BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/23/2013

Steeda Autosports Inc

(954) 960-0774View Additional Phone Numbers1351 NW Steeda Way, Pompano BeachFL 33069-1521

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/23/2013

BBB has determined that Steeda Autosports Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Steeda Autosports Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Steeda Autosports Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
07/08/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered Parts and was given the run around 4 seperate times.
I ordered these lowering springs along with other products on 3/12/14, 3 of the 4 products were received but the lowering springs were never shipped. I called in march, and april, and was always told the items were being shipped next week. On 5/20/2014 I was fed up and called and spoke to **** who told me my order was cancelled because of the parts being backordered. He also informed me My money was never refunded because it was a paypal transaction. I gave **** the opurtuntiy to correct this and he said he would imediatly call me back with shipping information and get me the products to complete my order. I called again on 5/21/14 to check on the status, but **** cannot be found and the Salesman answering the phone says he has no record of the transaction. I called 30 minutes later and was able to speak to ****, who said once again that they were out of stock and I would not be getting my parts for 2 weeks, which I dismissed as probably not going to get them within 2 months knowing the history Ive had with this order. I asked for a refund to my paypal account and I am waiting....

I ordered-

1- Lowering Spring Kit for 2014 Focus ST $259.95

1- Set of Swaybar Endlinks $89.95

1-Sway Bar for 2014 Focus ST $139.95

1-Air Filter Cleaning Kit $19.95

Steeda has failed to ship the Lowering springs and Ive given them almost 3 months to correct there problem.

I would like the 259.95+ Applicable Taxes refunded imediatley to my paypal account.

Desired Settlement
I would like the 259.95+ Applicable Taxes refunded imediatley to my paypal account.

Business Response
We have refunded the customer $259.96 on 6/3/14. We have also called the customer and left him a voicemail to see if there was anything else we could do to accommodate him - we have not heard back as of yet.

We truly value our customers and strive to make sure each and every customer is completely satisfied with their order. Since the refund has been issued, this case can be deemed solved.

04/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bought an air filter for over $300 that was suppose to improve performance, made car much worse, company wont refund.
I bought a cold air intake filter from Steeda, was informed of a 60 day return policy from the salesperson and that it would also increase gas mileage and car performance. upon receiving the cold air intake I installed it, just as the directions said to and everything was in fact installed correctly. I drove around with the new cold air intake on my car for a week only to find out my car was running sluggish and my MPG went down by about 3 mpg. I called Steeda up and asked what the problem was and they said I must have installed it incorrectly in which I had them direct me over the phone as to what the problem could have been with my installation, but they could not help solve the problem. I asked for a refund and I was aware of the 20% restocking fee because I had read it on their website but the gentleman I spoke to said I could not get any refund at all for the product because I had already installed it. I feel that if they make promises that their product cannot keep I should be entitled to a refund. I think its crazy that just because I installed it that I shouldn't be eligible for a refund if it didn't do anything that the business said it would do. How else would anyone know if the product actually worked or not? by now I took the cold air intake out and put the stock air filter back in and I am looking to return it for a full refund, at first I would have accepted a 20% restocking fee but now I would like all my money back for all the trouble I have been put through putting the part on and taking it back off.

Desired Settlement
I am looking for a full refund.

Business Response
Hello, fuel mileage results vary from customer to customer as they rely on the customers driving habits, just as they would with the vehicle had it not been modified in any way. Our written return policy which can be found on our website states a 30 day, not 60 day return policy, in addition, it states that returns must be in new, unused condition. The item not being in new, unused condition did not qualify it for a return, as the item itself is also not defective as it was installed in the vehicle.

We directed the customer on how to troubleshoot the installation. If this was done then further troubleshooting can be accomplished by resetting the vehicle's PCM to erase any adaptive keep alive learning that may have occured with the factory intake system, allowing the PCM to learn airflows based on the new intake. This can be accomplished by disconnecting the negative battery terminal for at least 30 minutes, then reconnecting it. After re-conneting the battery the vehicle must be started, allowed to come up to operating temperature, and allowed to idle for at least 5 minutes at operating temperature with the air conditioning on before it is driven.



Consumer Response
Steeda in their counter argument to not refund my money claimed that after installing the cold air intake the engine needed to be reprogram and that is why I was loosing performance. But on their webpage it says it requires no engine tuning which can be found here http://www.steedafusion.com/parts/ford-fusion-ecoboost-cold-air-intake-XXX-XXXX/


Business Response
The website information for the product is correct, no tuning is needed or required, the only way we would state otherwise in a conversation is if the sales rep he spoke to thought he was referring to a 2012 Fusion, not a 2013-14, our 2012-earlier intakes have a removeable insert that changes the readings of the mass air sensor which then have to be recalculated and modified through custom tuning. The 13-14 models are not mass air equipped so they do not have this issue.

Fuel mileage results are dependent on customer driving habits, just as if the vehicle has not been modified in any way. With a little research, you will find people with unmodified cars complaining of mileage less than that promised by Ford. In many cases that is the result of how the vehicle is driven, not the car itself. Our position is unchanged, this item is not eligible for return. The customer is free to sell it on Ebay or some other platform if he so wishes.

11/26/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Automotive Parts & Supplies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/13/2002Business started: 06/02/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Broward County Business Tax
Broward County Governmental Offices 115 S. Andrews Ave.
Fort Lauderdale, FL33301-1818
(954) 357-7235
http://www.broward.org/Pages/Welcome.aspx

Pompano Beach, City of
100 Northwest 31st Avenue
Pompano Beach, FL33060-6099
(954) 786-4668
http://www.mypompanobeach.org

BBB records show a license number of 371-158644 for this company, issued by Broward County Business Tax. Their web address is http://www.broward.org/Pages/Welcome.aspx.

Check License Status: https://www.broward.county-taxes.com/public/business tax/accounts/3031?year=2014

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 15-00023728 for this company, issued by Pompano Beach, City of. Their web address is http://www.mypompanobeach.org.

Check License Status: http://pompanobeachfl.gov/pages/department directory/development services/business tax receipt division/business tax receipt division.html.php

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Dario Orlando (President)Mr. David Jacobs (Communications Director) Glen Vitale (Controller)
Business Category

Automotive Parts & Supplies

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Steeda Autosports Inc

1351 NW Steeda Way

Pompano Beach, FL 33069-1521

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1351 NW Steeda Way 

    Pompano Beach, FL 33069-1521(954) 328-4623
    (954) 960-0774
    (800) 950-0774

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Steeda Autosports Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (954) 328-4623
  • (800) 950-0774
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Automotive Parts & Supplies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.