BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Progressive Auto Relocation Inc.

Phone: (877) 528-5104Fax: (877) 721-4243

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints11

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (11)
10/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Not willing to refund my money after failing to render service to me based on the conditions the company set for me.
I arranged with *********** **** ********** (***********) on 9/24/14 to pick up a 2005 Honda Civic on 9/26/14 from ******, OH to Overland Park, KS based on the Reference Quote # ********* for an amount of $650. I spoke to a representative called Greer, ******. There was no exchange of money because he said the company does not accept upfront fees unless the car is delivered by a carrier before I can pay the driver. ****** called me on the 9/27/14 to increase the money for him to be able bid to get a carrier because the initial amount from the quote is low to get a driver. I raised the amount to $700 based on his suggestion. ****** called on 9/30/14 saying he has gotten a carrier that will pick up my car, and the driver is charging $800. I gave my approval, and he told me that I need to pay a deposit of $150 over the phone and pay the remaining to driver of carrier after delivery. I expected that the car was to be picked on that day and I gave the $150 deposit using my debit card information. I did not receive a confirmation about the transaction after 30 minutes, although he told me he will be sending it to me along with the driver's information. I checked in my online bank account and realized that his company billed me for the deposit. I tried contacting him on the phone five times, but there was no answer. I made a follow up with two emails and did not get a reply. I received a confirmation email from him on the 10/1/14 indicating the pick up date is 10/1/14 and delivery date as 10/3/14. He sent another email that states "We want to let you know that we have dispatched your 2005 Honda Civic and you should be hearing from the driver 24 to 48 hours before the scheduled pickup date." I waited until 10/2/14 where I called ****** to find out about the car and he questioned me whether the car wasn't picked. He made me wait on phone and he made a call. He told me the driver will not be able to pick the car, but I should be patient for him to get another driver to pick the car by the end of the day and he will update me on it, but he never did. I decide to arrange with another transporting broker on 10/3/14, but the rep advised me to contact *********** for them to remove my information in the Central Dispatch system before they can assign a driver to pick up my car. I sent a cancellation email to ****** and I called him after one hour where he acknowledged that he has received my email, and he will cancel the transaction and refund my money. I called the new broker and the rep told me *********** still has my information in the dispatch system. I called ****** 10 times to cancel my information, but he threaten that I will not get a refund if I cancel the transaction. He started assuring me he will get a carrier to pick it, which I was not interested. After the fourth call, he hanged the phone on me three times and refused to pick up my subsequent calls. He did not also get back to update me like he told me. Below is ***********'s terms and link about their transaction that I am following, but they are not helpful:
"9. Once a carrier has been assigned to pick up and transport Customer's vehicle *********** **** ********** notifies the
Customer via email (the email address provided in your car shipping order).
10. If the Customer cancels his order, prior to the assignment of a Carrier, no charges will be made. However, if the Customer
decides to cancel his order after a truck has been assigned (see Paragraph 10 of how we notify Customer) to that order the
deposit will NOT be refunded."

Reference: **************************************************************

Desired Settlement
I need a refund for undelivered services and *********** **** ********** should remove my information from the Central Dispatch database because I have cancelled my transactions with them and I do not need their service

