable. IMPROPER INSTALLATION.POOR PLANNING. Their response that my washing machine is old speaks volumes, they broke top by pulling on it, and then denied it, now admit to it, but not their fault "it's old" They presented as KITCHEN DESIGNERS. They are not, as demonstrated by lack of planning and improper measuring to insure fit. Very unprofessional.....whenever I asked Top man, he conveniently said he didn't understand English. Apparently Lidia needs to be present the entire time to observe and translate for "her crew". Seems the soccer playoffs were more important than planning and installing. I had to call independent plumber because they needed to be told that shut offs had to be installed due to the way my house is plumbed. They did tear out an electric line and move it up in the wall, and I mean tore.. which was a separate charge. If they are not electricians and plumbers. which has been demonstrated, they shouldn't attempt to do the work. I called the Caesarstone rep because of the discoloration in the counter top apparently due to mold growth and it not being cleaned after installation. They had the filters for my microwave put out with the trash. when I called on a Sunday I expected to get an voice mail so I could leave a message.It is apparent that they are countertop installers, NOT KITCHEN DESIGNERS OR CABINET INSTALLERS, and should not be listed as such. Finally the comment about me "complaining about any and all contractors" is slanderous and libel and not based on fact. So now I will require a written apology and retraction. Not very professional

Final Business Response
I see that Ms. ******* is stating the same complaints as before. We did everything possible to and beyond to make sure this job went smooth, friendly and very professional with Ms. *******. At this point I don't think anything else I do or say will change how Ms. ******* fills about our company. I am very sorry NOT BECAUSE THE JOB WAS NOT DONE CORRECTLY OR IN A NONE PROFESSIONAL MANNER BUT BECAUSE IT SEEMS THAT NO MATTER WHAT WE RESPOND TO MS. ******* STATEMENTS, SHE WILL ALWAYS BE DISCONTENT.
The only thing I have to offer Ms. ******* is to keep the balance owed to rdstones.
I don't have the time to seat in-front of a computer and continue this argument with Ms. *******. I have a business to run and an overhead to take care off.
This will be my last respond to any of her falls statements regarding R & D Stones.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As can be ascertained by the lack of a productive response to correct the gross errors of improper measurement and installation of the plumbing, cabinets, tile and damage to my property, it suggests that this business does not hold itself to the standards that one would expect of a business that has a BBB "A" rating. The business's response is nothing more than a personal attack on my character that I would think requires some remediation on your part. I certainly hope no other consumers are led to do business with this company based on the BBB's "A" rating. At the least I would expect a change in your rating due to this business's lack of decorum and professionalism. It seems I will be required to spend additional time and money to correct R&D Stones' errors, and to replace or repair the damage that they have caused. I am wondering if the BBB actually provides any assistance?

Industry Comparison| Chart

Cabinet Refinishers, Stone Setting, Cabinet Equipment & Supplies, Granite

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/09/2005Business started: 09/07/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Palm Beach Tax Collector
PO Box 3715 301 N. Oliver Ave, 3rd Flr
West Palm Beach, FL 33402-3715
(561) 355-2264
http://www.co.palm-beach.fl.us

BBB records show a license number of 200509015 for this company, issued by Palm Beach Tax Collector. Their web address is http://www.co.palm-beach.fl.us.

BBB records show a license number of 200623939 for this company, issued by Palm Beach Tax Collector. Their web address is http://www.co.palm-beach.fl.us.

Check License Status: http://taxcollectorpbc.manatron.com/Tabs/BusinessTax/AccountDetail/TaxDetail.aspx?p=200623939&a=1701415&b=B40136623&y=2014&t=15972807

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 2003, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mrs Ligia Cisterna (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Ruben Cisterna (Vice President)
Business Category

Cabinet Refinishers, Stone Setting, Cabinet Equipment & Supplies, Granite

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for R & D Stones Corporation

5520 Georgia Avenue

West Palm Beach, FL 33405-3524

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5520 Georgia Avenue 

    West Palm Beach, FL 33405-3524(561) 585-5815

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*R & D Stones Corporation is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Cabinet Refinishers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.