12/13/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Price was not as agreed and car arrive on time. I was not provided with receipts or a copy of our agreement ever despite many requests for both.
Received Quote #XXXXXX-WT for $990 attempted to accept the quote several times with no response to emails or phone calls. I am on the west coast and because of the time difference I asked my mother if she could call she finally spoke to who she had call me at work in Seattle on 10/25/13. He explained to me he was busy but could still get my car out but we had to work fast the guy was about to pass ******* DC to pickup in . At this time told me in order to get my vehicle picked up on Saturday 10/26 they needed to secure a deposit min $100 and I'd pay the balance on delivery. Sounded fair so I gave him my credit card number he promised at this time to email me a receipt and all agreements for relocating my car.He also said the car will arrive Monday 11/4/13. Mon no car reached out to to see what was going on no answer. Reached out a couple times no response. On Wed 11/7/13 he respond via email that he had a family emergency and was sorry the car is there the driver has been trying to contact us. Later we receive another email saying that the driver would arrive with our car Wed. We questioned why he said it has been here since Monday he emails a response that he is confused and trys to do his best but he does not remember what he tells everyone. I again request a receipt for the deposit as well as the contract and now a discount for the delay. No response except the price is charged by your driver and the delay has nothing to do with us we can't guarantee when your car will be there. Wed 11/7 I speak to the driver at 6pm he asks if I can pay him confused I replied yes he says ok I'll bring car now the driver arrives with my car at 12:30am and tells me I owe him $1000 cash and to sign these papers. I told the driver I don't have cash and $1000 wsa not the agreement I already paid $100 he says let me see your contract. I reply I don't have one he says you pay me or I take car which he did. Thursday I call he says he will see what he can do and call me back. He inturn emails my mother and asks her to explain to me why I am paying so much. My mother responds that she has nothing to do with this she only dropped my car off to the driver. 3 hours later I call back speak to who says he will try to help but doesn't he has call me. proceeds to YELL at me for calling his boss ask me my occupation and age and told me he has a family to raise. His commission is normally $250 and he took a deal to help us out and now I don't want to pay his broker fee. The $100 was no a deposit but his fee I respond that this call is unprofessional and your emails say it was a deposit. He then states that he does not have a contract stop asking for it. He yells some more hangs up on me. I email him back to have this resolved explain that I still need a receipt and contract and will reverse the deposit on my card since a brokers fee is not what I was told I was paying, nor was he helping me locate my car. responds his sister is a top Miami lawyer Im "barking on the wrong tree" I send him the yelp reviews from other people with the same issue with him. Fri *** calls me yells as me for saying I would call the police told me to "call the police and test us see if you ever get your car lady" "You don't want to pay fee and you are going to reverse the charge on your card now it's 1100 cash be careful or I'll charge you 50 a day for storage" He went on to ask me whose card was on file. At this time I call the driver who finally provided with the name of the transport company who tells me they now have 2 different contracts on my car withand cant release it with out 1100 cash. They still have my car and are holding it hostage. says it's the transport company the transport company says progressive gives them a lot of business and they've seen this before from them but they can't help because they have a contract with them. But no one has a contract with me the owner of the car.

Desired Settlement
As of now the transport company Transport out of Washington still has my car. They are demanding 1100 cash to cover Fee (per their own admission). They also state that they have 2 contracts from on my vehicle but can't provide me with copies of any. In many of emails said was a deposit so that amount should come off my total price. After the way I have been berated by 2 employees that I was supposedly paying a broker fee too, the fact that I still have no contract or receipts I am willing to pay the 990 or 1000 which ever to the transport company for relocating my car provided I can inspect it and it's in the same condition they picked it up in. But after this ordeal and what I have read in reveiews about Progressive this is common practice for them.

Business Response
This woman is mentally unstable. All prices were agreed upon by the actual customer (her mother). She called here cursing countless times so we severed all communication with her and had the carrier handle it in person.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
If im a liar please ask them to produce all necessary paperwork contracts (with my mother since they say the deal was with her-she was left with no paper work either) a receipt I never received but asked for numerous occasions via phone and email for the 100 deposit I made. A

Please explain why my car was picked up on a two teir carrier by but was delivered at 12:30am a week after promised delivery by someone name on a flat bed tow truck. And my car was damaged. They contract these people with a BBB rating of an F () but take no responsibility for leaving your car with unethical people.

Again the name calling (im a liar) from a business that expects people to recommend them to people. I have several emails from where he states "hes confused and busy and not sure what he's told people)

This response fromRelocation is juvenile and to be expected from the reviews Ive read.

Again if they have a contract with my mother please ask them to provide it along with the receipt from my deposit. I can call my bank and have them pull up the transaction but this reputable company has NO information on the business they conduct.

Final Business Response
This person is a liar, plain and simple. Please refer all further communication to our attorney.

08/19/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Progressive quoted me one price and their carrier demanded more at delivery or they would not release my car in a dark truck yard at night.
I bought a 2013 Mercedes-Benz E550 Cabriolet from Audi of Dallas. The salesman, ***** ********* recommended Progressive.

***** from Progressive quoted me $650 for the entire job. Based on information from ****** I told him they had just done the Porsche work for $600. ****** agreed to that price on the phone.

I received no agreement from ******. He told me they would find a truck to pick up the car and deliver it. He asked for a deposit and told me I would need to pay cash at delivery for the balance. The deposit was $200. I had no way of knowing who got what in this transaction as that was the only financial discussion I had with anyone until the day of delivery.

He sent me the name of the trucking company and told me they would let me know when it was picked up and a date for delivery. I din not receive any paperwork from them either, as the trucking company was Progressive's vendor, not mine.

****** also assure me my car (worth $62,000) would ride on top of the car carrier so nothing would leak on it from above.

The car was picked up on March 13 from the Dealer. I was told the vehicle would arrive on Sunday March 15. It didn't and I received no correspondence that day.

On Monday I stayed home from work in the city. After repeated calls to both ****** and "the driver", I learned the truck had broken down in Pennsylvania. "The driver" told me they had been at a repair shop fixing the axle and hoped to be on the road the next day.

Still nothing all day. I called "the driver' in the early evening and was then told the car was at a truck livery yard 10 miles from my home. Again I had to call them. He told me I could come there and pick it up. Not wanting to take yet another day off work, my wife and I went to this pitch-black open truck yard after dark in a not great part of Linden, NJ. When we got there, we couldn't find anyone so we started driving around until we found the car carrier in an open to anyone area. Using a flashlight we had brought I discovered my car had been unloaded from a lower bay (not the top as promised.) The entire front hood and windshield was covered in oil from the leaking damaged car above.

Just then a guy showed up in a pickup truck. The man spoke little English and obviously was not the guy I had been speaking with from the delivery company.

He then showed me the invoice (attached to your note to me.) This was the first time I had ever seen it. I told him the price was $600 all in and he just shook his head and pointed to the $450 on the bill. I tried to call ****** and the delivery company guy but got no answer. As it was 9:30PM at night in a dark bad neighborhood with my paid for $62,000 car sitting right there I had no choice but to pay him the $450 balance and go.

Then he handed me the enveloped with the extra key. The key had been smashed and re-taped. He shook his head and tried to explain it came that way. I had no way of knowing. I called the Dealer the next day and they told me they didn't know of a broken key. I expect delivery companies inspect the vehicle for damage at pick up. I would image the keys should be part of that too.
I contacted Progressive who has not made good on any of this.

Desired Settlement
at least the $50 they overcharged me. The cost to replace the key was an additional $300.

Business Response
We are a broker, we never physically took possession of this vehicle therefore could not be responsible for any keys being damaged. The final price was agreed upon by the customer and then the balance was paid to the driver. The "customer" has since done a chargeback with his credit card company. We are in the process of placing a lien on the vehicle for the money stolen from us.

04/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
These people are liars, extortionists, and take advantage of people who are vulnerable and have handed over their car to them. They should be in jail.
Everything this company told me was a lie. I spoke to Milton who is a coordinator for this company and works with Progressive. He told me that there is a three day window for pick up but that he would talk to the driver and tell me which day it would be. With 4 days out he said the driver would be there on the 28th. Then on the day of the 28th they called at 10 am and said the driver would not be there until the next day. I had already purchased a train ticket to leave so this was a HUGE inconvenience that they waited until the last minute to tell me something they had known for days. ****** also promised weekend delivery and that my vehicle would be placed on top. When the dispatcher from *** **** trans, the company ****** chose to move my car, contacted me the dispatcher's name was ****** He stated that ****** never confirmed the pick up date of the 28th with them, never confirmed a top load, and that they do not deliver on the weekend which they said ****** also knew. I insisted we all talk by conference call. Sure enough...they all like and play games. ** **** transport promised they would pick up the next day. Then, they called the person who was now handling the car for me (a friend as I was leaving by train that day) and told her (while I was in the car listening on speaker phone) that I had said she would be willing to drive to a ***** near by and that they could then use my car to drive her home. All lies. Then they called and stated they had no idea when it would be delivered. When I spoke to *** the manager at Progressive he said, and I quote: "you are the worst customer ever, you are a ******* ****, I am going to put your car in storage for $300 dollars a day, and you will have a gate fee to pay just to access it, **** you". I literally had to give them an additional $100 to get my car. When it arrived it had minor scratches. I was thrilled just to get it back. They are extortionists, liars, and the very base of society. By that last comment, I don't mean our foundation, I mean the seedy underbelly of the vermin that you hope to never encounter. If you are thinking of using them, I would recommend setting your car on fire and then throwing yourself on top of it as it would be a better experience than spending two seconds dealing with these scum.

Desired Settlement
Either complete refund or this business should be shutdown for illegal behavior and dealings.

Business Response
This woman is a liar, thief and extortionist. No restitution will be made. We are in the process of filing a lien on her vehicle for non payment.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have the receipt for the car at drop-off which I would be pleased to proved the BBB. As you will see on the receipt, it was paid in full, in cash. The claim that there is a lien on my car for non payment is a lie from this hideous poor acting company. They don't return your car if you do not pay and I paid in full. There is no outstanding money. Why would my request be a refund if it was not paid? In addition, I have the phone number and name of the driver that can verify drop off as well as the third party A-1 transport that can verify drop off. Finally, it was dropped at my place of work where I am the Managing Director. My Office Manager accepted the vehicle and video taped it for me to review any damage. Alternatively, the BBB can simply ask Progressive to verify this lien and non-payment. It is a lie and consumers should be protected against the company. They are literally criminals and not even intelligent enough to lie well. As stated, I am happy to provide both the pick-up and drop off receipts.

Final Business Response
This customer did a charge back on her credit card and still didn't pay the carrier in full. I would love to see these receipts. The lien will go through, we will repossess your vehicle.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have the initial contract for the full amount and the final receipt which was received in cash, it is not possible to do a charge back on a cash transaction. This company continues to behave in a disingenuous and inappropriate manner. Consumers should be warned not to do business with the company. I will provide the receipts directly BBB. Of course, the company has not provided any evidence of a lien and if they continue to slander my name through erroneous information, it will quickly become a legal matter.

04/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We were quoted 775.00 by rep. **** spoke several times, booked transport and then was told i had to pay 800 on time of delivery. That made total 975
We purchased a 03ford e450, contacted several companies about transportation. **** from Progressive Auto Relocation inc. Contacted me after several days we agreed on 775.00 i paid 175.00 deposit to them. When vehicle was finally picked up by Amanda Towing from Maryland, they increased the rate to 975.00 without my consent. The towing company had already picked up my bus, and was demanding the full price on delivery. After several back and forth the driver accepted 750 on delivery that making total 925.00 because of the deposit of 175.00 i had already paid.
Progressive had agreed to refund us 50.00 to make that deal with driver. Never fulfilled there promise.

Then the driver agreed to reimburse the church 250.00 he sent to progressive to refund the church account because he had laid about needed to rent extra equipment to complete transport. That was the reason he had charged charged us the customer extra money. We were suppose to pay just pay 600.00 on delivery but had to pay 750.00.
He felt guilty for charging extra and because of false claims. I have all emails and texts from both companies, driver sent the money and progressive says he sent them the money so they would report a good rating on the national board. I believe both companies are at fault but the Rep **** at progressive promised us our refund by the beginning of this week. Know they say the money is there's because Amanda Towing from Maryland has paid them to give them a rating. Drive says no it was refunded for to the church. . Please help. They continue to do business after all these complaints.

Desired Settlement
We the Church of God of Hammonton
*** 9th St. Hammonton NJ XXXXX..
Demand the complete refund that was promised by the rep. **** of 50.00 for us to make deal with driver and the amount the driver from Amanda Towing sent them as a refund to the church for false claims and inflation of price due to lies. Please.

Business Response
Refund made

03/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They charged me $100 more than quoted price. When called them about issue, they use very bad word ** * and more bad word to me.
I have shipped my vehicle from Honolulu, HI to Omaha, NE on January 2014. They gave me a quote for $1800. I have clearly asked them to give me exact quote because I don't want to get charge more later. So, they send me email quote of $1800. I called and verify the quoted price and talked to **** ******** She told me that they will have to charge me $1850 all together. So, they asked my credit card info for deposit. They told me that they will charge $200 deposit and $1003 pay to ****** shipping company in Honolulu and remaining balance pay to driver during delivery. So, I agreed her quote and deliver vehicle accordingly. Later on she told me to pay driver $750 when delivery of the vehicle. I asked her why $750? She said that she only charge $100 deposit in my credit card. So, I went ahead and paid $750 at the time of delivery of my vehicle. Today I got my credit card statement and found out they did charge me $200 deposit. So, I called **** back and explain the situation. She tried to tell me quoted price can be different and blaw blaw blaw. I knew that they were not doing very good business practice at that time because she was not a same person I dealt with before I gave my business. She was totally different. I try to explain about our conversation and all the sudden she transfer call to her supervisor. He was trying to manuplate the issue. I again explain everything and told him clearly that he should refund $100 to me. He said he will not refund the money. I told him, if he does not refund, I will file BBB complain. He got really mad and start accusing me different thing and also name calling. I even can not write those word he used like "*", "*" and other extreme word which can not be written here. He was very unprofessional and finally hanged up on me. I want to know if BBB can do anything about it before I file a law suit against his company.

Desired Settlement
Company must apologize and refund $100 to me. That's all.

Business Response
This customer said if we didn't refund his money he would leave us negative feedback. We will not be extorted.
The move went flawlessly, the customer agreed to the price he paid.

03/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The agreed price of service went up at the last minute. Not refunded my deposit. I was verbally abused twice by the owner.
On 12/20/13, I was given a quote via email for a vehicle transport. A few days later, I was given a verbal confirmation by Senior Transport Specialist, **** ******* that this quote was a firm number. I turned away other companies based on this price. Four days before the pick-up date for the vehicle, Ms. ******* told me that the price had gone up to $1300. As I didn't have time to approach other companies, I went through with the transaction.
I called Progressive on 1/10/14 to speak with a supervisor about the possibility of getting a refund for the $200 increase. I spoke with a man who claimed to be the owner. He was immediately confrontational, and after exchanging some words, I asked him if he thought a $200 refund was worth losing a future customer and getting a negative review, and he said to me, "go **** yourself" and then hung up.
I proceeded to leave a negative review on a review website and soon after got a phone call from a Progressive Auto Relocation, Inc. phone number on my business phone. I answered, and the man who I believe I spoke with earlier said "I looked at your business online you ******* ******...), and then I immediately hung up the phone.
I then checked my **** page and noticed he (****** *** had left my business a negative review. As he was not a customer of mine, this should not be permitted.

Desired Settlement
I no longer wish to receive the $200 refund from this business. What I would like, is for this business/****** ** to remove the negative review from our***** page and then to guarantee that no more reviews will be posted and that me nor my staff will be harassed again.

Business Response
This person and his company are scam artists. They agree to a price verbally (we have the voice doc) and then extort you with negative reviews after the job is done. No reviews will be removed. In fact, I will personally be adding some.

Consumer Response
I have not received a refund for my deposit of $100 to Progressive Auto Relocation, Inc. This was promised to me by their Relocation Specialist **** ********


Business Response
This customer is entitled to nothing.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was verbally promised by a representative of this business that I would receive my $100 deposit back after services were rendered. The owner of the business has broken this verbal contract and has essentially stolen my money. I end this dispute here as I no longer wish to pursue this matter.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Transporters & Drive-Away Companies, Relocation Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.